Skip Program Navigation
Race to the Top Fund

Current Section  Eligibility
 Office of the Deputy Secretary Home

Who May Apply: (by category) Governors

Who May Apply: (specifically) Awards are made to States.

States are the eligible applicants under section 14006(a)(2) of the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act (ARRA). As defined by section 14013, the term "State" means each of the 50 States, the District of Columbia, and the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico.

ARRA section 14006(c) requires at least 50 percent of Race to the Top funding to States to be sub-granted to participating local education agencies (LEAs) according to their relative shares of funding under the Elementary Secondary Education Act of 1965 as amended (ESEA) Title I, Part A program for the most recent year.

States have considerable flexibility in awarding or allocating the remaining 50 percent of their Race to the Top awards, which are available for State-level activities, disbursements to LEAs, and other purposes as the State may propose in its plan.

Last Modified: 05/11/2016