Rural and Low-Income School Program

Current Section
 Office of Elementary and Secondary Education Home
Who is Eligible?

Below is the link to the FY 2018 REAP Final Cohort Spreadsheet, which identifies in Column P the local education agencies (LEAs) for which a Small Rural School Achievement (SRSA) grant allocation will be calculated as well as those that may receive a Rural Low-Income Schools (RLIS) grant from their states in FY 2018.

Please keep in mind that in a few instances, an SRSA allocation may calculate to zero. Also, LEAs in the RLIS cohort will need to apply through the State and meet any additional State criteria.

New Fiscal Year 2018 REAP Master Eligibility List (9.8MB, Excel)

Eligibility Spreadsheet Legend
This table describes the information in each column of the eligibility spreadsheet linked above.



(Columns A-J)

National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) - District directory information reported to NCES by State Common Core of Data (CCD) Coordinators

(Columns K-N)

Final Eligibility Determinations - These are the final eligibility determinations for every district for the SRSA (including those under Hold Harmless) and RLIS grants. These determinations are based on the data found in columns “S” through “Y.”

(Column O)

This column identifies LEAs that submitted an SRSA application that was approved.

(Column P)

This column identifies whether an LEA will receive an SRSA grant and those that may receive an RLIS grant through the State.

(Columns Q-R)

“Rural” criteria for SRSA and RLIS, including the NCES locale code determinations for every school in the district and the state designation of districts that meet an approved state definition of "rural"

(Columns S-U)

SRSA criteria for program eligibility - Districts that are both “rural” (by locale code) and “small” (by ADA or county population density of < 10 per square mile)

(Columns V-Y)

RLIS criteria for program eligibility - Districts that are both “rural” (by locale code) and “low income” (by percentage of children above 20% poverty)

(Columns Z)

These are the FY 2016 Title II Part A allocations. These numbers are used in the allocation formula for the SRSA grant. (NOTE: For the FY 2019 award cycle, the Department intends to use FY 2017 allocation data from both the Title II-A and the Title IV-A programs when calculating SRSA award amounts.)

NOTE: Local education agencies (LEAs) are listed first by state, then by LEA name.

Who is Eligible?

An LEA is eligible for an RLIS award if:
  • Twenty percent or more of the children ages 5 through 17 years served by the LEA are from families with incomes below poverty; and
  • All of the schools served by the LEA are designated with a school locale code of 32, 33, 41, 42, or 43.

NOTE: Dual eligibility occurs when an LEA meets the eligibility requirements for both the SRSA program and the RLIS program. Dual-eligible LEAs must choose one grant under which to receive funds each fiscal year.
To see how SRSA differs from RLIS, view the SRSA-RLIS Comparison Table.

Eligibility Spreadsheets for Previous Years

These spreadsheets list, by state, all LEAs that have been eligible for awards in the previous three years.


Last Modified: 06/14/2018