A r c h i v e d  I n f o r m a t i o n

The Teacher's Guide to the U.S. Department of Education - September 2000

Secretary's Regional Representatives and Regional Offices

The Department of Education maintains 10 regional offices throughout the country. These offices represent the Department's programs and interests on a regional basis. The Secretary's Regional Representative (SRR) and staff conduct departmental business on myriad issues in their assigned states. At least five Principal Offices have representatives in each regional office. They include: The Office of Postsecondary Education (OPE), the Office of Special Education and Rehabilitative Services (OSERS), the Office for Civil Rights (OCR), the Office of the Inspector General (OIG), and the Office of Management (OM).

Office of Postsecondary Education staff handle questions related to student financial assistance programs. Office of Special Education and Rehabilitative Services staff assist constituents with rehabilitative services. Office for Civil Rights staff respond to questions about and review complaints related to civil rights issues. Office of the Inspector General staff investigate potential violations of law and conduct audits on Department-funded programs. The Office of Management has personnel offices or representatives in each of the regional offices.


[National Library of Education]
[Table of Contents]
[Region I Boston]