Skip Program Navigation
Small, Rural School Achievement Program

Current Section  Eligibility
 Office of Elementary and Secondary Education Home

New Fiscal Year 2017 REAP Eligibility Spreadsheet


Who is Eligible?

Beginning in FY 2017, the following eligibility criteria for SRSA apply:

A Local Education Agency (LEA) is eligible for an SRSA award if:

1a. The total number of students in average daily attendance (ADA) at all of the schools served by the LEA is fewer than 600;


1b. each county in which a school served by the LEA is located has a total population density of fewer than 10 people per square mile;


2a. all of the schools served by the LEA are designated with a school locale code of 41, 42, or 43, as determined by the Secretary of Education;


2b. the Secretary grants the LEA’s request to waive the criteria described above in a2;

To see how SRSA differs from RLIS, view the SRSA-RLIS Comparison Table .

NOTE: If an LEA is a member of an educational service agency (ESA) that does not receive SRSA funds, but the LEA meets the SRSA eligibility requirements, then the LEA is eligible to receive an SRSA grant.

Eligibility Spreadsheets for Previous Years

These spreadsheets list, by state, all LEAs that have been eligible for awards in previous years.

Last Modified: 04/19/2017