A r c h i v e d  I n f o r m a t i o n

Prisoners Of Time - April 1994


Members of The National Education Commission on Time and Learning

John Hodge Jones,
Murfreesboro, Tennessee

Jones is Commission chairman and school superintendent in Murfreesboro, Tennessee. Under his leadership, the school system has implemented a nationally recognized extended-day and-year program.

Carol Schwartz,
Washington, D. C.

Vice chairman of the Commission, Schwartz has served on the District of Columbia Board of Education and City Council. She has been a special education teacher and a consultant to the U.S. Department of Education.

Michael J. Barrett,
Cambridge, Massachusetts

Barrett represents four communities in the Massachusetts Senate. His 1990 cover story in The Atlantic helped spark a national debate about extending the school year.

B. Marie Byers,
Hagerstown, Maryland

A former teacher, Mrs. Byers is serving her 24th year on the Washington County Board of Education and is chair of the National School Board Association's Large District Forum. In 1990-91 she was president of the Maryland Association of Boards of Education.

Christopher T. Cross,
Washington, D.C.

Cross is director of the Education Initiative of The Business Roundtable and a member of the Maryland State Board of Education. He is a former assistant secretary for educational research and improvement in the U.S. Department of Education.

Denis P. Doyle,
Chevy Chase, Maryland

Doyle is a senior fellow at the Hudson Institute and was formerly with the American Enterprise Institute. A political scientist, he writes extensively about education policy and school reform.

Norman E. Higgins,
Guilford, Maine

A former teacher, Higgins is principal of Piscataquis Community High School. He has served on Maine's Common Core of Learning Commission and, in 1988, earned a National Alliance for the Arts Leadership Award.

William E. Shelton,
Ypsilanti, Michigan

A former teacher and principal, Shelton is president of Eastern Michigan University. He is active in local and national organizations and has written on higher education issues.

Glenn R. Walker,
Clyde, Kansas

Walker is a former teacher and Fulbright fellow. He is principal of Clifton-Clyde High School and Clifton Elementary School. From 1987 to 1991 Walker was state chairman of the "Initiative for Understanding: US-USSR Youth Exchange."

"Year-Round Education" Table of Contents Acknowledgments

[ Home ]