A r c h i v e d  I n f o r m a t i o n

A Nation At Risk - April 1983

Members of the National Commission on Excellence in Education

David P. Gardner (Chair)
University of Utah and
President-Elect, University of California
Salt Lake City, Utah

Yvonne W. Larsen (Vice-Chair)
Immediate Past-President
San Diego City School Board
San Diego, California

William 0. Baker
Chairman of the Board (Retired)
Bell Telephone Laboratories
Murray Hill, New Jersey

Anne Campbell
Former Commissioner of Education
State of Nebraska
Lincoln, Nebraska

Emeral A. Crosby
Northern High School
Detroit, Michigan

Charles A. Foster, Jr.
Irnmediate Past-President
Foundation for Teaching Economics
San Francisco, California

Norman C. Francis
Xavier University of Louisiana
New Orleans, Louisiana

A. Bartlett Giamatti
Yale University
New Haven, Connecticut

Shirley Gordon
Highline Community College
Midway, Washington

Robert V. Haderlein
Irnmediate Past-President
National School Boards Association
Girard, Kansas

Gerald Holton
Mallinckrodt Professor of Physics and
Professor of the History of Science
Harvard University
Cambridge, Massachusetts

Annette Y. Kirk
Kirk Associates
Mecosta, Michigan

Margaret S. Marston
Virginia State Board of Education
Arlington, Virginia

Albert H. Quie
Former Governor
State of Minnesota
St. Paul, Minnesota

Francisco D. Sanchez, Jr.
Superintendent of Schools
Albuquerque Public Schools
Albuquerque, New Mexico

Glenn T. Seaborg
University Professor of Chemistry and Nobel Laureate
University of California
Berkeley, California

Jay Sommer
National Teacher of the Year, 1981-82
Foreign Language Department
New Rochelle High School
New Rochelle, New York

Richard Wallace
Lutheran High School East
Cleveland Heights, Ohio

[Letter of Transmittal] [Table of Contents] [Introduction]