Tech-Prep Demonstration Program

Current Section
 Office of Vocational and Adult Education Home

Who May Apply: (by category) Institutions of Higher Education (IHEs), Local Education Agencies (LEAs), Other Organizations and/or Agencies

Who May Apply: (specifically) Applications are no longer accepted. Applicants were consortia that included at least one member in each of the following three categories:

  • An LEA, an intermediate education agency, an area vocational and technical education school serving secondary school students, or a secondary school funded by the Bureau of Indian Affairs;
  • Either (a) a nonprofit institution of higher education (IHE) that offers a two-year associate degree, two-year certificate, or two-year postsecondary apprenticeship program or (b) a proprietary IHE that offers a two-year associate degree program; and
  • A business.

Under the provisions of Sec. 204(a)(1) of the Carl D. Perkins Vocational and Technical Education Act of 1998 (Perkins Act), to be eligible for consortium membership, both nonprofit and proprietary IHEs had to be qualified as institutions of higher education pursuant to Sec. 102 of the Higher Education Act of 1965 (HEA). This included institutions receiving assistance under the Tribally Controlled College or University Assistance Act of 1978 (25 U.S.C. 1801 et seq.) and tribally controlled postsecondary vocational and technical institutions. In addition, nonprofit IHEs were eligible only if they were not prohibited from receiving assistance under HEA, Title IV, Part B (20 U.S.C. 1071 et seq.), pursuant to the provisions of HEA Sec. 435(a)(3); 20 U.S.C. 1083(a). Proprietary IHEs were eligible only if they were not subject to a default management plan required by the secretary of education.

Print this page Printable view Send this page Share this page
Last Modified: 10/11/2006