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Part B Data Notes 

 
2007-08 Reporting Year and Fall 2008 

This document provides information, or data notes, on the ways in which states collected and reported
data differently from the Office of Special Education Programs (OSEP) data formats and instructions.
In addition, the data notes provide explanations of substantial changes or other changes that data users
may find notable or of interest in the data from the previous year.  

The data notes are organized as follows:  Child Count, Educational Environments, Personnel, Exiting, 
Discipline, Assessment, and Dispute Resolution. 

2008 Child Count  

Alaska 

Alaska collects data on all the required elements for both data reports, so any cell containing a zero 
represents a population with no students to report. 

Alabama 

The state does not collect data on 22-year-old students. 

American Samoa 

American Samoa allows children ages 3-5 to be classified in the following disabilities:  hearing 
impairments, emotional disturbance, orthopedic impairments, other health impairments, traumatic brain 
injury, visual impairments, deaf/blindness, developmental delay and autism. For the 2008 child count, 
American Samoa had zero children to report in these categories.  

American Samoa allows students ages 6-21 to be classified in the following disabilities: emotional 
disturbance, orthopedic impairments, other health impairments, traumatic brain injury, and autism. For 
the 2008 child count, American Samoa had zero students to report in these categories. 

Arizona 

In an effort to improve accuracy and validity of the child count data, Arizona Department of Education 
Exceptional Student Services (ADE/ESS) has elected to change the child count date to October 1st, 
effective FY 2009 (SY 2008-09). It was anticipated that by moving the child count date earlier in the year, 
public education agencies (PEAs) would have more time to submit and clean their special education data 
in the Student Accountability Information System (SAIS) by the mandated submission date of February 
1st, thus giving ADE/ESS accurate and valid data to submit to OSEP. 

Arkansas 

Arkansas does not allow the use of developmental delay once a child meets the state’s criteria for 
kindergarten; therefore, the data element is not part of the data collection for students in a K-12 setting. 
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Arkansas law allows any student to remain in school through age 21; it does not include age 22 and over. 

The Arkansas child count was taken on Dec. 1, 2008. 

Bureau of Indian Education 

BIE does not collect data on children who are 3 years old. The data are not collected because BIE serves 
only children who are 5 years old by Dec. 31 of a given year. 

California 

California does not use the developmental delay category when identifying disability status for children 
with disabilities ages 3 to 21 for purposes of reporting under IDEA. 

Colorado 

Colorado does not permit students to be reported in the other health impaired category. These children 
are reported under orthopedically impaired.  

Colorado does not permit children to be classified in the developmental delay category. The state does 
have a category of preschool child with a disability that equates to the developmental delay category for 
ages 3 through 5. The state does not have an equivalent category for children with disabilities who are 
ages 6 to 8. 

In Colorado, children with disabilities may be served through the end of the semester in which they turn 
21. The state does not serve children in the 22 and over category. 

Ages 3-5 
In Colorado, hearing screening for newborns is mandatory. Follow-up for additional testing of infants 
who fail the newborn screening has improved, which promotes earlier identification of infants with 
hearing loss. As more children with identified hearing loss receive services through Part C, these 
increased numbers are proportionately reflected in Part B.  

An additional impact on Colorado’s 3- to 5-year-old deaf/hard of hearing count is the children who are 
identified with unilateral hearing loss. Early Intervention Colorado has added unilateral hearing loss to the 
list of Established Conditions that are eligible for Part C services through Colorado’s early intervention 
program for deaf/hard of hearing children (CHIP). Colorado physicians refer to the Established 
Conditions to make referrals. Children with unilateral hearing loss are increasing the numbers in our 
deaf/hard of hearing children in Colorado’s 3- to 5-year-old count.  

The numbers of children with autism are continuing to climb nationally, not just in Colorado. The 
Colorado Department of Education is participating in a grant with the Colorado Department of Public 
Health and Environment from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention to study the prevalence of 
children with autism to see if they are increasing and possible reasons why. Currently the prevalence of 
children with autism is 1 in 150.  

The CDE also focuses technical assistance on the identification of students with autism in schools. The 
state has provided technical assistance specific to the evaluation process and using the Autism Diagnostic 
Observation Scale (ADOS). In a number of administrative units (AUs), the numbers of students with 
autism rose, and the number of students with physical disabilities decreased. 
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Finally, some of the AUs most affected by the rise in numbers of students with autism serve military 
compassionate assignments. The military gives preference to two bases in Colorado (along with many 
others in the country) to families who have children with disabilities. These AUs have seen a significant 
increase in the numbers of students with autism, and many of these students come from military families. 

In our analysis of the increase in the number of students with autism, we believe the same issues 
happening in our preschool numbers are happening in our school-aged numbers.  

Connecticut 

Due to Connecticut statute and regulation, the State Department of Education does not use developmental 
delays to classify students over the age of 5 with disabilities. 

The decrease in the number of students ages 6-21 with visual and orthopedic impairments was verified 
and accurately reflected the students being served in Connecticut Public Schools in the 2008-09 school 
year. 

Autism in Connecticut is seeing the same increase in identification that the rest of the country is 
experiencing. 

Differences in developmental delays, as reported last year were attributed to district noncompliance with 
state law and failure to reclassify students upon reaching age 6. Zero cases of noncompliance were 
reported in this file, thus the reduction to zero. 

District of Columbia 

Data are collected for deaf/blindness and traumatic brain injury. As of the Dec. 1, 2008, child count, no 
3- through 5-year-olds were identified with either disability. In addition, the District had no students with 
deaf/blindness through the age of 21 at the time of the child count.  

In FFY 2008, the District of Columbia reported no children with disabilities classified with 
deaf/blindness. About 0.02% of children with disabilities nationwide are classified with deaf/blindness, so 
only two or three children might be expected in the District’s special education population. Two children 
identified with deaf/blindness were indeed enrolled during FFY 2008. One was initially classified with 
hearing impairments, but was re-classified with deaf/blindness during IEP revision after the child count. 
The second child’s IEP expired on Nov. 1, 2008, and was not revised until Jan. 9, 2009; the child did not 
have a current IEP at the time of the December 1 child count. 

Delaware 

Delaware does not use the multiple disabilities category when identifying disability status for children 
with disabilities ages 3 to 21 for purposes of reporting under IDEA. Delaware does not count individuals 
after the age of 21. 

The move to needs-based funding in Delaware has broadened the age range for children to be identified 
as developmentally delayed. Previously, children could only be classified as developmentally delayed up 
to the age of 3. Under that guideline, 4- and 5-year-old children with delayed development had to be 
classified as learning disabled to receive special education services. Needs-based funding now allows 4- 
and 5-year-old children to be identified as developmentally delayed to receive special education services 
rather than classified as learning disabled. 
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Florida 

Florida does not identify children with multiple disabilities. Florida identifies children as developmentally 
delayed only through age 5. 

Georgia 

Georgia does not permit students with disabilities to be reported in the multiple disabilities category.  

Reported child count totals are higher than totals reported by race/ethnicity consistent with the guidance 
permitting the exclusion of students reported as multiracial from the race/ethnicity totals for children ages 
3-5 and ages 6-21. This reporting practice applies to all tables that require the reporting of students by 
race/ethnicity.  

The decrease in the number of children ages 3-5 reported with speech or language impairments reflected 
the overall reduction in the number of children requiring special education services. This decrease was 
attributed to Georgia’s emphasis on prereferral interventions for all children and noncategorical eligibility 
determinations for young children.  

The increase in the number of children reported with developmental delays is attributed to the 2007 
change in state regulations increasing the maximum age for children reported with developmental delays 
from age 7 to age 9. 

Guam 

Guam permits children ages 3-5 to be classified in the following categories:  emotional disturbance, 
deaf/blindness and traumatic brain injury. For the 2007-08 data collection, Guam had no children to 
report in these categories. 

Hawaii 

It is very rare that students are counted in the 21 age category. However, if there is a hearing case that 
requires the state to provide compensatory services, it is obligated and required to provide those services. 
In these rare cases, the data are collected and reported.  

As an added note, Hawaii state Law (Chapter 56), requires the state to serve youths with disabilities under 
IDEA until age 19. The youth may reach 20 during the school year and is then allowed to complete the 
year, so technically in a normal situation, the state serves youths up until the age of 20.  

Hawaii does not serve the 22+ age group unless a parent or student prevailed in a hearing, and 
compensatory services are part of the settlement. 

Indiana 

Indiana does not use the developmental delay category when identifying disability status for children with 
disabilities ages 6 to 21 for purposes of reporting under IDEA. 

Iowa 

Iowa is a noncategorical state and, therefore, does not assign children/students who receive IEPs to a 
disability category. The number and percentage of children/students in each disability category is 
determined annually by distributing eligible individuals over the categories using incidence rates obtained 
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from a study of disability incidence in Iowa. As the number of eligible individuals changes, the number 
and percentage of children/ students in each disability category also changes. Child count data for 2007 
were verified, and year to year changes were determined accurate. 

Iowa does not use the developmental delay category when identifying disability status for children ages 3 
to 21 with disabilities for purposes of reporting under IDEA. If we were submitting the data through the 
DTS, those cells would be -9. The data are submitted through the EDEN/EDFacts reporting structure that 
is housed elsewhere in the department and our bureau supplies the data to be entered by that bureau 
within our department.  

Iowa does not have developmentally delayed defined as required in the 618 instructions and has never 
used that category in Federal reporting. It is not defined in Iowa's rules for special education (to date). 
Iowa does not require a disability label; children are identified as eligible individuals. All the IDEA and 
Iowa requirements are used in the eligibility determination. For reporting by disability, as in 618 reports, 
eligible individuals are distributed using incidence figures. Deaf/blind should be zeroes, which is the 
result of the distribution. 

Kansas 

Kansas does not serve individuals age 22+. 

Kentucky 

Kentucky did not identify any students over 21 on its child count nor were services provided to this 
population. Traditionally only a student who was ordered compensatory education through a due process 
hearing would receive services after age 21. 

Louisiana 

Louisiana does not classify children ages 3-5 with a learning disability. We use the classification 
developmentally delayed for the younger children with a cognitive impairment. 

The increase in the number of children ages 3 through 5 and students ages 6 through 21 with disabilities 
in the autism category by 15.94 percent was attributed to an increased awareness of the characteristics of 
this disability at the national, state, and local levels. Additionally, workshops and conferences were 
provided to teachers and parents regarding the characteristics of autism, such that children with 
characteristics of autism were more easily identified. 

The decrease in the number of children ages 3 through 5 with disabilities in the mental retardation 
category by 12.84 percent was attributed to the increase in the autism exceptionality. In the past, students 
classified in the mental retardation category are now being classified in the autism category given the 
increased awareness of the autism exceptionality. 

Maine 

Maine does not use the developmental delay category when identifying disability status for children ages 
7 to 21 with disabilities for purposes of reporting under IDEA. 

Maryland 

Maryland does not collect data for ages 22 and over. 
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Maryland attributed a 26.23% decrease in the number of 3- through 5-year-olds with visual impairment to 
the monitoring team approving consideration for students’ primary disability to be listed and entered as 
multiple disabilities. Throughout the school year, IEP teams considered this factor, and several of the 
students were appropriate under this category. The number of students whose primary disability was 
visual impairment or deaf/blind decreased. 

Maryland attributed a 20.63% increase in the number of 3- through 5-year-olds with other health 
impairments to the revision of the definition of multiple disabilities. This resulted in fewer students 
labeled with the disability code of multiple disabilities. As the multiple disabilities code was used less 
frequently, other disability codes increased, specifically other health impaired, developmental delay, and 
autism.  

Maryland attributed a 41% decrease in the number of 3- through 5-year-olds with multiple disabilities to 
the revision of the definition of multiple disabilities. This resulted in fewer students obtaining the 
disability code of multiple disabilities. As the multiple disabilities code was used less frequently, other 
disability codes increased, specifically other health impaired, developmental delay, and autism.  

Maryland attributed a 12.73% increase in the number of 3- through 5-year-olds with autism to the 
prevalence of students identified as autistic, which is the fastest increasing disability for students with 
disabilities. In fact, in light of the increase, pediatricians have developed a web-based screening system 
that extends preliminary assessments that identify a child at-risk for autism to ensure accurate diagnoses. 
It should also be noted that one local school system’s Birth-5/Child Find Outreach has resulted in a 17% 
increase in students evaluated/ served in that community. Furthermore, yearly, the counties experience an 
increase in students transferring to local school systems with significant needs/intensive service 
requirements. Many of these students are identified with autism and/or autism spectrum disorders. 

Maryland attributed a 13.30% increase in the number of 3- through 5-year-olds with developmental delay 
to IEP teams becoming more familiar with this option and using it more when identifying children. In 
order for the child to receive services, an IEP team will use developmental delay. 

Maryland attributed a 20% decrease in the number of 3- through 5-year-olds American Indian or Alaska 
Natives to the demographics of the state changing from year to year. As a result, the percentage of 
students with disabilities by race is likely to change.  

Maryland attributed a 14.53% increase in the number of 3- through 5-year-old Asian or Pacific Islanders 
to an overall increase in the Asian population. Changing demographics and efforts to target underserved 
and special populations plus increased collaboration with the Asian community resulted in the increased 
number of children identified for special education services. 

Maryland attributed a 16% increase in the number of 3- through 5-year-old Hispanic children to an 
overall increase in the Hispanic population, more Child Find referrals for Hispanic children after some 
families in this ethnic group had positive experiences, parents urging relatives and friends to seek 
services, and the number of Hispanic children enrolling in Head Start and preK programs increasing as 
additional programs have increased. In addition, Hispanic parents appear to be more willing to refer their 
children. This is a big change from 5 years ago.  

As Child Find/ Interagency Efforts in a System of Care are developed, it is the state’s responsibility to 
provide due diligence in outreach to underrepresented student groups in special education. 
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Changing demographics and efforts to target underserved and special populations plus increased 
collaboration with the Hispanic community resulted in the increased number of children identified for 
special education services. 

Maryland attributes a 10.14% decrease in the number of 6- through 21-year-olds with speech or language 
impairments to professional development that emphasized the need for a deficit identified in 
speech/language skills to be identified and have an educational impact for students beyond second grade. 
Strategic interventions, language training of providers/stakeholders, and targeted language services within 
the state’s Birth through 5 continuum have resulted in a decrease of school-age students requiring special 
education and/or and identification as speech/language disabled. Speech/language pathologists received 
additional professional development on the speech language eligibility criteria. This included information 
on screening tools, assessment selections, and data analysis.  

Maryland attributed a 47.05% decrease in the number of 6- through 21-year-olds with multiple disabilities 
to the revision of the definition of multiple disabilities. This resulted in fewer students being identified 
under the category. As the multiple disabilities code was used less frequently, other disability codes 
increased, specifically other health impaired, developmental delay, and autism.  

Maryland attributed a 16.01% increase in the number of 6- through 21-year-olds with autism to more 
students being identified with that disability on the local, state, and national level. Also the increase may 
have been due to students who cannot continue to be coded with developmental delay, use of more 
comprehensive assessment and evaluation methods in targeting specific disabilities and provision of staff 
development in targeting students identified with Autism Spectrum Disorder. 

Massachusetts 

In response to the significant year-to-year change report for 2008 (2008-09) child count data, 
Massachusetts found no errors on the submitted data. However, due to the large percentage change as 
noted on some items in the report, the state gave the following explanations: 

The decrease in the number/percentage of students with specific learning disabilities from 2007 to 2008 
reflected a continuing trend in Massachusetts’ numbers for the past few years. In 2007, LEAs also 
received new technical assistance from the state that provided guidance for LEAs to use when finding 
students eligible for special education with specific learning disabilities: 
http://www.doe.mass.edu/sped/iep/sld/default.html 

The increase in the number/percentage of students reported with autism was consistent with the state’s 
overall reporting trend for the past few years. 

The change in reporting of race/ethnicity for students with disabilities from five categories in 2007 to 
seven categories in 2008 may have contributed to the overall changes seen in the reporting categories in 
2008. 

Michigan 

Michigan does not use the developmental delay category when identifying disability status for children 
ages 8 to 21 with disabilities for purposes of reporting under IDEA.  

http://www.doe.mass.edu/sped/iep/sld/default.html
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Micronesia 

Micronesia serve students with deaf-blindness or traumatic brain injury and collects data on these 
students. However, for this reporting period, no children were in these two categories.  

Although there are seven categories of race/ethnicity, FSM reports all children with disabilities under 
Pacific Islander because it is the category that best represents the ethnicity of all children with disabilities 
in the FSM. FSM collects data for the other races, but no data were collected for the reporting year.  

In 2007, Micronesia overreported the number of children ages 3-5 in the developmental delay category. 
This was due to an error in categorizing of children with specific learning disabilities. Micronesia 
corrected the discrepancy after the data freeze date of July 15, 2008. 

Minnesota 

Minnesota implemented a new policy and new rules for the transition of children from Part C beginning 
in 2007-08. The policy requires initial evaluation of children exiting Part C and entering Part B. Where in 
the past children may have been identified under developmental delay, the transition policy increased the 
likelihood that more specific categorical eligibility will be used. 

The increasing identification of children in the autism category is part of a continuing national and 
international trend. Efforts have been made to improve screening and earlier identification of children, 
with professional development and technical assistance to schools that has contributed to better 
identification practices. The number of individuals with an Autism Spectrum Disorder has been observed 
to have increased in each of the past 15 years in Minnesota. Even with this increase, the overall 
percentage of the increase this year was lower than the increase last year.  

While there was a small increase in the number of children who are deaf/blind, there was a negating 
decrease in both blind/visually impaired and deaf/hard of hearing.  

The increase in students with multiple disabilities was significantly offset by the decrease in mental 
retardation.  

The increasing identification of children in the autism category is part of a continuing national and 
international trend. Efforts have been made to improve screening and earlier identification of children 
with professional development and technical assistance to schools that has contributed to better 
identification practices. The number of individuals with an Autism Spectrum Disorder has been observed 
to have increased in each of the past 15 years in Minnesota. Even with this increase the overall percentage 
of the increase this year was lower than the increase last year.  

Missouri 

Missouri does not use the developmental delay category when identifying disability status for children 
ages 7 to 21 with disabilities for purposes of reporting under IDEA.  

For ages 3-5, the increases in other health impairment, multiple disabilities and American Indian/Alaska 
Native, were small and comprised very small changes across many districts. 

For ages 6-21, the increase in autism was a continuing trend for both the state and nationwide. 
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Increases in Asian, Hispanic, and American Indian/Alaska Native students showed continuing trends from 
previous years. Also, with the change to student-level reporting, the students’ race/ethnicity was pulled 
from district enrollment systems, rather than being maintained separately by the special education 
personnel, therefore, these data are likely to be more accurate than in the past. 

Montana 

Montana does not use the developmental delay category when identifying disability status for children 
ages 6 to 21with disabilities for purposes of reporting under IDEA.  

In accordance with state regulations at NAC 388.430 in effect since 1988, a student in Nevada may only 
be identified as a student with a developmental delay if the student is under the age of 6. Consequently, 
Nevada had no students with the developmental delay label who were ages 6 through 21.  

Nebraska 

Nebraska changed the child count date to October 1 to align the data collection with the state’s All 
Student Fall Membership count date. 

Nevada 

During 2008, the Nevada Department of Education determined that, based upon the workload burden of 
submitting both DANS and EDEN data to the USED by February 1 of each year, Nevada would move its 
child count date from December 1 to October 1 of each school year. This change permits more time for 
limited staff to configure data into the various formats required for timely and accurate Federal 
submissions of Part B child count data by February 1 of each year and to align the data collection with the 
state’s All Student Fall Membership count date. 

Nevada does not serve the age 22 and over population. Nevada does not use the developmental delay 
category for children above the age of 5 (in state law, a child with a developmental delay is under the age 
of 6). 

New Jersey 

New Jersey does not permit student ages 6-9 to be classified in the developmental delay category. 

The state attributed the drop in the rate of students ages 3 to 5 with disabilities who are eligible for speech 
and language services to increased efforts to provide interventions to students before they are referred and 
an increased focus within early intervention and preschool programs on literacy. In FFY 2007, the data 
collection was an aggregate collection, whereas in FFY 2008, data were collected through New Jersey’s 
new student-level database. The collection date was moved from December 15 to October 15, which may 
have affected the number of students in kindergarten who were determined eligible by the date of data 
submission. The New Jersey Office of Special Education Programs will continue to analyze these data to 
identify additional causes for the change and to monitor trends. 

New Mexico 

For 2007, 3,093 children were diagnosed as developmentally delayed. This number dropped by 157 
children to 2,936 children in 2008. Conversely, the number of children diagnosed with speech or 
language impairments increased by 281 children or 10.21% during the same time period. There is a push 
in the state to identify under the IDEA disability category and not under developmental delay. 
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This information suggests that there is a possible correlation between the drop in children who are 
developmentally delayed and the increase in the number of children who have a speech or language 
impairment, or autism. The number of students who have a developmental delay are re-evaluated by age 9 
to see if they qualify for another IDEA disability category. This would account for the decrease in the 
developmental delay category and the increase in the speech or language impairment category. The 
Special Education Bureau is closely monitoring districts’ policies and procedures regarding evaluations to 
ensure that students are being evaluated properly. 

Children diagnosed with autism increased by 21 children or 15.11% year-to-year from 2007 to 2008. This 
increase matched the national trend. This increase has been due in part to an ongoing autism project being 
conducted in 10 New Mexico school districts. The purposes of the project are to promote the early 
identification and appropriate early intervention and preschool services to children with autism and their 
families and to build statewide capacity and competence in evaluation and program planning. New 
Mexico also provided training on the Autism Diagnostic Observation Schedule (ADOS).  

In 2005, the New Mexico Public Education Department approved a change in state rule regarding the 
evaluation and eligibility determinations for students in grades K-3 who are perceived to have specific 
learning disabilities. As of July 1, 2009, state rules at 6.31.2.10 NMAC provide that the LEA must 
implement the dual discrepancy model in grades K-3 as part of the information sources and measures 
when evaluating for specific learning disabilities eligibility. The state also has a Response to Intervention 
(RTI) framework as described at 6.29.1.9 (D) of NMAC. In Tiers 1 and 2 of the state’s RTI framework, 
schools implement appropriate research based-instruction and interventions based on student needs, 
monitor student progress, and then adjust instruction to ensure that it is effective. This would account for 
the decrease in the specific learning disabilities category.  

The year-to-year (2007-08) increase in children ages 6-21 diagnosed with orthopedic impairments was 
negligible in that it represented an increase of only 20 children from 190 children in 2007 to 210 children 
in 2008. There is a push in the state to identify under the IDEA disability category and not under 
developmental delay. 

For 2007 2,943 children ages 6-21 were diagnosed as developmentally delayed. This number dropped by 
445 children or 15.25% to 2,498 in 2008. Conversely during the same timeframe, the number of children 
ages 6-21 diagnosed with speech or language impairments increased by 292 children, and the number of 
children ages 6-21 diagnosed with autism increased by 185 children or 24.25%.  

This information suggests that there is a possible correlation between the drop in children who are 
developmentally delayed and the increase in the number of children who have an orthopedic impairment 
or autism. The number of students who have a developmental delay are re-evaluated by age 9 to see if 
they qualify for another IDEA disability category. This would account for why the developmental delay 
category reduced and speech or language impairment increased. The Special Education Bureau is closely 
monitoring districts’ policies and procedures regarding evaluations to ensure that students are being 
evaluated properly. 

Children diagnosed with autism increased by 21 children or 15.11% year-to-year from 2007 to 2008. This 
increase also matched the national trend. This increase may have been due in part to an ongoing autism 
project being conducted in ten New Mexico school districts. The purpose of the project is to promote the 
early identification and appropriate early intervention and preschool services to children with autism and 
their families and to build statewide capacity and competence in evaluation and program planning. New 
Mexico also provided training on the Autism Diagnostic Observation Schedule (ADOS). 
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New York 

In Section C, 227 students ages 3 to 5 were reported to the state as multiracial but were included in the 
White race/ethnicity category.   

In Section E, 498 students ages 6 to 21 reported as multiracial were included in the White race/ethnicity 
category.   

All preschool children ages 3-4 were reported in the developmental delay row in Section B.   

This is the first year that New York’s child count and educational environments data were as of the first 
Wednesday in October (Oct. 1, 2008) compared to December 1 in previous years.   

The state reported -9 in all the cells except in the developmental delay row in the age 3 column and in the 
developmental delay row in the age 5 column. Some students who were fo4ur years of age on October 1 
(the child count date) were served as preschool children with disabilities, and some were enrolled in 
school-age programs (not preschool). If the 4-year-old children were enrolled in preschool special 
education, they were reported under developmental delay. If they were enrolled in school as school-age 
students with disabilities, they were reported according to their school-age disability category (one of 13 
disability categories defined in New York). Students with disabilities who were 5 years of age on October 
1 were school-age students (not preschool) and as such were reported under one of the 13 disability 
categories defined in the state. 

North Dakota 

North Dakota does not use the multiple disabilities category when identifying disability status for children 
with disabilities ages 3 to 21 for purposes of reporting under IDEA. 

Oklahoma 

Oklahoma does not collect data on 22-year-olds. Students age out at 21 in Oklahoma. They can be served 
until their 22nd birthday.  

Ohio 

Ohio does not use the developmental delay category when identifying disability status for children ages 6 
to 21 with disabilities for purposes of reporting under IDEA.  

Ohio implemented categorical identification of preschoolers in 2008. Previously, Evaluation Team 
Reports (ETRs) identified students who had not yet entered kindergarten simply as a preschooler with a 
disability.  Disability categories were applied to this population proportionately to the distribution of 
disabilities in the school-age population. With the advent of categorical identification for preschoolers, 
ETR teams had the option of identifying a specific disability or determining the existence of 
developmental delay.  

Students with existing IEPS showed data that didn’t yet include specific disability categories; districts 
chose to report those as having a developmental delay. As IEPs were developed throughout the 2007-08 
reporting period year, data reflected the changes in how students were categorized. This resulted in the 
proportion of students with specific disabilities increasing, while the more general developmental delay 
counts decreased.  
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Oregon 

Oregon does not use the multiple disabilities category when identifying disability status for children ages 
3 to 21 with disabilities for purposes of reporting under IDEA. 

Oregon does not use the developmental delay category when identifying disability status for children ages 
6 to 21 with disabilities for purposes of reporting under IDEA.  

Palau 

There are many reasons for the significant number changes in specific learning disabilities from the prior 
year. Factors range from families moving out of the island, dropping out, mainstreaming and exiting.  

Palau is now using the new race/ethnicity categories, so Asian and Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander 
are now two different categories. In the previous year, the state used the old DTS, where the two were 
aggregated as one category. It is for this reason that the numbers show a significant difference when 
compared. The significant difference in numbers from 2006-07 to 207-08 was due to the separation of the 
two categories. 

Pennsylvania 

Pennsylvania does not use the developmental delay category when identifying disability status for 
children ages 8 to 21 with disabilities for purposes of reporting under IDEA.  

Puerto Rico 

Puerto Rico does not use the developmental delay category when identifying disability status for children 
ages 6 to 21 with disabilities for purposes of reporting under IDEA.  

South Carolina 

South Carolina did not collect data for students over the age of 21. 

South Dakota 

South Dakota does not use the developmental delay category when identifying disability status for 
children ages 6 to 21 with disabilities for purposes of reporting under IDEA.  

Texas 

Texas does not collect data on developmental delay in any of the age categories. 

Utah 

It was determined that the difference in specific learning disabilities for children ages 3-5 from 2006-
2007 of 23 students or 60.53 % was due to one of the LEA’s mislabeling of 14 students as specific 
learning disabilities instead of speech/language impairment. 

Utah continues to grow in numbers of students with disabilities and the increase in the numbers of 
students with autism and other health impairments was a direct result of this growth. 



Data Accountability Center (DAC) – Grant Award #H373Y070002 Page 13 

Vermont 

Data were submitted in pre-suppressed format in accordance with Vermont Department of Education 
policy, could not be subject to analysis, and therefore were excluded from these tables. 

Virginia 

Virginia allows the identification of students as developmentally delayed through the 8th birthday, thus 
the cell for 9-year-old developmental delay is -9 to reflect that this reporting category is not applicable. 

Virginia does, by state regulation, serve students through the 21st birthday and thus does serve 22-year-
old students. These data, however, were reported as -9 for the following reasons: (1) Virginia is EDEN 
only for child count data submission. EDFacts does not allow submission of data for 22-year-old 
students. This DTS file was created to match the data submitted to EDFacts via the EDEN files. (2) This 
is an optional reporting category for OSEP. 

Virgin Islands 

Missing data elements were due to zero children to report. 

Developmental delay (ages 3-5):  The state attributed the decrease in the number of children reported in 
the developmental delay disability category for children ages 3-5 on the Dec. 1, 2008, child count Table 1 
to the following reasons; moved, known to be continuing; moved, not known to be continuing; and change 
in disability category following an evaluation by Diagnostic and Evaluation Center’s Diagnostic Team. It 
should be noted that this decrease was due to one district only. 

All disability categories (ages 3-5): The state attributed the decrease in the number of children reported in 
all disability categories for children ages 3-5 on the Dec. 1, 2008, child count Table 1 to the following 
reasons; moved, known to be continuing; moved, not known to be continuing; return to regular education; 
and change in disability category following an evaluation by Diagnostic and Evaluation Centers 
Diagnostic Team. Additionally some children’s ages changed from 5-6; as a result, these children were 
reported in the 6-21 category after the Dec. 1, 2007, child count. It should be noted that this decrease was 
due to one district only. 

Race ethnicity (Ages 3-5): The state attributed the decrease in the number of children reported in the 
race/ethnicity category for children ages 3-5 on the Dec. 1, 2008, child count to the following reasons: 
moved, known to be continuing; moved, not known to be continuing; return to regular education; and 
change in disability category following an evaluation by Diagnostic and Evaluation Centers Diagnostic 
Team, which resulted in their being reported in the racial/ethnic category based on the Diagnostic Team’s 
determination of the new disability category. Additionally some children’s ages changed from 5-6; as a 
result, these children were reported in the 6-21 category, after the Dec. 1, 2007, child count. It should be 
noted that this decrease was due to one district only. 

Washington 

Washington does not use the developmental delay category when identifying disability status for children 
ages 9 to 21 with disabilities for purposes of reporting under IDEA. 
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West Virginia 

West Virginia Board of Education Policy 2419: Regulations for the Education of Students with 
Exceptionalities does not define a category of multiple disabilities, therefore, data are not collected for 
this category. Policy 2419 limits the definition of developmental delay to children ages 3-5, therefore, 
data are not collected in this category for ages 6-21. Data were collected and reported for all other 
categories.  

The number of students ages 3 through 5 in the autism category increased from 48 to 61, which is a 
difference of 27.08%. The number of students ages 6 through 21 in the autism category increased from 
904 to 1,035, which is a difference of 14.49%. This increase was consistent with longitudinal trend data 
for the state and paralleled the national trend. These trends resulted from increased public awareness, 
child find activities, and expansion of the conditions included in the autism spectrum. 

The number of children ages 3 through 5 with disabilities in the Black subgroup increased from 212 
students to 237 students, which is a 11.79% difference. The overall population of students in the Black 
subgroup in West Virginia increased from 5.05% to 5.21% from 2007 to 2008. The increase in Black 
students with disabilities appears to be related, in part, to the slight increase in the overall population of 
Black students served by West Virginia schools.  

Wisconsin 

Wisconsin does not use the multiple disabilities category when identifying disability status for children 
ages 3 to 21 with disabilities for purposes of reporting under IDEA. The state also does not use the 
developmental delay category in identifying children with disabilities ages 7 to 21. 

Wisconsin Administrative Code, Chapter 11 - Children with Disabilities, does not provide eligibility 
criteria for the disability category of multiple disabilities.   

In Wisconsin, significant developmental delay is a disability category for children ages 3, 4, and 5. A 
child who turns age 6 after September 1 may continue to be identified with a disability of significant 
developmental delay through the end of the school year.   

2008 Educational Environments  

Alabama 

Alabama does allow for the possibility that a student ages 6-11 could be incarcerated. However, the state 
has not had any such incidents to report. 

Through multiple focused efforts, Alabama increased the numbers of preschool age students with 
disabilities receiving services in the 80-100% Regular Early Childhood Environment while 
simultaneously demonstrating a decrease in the numbers in more restrictive environments. An analysis of 
the 2007 LRE data was used to determine which LEAs demonstrated the highest percentage of preschool 
students with disabilities in more restrictive environments. In order to assist identified LEAs with 
establishing more inclusive preschool programs, site grants along with technical assistance were provided. 
Additionally, Alabama sought to improve the coordination of services with other state agency providers, 
as well as establish an environment of collaboration with community service providers throughout the 
state. Alabama will continue to monitor this trend to determine if these efforts show on-going 
effectiveness and to drive decisions for further improvement. 
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Alaska 

Alaska collects data on all the required elements for both data reports so any cell containing a zero 
represents a population with no students to report. 

Many districts throughout the state made real strides in providing more services in the classroom this 
year. This resulted in an increase in the number of students reported inside the regular class 40% to 79% 
of the day and a decrease in the number of students reported inside the regular class less than 40% of the 
day. 

One of the largest school districts opened an new school this year to better serve students with disabilities 
who also have behavioral concerns. This school accounted for almost all the increase in student’s reported 
as being served in a separate school. 

The state was unable to determine the reason for the decrease in the number of students reported in 
residential facilities. This number is always under 50 and fluctuates from year to year, but this year’s 
report of 24 students would be considered a low end outlier. The state will watch to see if this is the 
beginning of a developing tread. 

The decrease in the number of students reported as homebound/hospital is attributed to a return to 
historical counts. The 47 students reported in 2007 was a high end outlier and the 33 students reported in 
2008 follows the trend of 30-31 students reported in 2004-06. 

The decrease in the number of LEP students reported in both the 3- through 5-year-olds and the 6- 
through 21-year-olds follows the overall trend in general education students, too. There was a statewide 
push to educate districts on how to better identify, assess, and report data on LEP students. This resulted 
in better identification and data quality. Districts also did a better job of removing students from their LEP 
roles once the student passed the required LEP assessments. 

Arizona 

In an effort to improve accuracy and validity of the environment data, ADE/ESS elected to change the 
child count date to October 1, effective FY 2009 (SY 2008-09). It was anticipated that by moving the 
child count date earlier in the year, PEAs would have more time to submit and clean up their special 
education data in SAIS by the mandated submission date of February 1, thus giving ADE/ESS accurate 
and valid data to submit to OSEP.  

Bureau of Indian Education 

BIE does not collect data on students parentally placed in private school because BIE does not serve 
students who are parentally placed in private school.  

BIE serves Native American students from any state. The schools are located in 23 states. As a result, the 
age that a student can be incarcerated cannot be determined. BIE recognizes that at least one state 
incarcerates students who are between the ages of 6 and 11. 

BIE does not collect data on children who are 3 years old. The data are not collected because BIE serves 
only children who are 5 years old by Dec. 31 of a given year. 
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Colorado 

Colorado allows students to be incarcerated starting at the age of 10 (Children's Code 19-2-406 & 407). 
However, it is rare because it can only happen if 19-2-909 is true. 19-2-909 refers to juveniles under the 
age of 12 who are not aggravated juvenile offenders. They can only be committed to the department of 
human services if they are adjudicated for a class 1, 2, or 3 felony. For the 2007-08 data collection, 
Colorado did not have students ages 6-11 to report in the correctional facility category. 

The zeros under the categories on page 15 reflect actual individual-level student data. 

Colorado does not have an equivalent category for other health impairments. Our category of physical 
disabilities is reported under orthopedic impairments. 

Ages 3-5 
Overall, the data for Colorado reflect increases in students served in regular early childhood programs at 
least 40% of the time. These data reflect decreases in students served in regular early childhood programs 
less than 40% of the time, separate schools, home. 

The increase in students served in a service provider location is due to students receiving only speech/ 
language services directly from providers. 

Ages 6-21 
Overall the data for Colorado reflect decreases in settings other than inside regular class 80% or more of 
the day. Throughout the state, Colorado’s AUs are finding that students are being successful in less 
restrictive environments. AUs report that they are moving the supports that students receive into general 
education classrooms to align resources to support students to be successful in less restrictive settings. 
These efforts affected the decrease in students reported as Inside regular class less than 40% of day, 
Separate school. 

Students are placed in residential facilities by the Department of Human Services and AUs do not control 
these numbers. The data were reviewed and verified. 

One AU identified students attending online programs as homebound in 2006-07. This error in reporting 
was identified by CDE, and technical assistance was provided to this AU. These data were reviewed and 
verified. 

Colorado’s Division of Youth Corrections closed a facility, reducing the state’s capacity. The Colorado 
Department of Corrections (adult penal system) showed a significant reduction in the number of youth 
identified as eligible for special education.  

Pursuant to 34 § 300.134(d)(1) AU directors consult with private schools to identify the types of services 
to be provided and how special education and related services are to be apportioned for students 
parentally placed in private schools. The increase in students reported in this field is a direct result of 
these procedures and decisions made about the range of services provided. 

Throughout the state, Colorado's AUs found that students are being successful in less restrictive 
environments. AUs report that they are moving the supports that students receive into general education 
classrooms and aligning resources to support students to be successful in less restrictive settings. Because 
Colorado is moving to an Rita approach to identifying students with specific learning disabilities, 
significant training has been provided in many school districts. Teachers are engaging in differentiated 
instruction that supports students with disabilities in general education settings. As a result, Colorado is 
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seeing greater numbers of students able to receive appropriate instruction in general education 
classrooms. 

Connecticut 

According to state law, correctional facilities can only serve students ages 14 and older.  

Ages 3-5  
The decreases in the number of children in segregated settings can be attributed to Department efforts to 
include as many children in regular early childhood programs as possible. The increase in home setting is 
a parental choice issue that the state has no control over; eleven more parents in Connecticut chose to 
have their 3- through 5-year-olds receive services in the home than last year. 

Ages 6-21  
The decreases in the number of students in separate school and other segregated settings can be attributed 
to Department efforts to include as many children in inclusive settings as possible. The increase in 
residential facility placements was investigated by the Department in regard to trends in placement based 
upon disability and race. Sixty percent of all Connecticut children in residential settings were placed there 
by state agencies, not by the district Planning Placement Team (PPT). Findings indicated a 20% increase 
in the current school year in placements by state agencies (Court Systems and Department of Children 
and Families) of students with serious emotional disturbance into these segregated residential settings. 
The Department convened a workgroup comprising multiple state agency personnel to discuss the 
observed trends and their implications for provision of FAPE by LEAs. 

District of Columbia 

As of the Dec. 1, 2008, collection date, DC had no 3- through 5-year-old students with disabilities in 
residential facilities or receiving services at the service provider location and no 3- through 5-year-old 
students with the noted disabilities in the noted environments. At that time, DC also had no 6- through 21-
year-old students with deaf-blindness, and no 6- through 21-year-old students with the noted disabilities 
in residential facilities, homebound/hospital, correctional facilities, or parentally placed in private schools. 

The number of children ages 6 through 21 with disabilities parentally placed in private schools decreased 
to 42 in FFY 2008 from 1,864 in FFY 2007. While a high percentage of children in the District of 
Columbia are served in residential and private placements, the FFY 2008 data reflect only those children 
whose parents have elected private placements. While the personnel responsible for prior data 
submissions are no longer employed by the District and cannot provide confirmation, it is believed prior 
data collection did not differentiate which children in private schools were actually parentally placed, and 
all children in private placements were reported in the parentally placed category.  

Children ages 3 through 5 with disabilities in the District of Columbia may be placed in residential 
facilities and may receive special education services at a service provider’s location. Children ages 6 
through 11 with disabilities may be placed in correctional facilities. However, during FFY 2008, no 
children of either age group were in these placements. 

Delaware 

Delaware does not incarcerate youths under the age of 16. Delaware does not use residential facilities for 
children ages 3-5.   
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Georgia 

Reported child count totals for educational environments are higher than totals reported by race/ethnicity 
consistent with the guidance permitting the exclusion of students reported as multiracial from the 
race/ethnicity totals for children ages 3-5 and ages 6-21. This reporting practice applies to all tables that 
require the reporting of students by race/ethnicity. 

Hawaii 

Hawaii has no state or local policy that prohibits children under 12 years of age from being incarcerated. 

2007 was the first year that states were asked to collect data using the revised LRE definitions for 3- 
through 5- year-olds. In the time allotted to collect the data, Hawaii was not able to modify the database 
that electronically collects the LRE data. Therefore, individual teachers collected the information child by 
child. Schools manually submitted their data to the district office personnel who manually aggregated the 
data and then submitted to the state office. To compound matters, the instructions for Table 2 were 
unclear regarding what counted as time spent in a regular early childhood environment (beyond the 
regular school day).  

Regarding the increase in 3- through 5-year-olds identified as both special education and ELL eligible, 
Hawaii will be conducting further review to determine if appropriate evaluation and eligibility 
determination procedures were followed.  

Hawaii has noticed the trend of a higher number of students having more restrictive environments. It 
should be noted that the number of students ages 6-21 in general education less than 40% of the time has 
decreased. That means that the group in the middle is the subgroup that has grown. The state is still 
investigating this pattern. Trainings during the past year have focused on special education students 
having access to the general education curriculum. In addition, LRE is one of the items (SPP, Indicator 5) 
placed on the upcoming cycle of focused monitoring (General Supervision and Support), and ARRA 
funds are also being looked at to encourage co-teaching.  

Illinois 

There is no statute that prohibits the incarceration for children ages 6-11 in Illinois. These are data the 
state collects, but has no children to report.  

Iowa 

Fourteen is the youngest age at which a child may be incarcerated in Iowa. 

Data on the placement of children ages 3-5 for 2007 reflect a trend of generally less restrictive 
placements, with the exception of an increase in the category of separate schools. These data were 
verified and determined accurate, and the year-to-year changes were attributed to (a) continued emphasis 
on placement in less restrictive settings, (b) true variance in the data due to new programs in the state that 
are categorized as separate schools, and (c) continued fluctuations in the data as the category changes 
from 2006 are implemented. 

Data on the placement of children ages 6-21 for 2007 reflect a trend of less restrictive placements. These 
data were verified and determined accurate, and the year-to-year changes are attributed to (a) continued 
emphasis on placement in less restrictive settings and, (b) true variance in the data. 
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Data on the number of students ages 6-21 who were ELL show an increase in the number of IEP students 
who are also LEP. These data were verified and determined accurate, and the increase was attributed to 
true variance in the data. 

Kentucky 

Kentucky permits students with disabilities to be incarcerated between the ages of 6 and 11. The state 
does not have a legal restriction against this type of placement, and as a result, a judge could potentially 
order this type of incarceration for children of this age. Kentucky has no policy or law that prohibits the 
incarceration of children younger than 12 years of age. However common practice is not to do this. 

Maryland 

Maryland attributed a 52.84% increase in the number of 3- to 5-year-olds in Regular Early Childhood 
Program at Least 80% of Time to:  
1)  greater understanding of LRE definitions resulting in greater accuracy in local data collection and 

reporting; MSDE continues to provide technical assistance regarding environments definitions and 
criteria through administrative briefings held for local school system preschool special education 
coordinators, and data updates meetings for local school system (LSS) Part B data managers; and 

2)  continued state emphasis on serving young children with disabilities in regular early childhood 
settings; MSDE’s Statewide Preschool LRE Initiative provided funding to support LSS improvement 
activities, including professional development, effective partnerships with community providers and 
programs, and the use of evidence-based practices to enhance positive child outcomes, and the 
establishment of regional technical assistance centers. 

Maryland attributes a 69.48% decrease in the number of 3- to 5-year-olds in regular early childhood 
program 40 to 79% of time to the increased number of children in regular early childhood settings 80% or 
more of the time. 

Maryland attributed a 26.6% increase in the number of 3- to 5-year-olds in regular early childhood 
program <40% to local school systems providing services to children in more inclusive settings who had 
previously received services in a separate class. 

Maryland attributed a 10.58% increase in the number of students in separate class to one large school 
system reporting students as in a separate class when receiving services in both the service provider 
location and a class for language enrichment that included less than 50% typically developing peers.  

Ages 6-21 
Maryland attributed an 11.42% increase in the number of students in homebound/hospital to the data. 
This was reviewed by the local school systems, and there was no explanation for this data anomaly. 

Maryland attributed a 17.67% increase in the number of students in correctional facilities to the LRE 
coding change that resulted in more accurate accounting when the count is taken. 

Maryland attributed a 19.39% decrease in the number of students in parentally placed private schools to 
the economy. Special education directors report anecdotal information that parents are opting to return 
students to public schools due to the recession. 
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Massachusetts 

Prior to 2007, LEAs submitted students’ educational environments using one data variable in the state’s 
student-level information management system (SIMS). Although two distinct variables were available for 
districts to report educational environments for their students in 2007 (one variable for reporting 
environments for 3- through 5-year-olds, and the other for reporting 6- through 21-year-old 
environments), this was the first time that all LEAs in the state were required to use them. In 2006, 
sample data were used for this table. The data reported in 2008 may reflect a better understanding on the 
part of the LEAs in reporting their data through the two distinct variables. 

Micronesia 

Micronesia provides funding for special education and related services in separate schools, but it would 
be an unusual occurrence to have a student placed in this environment. The usual placement would be at 
home. 

Micronesia does not provide special education and related services to students ages 6-21 years old in 
residential facilities and correctional facilities. According to FSM Title 12 Chapter 11, any child under the 
age of 18 should not be confined in correctional facilities, but to a responsible parent or guardian. As 
such, FSM does not collect this data element for all children under the age of 18. 

Micronesia does not prohibit students who are parentally placed in private schools from receiving special 
education and related services, but it is an unusual occurrence. Although there are eight placement 
categories, all students in the FSM are placed in either 80% of the day in regular education setting or at 
home. FMS still reports zeros on the other setting because they are available options for students with 
disabilities.   

Minnesota 

In Minnesota, students ages 6 to 21with disabilities who are in correctional facilities and those who are 
parentally placed in private facilities are reported in educational environments based on the percentage of 
their education that is received in general education. 

Ages 3-5 
Regular early childhood program less than 40% of time: The proportional decrease in the number of 
children spending less than 40% of their time in a regular education setting may be attributed to economic 
realities experienced by families of young children and the fact that fewer families have two parents in the 
workforce.  Therefore, fewer children participate in child care, which was the regular early childhood 
program for many of those children. 

Service provider location: Decreased use of a service provider location may be attributed to guidance 
provided by MDE to the field regarding relative ineffectiveness of that service model. 

Ages 6-21  
Residential facility: Residential facilities in Minnesota are largely general education facilities. Students in 
private and public residential facilities are reported in the responsible district, in the appropriate level of 
service based on the amount of special education and related services received. This includes all students 
with IEPs in private and public facilities. 
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The increase in the number of LEP children ages 3-5 reflects intensive efforts to effectively reach out to 
Minnesota residents who speak a language other than English and additional training to LEAs around 
accurate reporting of this data element for preschool-aged children. 

Mississippi 

Mississippi does permit children younger than 12 years old to be incarcerated. After Hurricane Katrina, 
Mississippi experienced a lot of movement between the coastal school districts and the rest of the state. It 
has been almost 4 years since Katrina, and the movement of students has decreased. 

New Jersey 

New Jersey recognizes the importance of placing students with disabilities in general education 
environments. The state believes that the change in the proportion of children ages 3 to 5 who are placed 
in general education environments for more than 40% of the time may be a result of changes in the 
definitions in the placement categories. In FFY 2007, the data collection was an aggregate collection, 
whereas in FFY 2008, data were collected through New Jersey’s new student-level database, NJ SMART. 
Definitions were revised to further define each placement category. The state will conduct further analysis 
of the data, by district, to determine if trends are consistent with changes in the data collections. Once we 
identify more specific reasons for the change, training will be conducted for district personnel involved in 
the data submission. 

New Mexico 

For the 3- through 5-year-old special education population, there was a significant year-to-year (2007-08) 
increase of 70.42% in the number of children served in service provider locations and a 24.73% increase 
in the number of children served in the separate class setting. For the same time period, there was a 
decrease of 11.04% in the number of children served in the regular early childhood program setting less 
than 40% of the time and a 6.89% decrease in the number of children served in the regular early 
childhood program 40% to 79% of the time.  

New Mexico does not provide state dollars to fund preschool for typically developing peers. Over the past 
2 years, the state has received less state-level funds due to a decrease in oil and gas revenues. This 
resulted in LEAs cutting money for typically developing peers, which are not required to be served, and 
moving funds to other critical areas.  

Also, New Mexico has a high mobility rate, with significant numbers of students moving in and out of the 
state. With this, a certain level of fluctuation occurs in the number of children placed in the 
aforementioned categories.  

New York 

On the environments table, data are collected by age ranges, 3-5 and 6-21, so it is appropriate to report 
zeroes in the various columns rather than -9 because in the 3-5 age range, there are some preschool 
children with disabilities and also some school-age students with disabilities.  

There are no school-age students mapped into two preschool settings, separate class and service provider 
location. Only preschool age children with disabilities are reported in these two settings. 

Children who are 4 years old on October 1 and will not become 5 years old by December 1 or a later date 
established by the school district are not eligible to enroll in a school-age special education program (in 
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kindergarten). These children remain in preschool special education programs and receive special 
education services as preschool children with disabilities. These children are reported in Table 3 
according to the LRE categories for children ages 3-5. Some children who are 4 years old on October 1, 
but will become 5 years old by December 1 or a later date established by the school district are enrolled in 
school as school-age students with disabilities (in kindergarten) and are reported in Table 3 according to 
the following mappings.  

For school-age students who are ages 4-5, New York collects data on LRE settings by using the LRE 
settings for students ages 6-21. These 4- through 5-year-old school-age students are reported in Section A 
using the following mappings:        

Inside regular class for 80% or more of the day = In the regular early childhood program at least 80% of 
time; Inside regular class for 79 to 40% of day = In the regular early childhood program 40% to 79% of 
time; Inside regular class less than 40% of day = In the regular early childhood program less than 40% of 
time; Separate school = Separate school; Residential facility = Residential Facility; Hospital = Separate 
school; Correctional facilities = does not apply to children ages 4-5; Parentally placed in private schools 
(Including home-schooled) = Home; Home Instruction = Home. There are no school-age children mapped 
in two preschool settings, Separate Class and Service Provider Location. Only preschool-age children 
with disabilities are reported in these two settings. 

There are no mappings for separate classroom and service provider location for school age students. The 
state did report some 4- through 5-year-old school-age students mapped to a separate school.  

NYS does not identify preschool children as being LEP. All preschool children with disabilities (39,437) 
were reported under Not LEP in Section E. Only the school-age students who are in the 3- through 5-
year-old age range were reported as being either LEP or not. 

In Section B, New York State classifies a preschool child as preschool child with a disability, and not by a 
specific disability category. All school-age students with disabilities are classified by a specific disability 
category. Data in Section B are provided by specific disability categories for school-aged students (ages 
4-5) but under the developmental delay row for preschool children. 

In Section G, 498 school-age students (ages 6 to 21) who were reported to the state as multiracial were 
reported in the White race/ethnicity category. 

In Section C, 86 school-age students (ages 4-5) and 141 preschool children with disabilities who were 
reported to the state as multiracial were reported in the White race/ethnicity category. 

This is the first year that NYS' child count and educational environments data are as of first Wednesday in 
October (October 1, 2008) compared to December 1 in previous years.  

NYS allows school-age students with disabilities in all age range categories to be reported in correctional 
facilities. The data submitted were verified as being accurate in 2006, 2007, and 2008. New York still 
plans to submit the final 2007-08 non-child count data and 2008-09 final child count data to DAC once it 
completes all verification processes. 

Northern Marianas 

Northern Mariana's predominant language is English as well as our language of instruction. The Northern 
Mariana's currently does not have a testing instrument to measure the proficiency of the predominant 
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language for all students with and without disabilities. Our state school system is in the process of 
creating a testing instrument to measure language proficiency for all students.  

North Carolina 

North Carolina does allow children younger than 12 years old to be incarcerated. Juvenile Code 7B 1501 
states that a child is determined as a juvenile at 6 years old and can be detained. However, the Department 
of Juvenile Justice cannot take secure custody until the age of 10. 

North Dakota 

North Dakota’s Century Code does not allow students younger than 12 to be incarcerated.  

Palau 

Palau does not collect data on placement in residential facilities.  

Palau collects the data on children ages 3-5 in the educational program 40-79% of the day and less than 
40% of the day, in separate class, separate school, home and service and provider location. Palau did not 
have children to report in the 2007-08 data collection. 

Palau collects data on students ages 18-21 in separate school and private school. Palau did not have 
students to report in the 2007-08 data collection. 

Palau collects data on students 6-21 years old in correctional facilities and homebound/hospital settings. 
Palau did not have students to report in the 2007-08 data collection. 

Regular early childhood program at least 80% of time:  Early childhood program is working hard to have 
the students spend more time with their peers. Students are served in the regular early childhood program 
setting where they spend more time. 

Inside regular class 40% to 79% of day:  This environment category is where most of Palau IEP students 
are placed. When a lot of IEP students exit the program for any reason, it affects this category. There are 
many factors why there are significant number changes from the prior year. Factors range from families 
moving out of the island, dropping out, mainstreaming, and exiting for many reasons.  

Age 6-21: Male:  Exiting of students is one of many factors of why this number went down. Compared to 
females with IEP’s, Palau has more males with IEP’s. More students who exited were male. 

English Proficiency:  Almost all Palauan IEP students are ELL; Palauan is the primary language. It was 
clarified that the state should use this category to match its local first language. For instance, the category 
asks for LEP status. Last year, Palau interpreted the category literally and put its IEP students in the YES 
field. This time it was clarified that they should be in the NO field because Palauan is their first language. 
This category was localized to match our language proficiency status. 

Pennsylvania 

Pennsylvania’s 2008 report of educational environments for 3- to 5-year-olds children with disabilities 
shows an increase of children attending a regular early childhood programs at least 80 percent of the time 
and a decrease in children attending these programs less than 40% of the time. In 2008 the state continued 
efforts in promoting truly inclusive settings. These efforts also resulted in the decreases to the service 
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provider locations, separate school, and residential facility categories. In addition, the state provided 
clarification to the local level programs regarding LRE definitions to improve accuracy in data reporting 
and collecting. This clarification resulted in more accurate reporting relative to children in early 
childhood programs less than 40 percent of the time and separate class settings. While leading to a 
temporary increase in the separate class setting, this approach will allow for more focused efforts in 
reducing the number of children in this category in subsequent years.  

Pennsylvania’s report of educational environments for the 6 to 21 population showed a similar pattern, 
with an increase in students receiving special education and related services in regular classes at least 80 
percent of the time and a decrease of students in regular classes less than 80 percent of the time. 
Continued and ongoing efforts in providing technical assistance and compliance monitoring follow up 
support the positive increase toward more inclusive settings in Pennsylvania. 

Puerto Rico 

Puerto Rico provides services to children ages 12-17 and 18-21 in residential facilities. For 2007-08, 
Puerto Rico did not have any children to report in this category. Puerto Rico serves children ages 6-9 with 
developmental delay in different educational environments. For 2007-08, there were no children reported 
for this disability. 

Rhode Island 

In Rhode Island, there is no set age for detention, but the process starts at the petition's filing and the 
determination at that point of whether to even file same. Therefore, it is possible that a child under the age 
of 12 could be incarcerated, although it is not common. 

South Carolina 

South Carolina’s Department of Juvenile Justice does not incarcerate children ages 6-11. Children ages 6-
11 are instead placed in residential treatment facilities, foster care, under electronic surveillance, or have 
an alternate consequence of some kind. The column for Correctional Facilities ages 6-11 on page 15 
contains -9 values since this is not an option in South Carolina.      

All elements designated with a zero are collected elements that the state did not have any to report.  

Texas 

Texas permits incarceration of children ages 11 but not for 6 -10. Since age group 6 -11 includes the 11 
years old,  in 2008-09, the state did not have children ages 11 in this category. 

Utah 

Preschool Environments Age Group 3-5:  There seems to still be confusion in the preschool population 
regarding the definitions of the environments used in defining preschool special education placement. It is 
getting better, but they do keep changing it seems. The issues with residential facilities were a reporting 
error in 2006. The data are now corrected. Growth in the special education preschool student numbers 
accounted for some of the increases 

Educational Environments Ages 6-21: Residential facilities numbers reflect a change in the Utah School 
for Deaf and Blind residential program and policies. Home and hospital are always difficult data to 
explain as they depend on sickness, discipline, and injury issues being unpredictable. Utah instituted a 
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voucher system for students with disabilities to go to private school. The effects of this voucher 
scholarship system in the number of parentally place students in private schools is reflected in the change 
from 2006-07. 

Educational Environments English Proficiency:  Increases in the number of minority students in Utah 
reflected the difference for 2006-07. 

Vermont 

Data were submitted in pre-suppressed format in accordance with Vermont Department of Education 
policy, and could not be subject to analysis, and therefore were excluded from these tables. 

Virginia 

Virginia allows the identification of students as developmentally delayed through the 8th birthday, thus 
the cell for 9-year-old developmental delay is -9 to reflect that this reporting category is not applicable.  

Virgin Islands 

The state collects data for the data element categories listed in the clarification request, but did not have 
any to report. These data element categories were reported as zero on the DTS. 

West Virginia 

The difference in regular early childhood program less than 40% of the time from 2007 to 2008 was 
primarily due to one county’s data entry error in 2007. The county of interest has verified that the number 
of students with disabilities in the regular early childhood program less than 40% of the time is accurate 
in the 2008 report. 

Wisconsin  

Correctional Facilities—Per Wisconsin Juvenile Justice Code 938.12 (1) "the court has exclusive 
jurisdiction, except as provided in ss. 938.17, 938.18, and 938.183, over any juvenile 10 years of age or 
older who is alleged to be delinquent.” 

2007 Personnel  

Alabama 

Of the reported 565.8 (FTE) total not highly qualified special education teachers (ages 3-21), 125 (FTE) 
serve in state-supported private facilities in which they are not required to meet the Alabama Model for 
Identifying Highly Qualified Teachers. However, they do meet state certification requirements. Therefore, 
Alabama wishes to note that although these teachers are reported in the not highly qualified category 
because of reporting requirements, the total in this category should appropriately read 440.8 (FTE) total 
not highly qualified special education teachers (565.8-125=440.8). 

Alaska 

Alaska employs medical/nursing service staff and counselors and rehabilitation counselors to serve 
children with disabilities, but had none to report for the 2007-08 reporting year. Alaska does not employ 
social workers to serve children with disabilities. 
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Alaska attributed the decrease in highly qualified special education teachers for ages 3-5 to the 6% 
decrease in the number of 3- through 5-year-old children with disabilities who were enrolled over the past 
2 years. 

Alaska believed the decrease in the number of interpreters (fully certified and total) was due to the fact 
that this was only the second year of collecting these data. It may take a few years for the LEAs to 
correctly identify and report on the interpreter population. The state is training on this issue. 

American Samoa 

Three speech-language pathologists are locally certified to provide services for speech and language. Six 
psychologists are certified through module trainings and are locally certified to provide assessment and 
evaluations. 

In American Samoa, teachers serving 3- through 5-year-olds are reported according to certification status. 
Certified teachers must have a bachelor’s degree. Teacher assistants are counted as paraprofessionals. 
American Samoa was not able to account for teacher’s aides providing special education and related 
services to 3- through 5-year-old children with disabilities. Provisions will be made to collect these data 
for school year 2008-09. 

American Samoa employs the following related services personnel to serve children with disabilities, but 
had none to report for the 2007-08 reporting year: occupational therapists. 

American Samoa does not employ the following related services personnel to serve children with 
disabilities: audiologists, interpreters, physical education teachers, and recreation and therapeutic recreation 
specialists. 

Arkansas 

Arkansas does not employ speech language pathologists as related services personnel to serve children 
with disabilities. The information requested in Table 2, Section C on speech pathologist is contained in 
Table 2, Section A. Speech is considered an instruction, not a related service in Arkansas. Special 
education teachers are considered highly qualified if they have the proper credentials to teach special 
education (including speech therapists). Therefore, special education teachers who do not meet the criteria 
for NCLB highly qualified but are fully certified for their position are reported under highly qualified for 
this report. 

Bureau of Indian Education 

A greater than 10% decrease in not qualified paraprofessionals was shown for 3- through 5-year-olds (-
18.00 FTE at -66.67%; for 6- through 21-year-olds (-15.84 FTE at 44.20%). The BIE believed this drop 
was in part related to the overall drop in students being served under IDEA in the last several years. Also, 
schools have been encouraged to fund teaching positions as much as possible, and this may have also had 
an impact on paraprofessional numbers; however, hard data are not available to support that hypothesis.  

While not as large, a drop in FTE (12.02%) was also reported for qualified paraprofessionals. It was 
hypothesized that the reasons cited for non-qualified are the same for the number of qualified 
paraprofessional FTEs dropping. 
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Colorado 

Colorado collects data on qualified paraprofessionals, but the only special education paraprofessionals 
that are required to be highly qualified are those in Title I and schoolwide schools. The 618 data report 
does not distinguish paraprofessionals who are required to meet the NCLB highly qualified requirements 
versus those who are not required to meet these requirements. Since the paraprofessionals in Title I and 
schoolwide schools are highly qualified, and there are no paraprofessional licensure requirements in 
Colorado, all paraprofessionals are considered to be highly qualified. 

The increase in qualified paraprofessionals for ages 3-5 was attributed to regional trainings conducted 
with Colorado AUs during the 2007-08 school year regarding the necessity to report paraprofessionals in 
the correct age category.  

December 2006 was the first year of a new data collection system. Extensive training was provided to 
AUs, but comparison of data between the old and new systems was difficult, largely because FTE are 
calculated in a different manner in the new system. In 2006, one of the state’s large AUs failed to report 
all of its paraprofessionals in the correct category. This was corrected on the December 2007 report and 
accounts for over half of the increase. 

Trainings were conducted during the 2007-08 school year with statewide lead interpreters, which resulted 
in concise documentation regarding the licensure process for educational interpreters. These lead 
interpreters were able to work with school interpreters on an individual basis, which resulted in increased 
numbers of interpreters understanding procedures and determining qualifications for Colorado state 
licensure. 

Regional trainings were conducted during the 2007-08 school year with Colorado AUs regarding the 
necessity to report all interpreters, including interpreters on purchase service contracts through 
independent interpreting agencies. This resulted in an increased number of total interpreters reported for 
2007.  

Trainings are provided annually at the School Nurse Regional Workshops on the Colorado licensure 
process and the requirement for nurses to be fully certified in their profession.  

Regional trainings were conducted during the 2007-08 school year with Colorado AUs regarding the 
necessity to report school counselors on a prorated basis as determined by the total number of special 
education students served. These trainings resulted in a reduction of the number of fully certified 
counselors reported in 2007. 

The increase in the number of fully certified speech-language pathologists was due to the continuous 
national shortage of state licensed/qualified speech-language pathologists. 

Connecticut 

Efforts by the Department to increase regular education class placement for students with disabilities, 
including programs for students who are age 18-21 in community settings, resulted in the use of more 
paraprofessionals to support students’ successful transition into the general education curriculum. 

The FTE of special education teachers for ages 3-5 reported for 2007-08 demonstrated a significant 
increase compared to the FTE reported in 2006-07. This increase was attributed to data collection 
improvement efforts that more precisely attributed teacher FTEs across all age and grade ranges. 
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Connecticut does not direct employ or contract with related services personnel to provide services to 
children with disabilities. Connecticut does have certification standards for speech-language pathologists, 
psychologists, physical education teachers, social workers, and counselors (including rehabilitation 
counselors) and is able to report the number of those full-time equivalent personnel providing services to 
children with disabilities. Physical education teachers do not include recreation and therapeutic recreation 
specialists. 

Because Connecticut does not certify or have any jurisdiction over the other listed related services 
personnel, the state does not collect data on the number of these personnel employed by LEAs. Therefore, 
Connecticut is unable to report the number of related services personnel in the other categories who may 
be providing services to children with disabilities. 

Connecticut does not designate paraprofessionals according to age group of students served and therefore 
was unable to report the 3-5 versus 6-21 breakout. It is anticipated that the new variables will be available 
for reporting in the November 2009 personnel table on 2008-09 data. 

Delaware 

Delaware does not currently track paraprofessionals for ages 3-5. All teachers are not required to be 
highly qualified because not all special education teachers teach courses where they are required to be 
highly qualified. 

Delaware no longer asks the districts to report on who is highly qualified. The state pulls the information 
from the state's new highly qualified teacher database. Delaware has also made it a major focus to get as 
many teachers as possible deemed highly qualified for the past 2 years. 

Delaware employs the following related services personnel to serve children with disabilities, but had 
none to report for the 2007-08 reporting year:  
• physical education teachers and recreation and therapeutic recreation specialists, 
• social workers, 
• medical/nursing service staff, 
• counselors and rehabilitation counselors, 
• orientation and mobility specialists. 

District of Columbia 

Age group data are not collected by the Office of Educator Licensure & Quality; however, grade-level 
data are collected. Approximate age groups were determined by the reported grade levels; where 
ungraded was reported, age group was determined by the reported grade levels served at a school. Only 
preschool through kindergarten schools are reported in the 3-5 age group. 

Data for interpreters, psychologists, occupational therapists, physical therapists, physical education 
teachers and recreation and therapeutic recreation specialists, medical/nursing service staff, orientation 
and mobility specialists are not collected by the Office of Educator Licensure & Quality. 

For FFY 2007, the District of Columbia reported no audiologists. This item was entered as 0. The District 
of Columbia was unable to report data on Interpreters, occupational therapists, physical therapists, 
physical education teachers and recreation and therapeutic recreation specialists, medical/nursing service 
staff, and orientation and mobility specialists. These items were reported as -9. 
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Georgia 

Georgia modified its reporting practice to include special education teachers who are not responsible for 
teaching core academic subjects and who meet the state definition of fully certified to the classification of 
highly qualified in Section A, Column 1of Table 2 – Personnel.  

Guam 

Guam employs counselors and rehabilitation counselors to serve children with disabilities, but had none 
to report for the 2007-08 reporting year. 

Hawaii 

2006 Table 2 data will be resubmitted with corrected data of 229 highly qualified special education 
teachers for ages 3-5. With the corrected data, the number difference will be 26, and the percentage 
difference will be 11.35%. This increase in highly qualified special education teachers for ages 3-5 is 
offset by a decrease in the number not highly qualified special education teachers for ages 3-5. Hawaii has 
made a concerted effort to meet the NCLB highly qualified requirements. 

2006 Table 2 data will be resubmitted with corrected data of 244 qualified paraprofessionals for ages 3-5. 
With the corrected data, the number difference will be 7, and the percentage difference will be 2.87%, and 
there will be no significant difference. 

The increase in the number of qualified paraprofessionals for ages 6-21 in 2007 was offset by a decrease 
in the number of paraprofessionals who were not qualified.  

The increase in the number of total qualified paraprofessionals in 2007 was offset by a decrease in the 
number of paraprofessionals who were not qualified.  

2006 Table 2 data will be resubmitted with corrected data of 221 fully certified speech-language 
pathologists. With the corrected data, the number difference will be 16, and the percentage difference will 
be 7.24%, and there will be no significant difference. 

The year-to-year difference in the number of fully certified psychologists was attributed to the fluctuation 
in the number of vacancies. 

Due to fluctuations in the number of contracted providers hired, the number for fully certified physical 
education teachers and recreation and therapeutic recreation specialists may vary from year to year. 

Due to fluctuations in the number of contracted providers hired, the number for fully certified 
medical/nursing service staff may vary from year to year. 

2006 Table 2 data will be resubmitted with corrected data of 49 not highly qualified special education 
teachers for ages 3-5. With the corrected data, the number difference will be -9, and the percentage 
difference will be -18.37%. This decrease in not highly qualified special education teachers for ages 3-5 
was offset by an increase in the number highly qualified special education teachers for ages 3-5. 

The decrease in the number of not qualified paraprofessionals for ages 3-5 was offset by an increase in the 
number of qualified paraprofessionals for ages 3-5.  
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The decrease in the number of not qualified paraprofessionals for ages 6-21 was offset by an increase in 
qualified paraprofessionals and a decrease in the number of special education students ages 6-21.  

The decrease in the total number of not qualified paraprofessionals was offset by an increase in qualified 
paraprofessionals and a decrease of total special education students ages 3-21.  

Improved standards for NCLB have placed emphasis on maintaining a fully certified counseling staff.  

The year-to-year difference in the total number of psychologists was attributed to the fluctuation in the 
number of vacancies. 

Due to fluctuations in the number of contracted providers hired, the total number of physical education 
teachers, recreation and therapeutic recreation specialists, and fully certified medical/nursing service staff 
may vary from year to year. 

Idaho 

Idaho’s Basic Education Data System does not collect data on the amount of time a social worker or 
counselor spends specifically with students receiving special education, and therefore, the state is unable 
to report the number of FTE social workers and counselors employed or contracted to provide services to 
children with disabilities. 

Illinois 

Illinois' personnel data does not include personnel employed by private agencies or staff serving in 
nonpublic schools. As a result, Illinois' personnel data are an undercount. 

Illinois' early childhood special education teachers are not required to meet highly qualified requirements, 
as Illinois school districts are not required to provide preschool services to all students. 

Some special education teachers of students in the 6-21 age range may not meet the highly qualified 
requirements if they are working on the basis of a special education approval. Illinois does not collect 
special education teacher data by ages served. As a result, the state is only able to provide a separate 
count of teachers serving 3- through 5-year-olds when their services are provided in an early childhood or 
preschool setting. All other personnel who may be serving students ages 3 through 5 are reported as 
serving 6- through 21-year-old students. As a result, the number of teachers for children 3 through 5 was 
an under count, and the number of teachers for students ages 6 through 21 was a slight over count. 

Illinois provided data for special education paraprofessionals serving children with disabilities for 
students ages 3-5 in previous data submissions; however, all paraprofessional data are currently reported 
in the 6-21 age range. Since many paraprofessionals may be assigned to more than one classroom and 
may provide services to students in both the 3-5 and 6-21 age ranges, all paraprofessionals were reported 
in the 6-21 age range to avoid double counting. Illinois was first notified that reporting in this manner did 
not pass Westat's edit checks on July 2, 2008. At this time, an override request was granted for 2006-07 
data, but the 2007-08 personnel data collection was completed by LEAs at this time. Thus, such 
disaggregation was unable to be completed for the 2007-08 Table 2. Illinois will implement changes to 
the personnel reporting system to make this disaggregation possible for the 2008-09 school year. 

Indiana 

Zero is the correct count for not highly qualified paraprofessionals in Indiana. 
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Iowa 

The data for paraprofessionals for ages 3-5, qualified and total, and paraprofessionals for ages 6-21, 
qualified and total, have been verified and determined accurate. The year-to-year changes were attributed 
to the fact that FTEs for paraprofessionals were divided more accurately between pre-kindergarten and 
school-age programs. This required ongoing improvement, as many such programs are housed in the 
same buildings. 

Kentucky 

The number of special education teachers for the 6-21 age range and overall total increased less than 1 
percent. However there were significant drops in the percentage of these teachers who met the highly 
qualified standard. This was primarily the result of new alternative certification programs that lead to full 
certification in special education. This program allows teachers to meet the standard of highly qualified 
and reduces the number of teachers hired on emergency probationary status. The alternative route to 
certification program has expanded to regional colleges and universities across the state to meet the need 
for qualified special education and other teachers in high demand. 

The number of qualified paraprofessionals for ages 3-5 increased by 89.68 or 14.08%. This increase was 
partially offset by a decrease in the number of paraprofessionals for this age range who were not 
qualified. The number not qualified decreased by 53.5 or 94.19%. The overall change in the number of 
paraprofessionals for the 3-5 age range was a net increase of 36.18 or only 5.21%. The major change in 
this position was movement from non-qualified paraprofessionals to qualified paraprofessionals. This 
change was due to better communication with local districts describing the criteria for qualified persons in 
this role as well as emphasis on the importance of hiring individuals who met the qualifications for the 
position. 

Kentucky has a program for speech language pathologist assistants (SLPAs) who work directly under 
fully certified speech language pathologists until they attain full certification. This program allows for the 
caseload of the fully certified speech pathologist to be increased by 50% or even doubled with up to two 
SLPAs. This program has been in place for several years and is resulting in SLPAs attaining full 
certification. As these SLPAs complete the program, they become fully certified speech language 
pathologists resulting in a larger pool of fully certified SLPs and a lesser demand for SLPAs.  

The number of medical/nursing services staff fully certified increased by 11.81 positions or 14.71%. 
There were no persons in these positions who were not fully certified. The increase in the number of these 
professionals was likely due to the significant gains in the numbers of students identified under the 
disability category of other health impaired. That category increased from 14,330 students in December 
2006 to 15,370 students in December 2007. There were also gains in the number of students with autism 
and traumatic brain injury. These categories typically require services that are more medical in nature 
than other disabilities and required additional staff to meet these needs. 

Louisiana 

The decrease in the number of not highly qualified teachers in both the 3-5 and 6-21 age range was 
attributed to increased opportunities provided by the state for teachers to obtain higher qualifications. 
Tuition exemption programs and teacher stipends have provided added incentive to teachers and 
paraprofessionals to obtain the highest qualifications possible.  

The decrease in the number of not qualified paraprofessionals was attributed to increased opportunities 
provided by the state for paraprofessionals to obtain higher qualifications. Tuition exemption programs 
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and teacher stipends have provided added incentive to paraprofessionals to obtain the highest 
qualifications possible.  

The increase in the number of psychologists and social workers was directly related to a change in 
reporting criteria provided by OSEP. Previously, a psychologist or social worker had to work solely with 
students with disabilities to be counted. The current criteria allow the reporting of the portion of the FTE 
that is spent with students with disabilities even if they also work with students without disabilities.  

The increase in the number of medical/nursing staff and counselors/ rehabilitation counselors was 
attributed to at least three districts incorrectly reporting staff who worked with all students instead of only 
reporting FTE for staff working with students with disabilities. This year, they are correctly identified, 
resulting in a decrease in this category for the 2008-09 year. 

Massachusetts 

Regarding all of the flagged data changes for the 2007 personnel data submission, 2007-08 was the first 
year for which all the LEAs in the state began submitting data through the state’s individual-level 
Education Personnel Information Management System (EPIMS). Previously, LEA data were collected at 
an aggregate level through the state’s District and School Staffing Report (DSSR). For the 2006-07 
personnel submission, data were submitted using pilot EPIMS data from 16 LEAs and DSSR data from 
the rest of the LEAs. In 2007-08, all districts were required to submit their personnel data through 
EPIMS. It was these data that were submitted for the 2007 personnel data submission.  

During the transition to a new data collection system, the state expected that the first year of its statewide 
EPIMS data collection might not be as reliable as future submissions are expected to be. The state is still 
refining its data validations, having added many in the past year alone as well as refining definitions for 
reporting categories and continuing to train both SEA and LEA staff regarding this new data collection 
tool. 

In response to the flagged data change for the 2007 personnel data, Massachusetts attributed these 
changes to the 2-year transition from an aggregate-level personnel data collection system to a new 
individual-level personnel data collection system. The data submitted for 2005-06 (2005) came from a 
single collection instrument, the DSSR. This system collected aggregate-level data from all LEAs, but did 
not capture individual-level work assignments. The transition from this aggregate level system to the 
EPIMS was completed over 2 years. The 2006-07 (2006) data were gathered from two separate collection 
instruments. The majority of LEAs provided aggregate level data through the DSSR; however, 16 pilot 
LEAs submitted their data through the more detailed and time-intensive EPIMS instrument. It was not 
until the following 2007-08 (2007) collection period that all districts were required to submit data at the 
individual level through EPIMS.  

The level of detail provided and time required for completion is significantly greater for EPIMS than it 
was for the DSSR. Moreover, EPIMS has allowed Massachusetts to institute more rigorous data 
validations and refine definitions for reporting categories as it continues to train and support LEA staff to 
ensure the accuracy and quality of the data submitted. 

Micronesia 

Micronesia employs special education paraprofessionals to serve children ages 3-5 and 6-21 with 
disabilities, but had none to report for the 2007-08 reporting year.  
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Micronesia employs the following related services personnel to serve children with disabilities, but had 
none to report for the 2007-08 reporting year: 
• social workers, 
• audiologists, 
• psychologists, 
• occupational therapists, 
• orientation and mobility specialists. 

Minnesota 

Minnesota collects the data for the number of not fully qualified paraprofessionals and not fully certified 
related services personnel, but did not have any to report for 2007-08. 

Minnesota uses two systems for tracking personnel data, EDRS and STAR and has been developing a 
system for improved logic in reporting special education teachers for 3- through 21-year-olds. EDRS was 
the source of the reported data in 2006 because STAR data were not available by the required student age 
groupings. A method for prorating the data by age group was developed for STAR and was used as the 
source for 2007, resulting in the changes reflected in Table 2. 

EDRS specifications and OSEP guidance were reviewed and improvements in the logic and definitions 
were made in order to more closely align with OSEP guidance regarding the number of related services 
personnel. 

Mississippi 

Due to the NCLB requirement, districts cannot employ a non-qualified paraprofessional; this has resulted 
in a drop in our numbers for special education paraprofessionals for ages 6-21. Other areas increased due 
to a review of the data and SQL used to pull the data from the state database, therefore resulting in a 
better representation (and increase) in most categories. 

In Mississippi, all paraprofessionals must meet qualification standards in order to be employed or 
contracted to provide special education and related services to children with disabilities. 

Mississippi was unable to provide a separate count of paraprofessionals who provide special education 
and related services to children ages 3-5 with disabilities from those ages 6-21. 

For the 2007-08 data, the special education teachers were split into ages 3-5 and ages 6-21; in 2006-07, all 
of the data were put in the ages 6-21 category due to limitation in programming that year. This resulted in 
the numbers for ages 6-21 going down and the numbers in ages 3-5 going up.  

The data are now being pulled by the Office of Research and Statistics; this, along with changes in table 
requirements and our state definitions of highly qualified, resulted in SQL changes that caused some 
totals to increase and others to decrease. 

The 2-year grace period for paraprofessionals in Mississippi expired, and all paraprofessionals had to 
meet requirements, which resulted in a decrease in the number of paraprofessionals. 

The decrease in the number of medical/nursing service staff was due to a nursing shortage in the state. 

The numbers of audiologists, speech-language pathologists, and physical therapists not fully certified 
decreased because these professionals must be licensed in order to be hired. 
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The number of physical education teachers and recreation and therapeutic recreation specialists not fully 
certified increased because the state now has a requirement that all students must have physical education. 
This resulted in LEAs putting physical education classes on the schedule of some teachers who were not 
highly qualified for physical education. 

Nebraska 

Nebraska’s 2007 personnel data showed a marked increase in the number of paraprofessionals employed 
or contracted to serve 3- to 5-year-old children with disabilities. Nebraska’s Department of Education 
attributes this change to two factors: 

NDE’s early childhood outcomes system, known as Results Matter, was implemented statewide 
beginning in 2006-07. This system was designed in response to OSEP requirements for measuring and 
reporting child progress data for young children with disabilities B-3 and 3-5. Nebraska’s Results Matter 
system is based on ongoing authentic assessment of young children in their everyday routines and 
activities. This created a need for some LEAs to increase the number of preschool paraprofessionals in 
order to provide more teacher time for ongoing child observation and recording of child progress data. 

In response to OSEP requirements for providing services and supports to young children in natural and 
inclusive environments (LRE), some LEAs needed to increase the number of preschool paraprofessionals 
to support preschool-age children in their community early care and education settings. 

Nevada 

Nevada provided a count for the number of paraprofessionals who were not qualified. The count was 
zero, and there are zeroes in the appropriate cells for data submission. All paraprofessionals who were 
required to be qualified under NCLB were qualified, and all other paraprofessionals satisfied Nevada's 
qualification requirements. 

New Hampshire 

The information provided was consistent with the way it presented in previous years. 

New Mexico 

• Special education teachers for ages 3-5, highly qualified—up 76.93% from 168.08 in 2006 to 297.38 
in 2007, a difference of 129.30. 

• Special education teachers for ages 6-21, highly qualified—up 69.81% from 2,106.94 in 2006 to 
3,577.69 in 2007, a difference of 1,470.75.  

• Total special education teachers, highly qualified—up 70.33% from 2,275.02 in 2006 to 3,875.07 in 
2007, a difference of 1,600.05. 

• Special education paraprofessionals for ages 6-21, qualified—down 35.15% from 2,785.79 in 2006 to 
1,806.09 in 2007, a difference of -979.10.  

• Total special education paraprofessionals, qualified—down 35.06% from 2,792.52 in 2006 to 
1,813.45 in 2007, a difference of -979.07. 

• Audiologist, fully certified—down 32.95% from 34.54 in 2006 to 23.16 in 2007, a difference of -
11.38. 

• Interpreters, fully certified—down 26.65% from 63.38 in 2006 to 46.49 in 2007, a difference of -
16.89. 

• Special education teachers for ages 3-5, not highly qualified—down 79.29% from 15.26 in 2006 to 
3.77 in 2007, a difference of -11.49. 
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• Special education teachers for ages 6-21, not highly qualified—down 79.94% from 341.06 in 2006 to 
68.43 in 2007, a difference of -272.63. 

• Special education paraprofessionals for ages 3-5, not qualified—down 100% from 15.06 in 2006 to 
zero in 2007, a difference of -15.06. 

• Special education paraprofessionals for ages 6-21, not qualified—down 75.73% from 121.75 in 2006 
to 29.55 in 2007, a difference of -92.20. 

• Total special education paraprofessionals, not qualified—down -78.40% from 136.81 in 2006 to 
29.55% in 2007, a difference of -107.40. 

• Speech language pathologist, not fully certified—down 70.33% from 56.25 in 2006 to 16.69 in 2007, 
a difference of -39.56. 

• Special education teachers for ages 3-5, total—up 64.26% from 183.34 in 2006 to 301.15 in 2007, a 
difference of 64.26. 

• Special education teachers for ages 6-21, total—up 49.72% from 2,432.74 in 2006 to 3,642.35 in 
2007, a difference of 1,209.61. 

• Total special education teachers, total—up 50.74% from 2,616.08 in 2006 to 3,943.50 in 2007, a 
difference of 1,327.42. 

• Special education paraprofessionals for ages 3-5, total—down 68.98% from 21.79 in 2006 to 6.76 in 
2007, a difference of -15.03. 

• Special education paraprofessionals for ages 6-21, total—down 36.85% from 2,907.54 in 2006 to 
1,836.24 in 2007, a difference of -1,071.30. 

• Total special education paraprofessionals, total—down 37.08% from 2,929.33 in 2006 to 1,843.33 in 
2007, a difference of 1,086.33. 

• Audiologist, total—down 32.95% from 34.54% in 2006 to 23.16% in 2007, a difference of -11.38. 
• Interpreters, total—down 33.77% from 3.22 in 2006 to 48.49 in 2007, a difference of -24.73. 
• Occupational therapist, total—down 11.34% from 240.95 in 2006 to 213.62 in 2007, a difference of 

-27.33%. 
• Physical therapist, total—down 11.07% from 119.81 in 2006 to 106.55 in 2007. 

The New Mexico personal Table 2 report shows a year-to-year (2006 to 2007) increase in the number of 
special education highly qualified teachers, while showing a decrease in the number of qualified or not 
qualified special education personnel. The total number of New Mexico highly qualified special education 
teachers for 2006 was 2,275.02 and 3,875.07 for 2007. This represents a year-to-year increase in highly 
qualified special education teachers of 1600.05. In comparing flagged categories that decreased year-to-
year to those that increased year-to-year, there is a near one-to-one ratio that suggests that New Mexico is 
experiencing a trend in special education personnel advancing from qualified or not qualified to highly 
qualified. In New Mexico, there are also alternative paths to maintain a license through the HOUSSE 
(High, Objective, Uniform State Standard of Evaluation) process. The HOUSSE allows current teachers 
to demonstrate subject matter competency and highly qualified teacher requirements through a 
combination of proven teaching experience, professional development, and knowledge in the subject 
acquired over time through working in the field. 

 A press release by the New Mexico Public Education Department dated Dec. 16, 2008, entitled 
“Education Reform in New Mexico Takes Major Step Forward with Announcement of 73 New National 
Board Certified Teachers in 2008 State Ranks 21st Nationally in 2008 Results” further suggests the 
possibility that New Mexico is experiencing an increase in highly qualified teachers. 
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New York 

• 4,177.68 more special education teachers for ages 6-21, highly qualified. 
• 4,425.62 more total special education teachers, highly qualified. 
• 74.67 more interpreters, fully certified. 
• 299.88 more special education teachers and recreation and therapeutic recreation specialists, fully 

certified. 
• 21.76 more orientation and mobility specialists, fully certified. 
• 102.64 fewer special education teachers for ages 3-5, not highly qualified. 
• 2,917.59 fewer special education teachers for ages 6-21, not highly qualified. 
• 3,020.23 fewer total special education teachers, not highly qualified. 
• 17.56 more occupational therapists, not fully certified. 
• 26.40 more counselors and rehabilitation counselors, not fully certified. 
• 70.22 more interpreters, total. 
• 304.49 more physical education teachers and recreation and therapeutic recreation specialists, total. 
• 20.56 more orientation and mobility specialists, total. 

New York State’s 2007-08 data will be finalized before July 1, 2009. The state provided clarifications 
regarding reporting special education personnel as highly qualified. There is an emphasis on highly 
qualified personnel under NCLB. Data on some highly qualified personnel are reported publicly. 

North Carolina 

In the 2007-08 school year, North Carolina Department of Public Instruction implemented a new system 
that allowed the state to collect exceptional children personnel data from the Exceptional Children Grants 
application. This change was implemented to improve the quality of the data reported to state and federal 
entities. LEAs now submit this information with their grant and budget information. Prior to the 2007-08 
school year, these data were reported on spreadsheets by individual LEAs and submitted to the state. 

North Dakota 

North Dakota employs the following related services personnel to serve children with disabilities, but had 
none to report for the 2007-08 reporting year: 
• orientation and mobility specialists. 

It was anticipated that North Dakota would have its personnel collection available as a web-based 
electronic submission for 2007-08. This did not happen. The Department of Public Instruction collects all 
contracted professional educational staff member data, excluding personnel licensure data. The latter data 
are collected by the Education Standards and Practices Board (ESPB), a legislatively driven independent 
North Dakota agency. The ESPB determines whether personnel are highly qualified. The web-based 
electronic collection, as anticipated, did not happen due to incompatibility between the Department of 
Public Instruction’s web-based system and ESPB’s mainframe. Therefore, the state had each of its 31 
Special Education Units complete the Table 2 personnel collection and aggregated the data to this state-
level report. The accuracy of this submitted data were somewhat suspect as it was basically a paper/pencil 
submission. To remedy this situation, the state felt confident that it will be able to electronically access all 
Table 2 data for the coming personnel report. The state pulled data specific to Table 2 data for personnel 
employed during the 2008-09 school year. The evaluation of personnel data in each subsequent run moves 
the state closer to having accurate data. Therefore, the state is confident that it will have accurate web-
based validated electronic data for its Nov. 1, 2009, personnel report as it does for all of its other reports. 
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Northern Marianas 

Northern Marianas does not employ the following personnel: 
• interpreters,  
• social workers,  
• orientation and mobility specialists, 
• medical/nursing service staff. 

 If the above personnel services are needed, the state contracts them from private providers.  

Northern Marianas collects data for paraprofessionals who are not qualified and personnel for related 
services who are not certified. For 2007, it did not have any to report for these categories. 

The increase in the total number of special education teachers for ages 6-21 from 33 in 2006 to 44 in 
2007, which reflected an increase of 11, was due to the state’s need to meet the continuous increase of 
student population. 

The increase in the total special education teachers-total of 37 in 2006 to 48 in 2007, which reflected an 
increase of 11, was due to the state’s need to meet the continuous increase in the student population. 

Ohio 

Ohio does not identify individual teachers as being highly qualified. Rather, it complies with the 
mandates of NCLB to identify courses taught by teachers who are highly qualified. As the counts required 
for this submission are FTEs, Ohio analysts applied the percentage of courses taught by highly qualified 
teachers to the number of FTEs teaching special education, to arrive at the number of highly qualified 
teacher FTEs for this report. 

Oklahoma 

Oklahoma's 2007 personnel data submission showed a marked decrease in the number of special 
education teachers serving students ages 6 to 21 and an increase in the number serving children ages 3 to 
5. In reviewing the data changes for personnel data in Oklahoma, the state determined that this change 
was related to a new data collection process. In previous years, special education teachers who were in a 
co-taught classroom were identified through the data collection as also highly qualified. With the 
improvement of the collection procedures, only teachers who are the teacher of record for each subject 
were identified; therefore, special education teachers in a co-taught classroom were not assigned to a 
subject or identified as highly qualified. The state believes that the new data collection provides more 
accurate data on the number of special education teachers that are highly qualified. 

Oregon 

For the 2007-08 school year, the Oregon Department of Education (ODE) implemented a staff-level 
collection to meet the reporting requirements for these data. Prior to 2007-08, all data reported for Part B 
Table 2 were collected from each agency in the aggregate. Due to the scope of the change from 2006-07 
to 2007-08, year-to-year comparisons of these data are not possible. ODE plans to continue collecting 
these data at the individual staff level and will use 2007-08 as a new baseline for these data. 
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Palau 

Palau employs special education paraprofessionals to serve children ages 3-5 and 6-21 with disabilities, 
but had none to report for the 2007-08 reporting year. 

Puerto Rico 

PRDE collects the data as required but its paraprofessionals and related services personnel are all 
qualified. PRDE requests professional certification to contract services. The zero reported represents 
professionals not having proper qualifications and certifications.  

Rhode Island 

In Rhode Island, paraprofessionals must be qualified in order to be employed or contracted to serve 
children with disabilities. 

The personnel data system was not able to provide the paraprofessional data broken into categories of 
ages served (3- through 5-year-olds and 6-21) for 2007. The state has requested the information for both 
2007 and 2008 from the districts, and the data will be reported for those years. The state anticipates 
enhancements to the personnel data system to accommodate this data reporting requirement. 

South Carolina 

South Carolina includes speech or language impairment as a category of disability and consequently, 
speech-language pathologists are included in section A of Table 2. If the student does not qualify for 
speech under the state eligibility criteria but is determined in need of speech as a related service, then the 
percentage of time the speech-language pathologists works with these students is included in section C.  

Vermont 

The decrease in the number of social workers, fully certified on page 2 and the total is accurate. This is an 
area which is being cut due to budgetary pressures, because the decrease occurs in most Supervisory 
Unions (which is how the state collects the data). 

The increase in not highly qualified special education teachers (6-21 and Total) was due to the state’s 
changing its definition of highly qualified to bring it in line with Federal regulations. 

The decrease in the number of not qualified paraprofessionals is not an issue, because this is a good 
change. 

Virginia 

Virginia’s data were correct as reported; there were zero paraprofessionals – not qualified. 

Virgin Islands 

The Virgin Islands does not employ or contract medical/nursing related services personnel to serve 
children with disabilities. 
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Washington 

All the state’s paraprofessionals were qualified. All of the data were verified as to being correct. The 
needs of the state’s student population reflected the need for additional interpreters and counseling staff.  

There was an increase of 52.89 highly qualified teaching staff and a decrease of 48.24 of not highly 
qualified teaching staff.  

West Virginia 

The decrease in the number of fully certified medical/nursing service staff from 2006 to 2007 resulted 
primarily from technical assistance to districts to ensure data were reported by FTE dedicated to special 
education services rather than head count. 

The increase in special education teachers for students ages 3-5 not highly qualified resulted from highly 
qualified teachers leaving the field through retirement or moving to other positions being replaced by less 
qualified teachers.  

The number of special education paraprofessionals for ages 6-21 not qualified and the total number of 
special education paraprofessionals not qualified decreased as a result of increased awareness of 
requirements and aides completing the requirements to become qualified. 

The decreased number of medical/nursing service staff reported as not fully certified and the total 
employed resulted from technical assistance to districts to ensure data were reported by FTE dedicated to 
special education services rather than head count as well an increase in districts’ capacity to meet needs 
with certified personnel.  

2007-08 Exiting  

Alaska 

Alaska collects exit data for all children with disabilities of any age or disability category. Any cells that 
contain a value of zero have that value because that state had no student in that category to report. 

Transferred to regular education (total and all subgroups)—Alaska attributes the decrease in the number 
of students who transferred to regular education to better data. The state began using a new data collection 
tool 2 years ago and has been training the LEAs on how to properly report these students to the SEA. 

Received a certificate (total and many subgroups)—Alaska believes the decrease in the number of 
certificates issued was the result of many districts bringing on new programs to help more students pass 
the High School Graduation Qualifying Exam. Many LEAs in Alaska added new programs this past year 
to help more students pass the High School Exit Exam. As more students pass the Exit Exam, more 
diplomas and fewer certificates are issued. 

All race/ethnicity questions—The 2006-07 and 2007-08 race/ethnicity data are not comparable. Alaska 
began collecting the race/ethnicity data using the two questions, seven group protocols in 2006-07, but 
continued using the race/ethnicity estimation protocol in order to report using the five Federal groups. In 
2007-08, the state was advised to stop estimating the race/ethnicity for multiracial students and to leave 
those students out of the detail of the report. Our race/ethnicity profile is also changing due to collecting 
the data using the new two question protocol. There are 59 multiracial students not included in the 
race/ethnicity counts.  
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Dropped out (F)—The number of female dropouts in Alaska increased by almost the same amount as the 
number of females receiving certificates decreased. The state believes these changes were related to one 
another and will monitor for trends. 

LEP—Alaska changed the LEP data collection tool in the 2007-08 school year to gather more detailed 
information. The LEP data may not be stable for another couple of years as the state continues to train on 
this new data collection tool.  

All race/ethnicity questions—The 2006-07 and 2007-08 race/ethnicity data are not comparable. Alaska 
began collecting the race/ethnicity data using the two questions, seven group protocols in 2006-07, but 
continued using the race/ethnicity estimation protocol in order to report using the five Federal groups. In 
2007-08, the state was advised to stop estimating the race/ethnicity for multiracial students and to leave 
those students out of the detail of the report. Our race/ethnicity profile is also changing due to collecting 
the data using the new two question protocol. There are 59 multiracial students not included in the 
race/ethnicity counts. 

Alaska only continues special education and related services for a 22-year-old if he/she was 21 at the 
beginning of the school year. The department has added an edit check to the process to identify and 
question these students in the future. In the past, if the student was older than 18, the state allowed 
him/her to be reported as reached maximum age.  

Alaska does not have a lower age for receiving a regular diploma; however, it does require students to 
pass a high school graduation exam, and they cannot take the exam until spring of their sophomore year. 
That would make it unlikely, that a 14-year-old would receive a regular diploma, but no statute or 
regulation would prevent this from happening if the student passed the exam and met the credit 
requirements. 

Arkansas 

Arkansas permits students to graduate high school with a regular high school diploma prior to age 16. 
This is based on the following citation:  Arkansas Code, Title 6, Subtitle 2, Chapter 18, Subchapter 2, 
Section 6-18-211(d)(1) and section 6-18-211(d)(2) at 
http://www.arkleg.state.ar.us/SearchCenter/Pages/ArkansasCodeSearchResultPage.aspx?name=6-18-
211.Mandatory%20attendance%20for%20students%20in%20grades%20nine%20through%20twelve 

Arizona 

Arizona does not collect data on which students with disabilities graduated with a high school diploma 
and met the same requirements as students without disabilities and those who did not. Arizona offers a 
regular high school diploma only, provided that the students meet the graduation requirements as outlined 
in statute. Graduation requirements for special education students are specified in the students' IEPs. In 
addition, a recent state law indicates that special education students who turn 22 in the current reporting 
year are entitled to continue receiving special education services and appropriate funding through the end 
of the school year. As a result, students who turn 22 before the child count date are not included in the 
reached maximum age exit category.  

In Arizona, there is no minimum age requirement for graduation so long as student completes all required 
course work and attains necessary credits to graduate. 

http://www.arkleg.state.ar.us/SearchCenter/Pages/ArkansasCodeSearchResultPage.aspx?name=6-18-211.Mandatory%20attendance%20for%20students%20in%20grades%20nine%20through%20twelve
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California 

California law does not include age criteria for receipt of a regular high school diploma.  

In California, students with disabilities are considered to reach the maximum age for services under Part 
B at age 22. 

Colorado 

Children with disabilities are served until the end of the semester in which they turn 21, so it is possible to 
have a student who is 21 as of December 1. Therefore, children who were 18, 19, and 22 as of December 
1 are reported with a -9. Children may exit because of reaching maximum age at either 20 or 21. For 
example, a child who turns 21 during the second semester of the school year or during the summer would 
exit at the age of 20. A child who turns 21 between December 1 and the end of the first semester of the 
school year would exit at the age of 21. 

Significant Year-to-Year Changes 
Received a certificate of completion:  The decrease in the number of students reported in this category 
was the result of training provided to Colorado AUs. 

Reached maximum age:  Individual student records are reported, including each student’s date of birth. 
The number of students in this category was verified. 

Moved, not known to be continuing:  Regional training was conducted regarding the necessity to track 
and appropriately report students exiting AUs throughout the year. In addition, the Exceptional Student 
Leadership Unit provided individual technical assistance to Aus that had previously incorrectly reported 
students in this category.  

Race/Ethnicity 
• American Indian or Alaska Native and Hispanic:  Extensive training was provided throughout the 

2007-08 school year on the appropriate identification and tracking of ELLs. This training included 
information related to awareness of cultural differences. This resulted in more appropriate 
identification and reporting. 

• Gender 
• Individual student records were reported by AUs, which included the gender of each student. All data 

were verified. 
• LEP 
• Extensive training was provided throughout the 2007-08 school year on the appropriate identification 

and tracking of ELLs, which has resulted in more appropriate identification and reporting. 

Connecticut 

Although the 2007-08 school year count of students with disabilities who dropped out is higher than the 
2006-07 data, the Department has seen an overall trend of decline in the dropout rate for students with 
disabilities, significantly reducing the existing gap between students with disabilities and their peers 
without disabilities. 

The Department investigated the dropout data further and found that the Department of Corrections 
(DOC) had a major contribution to the increase of the state rate. In the 2007-08 school year, the DOC 
reported 110 dropouts as compared to 10 dropouts in the 2006-07 school year. The drastic increase was 
attributed to the revised student tracking and reporting practices and procedures by the DOC in the 2007-
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08 school year. While working with the DOC and all other local districts following the 2006-07 school 
year, it was determined that as students exited from DOC due to the completion of their court sentence, 
historically the DOC would exit these eligible students as transfers back to their previous town of 
residence. If the formerly incarcerated student failed to register with the previous local district, the student 
tended to fall off the radar as a transfer rather than a dropout. New procedures were implemented in the 
2007-08 school year that resulted in DOC reporting the exiting students from DOC as dropouts. Then, if 
the student registered in another district in the state, the dropout status would resolve itself within the 
state’s registration system and the student’s records would reflect the transfer rather than the exit as a 
dropout. Therefore, in the 2007-08 school year, 110 students completed their sentence with the DOC, 
were exited from the DOC education system and did not register for educational services in another 
public school district before the end of the reporting year. The significant increase in the number of 
Hispanic students dropping out is explained by this DOC reporting change. 

In association with its dropout initiative, Connecticut has seen more than 5 years of increases in the 
number of students graduating from high school. The cohesive factor between the graduation and drop out 
initiatives is the consistent message to keep students in school. Potentially the increase in certificates 
received by students with disabilities is a reflection of the efforts by LEAs to meet the goal of all students 
staying in school and exiting with a standard high diploma, certificate of completion, or reaching 
maximum age. 

Two factors that can be contributing to the reduction in transfer to regular education include Connecticut's 
6-year initiative to improve appropriate identification and eligibility determination for IDEA, as well as 
its emphasis on appropriate early intervention programs where services are affecting students before they 
fall behind and therefore are not even found eligible for special education. 

District of Columbia 

The early part of the timeframe covered by this reporting period predates DC's use of the Special 
Education Data System (SEDS - EasyIEP software). Therefore, the data presented in this table were 
collected from legacy databases as well as, for the latter part of the reporting period, SEDS. This 
presented the challenge of mapping exiting codes in legacy databases—there are as many as 25 exiting 
codes—to the 7 used for 618 reporting. The SEDS team worked with the OSSE's Office of Special 
Education to determine business rules for this mapping. Exiting data for the school year now in progress 
will be drawn exclusively from SEDS, which only permits the entering of exit codes consistent with 618 
reporting. 

Data are collected in all categories. However, for example, DC has very few American Indian/Alaska 
Native general or special education students, there is only one of the latter this year, very few deaf/blind 
students and none who exited, relatively few students with traumatic brain injury, and only two special 
education students who died during the reporting period. 

At the time of data collection for special education students exiting between July 1, 2007, and June 30, 
2008, the OSSE did not have a single, statewide database. In the agency’s effort to obtain comprehensive 
data, LEAs reported via an OSSE-designed online application, via spreadsheet, and via databases in use 
by DC Public Schools and some Public Charter Schools. The reports the OSSE received used as many as 
25 exiting categories, introducing difficulties in accurately mapping exiting students into the correct 618 
classifications. In addition, while the OSSE’s intention was for LEAs to use one of the available reporting 
methods, some students were reported multiple times, occasionally in seemingly contradictory exiting 
categories. Final hurdles proved to be the limited timely reporting capacities of small LEAs that lack 
dedicated data reporting personnel, missing data elements for some exiting students, and the existing 
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procedure of finalizing exiting data only after summer school. (The OSSE is aware that the 618 reporting 
period ends on June 30, rather than after the summer session.) 

An extensive review of files submitted to the OSSE has necessitated a revision of previously reported 
exiting numbers. This review identified the status of students reported multiple times, appropriately 
mapped all applicable exit reasons into 618 reporting categories, and took advantage of more complete 
data than were available at the time of the original submission, although no students exiting after June 30, 
2008, were included. 

District of Columbia Municipal Regulations establish eligibility for special education services through the 
semester in which individuals reach 22 years of age. Therefore, students reaching maximum age may 
already be 22 years of age, an optional reporting category, at the time of the child count. In addition, DC 
operates public school programs (STAY – School To Aid Youth) for older students who return after 
exiting. Therefore, no students were reported in the reached maximum age category. In practice, of the 2 
6 special education students age 22 reported in the child count conducted on Dec. 1, 2008, 10 remained 
enrolled at the conclusion of the July 1, 2008, to June 30, 2009, reporting period. 

Florida 

Florida's maximum age a student can receive special education and related services is their 22nd birthday.  

Florida has a compulsory school attendance from ages 6-16; however, the graduation requirements are 
credit driven not age driven. This means there are no minimum age requirements. In addition, the 
requirement to report students based on their age at the time of the child count results in cases where 
students are reported at an age of close to 1 year younger than they actually are at the time of graduation.  

1.  Transferred to regular education—Over the last 5 to 6 years, Florida has seen a steady decrease in the 
number of students being identified as children with disabilities in need of special education. These 
numbers are particularly striking in the area of specific learning disabilities. This reduction of 
identification of students with mild disabilities seems to be impacting the numbers of students 
returning to general education. If we assume that successful intervention is occurring prior to 
identification then the number of students who would have returned to regular education following 
intervention is in decline. 

2.  Died—In a state with approximately 350,000 students with disabilities, the decrease by 20 in the 
number who have died is not likely a result of some type of change in programming. 

3.  Graduated with standard diploma – females—The state had no explanation for the change. 

Georgia 

Georgia’s emphasis on evidence-based curricula and differentiated strategies that are in place for all 
students in general education classes have reduced the number of students requiring special education 
services to progress in the Georgia Performance Standards. This reduction has influenced exiting data. As 
fewer students with mild disabilities require special education, the number of students with mild 
disabilities returned to general education will also decrease.  

The increase in the number of students with disabilities graduating with a regular high school diploma and 
the decrease in the number of students dropping out of school parallel the data trend for all students in 
Georgia during 2007-08. These data reflect Georgia’s commitment to help all students exit high school 
with a regular diploma.  
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Reported child count totals are higher than totals reported by race/ethnicity consistent with the guidance 
permitting the exclusion of students reported as multiracial from the race/ethnicity totals for children age 
3-5 and age 6-21. This reporting practice applies to all tables that require the reporting of students by 
race/ethnicity.  

Georgia does not have a minimum age for high school graduation.  

The maximum age for a student with disabilities to receive services in the state of Georgia is 21. 

Guam 

Guam does not allow students with disabilities to be awarded a certificate. 

Hawaii 

Hawaii allows special education and related services up until age 19, and if a student becomes 20 during 
the school year, the student is allowed to complete the school year. However, due to the discretion of 
administrators, there have been cases where students in due process hearings or through other dispute 
resolution settlements where a student has been awarded services past the maximum age.  

Idaho 

Idaho law allows students to graduate prior to age 18 with a regular diploma. Reference IDAPA 
08.02.01(350). 350. EARLY GRADUATION. Any high school student who completes the number of 
credits and exiting standards required by both the state and the school district prior to completing eight (8) 
semesters of high school work may petition the local superintendent and board of trustees to graduate 
early. 

Illinois 

Per the Illinois School Code, in addition to other course requirements, each pupil entering the 9th grade 
must successfully complete the following courses to graduate with a regular diploma:  3 years of language 
arts; 2 years of mathematics, 1 of which may be related to computer technology; 1 year of science; 2 years 
of social studies, of which at least 1 year must be history of the United States or a combination of history 
of the United States and American government; and 1 year chosen from (A) music, (B) art, (C) foreign 
language, which shall be deemed to include American Sign Language or (D) vocational education. This 
does not apply to students with disabilities whose course of study is determined by an IEP. Decisions 
regarding the issuance of a diploma for students with disabilities whose course of study is determined by 
an IEP are made at the school district level. Course requirements are the same for students with 
disabilities as they are for students without disabilities with the exception of those determined by an IEP 
team to be inappropriate. 

Graduates include only students who were awarded regular diplomas. Students with GEDs and other 
nonregular completion certificates are not included. The calculations used to determine graduation rate for 
all youth with IEPs is a cohort rate. Graduation rate is calculated from the School Report Card data files 
by using the following formula:  graduates/original freshmen + transfer in – transfer out or died. This 
calculation is done for all youth and youth with IEPs. 

Illinois does not provide special education and related services to students over the age of 22. However, 
since Table 4 instructions indicate that the student’s age should be reported based on the child count date 
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of the year prior to exiting, it is possible for students to fall in the age categories of 20 and 21 for the 
category Reached Maximum Age.  

Illinois does not have a policy or regulation that prohibits students who are less than 16 from graduating 
with a regular high school diploma. On the contrary, Section 26-2 of the IL School Code states that all 
students must attend school between the ages of 7 and 17 “unless the child has already graduated from 
high school.”  However, this provision sets no minimum age prior to which the student may not receive a 
diploma. 
(http://www.ilga.gov/legislation/ilcs/ilcs4.asp?DocName=010500050HArt%2E+26&ActID=1005&Chap
Act=105%26nbsp%3BILCS%26nbsp%3B5%2F&ChapterID=17&ChapterName=SCHOOLS&SectionID
=49343&SeqStart=145900000&SeqEnd=148300000&ActName=School+Code%2E). 

Indiana 

For the cells which indicate zero, no data were collected, and there were no students to report. 

Iowa 

Received a certificate (all, male, female, not LEP)—Fewer students were reported as receiving a 
certificate in a number of categories in 2007-08 due primarily to (a) efforts by department staff to clarify 
coding and increase data accuracy for this element, and (b) continued emphasis on graduation with a 
regular high school diploma as a priority for students with disabilities. These data were verified and 
determined accurate, and the increase was attributed to true variance in the data. 

Died (all, not LEP)—These data were verified and determined accurate, and the increase was attributed to 
true variance in the data.  

Moved, known to continue (all, male, female, LEP, not LEP)—These data were verified and determined 
accurate, and the year-to year-changes were attributed to true variance in the data. 

Dropped out (all, male, LEP, not LEP)—Fewer students were reported as dropping out in 2007-08 due 
primarily to (a) continued efforts to reduce dropout rates and (b) continued emphasis on graduation with a 
regular high school diploma as a priority for students with disabilities. These data were verified and 
determined accurate, and the increase was attributed to true variance in the data. An increase was 
observed in the number of LEP students dropping out for 2007-08. These data were verified and 
determined accurate, and the increase was attributed to true variance in the data. 

Asian or Pacific Islander—These data were verified and determined accurate, and the decrease was 
attributed to true variance in the data. 

Transferred to regular education (LEP)—These data were verified and determined accurate, and the 
increase was attributed to true variance in the data. 

Kansas 

Kansas does not permit students with disabilities to receive certificates. 

Kansas does permit students with disabilities of any age to graduate with a diploma, including students 
less than age 16. Based on state Regulation #: 91-31-35, the state does not have a statute or regulation that 
prohibits the practice. Therefore, local districts are free to decide this issue locally.  

http://www.ilga.gov/legislation/ilcs/ilcs4.asp?DocName=010500050HArt%2E+26&ActID=1005&ChapAct=105%26nbsp%3BILCS%26nbsp%3B5%2F&ChapterID=17&ChapterName=SCHOOLS&SectionID=49343&SeqStart=145900000&SeqEnd=148300000&ActName=School+Code%2E
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Kentucky 

The state captures data in all categories for all exiters. 

Louisiana 

Louisiana does not have any policy that would require a student to be 14 or 15 to receive a regular high 
school diploma. It is the decision of the school district and would be included in the district Pupil 
Progression Plan. 

One LEA accounted for the majority of the increase in the moved, known to be continuing exit category. 
This LEA incorrectly applied this exit reason to students who left the district. This problem will be 
corrected in the 2008-09 school year data to be submitted in November 2009.  

In Louisiana a student can receive special education and related services through the age of 22. As a 
result, students under the age of 22 would not be reported in the reached maximum age category.  

Maine 

Maine does not have a minimum graduation age in statute or regulation for regular or special education 
students. The rules guiding awarding of diplomas are in Chapter 127 (Instructional Program, Assessment 
and Diploma Requirements) section 7 (starting at page 16; diploma requirements at page 19). The rule 
states requirements for grades of attendance and credit requirements, but no minimum age or number of 
years. This is the Department’s regulation defining content requirements for programs awarding regular 
diplomas to all students. 

Maine’s definition for maximum age a student can receive special education and related services is as 
follows:  the student has neither graduated from a secondary school program with a regular high school 
diploma nor reached 20 years of age at the start of the school year. 

Maryland 

Maryland State law does not preclude 14 and 15 year olds from graduating with a regular high school 
diploma. 

Maryland attributed a 12.08% increase in the number of students exiting with received a certificate to an 
increase in students who were identified as Alt-MSA in one LSS. Also a number of students who were 
first assessed otherwise but after coming of age 14-21 were reassessed as Alt-MSA. 

Maryland attributed a 35.54% decrease in the number of students exiting with reached maximum age to 
programs targeting this age group. 

Maryland attributed a 24.24% increase in the number of Asian or Pacific Islander students exiting to an 
overall increase in the Asian population. 

Maryland had a 12% increase in the number of males exiting with received a certificate, and there is no 
explanation for this data anomaly. 

Maryland had a 38.89% decrease in the number of males exiting with reached maximum age, and there is 
no explanation for this data anomaly. 

http://www.maine.gov/sos/cec/rules/05/071/071c127.doc�
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Maryland attributed a 19.68% decrease in the number of females exiting with transferred to regular 
education to an increase in the number of students transferred to regular education in one LSS. This 
change would be a combination of students being dismissed from special education and students leaving 
the public schools for home schooling. There does not appear to be any specific reason or new condition 
that would explain this change that ran counter to the state trend. 

Maryland attributed a 12.24% increase in the number of females exiting with received a certificate to an 
enrollment increase of female students during the 2007-08 school year over the 2006-07 school year. 
More female students were eligible for exit than male students in 2008. 

Maryland had a 100% increase in the number of LEP students exiting with received a certificate, and 
there is no explanation for this data anomaly. 

Maryland had a 70% increase in the number of LEP students exiting with moved, and there is no 
explanation for this data anomaly. 

Maryland had a 35.04% increase in the total number of LEP students exiting, and there is no explanation 
for this data anomaly. 

Maryland attributed a 10.13% decrease in the number of non-LEP students exiting with transferred to 
regular education to the use of more comprehensive assessment and evaluation methods utilized to target 
specific areas of disability and /or to ascertain determination of continued eligibility. 

Maryland attributed a 10.32% increase in the number of non-LEP students exiting with received a 
certificate to a misunderstanding that all students receiving a certificate must be coded as Alt MSA 
students. This is not consistent with COMAR, and training will be provided to clarify. 

Maryland attributed a 35.54% decrease in the number of non-LEP students exiting with reached 
maximum age to the Success program in one LSS targeting this age group. 

Massachusetts 

The variable to collect enrollment status for students was expanded from having eight data coding options 
in 2005-06 to having 21 data coding options in 2006-07. As 2006-07 was the first time that LEAs were 
asked to use these new coding options, the state expects that the quality of the exiting data reported might 
be more improved in the 2007-08 data collection and might more accurately represent the numbers of 
students exiting from special education.  

As expected, although the number of dropouts reported in 2006-07 increased from that of 2005-06, the 
state suspected that this might be due to an adjustment period for the LEAs in getting used to reporting by 
the new coding options. In 2007-08, the numbers reported for dropouts (2,637) much more closely 
aligned with the number of dropouts reported in 2005-06 (2,518), as compared to the higher number 
reported in 2006-07 (3,373). The changes seen in the categories of: transferred to regular education, 
graduated with regular high school diploma, received a certificate, and reached maximum age, may well 
all be connected as the categories do not show a consistent rise or decline in number, but rather a 
combination of both. As for the decrease in the number of students reported as moved, known to be 
continuing, it is possible that an increased effort to track the whereabouts of students from year to year in 
order to more accurately calculate graduation and dropout rates has affected the number of students in 
special education reported as exiting under this category. 
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Also, in the past, when calculating the number of students in special education who dropped out, the state 
looked at the number of students who entered at the beginning of the reporting period (July 1) and then at 
the number of students who exited at the end of the reporting period (June 30), but then adjusted those 
numbers based on changes that might have occurred after June 30. To more closely follow the language 
provided in the EDEN file N009 guidance, the state adjusted its reporting for the 2007-08 exiting data to 
adhere more closely to the language and timeframe provided in the guidance. 

“Only children who were in special education at the start of the reporting period but not in special 
education at the end of the reporting period should be included.” 

Michigan 

In Michigan, the law provides special education and related services to students until 26 years old.  

In Michigan the standards is to allow students ages 14-21 to graduate from high school with a regular 
diploma. 

Micronesia 

Micronesia does permit students to graduate with a certificate. For the current data collection, there were 
no students to report in this category. 

Micronesia's maximum age for students to receive special education services is 22 years old. Micronesia 
does not have a minimum age for students to graduate with a regular high school diploma.  

At this time, the FSM Department of Education does not have a method for determining ELP.  

Mississippi 

The zeroes are in fact for categories that were collected and had no students to report. After Hurricane 
Katrina Mississippi experienced a lot of movement between the coastal school districts and the rest of the 
state. It has been almost 4 years since Katrina, and the movement of students has decreased. 

Minnesota 

In Minnesota, the maximum age for receiving special education and related services is age 21. 

In Minnesota, a student can graduate at any time with a regular high school diploma provided he or she 
meets graduation requirements. Minnesota allows students to graduate with a regular high school diploma 
before the age of 16. There is no state citation. 

Minnesota does not permit students to receive a certificate. 

Most of the differences in the exiting data between the 2006-07 and 2007-08 school years were a result of 
a change in the procedure MDE used for compiling and generating exit data. In order to better 
accommodate reporting for the EDEN System, MDE’s old mainframe-based procedure was replaced. The 
existing procedure was re-examined, and improvements were made. This resulted in reporting more 
accurate data in 2007-08 than the previous year, specifically in students transferred to regular education, 
students who reached maximum age, and students who moved, and were known to continue.  

An increase in Asian immigrants over the past 10 years is now being reflected in an increase in the 
number of graduates and dropouts as these students are now of the age to be exiting. 
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An increase in the immigrant population in Minnesota over the past 10 years is now being reflected in an 
increase in the number of graduates and dropouts as these students are now of the age to be exiting. 

Due to increased implementation of PBIS and RTI Systems in Minnesota there were fewer dropouts in 
2007-08 than the previous year.  

Missouri 

The file has been re-submitted via EDFacts and includes zeros for cells where there were no children to 
report. No other changes to the data were made.  

The overall decrease in the number of exiters reported caused the proportion of graduates to increase. The 
change in the number of graduates was -1.1%. The reason for the overall decrease in exiters was 
attributed to a large decrease in the number of moved, known to be continuing. Missouri implemented a 
student-level collection beginning with the 2007-08 exiting collection. This student-level collection 
allowed for de-duplication of statewide data that was not possible with the previous aggregate collections, 
and the moved, known to continue category was most subject to duplicative reporting by districts due to 
transient student populations. The student-level data collections, which started with 2007-08 exit data, 
will be used for all special education federal reporting for 2008-09 and future years.  

Montana 

Montana was asked to resubmit EDEN File N009 (Children with Disabilities (IDEA) Exiting Special 
Education) due to missing information for several categories in the original submission. Montana does in 
fact collect data for all of the required categories; however, the original submission did not include any 
records that had a zero count. Our EDEN submission has been revised to include zero counts for all 
required category sets and subtotals. This file was successfully submitted January 5, 2009.  

Nebraska 

Nebraska’s 2007-08 exiting data show an increase in the number of children who graduated with a regular 
high school diploma as compared to SY 2006-07. These data also show a decrease in the proportion of 
children that moved elsewhere and were known to continue in an educational program. Both changes can 
be attributed to Nebraska’s new collection system. During the 2007-08 school year, Nebraska moved the 
special education data collection into the Nebraska Statewide Longitudinal Data System. This allowed for 
better edit and validation checks on the data being submitted, which resulted in the significant changes. 
The ability to cross check the data with data being submitted in a different collection category has 
improved the data all around. Nebraska sees this as a positive change and predicts the data will continue 
at the current level. 

New Hampshire 

The state collects for all the exit categories but did not have any to be reported on the exit data 
submission. Maximum age is through 21 years of age. 

New Hampshire collects data for students ages 14 and 15 who graduate with a regular high school 
diploma. The following is New Hampshire's policy that permits it to allow students ages 14 and 15 to 
receive a regular high school diploma: 

Ed 306.27 (s) A local school board may adopt policies pertaining to early graduation for individual 
students. Such policies shall require parental involvement for students under the age of 18. Consistent 
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with local policy, the high school principal shall approve such requests if he/she determines that all state 
and local graduation requirements will be met and that early graduation is related to the career or 
educational plans of the student making the request. Upon approval by the high school principal, the 
minimum 4-credit requirement per year for enrolled students shall be waived, and the student shall be 
awarded a high school diploma. 

New Jersey 

In New Jersey students ages 14, 15, and 16 do not graduate with a regular high school diploma. 

In New Jersey, the maximum age for receiving special education and related services is 21. 

New Jersey does not collect data for the category of received a certificate. New Jersey does not allow 
students to receive a certificate.  

New Mexico 

New Mexico’s maximum age a student can receive special education and related services is 22. The 
student must turn 22 after the school year begins.  

New Mexico does permit students to graduate with a regular diploma before the age of 16. According to 
the New Mexico Statutes Annotated (NMSA) at 22-13.1.1, a student can graduate and receive a diploma 
as long as he/she successfully completes a minimum of 23 units aligned to state academic and content 
standards. In addition, the student shall not receive a diploma unless he/she passed a state graduation 
examination in the subject areas of reading, English, mathematics, writing, science, and social science. 
Graduation has nothing to do with age or grade level.  

According to the New Mexico Statutes Annotated 1978 (NMSA) at 22-8-2 (M)(5), a qualified student is a 
student who has not reached his/her 22nd birthday on the first day of school and is receiving special 
education services pursuant to rules of the department.  

The data suggest that graduation improvement activities implemented over the past 18-24 months 
contributed in part to the 69.80% year-to-year (2007-08) increase in special education children graduating 
with a regular high school diploma, the 31.33% increase in the number of children known to have 
continued in special education after they moved, and ultimately to the 15.94% increase in the total 
number of special education children who graduated.  

For SPP Indicator One (Graduation Rates), each Education Administrator in the Bureau monitors each 
LEA every year. This monitoring has helped with the graduation increase. Also, the graduation data are 
publicly reported and posted annually on the special education website.  

There has been an increase of training and technical assistance that has led to the increase in graduation 
rates. Improvement activities believed to have had the greatest impact include but are not limited to: the 
revision of state rules to ensure graduation planning begins in 8th grade, revised graduation requirements 
that require a waiver when students are not meeting regular high school diploma graduation benchmarks, 
professional development aimed at raising awareness of the importance of increasing graduation rates, 
and alignment of curriculum in pursuit of reaching greater achievement standards. This would account for 
the increase in students graduating with a regular high school diploma. Also, New Mexico is a state with a 
high mobility rate, which would account for the increase in students who moved and are known to be 
continuing.  
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The data also suggest that there is a possible correlation between the 69.80% increase in regular 
graduation rates and the 42.78% decrease in children who transferred to regular education, thereby 
amounting to a net gain in special education regular graduation rates and a net loss in the number of 
children transitioning to regular education. 

New York 

NYS began collecting data at the individual student level beginning in 2007-08 school year. Differences 
in results may be attributable to this change. The state is reporting High School Equivalency Diplomas 
(GED) as certificates as per directions provided by Westat. NYS will provide revised data in spring 2009 
after completion of all verification and certification procedures. 

At ages 14-19 (age as of December 1), students end enrollment or special education by the following 
bases: Earned a high school diploma, earned an IEP diploma (certificate), earned a High School 
Equivalency diploma (reported to OSEP as a certificate), dropped out, returned to regular education 
(declassification), died, moved, known to be continuing 

Reached maximum age is used only for students who reach maximum age for entitlement to educational 
services and who have not earned a credential. In New York, students who are 21 years of age in 
September or who have earned a high school diploma are no longer eligible to enroll in school. These are 
students whose entitlement to educational services has ended. Students who are reported to OSEP as 
reached maximum age are counted as dropped out in our dropout rate calculations. 

Students reported as reached maximum age for educational services were either age 20 or 21 on 
December 1, 2007. If they were below age 20 on Dec.er 1, 2007, and they ended enrollment, they were 
reported under the other basis of exiting. If students under age 20 leave special education services they do 
so by one of the other basis of exiting.  

• 1,475 fewer students with disabilities were reported as transferred to regular education;  
• 1,988 more students graduated with a regular high school diploma;  
• 293 fewer students were reported as reached maximum age;   
• 5,175 more students were reported as moved, known to be continuing. 

One possible explanation for all data differences between 2007-08 and 2006-07 school years is that NYS 
began collecting individual student data in20 07-08 school year compared to aggregate data collections in 
prior years. 

There is a greater emphasis on graduation rates for students with disabilities under NCLB as well as under 
IDEA. NYS uses the graduation rate as a factor in each school district’s determination under IDEA. 

In NYS, students are allowed to graduate when they have completed their course and examination 
requirements. There is no requirement that they be of any minimum age. Our graduation requirements are 
posted at http://www.emsc.nysed.gov/deputy/Documents/archivednews/assess-test-archive.shtml  

In NYS, students are permitted to enroll in school if they are under age 21 at the beginning of school year. 
They may finish the school year if they become age 22 sometime during the school  year. 

Nevada 

Nevada does not serve the age 22 and over population.  

http://www.emsc.nysed.gov/deputy/Documents/archivednews/assess-test-archive.shtml
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Nevada's statute (NRS 389.805) and regulations (NAC 389.664) specify requirements for graduation with 
a standard diploma, and these laws do not contain a minimum age requirement. Consequently, Nevada 
does collect data for students ages 14 or 15 who may graduate with a standard diploma.  

Nevada's statute (NRS 388.440) defines a pupil with a disability as a pupil who is under the age of 22 (in 
other words, through age 21). Because no pupil ages 18, 19, or 20 on the date of the Federal child count in 
a given school year can attain the age of 22 by the end of that school year (June 30), no pupil ages 18, 19, 
or 20 on count day can reach maximum age in Nevada within that school year. Consequently, Nevada 
does not collect reached maximum age data for ages 18, 19, and 20. 

North Carolina 

North Carolina’s maximum age for which a student can receive special education services is 22. This is 
based on the following policy:  A free appropriate public education must be available to all children 
residing in the state between the ages of 3 through 21, including children with disabilities who have been 
suspended or expelled from school, as provided for in NC 1504-2.1(d). Any child with a disability who 
requires special education and related services and who has not graduated from high school is eligible to 
continue to receive a free appropriate public education until the end of the school year in which that child 
reaches the age of 22. (http://policy.microscribepub.com/cgi-
bin/om_isapi.dll?clientID=313266187&advquery=22&depth=2&headingswithhits=on&hitsperheading=o
n&infobase=ncser.nfo&record={9EA7}&softpage=PL_frame) 

According to North Carolina law, (16 NCAC 06d .0503 STATE GRADUATION REQUIREMENTS), 
North Carolina has not mandated a minimum age for graduation. 
http://ncrules.state.nc.us/ncac/title%2016%20-%20education/chapter%2006%20-
%20elementary%20and%20secondary%20education/ 
subchapter%20d/16%20ncac%2006d%20.0503.html. 

North Dakota 

North Dakota allows students younger than age 16 to graduate with a regular diploma upon completion of 
all required courses. There is no cite restricting graduation until a specific age is reached. There is an 
additional citation referencing the types of credit hours that must be earned in math, language arts, etc. 
15.1-21-02.1. (Effective through June 30, 2010) Before a school district, a nonpublic high school, or the 
center for distance education issues a high school diploma to a student, the student must have successfully 
completed at least 21 units of high school coursework from the minimum required curriculum offerings 
established by section 15.1-21-02. Beginning with the 2009-10 school year, the number of units required 
by this section increases to 22, and beginning with the 2011-12 school year, the number of units required 
by this section increases to 24. 

North Dakota does permit students to be classified in the deaf-blindness category, but had zero to report 
for the current data collection. 

North Dakota does not permit students to be classified in the multiple disabilities category. 

North Dakota’s maximum age a student can receive special education and related services is when the 
student turns 2 before September 1 of each school year. 

http://policy.microscribepub.com/cgi-bin/om_isapi.dll?clientID=313266187&advquery=22&depth=2&headingswithhits=on&hitsperheading=on&infobase=ncser.nfo&record={9EA7}&softpage=PL_frame
http://ncrules.state.nc.us/ncac/title%2016%20-%20education/chapter%2006%20-%20elementary%20and%20secondary%20education/ subchapter%20d/16%20ncac%2006d%20.0503.html.
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Ohio 

Ohio has only two diploma types – regular and with honors.  It doesn’t have certificates, and analyzes 
student-level data to calculate the number of students who received a diploma having met requirements 
that differ from those for regular education students. The business rules for this count include students 
who took an alternate assessment or who were exempt from the requirement of scoring at least proficient 
on any of the five sections the Ohio Graduation Test in order to receive a diploma. There were increases 
in students meeting both of those conditions, as districts reacted to the results of the new 2006-07 change 
in graduation requirements. (In 2006-2007, the OGT, based on 10th-grade content,) replaced the former 
9th-grade-based Ohio Proficiency Test. 

The very large drop in the number of students counted as transferring to regular education most likely 
resulted from a change in data collection. Previously, a student reported 1 year with a disability code but 
with no disability code the next year was assumed to have transferred to regular education. In the 2007-08 
school year, a special education event record that specifically identified the date such a transfer was 
decided by the IEP team replaced a simple assumption. Ohio Office for Exceptional Children staff noticed 
the large drop and increased the focus on this data into upcoming regional training. In addition, a separate 
code was added to the data system, allowing LEAs to report withdrawal of consent for services as a 
special education event.  The addition of this separate code should capture information on those additional 
students who returned to regular education without an action of the IEP team.  

Oklahoma 

Oklahoma serves students through the age of 21. A student can receive a diploma if he/she meets the 
graduation requirements during that time. The aging out of students ages 18 and 19 was a data error. The 
state will add a data edit check for the upcoming fiscal year to ensure that students who have not reached 
a maximum age cannot be exited under the age out code.  

Oklahoma students cannot graduate before the age of 14 or 15 due to state graduation requirements. 
Oklahoma only has one diploma. GED is not recognized as a diploma or graduating in the state. 
Oklahoma also does not recognize a certificate as graduating. For students identified as reaching 
maximum age at the age of 20, their 21st birthday fell after the October 1 child count and did age out 
prior to the end of the fiscal year.  

Oregon 

 Oregon’s maximum age for a student to receive special education and related services is 18. Oregon does 
permit students to graduate with a regular high school diploma before the age of 16. Oregon 
Administrative Rule 581-022-1130(13)(b) 
(http://arcweb.sos.state.or.us/rules/OARS_500/OAR_581/581_022.html) allows students to satisfy the 
requirements for the regular high school diploma in less than 4 years. In addition the High School 
Completers data collection, which collects data on all students completing high school, allows students to 
be reported as graduating with a regular high school diploma so long as they are at least 15 at the 
beginning of the school year. Question 1 at the top of page 11 of the reporting manual for the High School 
Completer data collection addresses this (https://district.ode.state.or.us/apps/info/docs/Dropout_ 
Manual_7_25_08__draft_no_cohort_expl.doc). Thus a student who is 15 at the beginning of the school 
year could be age 14 or 15 on the child count prior to exit, so the student could be reported on the IDEA 
exit table as receiving a regular high school diploma at age 14 or 15.  

http://arcweb.sos.state.or.us/rules/OARS_500/OAR_581/581_022.html�
https://district.ode.state.or.us/apps/info/docs/Dropout_ Manual_7_25_08__draft_no_cohort_expl.doc).
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Palau 

Palau’s policy to allow students ages 14-15 to graduate with a regular diploma is based on a handbook 
that states a student will graduate with a regular diploma after he or she has completed 26 credit hours in a 
course of 4 years. Therefore it is highly unlikely for a student to graduate with a regular diploma at ages 
14 and 15.  

The Palau Ministry of Education has a statewide assessment test for Palauan, Palau's predominant 
language. All students take quarterly tests in Palauan; in addition, regular classroom Palauan tests are 
administered to students to measure their proficiency in Palauan.  

Pennsylvania 

Pennsylvania’s maximum age for a student to receive special education and related services is based on  
22 PA Code, Chapter 11. This defines school age to be until graduation from high school or the end of the 
school term in which a student reaches the age of 21, whichever occurs first. 

Pennsylvania does permit students to graduate with a regular diploma before the age of 16. According to 
22 PA Code Chapter 11, compulsory school age is defined as the period of a child’s life from the time the 
child enters school as a beginner, which may be no later than age 8, until the age of 17 or graduation from 
a high school, whichever occurs first. The vast majority of students in Pennsylvania remain in school until 
graduation. Under 22 PA Code Chapter 4, each local education agency determines when a student has met 
graduation requirements. The entitlement in Pennsylvania is until age 21 or the end of the school term in 
which a student reaches the age of 21. 

Puerto Rico 

Puerto Rico collects data for limited Spanish proficiency. Zero students were reported because there were 
no students identified as participants for the 2007-08 report. 

Rhode Island 

Rhode Island allows students to graduate with a regular high school diploma before the age of 16. The 
Rhode Island High School Regulations 2008 as well as the guidance documents are on the RIDE website 
at http://www.ride.ri.gov/HighSchoolReform/default.aspx. Individual school districts may establish 
criteria beyond the state Proficiency Based Graduation Requirements (PBGR) minimums, but all must 
consider a minimum number of credits, achieving proficiency on the state assessment (beginning in 
2012), and reaching proficiency on locally developed (and RIDE approved) proficiency-based activities 
(senior project, portfolio, exhibitions, etc.). There is also a description of the PBGR system as part of the 
SPP for Indicator 1 Graduation Rate 
at:http://www.ride.ri.gov/Special_Populations/State_federal_regulations/SPP%2008/Indicator%201.pdf 

Rhode Island’s maximum age a student can receive special education services is 21. However, because of 
the way that the data are collected, a student who left when he/she was 21 years old could be terminated 
off of the census the following school year, and by then his age would calculate to 22 years old.  

South Carolina 

Students who are age 20 at the end of the school year and will turn 21 prior to the beginning of the next 
school year are considered to have reached the  maximum age for receiving special education and related 
services. Services are at district discretion for students 21 and older at the start of a school year. In South 

http://www.ride.ri.gov/HighSchoolReform/default.aspx�
http://www.ride.ri.gov/Special_Populations/State_federal_regulations/SPP%2008/Indicator%201.pdf�
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Carolina, it is at district discretion to serve students through their 22nd birthday or longer if the school 
district chooses or determines it is necessary.  

South Dakota 

South Dakota only has one recognized diploma. South Dakota Department of Education/Board of 
Education does not recognize a certificate of completion. Currently, students who take the GED must 
drop out of high school for at least 6 months before they become eligible to take the GED. They also 
would not receive a certificate. 

According to 13-33-19, students are required to complete a necessary basic program in order to receive a 
diploma. South Dakota’s statutes and regulations do not indicate a modified diploma or a certificate of 
completion. A district by itself can print a certificate of attainment or certificate of attendance, but there is 
nothing outside the regular diploma recognized by the state.  

The link provides information what South Dakota Department of Education determines is a basic 
approved program for all students in order to receive a diploma.  

http://doe.sd.gov/oatq/gradrequirements/docs/grad%20requirements%203tier%20paths.pdf  

South Dakota had a decrease in the number of students with disabilities who graduated with a regular 
high school diploma during school year 2007-08. In June 2007, South Dakota Special Education 
Programs released Guidance: Applying Graduation Requirements to Students with Disabilities. In South 
Dakota, the State Board of Education sets minimum graduation requirements, and the local districts set 
their local graduation requirements to meet or exceed the state requirements. The state graduation 
requirements require all students to take Algebra I. South Dakota has three pathways to graduation. The 
standard pathway is the one for which an IEP team could modify the graduation requirements. If a student 
is working on the standard pathway, then it is difficult for him/her to go on to any form of postsecondary 
education and be successful. Therefore, more students are moving to the advanced pathway and taking 
longer to graduate.  

The graduation guidance document emphasized to districts that students with disabilities must meet all of 
the district’s requirements in order to receive a regular diploma and not necessarily just an IEP team 
decision.  

South Dakota also had an increase in the number of students who moved and were known to be 
continuing. Native American children have a higher mobility rate in the state and do move between 
family members and among Bureau of Indian Education (BIE) and public school districts. South Dakota 
also has a number of migrant families who come to work at the dairy farms, turkey processing plants, beef 
processing plants, and logging industry. 

Tennessee 

Tennessee allows students younger than 16 to graduate with a regular diploma. There were no students 
with disabilities younger than 16 who graduated with a regular diploma during the 2007-08 school year. 
Tennessee's graduation requirements are credit-based, not age-based (see http://tennessee.gov/education/ 
TDP/GradReq.shtml;  http://tennessee.gov/education/gradreq.shtml ; and http://tennessee.gov/sbe/TDP 1-
23-08.pdf.  

Tennessee provides special education and related services to students through the school until they turn 
22 years of age.  

http://tennessee.gov/education/%20TDP/GradReq.shtml�
http://tennessee.gov/education/%20TDP/GradReq.shtml�
http://tennessee.gov/education/gradreq.shtml�
http://tennessee.gov/sbe/TDP%201-23-08.pdf�
http://tennessee.gov/sbe/TDP%201-23-08.pdf�
http://doe.sd.gov/oatq/gradrequirements/docs/grad%20requirements%203tier%20paths.pdf
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EDEN/EDFacts allows for the submission of counts of exiters up to age 22, but does not allow age 22+ as 
a permitted value. In the past, Tennessee has submitted counts of students age 22+. For the 2007-08 
school year, there were 65 students ages 22+ in Tennessee who could not be reported via EDEN/EDFacts 
file N009. 

Vermont 

Data were submitted in pre-suppressed format in accordance with Vermont Department of Education 
policy, could not be subject to analysis, and therefore were excluded from these tables. 

Virgin Islands 

Virgin Islands collects information on children who died; however, none died for this reporting period. 

The state attributed the decrease in the number of children exiting reported in developmental delay 
disability category for children ages 3-5 on the Dec. 1, 2008, child count Table 1 to the following reasons: 
moved, known to be continuing; moved, not known to be continuing; and change in disability category 
following an evaluation by Diagnostic and Evaluation Center’s Diagnostic Team. It should be noted that 
this decrease was due to one district only. 

The state attributed the decrease in the number of children reported exiting in all disability categories for 
children ages 3-5 on the Dec. 1, 2008, child count Table 1 to the following reasons: moved, known to be 
continuing; moved, not known to be continuing; return to regular education; and change in disability 
category following an evaluation by Diagnostic and Evaluation Center’s Diagnostic Team. Additionally 
some children’s ages changed from 5 to 6; as a result, these children were reported in the 6-21 category 
after the Dec. 1, 2007, child count. It should be noted that this decrease was due to one district only. 

The state attributed the decrease in the number of children reported exiting in the race/ethnicity category 
for children ages 3-5 on the Dec. 1, 2008, to the following reasons: moved, known to be continuing; 
moved, not known to be continuing; return to regular education; and change in disability category 
following an evaluation by Diagnostic and Evaluation Center’s Diagnostic Team. This resulted in the 
children being reported in the racial/ethnic category based on the Diagnostic Team’s results in new 
disability category. Additionally some children’s ages changed from 5 to 6;, as a result, these children 
were reported in the 6-21 category, after the Dec. 1, 2007, child count. It should be noted that this 
decrease was due to one district only.  

Washington 

Washington does not have complete data on the element return to regular education at this time. The 
state’s new data collection system being implemented in 2009-10 should give the state the ability to 
collect these data. Washington should be able to start reporting within the 2009-10 reporting period.  

Washington does not permit students with disabilities to graduate high school with a regular diploma at 
the age of 14 or 15. 

In Washington, if the student’s 21st birthday occurs on or before August 31, he/she would no longer be 
eligible for special education. The student whose 21st birthday occurs after August 31 is eligible for 
special education and any necessary related services for the remainder of the school year. Washington 
does not serve students over the age of 22with disabilities. 
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West Virginia 

West Virginia’s maximum age for special education services is 21. Districts are required to provide FAPE 
to eligible students who have not yet turned 21 years of age prior to September 1 and have not graduated 
with a standard high school diploma. However, there are rare occasions wherein an LEA reports students 
who are age 19 as reaching the maximum age for a variety of reasons.  

West Virginia does not prohibit students from graduating with a regular diploma on the basis of age. 
Students graduate when they earn sufficient credits to do so under the rigorous graduation requirements 
for all students:  Policy 2510. http://wvde.state.wv.us/policies/.  

Wisconsin 

Wisconsin state law does not require a student to be of a specific age in order to receive a regular high 
school diploma. The issuance of a regular high school diploma is generally based on the receipt of 
required credits (see http://dpi.wi.gov/lbstat/datahsc.html). Although unusual, a student may exit prior to 
11th grade if the student earned his or her high school completion credential on or before the student's 
exit date. A student is eligible to receive special education/related services through the school year in 
which the student turns age 21. 

Wyoming 

In Wyoming, the maximum age at which a student can receive services is the school year in which the 
student turns 21. Students cannot graduate prior to age 16. 

2007-08 Discipline  

Alabama 

Alabama defines serious bodily injury incidences for students with disabilities based on the definition 
provided in 34 CFR § 300.530. Technical guidance on appropriate disciplinary disposition determinations 
is disseminated to all districts and maintained on the Alabama State Department of Education (SDE) 
website. The guidance provides for disciplinary disposition decisions related to serious bodily injury for 
students with disabilities to be made at the local level based on the regulatory definition.  

Through the electronic student data management system and the software vendor support website, 
Alabama provides for the accurate collection of data regarding disciplinary offenses and the offender. On 
the SDE website, general guidance is also provided through the Student Incidence Reporting manual 
(SIR) for all students. If a student is found to have committed several disciplinary offenses in a single 
incident, the incident is characterized according to the most serious offense, referencing a ranking list. 
The list orders offenses such that the incident that caused either the most injury or the highest loss of 
property or monetary cost is the one reported. The four most serious offense types are, from most serious 
to less serious, homicide, sexual battery (including rape), robbery, and assault.  

Note the definition for assault includes an attack that causes serious bodily harm to the victim. 
Administrators are cautioned by the state that this category should be used only when the attack is very 
serious and to consider age and developmentally appropriate behavior before using this category. The 
category refers to an individual who causes harm to another individual as follows: (1) With intent to 
disfigure another person seriously and permanently or to destroy, amputate, or disable permanently a 
member or organ of his/her body, he/she causes such an injury to any person; (2) In the course of and in 
furtherance of the commission or attempted commission of a felony clearly dangerous to human life, or 

http://dpi.wi.gov/lbstat/datahsc.html�
http://wvde.state.wv.us/policies/
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immediate flight therefore, he/she causes a serious physical injury to another person; (3) While driving 
under the influence of alcohol or a controlled substance or any combination thereof, he/she causes serious 
bodily injury to another person with a motor vehicle; (4) With intent to cause physical injury to another 
person, he/she causes serious physical injury to another person by means of a deadly weapon or 
instrument; (5) With intent to cause serious physical injury to a teacher or to an employee of a public 
education institution during or as a result of the performance of his or her duty, he/she causes physical 
injury to any person; (6) For purposes other than lawful medical or therapeutic treatment, he/she 
intentionally causes stupor, unconsciousness, or other physical or mental impairment or injury to another 
person by administering to him or her, without his or her consent, a drug, substance, or preparation 
capable of producing the intended harm; (7) With intent to cause physical injury to another person, he/she 
causes physical injury to any person, (8) With intent to prevent a peace officer, emergency medical 
personnel, or a firefighter from performing a lawful duty, he/she intends to cause serious physical injury 
and he/she causes serious physical injury to any person. 

For students with disabilities, to not only ensure an accurate collection of discipline data, but also to 
promote correct disciplinary decisions at the local level based on the regulatory requirements, the SDE 
posts support documents on its website outlining the steps for determining disciplinary actions. This 
information is provided as well through SDE-sponsored conferences for school administrators and staff, 
and district special education coordinators. 

For the school year 2007-08, Alabama reported that no students with disabilities were unilaterally 
removed by school personnel to an interim alternative placement due to having caused serious bodily 
injury. 

Alabama will continue to provide guidance to the districts regarding disciplinary actions based on the 
requirements in the IDEA and OSEP-issued regulations. 

Alabama reported that no students were removed by a hearing officer in the school year 2007-08 due to 
posing a threat of injury to themselves or others. Alabama’s procedures for addressing complaints 
regarding disciplinary removals are consistent with Federal law requirements as described in 34 CFR § 
300.532(b)(ii). In the school year 2007-08, the Department initiated a cross-check of these data with those 
collected and reported for Table 7, thus ensuring accurate reporting. In school years 2006-07 and 2007-
08, there were no requests for due process hearings related to disciplinary removals, although there were 
86 requests in 2006-07 and 99 in 2007-08 for due process hearings for other matters related to the receipt 
of services for children with disabilities. 

Alabama collects data for Table 5 Report of Children with Disabilities Subject to Disciplinary Removal 
for the exceptionality of deaf-blind. The report of zero in this exceptionality category indicated that the 
data were collected, but there were none to report. 

Alabama collects data for Table 5 Report of Children with Disabilities Subject to Disciplinary Removal 
for Number of Removals for Serious Bodily Injury and Number of Removals to an Interim Alternative 
Setting; however, it did not have any to report. 

Unilateral Removals to an Interim Alternative Educational Setting by School Personnel, Number of 
Removals for Serious Bodily Injury—Alabama school personnel report serious bodily injury incidences 
for students with disabilities based on the definition provided in 34 CFR § 300.530. 

Unilateral Removals to an Interim Alternative Educational Setting by School Personnel, Removals to an 
Interim Alternative Educational Setting Based on a Hearing Officer Determination Regarding Likely 
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Injury—Alabama cross-checks these data with the collection of dispute resolution data (Table 7) to ensure 
the data are accurate. 

Alaska 

There were no errors in translation from EDEN to DANS. The reasons that the Alaska discipline data 
look so different this year from past years are as follows:  

The 2007-08 school year saw a statewide push for positive behavior supports in Alaska. The number of 
suspensions/expulsions were down in many districts in both general education and special education. The 
state believed that the significant decrease in the numbers of disciplinary removals was directly related to 
new programs and trainings about positive behavior supports that were implemented in many districts 
across the state. 

The statewide reductions in weapons removals this year returned the counts to historical levels. Last year, 
one large district had an unusually high number of weapons removals, causing the data from 2006-07 to 
be a high- end outlier. 

The number of in-school suspensions has increased as the number of out-of-school 
suspensions/expulsions has decreased. The state attributes this change to new positive behavior supports 
implemented in many districts across the state.  

Alaska began reporting race/ethnicity using the seven new categories in the 2007-08 school year. 5.9% of 
the students in 2007-08 were reported as multiracial. The multiracial students were not included in the 
race/ethnicity counts on the discipline report per EDFacts direction, so the counts by race/ethnicity do not 
match the counts by disability.  

When Alaska moved to the seven race/ethnicity categories using the two-part question, the state saw a 
significant increase in the percentage of the students who were reported as Hispanic and a small increase 
in those reported as Asian or Pacific Islander. The state anticipates that it will be 3 or 4 years before the 
numbers stabilize again in relation to race/ethnicity counts. 

Regarding removals by a hearing officer: Alaska has a process in place for parents to file a due process on 
all matters concerning IDEA, including discipline removals. It is very unusual for parents in our state to 
use this process, especially regarding discipline removals. 

Regarding removals to an intermediate alternate educational setting (IAES) for serious bodily injury: In 
Alaska, the discipline data are collected for all students (with and without disabilities) through a single, 
on-line data collection tool. When a student is entered into the system and is identified as having a 
disability, additional questions appear on the data entry screen. These questions gather the information 
about hearing officer removals and removals to an IAES for serious bodily injury for IDEA reporting.  

Regarding removals for weapons: Alaska usually has a small number of students to report in the removals 
for weapons section. This number fluctuates from year to year, but the 14 removals reported last year was 
a high- end outlier. Historically, the state reports between zero to five students. The report of zero 
students this year was correct. 

Arkansas 

The state data system currently does not collect if any student, general or special education, receives 
educational services once expelled. The information is collected on students receiving special education 
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and related services during the special education data review process that takes place each September via 
the special education website in MySped Resource. 

The costs associated with adding the field to the student management system is currently prohibiting the 
collection. The state is currently reviewing new student data management systems and anticipates a 
change in the next 2-3 years. In the meantime, the topic will be discussed further with Systems staff to see 
if there is another option to collect the information. 

In matters of student discipline, parents of children with disabilities have the right to file a complaint in 
accordance with Arkansas rules and regulations governing the provision of special education and related 
services, found at http://arksped.k12.ar.us/sections/rulesandregulations.html. Professional development 
and training regarding policies and procedures for the discipline of students with disabilities has been and 
continues to be provided throughout the state for local school district personnel who administer or oversee 
student discipline in their schools. Thus, more often than not, when a parent disagrees with a discipline 
decision, an agreement is reached locally as to how that dispute will be resolved. 

Arizona 

Ongoing PEA training will continue, resulting in improved data reporting. Arizona reported that no 
students were removed by a hearing office in school year 2007-08 due to posing a threat of injury to 
themselves or others. Arizona’s procedures for addressing complaints regarding disciplinary removals are 
consistent with Federal law requirements as described in 34 CFR § 300.532(b)(ii). In 2007-08 there was 
one request for a due process hearing related to disciplinary removal, and in 2006-07, there were three 
requests. In both years, none of these requests resulted in a student’s being removed from placement. In 
2006-07, one request was resolved through a resolution meeting, and the other two requests were either 
pending or withdrawn or dismissed by the end of the school year. 

Bureau of Indian Education 

BIE-funded schools use varied definitions of expulsion, based on state or definitions or local school 
policies. The BIE tracks students based on time away from their typical school environment as a function 
of disciplinary action. The data regarding the educational services for students without disabilities during 
an expulsion were not collected. Data on educational services for students with disabilities who were 
separated from their peers without disabilities due to expulsion for less than 10 days were not gathered. 
While some students may have been listed as not receiving educational services during this time, it may 
not be that the services were not offered. Customarily services are provided at the student's home. If a 
schedule is developed, and the student (or anyone else) is not present upon arrival of the provider, the 
services are not provided. The school may receive basic funding for a student if it continues to provide a 
minimum level of services per week. This is an additional incentive to schools to provide such services to 
students. 

Removal for weapons and removal for serious bodily injury: Removal for weapons was reported as the 
BIE indicated on the discipline table. The variance from the previous year was also recognized by BIE. 
Three factors appear to have had an impact in this area. (1) The BIE has shifted its information collection 
from the past process of the information being submitted in a separate report to the inclusion of the 
information in its student information system, the Native American Student Information System – 
NASIS. Based on the change in numbers, the information is being collected both from NASIS and with 
individual school reporting for SY 2008-09. This should help in understanding both the accurate numbers 
and why the two are different. (2) The BIE has implemented both training and procedures across all 
schools to address school safety. This includes working with students and staff. (3) Community 
appropriate activities such as Peace Court and/or cultural counseling are being implemented in schools 

http://arksped.k12.ar.us/sections/rulesandregulations.html
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along with more stringent activities working with both staff and students to address this and other 
behavior concerns. 

Since the submission of the discipline data, the BIE has collected information regarding services for 
students without disabilities during expulsion. Each school was called and asked about such services. 
Every response was that no services were provided. That information was added to page 15 of the 
discipline report. 

California 

California follows all required due process procedures related to discipline and suspension/expulsion. As 
noted in Table 7 of the IDEA Part B Data Reports for the 2007-08 School Year, California reported 25 
expedited due process complaints (related to disciplinary decision). There were no due process complaints 
where the hearing officer removed the student to an IAES based on a determination regarding likely 
injury. 

California was unable to report the number of students expelled in the general education but expected to 
have this report available for SY 2008-09. 

Colorado 

The CDE continues to provide training to AUs regarding appropriate policies, procedures, and practices 
related to discipline of students with disabilities. CDE also provides training and technical assistance to 
AUs regarding reporting of disciplinary actions. Changes in data across all areas were a reflection of the 
improved accuracy in data reporting. The data reported were reviewed and verified. 

Connecticut 

The 2006-07 discipline data collection contains data categories that are not comparable to prior years. 
Therefore, 2005-06 data are not available for the categories in table 5. 

Two out of the three areas of greater than or less than 10% were due to small N sizes. 

The only true flag as noted in the report was Children Removed by Hearing Officer (2) going from 17 to 
5. This decrease was accredited to districts having fewer removals by special education hearing officers to 
IAESs on likely injury as asked by column 2. 

Refinements to the ED166 Disciplinary Offense Data Collection during the last few years have allowed 
Connecticut to better identify specific drug types in school. It has allowed the state to tease out what was 
generally lumped into drug possession to alcohol possession, tobacco possession, possession of 
prescription medication, possession of over-the-counter drugs, and illicit drug possession. This refinement 
in the data collection has allowed us to improve the accuracy of Table 5, and it explains the slight 
decrease in raw numbers during the last few years as specific drug offenses are better identified. This 
identification is consistent with Table 5 instructions as noted below:         

Drug Offenses 
The use, possession, sale, or solicitation of drugs as identified in 21 United States Code. Section 812(c). 
These offenses do NOT include use, possession, sale, or solicitation of alcohol or tobacco (page 2 of 
Table 5 instructions). 
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Connecticut’s 2007-08 discipline submission showed a marked decrease in the total number of 
disciplinary removals. In school year 2006-07, the calculation used to account for total removals included 
every possible sanction in the data system’s disciplinary files. It included sanctions such as bus 
suspension, community service, counseling mandated, substance abuse counseling, conflict 
resolution/anger management, behavior intervention, mediation, Saturday school/detention, warning only, 
office detention, lunch detention, after-school detention, loss of privileges, student-only conference and 
student/parent/guardian conference. These sanction types should not have been used in the calculation for 
2006-07 given the disciplinary removal definition. This interpretation of the stated definition above was 
corrected in the 2007-08 submission as well as in this year’s 2008-09 submission. 

Delaware 

Data were not available at time of submission for the expulsions for children without disabilities. The 
state anticipates that these data will be available for the 2008-09 school year. 

The state’s process for removals by a hearing officer is consistent with Federal statutes for dealing with 
complaints regarding disciplinary removals. It is unusual for cases of this nature to rise to the level of an 
expedited due process hearing, and they are typically resolved at a district level. 

District of Columbia 

The District of Columbia Office of Special Education has found it challenging to report discipline data 
related to general education and resulting from hearing officer decisions and is currently working to 
integrate data collection applications.  

Florida 

For school year 2008-09, Florida used a definition for serious bodily injury incidences for students with 
disabilities that was based on the definition provided in 34 CFR § 300.530. Currently, districts do not 
directly cross-walk between this term and comparable injury codes in the Safe and Drug Free Schools 
data collection (major injuries requiring medical attention, such as broken bones, stabbing, concussion, 
etc.), as the definitions in the two systems do not directly align with one another. 

Florida reported that there were no removals of students with disabilities by a hearing officer due to threat 
of injury. Hearing officers are employed by the Department of Administrative Hearings (DOAH) in 
Florida. The Department of Education provides training for these individuals on an annual basis regarding 
IDEA and Florida’s mediation and early resolution options for families and LEAs. DOAH provides the 
Department with regular updates on cases it is involved in. Current data sources do not indicate that there 
has ever been a case of unilateral removal by a hearing officer in Florida. 

Georgia 

Georgia defines serious bodily injury incidences for students with disabilities based on the definition 
provided in 34 CFR § 300.530. It is not known how districts may or may not be cross-walking between 
this term and comparable injury codes in the Safe and Drug Free Schools database system (major injuries 
requiring medical attention, such as broken bones, stabbing, concussion, etc.). Explicit instruction from 
OSEP indicating that it is the intention under this data collection to include such injuries in this data 
category will be required in order to establish this cross-walk.  
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Idaho 

Idaho’s 2007-08 discipline data show a marked increase in the total number of disciplinary removals. The 
fact that all the other categories posted lower numbers while the total disciplinary removals increased 
suggests that the validity of the data reported in this category may be suspect. Past investigations on the 
part of the state have revealed that some districts reported the number of infractions a student committed 
leading to a suspension rather than reporting only the number of suspensions. The state will target 
additional training in this area for future data collections. 

Illinois 

The Illinois State Board of Education (ISBE) has been in communication with OSEP regarding Illinois’ 
plan to collect discipline data for students with and without disabilities in light of the reporting 
requirements recently added to IDEA Table 5, Part B: Report of Children with Disabilities Subject to 
Disciplinary Removal. ISBE has refined the Illinois Student Information System to collect these required 
data elements and has implemented the technical changes necessary to collect these data. However, local 
district administrators have expressed concerns regarding the potential misuse of these data and the 
labeling of students, based on their previous disciplinary histories, that could potentially occur because of 
a mandate from the state to report individual student discipline data. Per the direction of the State 
Superintendent of Education, ISBE is currently studying methods to address these concerns and to also 
ensure compliance by the ISBE and local districts with both Federal reporting requirements and 
applicable student confidentiality laws and regulations, such as the Family Education Rights and Privacy 
Act (FERPA). Further, a stakeholder group with representation from ISBE and local district 
superintendents has been formed to develop a solution to these concerns. While these issues are being 
resolved, ISBE has implemented a process that enables local districts to report student discipline data on a 
voluntary basis through the Illinois Student Information System. 

Indiana 

Indiana reported that no students were removed by a hearing office in school year 2007-08 due to posing 
a threat of injury to themselves or others. Indiana’s procedures for addressing complaints regarding 
disciplinary removals are consistent with Federal law requirements as described in 34 § 300.532(b)(ii). In 
2007-08, there were six requests for due process hearings related to disciplinary removals; two of those 
complaints were resolved through resolution meetings and did not result in the student being removed 
from placement. The other requests were either pending at the end of the school year, or the requests were 
withdrawn by the complainant or dismissed by the hearing officer. 

Iowa 

1. Children unilaterally removed (all, male, not LEP, Black, White) 
2. Removals for drugs (all, male, not LEP, White) 
3. Removals for weapons (all, male, not LEP, Black, White) 

Unilateral removals, removals for drugs and removals for weapons all decreased due to improvements 
made in the data entry options and training. These data were verified and determined accurate. 

4. Out-of-school suspension 10 days or less (all, male, LEP, not LEP, White) 
5. Out-of-school suspension more than 10 days (all, male, not LEP, White) 
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Out-of-school suspensions decreased for most populations with the exception of LEP students, where an 
increase was observed. These data were verified and determined accurate, and the year to year changes 
were attributed to true variance in the data. 

6. In-school suspension 10 days or less (LEP, American Ind, Black, Hispanic) 
7. In-school suspension more than 10 days (White) 

In-school suspensions for 10 days or less increased for LEP students, American Indian students, Black 
students and Hispanic students. In-school suspensions for more than 10 days decreased for White 
students. These data were verified and determined accurate, and the year to year changes were attributed 
to true variance in the data. 

8. Total disciplinary removals (LEP, American Ind, Asian, Black, Hispanic) 
9. Disciplinary removals: 1 day (all, male, female, not LEP, Black, White) 
10. Disciplinary removals: 2-10 days (LEP, American Ind) 
11. Disciplinary removals: more than 10 days (LEP, Hispanic, White) 

Disciplinary removals for 1 day decreased uniformly across groups in the state. Disciplinary removals for 
2-10 days increased for LEP students and for American Indian students. Disciplinary removals for more 
than 10 days increased for LEP students and for Hispanic students, but decreased for White students. 
These data were verified and determined accurate, and the year to year changes were attributed to true 
variance in the data. 

Iowa defines serious bodily injury incidences for students with disabilities based on the definition 
provided in 34 CFR § 300.530. Districts do not directly cross-walk between this term and comparable 
injury codes in the Safe and Drug Free Schools data collection (major injuries requiring medical attention, 
such as broken bones, stabbing, concussion, etc.). Explicit instruction from OSEP indicating that it is the 
intention under this data collection to include such injuries in the serious bodily injury category will be 
required in order to establish this cross-walk. 

Iowa reported no removals of student with disabilities by a hearing officer due to threat of injury for 
school year 2007-08. Removal by a hearing officer is a rare event in Iowa. Any complaint regarding a 
disciplinary removal would be received by the state’s consultant for due process and followed up on by 
the state’s legal consultant. 

Kansas 

Kansas has implemented a new data collection system for the collection of discipline data for all students 
in the state. This was the first school year this system was used as the only tool for the collection and 
reporting of discipline data for all students, including the IDEA students. 

In 2006, the KSDE initiated a project to develop a new web-enabled application (KAN_DIS) to collect 
discipline data for all students in Kansas schools. The application was designed to collect data through 
direct keyboard entry or batch file import either on an individual student basis or aggregated totals. IDEA 
students were required to be reported on an individual student basis. The 618 data requirements were 
incorporated into the system for all students identified as IDEA students.  

The application was implemented for the first time for the 2007-08 school year, and all other agency 
applications for collecting discipline data were retired.  
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The first data pull from the KAN_DIS application was in August 2008. At that time, it was discovered 
that the 618 data requirement for data on non-IDEA students was not incorporated into the KAN_DIS 
application. Upon discovery of this design flaw, made programming changes to the application to add 
new data fields to collect this additional information. However, at the time of discovery, the KAN_DIS 
application for the FY2008 school had closed for maintenance. When maintenance was completed, the 
application was retooled for the FY2009 school year. Local school districts had by this time also retooled 
their student information systems to collect and report data for the current school year. At this point, it 
was impossible to for the application to be used to collect this data element for students from the prior 
school year. KSDE’s corrective action to rectify this design flaw in its system was addressed in its EDEN 
Transition Plan, which was approved in November 2008. 

Kansas’ 2007-08 data submission showed decreases in most of the data categories, including the number 
of children unilaterally removed (including removals for weapons offenses and for serious bodily injury), 
number of children removed by a hearing officer, and out-of-school and in-school suspensions. As 
previously noted, Kansas implemented a new data collection system for the collection of discipline data 
for all students in the state, and this was the first school year the system had been used as the only tool for 
the collection and reporting of discipline data for all students, including the IDEA students. In past years, 
discipline data were collected from the LEA’s special education department. Beginning in 2007-08, the 
data were only collected at the school building level. The new collection system was developed to meet 
the needs of all Federal discipline data requirements, thus having consistent populations across all reports. 
The data source changed from 85 LEAs to 1,400 buildings. KSDE believes that the changes in the 
discipline data were based on the new collection systems and not on new policy. 

Kentucky 

Though removal by a hearing officer is an option in Kentucky, it is seldom if ever used for reasons unique 
to each individual hearing. Kentucky has been fortunate to have few hearings. Of those that have 
occurred, fewer still have involved students who, if they remained in their current placement, would be 
substantially likely to result in injury to their self or others. Kentucky has had no requests recently for 
expedited due process hearings concerning disciplinary or behavior issues. If the need arises for a hearing 
officer to remove a child because of the substantial likelihood for injury to self or others, that option 
remains available and will be used as circumstances dictate. 

Kentucky’s 2007-08 discipline data showed a substantial increase in the total number of disciplinary 
removals. There were multiple reasons for this variance. The major reason had to do with how the data 
were captured from local districts in 2006-07 versus 2007-08. For the 2006-07 school year, the KDE 
requested student-level aggregated data. Reviewing the data received, KDE determined that there were 
likely errors and inconsistencies in the counting and aggregating of this type of student-level data. Many 
districts failed to report multiple incidents for a student, just indicating a single removal with multiple 
days.  

For the 2007-08 school year, KDE determined that rather than aggregated student-level data for 
disciplinary removals, districts should report student-level incidents. This meant that for each time a 
student was removed for a disciplinary removal, the record of that specific removal was reported 
individually so that the same student could have multiple incidents reported. This resulted in many more 
incidents of removals being documented than in the prior school year. 

There were other lesser issues resulting in discrepancies, including additional training that resulted in 
better understanding of the disciplinary data. The reporting of start and end times in disciplinary events 
affected if an event was reported as full or partial days. These latter issues still exist but are being worked 
on with local districts and the vendor for the current student information system 
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Louisiana 

Louisiana reported that no students with disabilities were removed from placement by a hearing officer 
due to posing a threat of injury. The state had three hearing requests in school year 2007-08 that involved 
disciplinary issues but no requests where a district requested to remove a student who posed a threat to 
himself or others. Of the two cases where the parent challenged the Manifestation Determination Review 
or sought to reverse a removal to IAES; one was settled in a resolution meeting, and one was settled in 
mediation. In past years, some of Louisiana's larger districts were placed under corrective action because 
of issues regarding compliance with disciplinary requirements, and there was confusion regarding the 
tension between school safety and the need for discipline, and/or supports. The state prefers and counsels 
proactive measures with all districts, rather than to wait until unaddressed discipline issues reach crisis 
level—i.e., the student becomes a threat to himself or others is reactive. The state prefers that these issues 
be resolved through IEP procedures rather than a hearing. Currently, many of the schools address such 
issues through IEP meetings in collaboration with the parent, and therefore the matters never rise to the 
level of requiring due process review. Confusion or a lack of understanding does persist with regard to the 
difference between a child who poses a threat and a child in need of behavior interventions; the state 
continues to try to address this confusion by providing training to the districts. 

Maine 

Maine was unable to determine whether expelled students in either the special education or general 
education systems did or did not continue to receive educational services. This data element was added to 
the system for school year 2008-09 and will be reported Nov. 1, 2009. 

Michigan 

Michigan began collecting data on the number of in-school suspensions and the number of removals for 
serious bodily injury during the 2007-08 school year. Therefore, these represent new data reported to 
OSEP and EDEN. 

Micronesia 

Micronesia cannot verify data about students without disabilities expelled and receiving services or not 
receiving educational services for reporting. FSM is currently working with the LEAs to verify this data 
element, and it will be submitted as may be requested or in a revision of this data report. 

Marshall Islands 

RMI did not receive any reports on disciplinary action for SY 2007-08. 

Maryland 

MSDE reports in its 2007-08 Table 7 that of the 324 due process complaints received, 6 were related to 
discipline. Of these six complaints none resulted in a due process hearing being conducted, as all six of 
these due process complaints were withdrawn.  

MSDE has procedures in place to ensure that complaints that require an expedited hearing are conducted 
within the required timelines. MSDE staff reviews all due process complaints that are filed, and if it 
appears the complaint may require an expedited due process hearing, the public agency is contacted to 
ensure that a timely hearing will be conducted, as required, under 34 CFR § 300.532. 
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Massachusetts 

Massachusetts found no error in the 2007-08 discipline report. The flagged items as indicated on the 
Significant Year-to-Year Change Report were the result of improved data collections at the LEA level. In 
Massachusetts, definitions of student removals have been known to vary from district to district, as each 
district strives to provide services to its students based on the resources available to it. The state is 
continuing to work on having districts develop more systematic definitions for student removals in order 
to achieve more accurate data reporting in the future. 

Minnesota 

Due to the fact that 2006-07 was the first year of reporting in-school suspension data, and that OSEP 
definitions were not well understood, the data reported by districts for that year may have been over-
reported. In-school suspension numbers may have included students removed from classrooms that were 
NOT under the direct supervision of school personnel.  

Modifications in OSEP guidance resulted in changes in the way MDE counted in-school suspensions of 
less than ½ day. For the 2006-07 school year, in-school suspensions less than ½ day were counted as .5 
and were summed for calculation purposes. For the 2007-08 school year, in-school suspensions less than 
½ day were eliminated from the counts. 

Male 
Due to the fact that 2006-07 was the first year of reporting in-school suspension data, and that OSEP 
definitions were not well understood, the data reported by districts for that year may have been over-
reported. In-school suspension numbers may have included students removed from classrooms that were 
NOT under the direct supervision of school personnel.  

Modifications in OSEP guidance resulted in changes in the way MDE counted in-school suspensions of 
less than ½ day. For the 2006-07 school year, in-school suspensions less than ½ day were counted as .5 
and were summed for calculation purposes. For the 2007-08 school year, in-school suspensions less than 
½ day were eliminated from the counts. 

Female  
Due to the fact that 2006-07 was the first year of reporting in-school suspension data, and that OSEP 
definitions were not well understood, the data reported by districts for that year may have been over-
reported. In-school suspension numbers may have included students removed from classrooms that were 
NOT under the direct supervision of school personnel.  

Modifications in OSEP guidance resulted in changes in the way MDE counted in-school suspensions of 
less than ½ day. For the 2006-07 school year, in-school suspensions less than ½ day were counted as .5 
and were summed for calculation purposes. For the 2007-08 school year, in-school suspensions less than 
½ day were eliminated from the counts. 

LEP: Yes  
Due to the fact that 2006-07 was the first year of reporting in-school suspension data, and that OSEP 
definitions were not well understood, the data reported by districts for that year may have been over-
reported. In-school suspension numbers may have included students removed from classrooms that were 
NOT under the direct supervision of school personnel.  

Modifications in OSEP guidance resulted in changes in the way MDE counted in-school suspensions of 
less than ½ day. For the 2006-07 school year, in-school suspensions less than ½ day were counted as .5 
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and were summed for calculation purposes. For the 2007-08 school year, in-school suspensions less than 
½ day were eliminated from the counts. 

LEP: No  
Due to the fact that 2006-07 was the first year of reporting in-school suspension data, and that OSEP 
definitions were not well understood, the data reported by districts for that year may have been over-
reported. In-school suspension numbers may have included students removed from classrooms that were 
NOT under the direct supervision of school personnel.  

Modifications in OSEP guidance resulted in changes in the way MDE counted in-school suspensions of 
less than ½ day. For the 2006-07 school year, in-school suspensions less than ½ day were counted as .5 
and were summed for calculation purposes. For the 2007-08 school year, in-school suspensions less than 
½ day were eliminated from the counts. 

American Indian or Alaska Native  
Disciplinary Removal:  1 Day (5B)  

Modifications in OSEP guidance resulted in changes in the way MDE counted in-school suspensions of 
less than ½ day. For the 2006-07 school year, in-school suspensions less than ½ day were counted as .5 
and were summed for calculation purposes. For the 2007-08 school year, in-school suspensions less than 
½ day were eliminated from the counts. 

This year it was discovered that a small number of students without a recorded race were missing from 
the counts. The state established a process for imputing these students proportionally across all 
race/ethnicity categories as requested by OSEP. Data reported for the 2007-08 school year reflected these 
changes.  

Asian or Pacific Islander  
Modifications in OSEP guidance resulted in changes in the way MDE counted in-school suspensions of 
less than ½ day. For the 2006-07 school year, in-school suspensions less than ½ day were counted as .5 
and were summed for calculation purposes. For the 2007-08 school year, in-school suspensions less than 
½ day were eliminated from the counts. 

This year it was discovered that a small number of students without a recorded race were missing from 
the counts. The state established a process for imputing these students proportionally across all 
race/ethnicity categories as requested by OSEP. Data reported for the 2007-08 school year reflected these 
changes. 

Black (Not Hispanic)     
Due to the fact that 2006-07 was the first year of reporting in-school suspension data, and that OSEP 
definitions were not well understood, the data reported by districts for that year may have been over-
reported. In-school suspension numbers may have included students removed from classrooms that were 
NOT under the direct supervision of school personnel.  

Modifications in OSEP guidance resulted in changes in the way MDE counted in-school suspensions of 
less than ½ day. For the 2006-07 school year, in-school suspensions less than ½ day were counted as .5 
and were summed for calculation purposes. For the 2007-08 school year, in-school suspensions less than 
½ day were eliminated from the counts. 

This year it was discovered that a small number of students without a recorded race were missing from 
the counts. The state established a process for imputing these students proportionally across all 
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race/ethnicity categories as requested by OSEP. Data reported for the 2007-08 school year reflected these 
changes. 

White    
Changes to federal guidance about out-of-school suspension as well as changes to the DIRS system have 
likely affected these figures. Suspension is not a preferred method for dealing with discipline in 
Minnesota, and low numbers reflect this policy. Each year, discipline data are more accurate due to 
improvements in DIRS and continuing TA to districts. 

This year it was discovered that a small number of students without a recorded race were missing from 
the counts. The state established a process for imputing these students proportionally across all 
race/ethnicity categories as requested by OSEP. Data reported for the 2007-08 school year reflected these 
changes. 

Mississippi 

A change in the DTS edits showed that the state was not pulling all disciplinary data but instead pulling a 
subset of the data. After consultation with Westat, the state reviewed the Structured Query Language 
(SQL) used to pull the data from the state database and updated the SQL to pull all disciplinary actions 
reported. Training is conducted each summer at an annual MIS Conference. Discipline reporting is always 
a key element of that training. 

Montana 

Montana reported no removals of students with disabilities by a hearing officer due to threat of injury for 
school year 2007-08. Montana uses an Early Assistance Program to facilitate informal resolution of 
conflicts that otherwise may result in the filing of a formal complaint or due process hearing request. 
Because of the success of this program, Montana continues to experience very low rates of complaints 
and due process hearing requests.  

In Montana, a complainant may file an expedited due process hearing request regarding discipline issues 
pursuant to special education ARMs 10.16.3524 to 10.16.3531 but only after a manifestation 
determination has been held. The written complaint must be filed with the Legal Division at the Office of 
Public Instruction who then appoints a hearing officer who has completed at least one hearing and 
preferably who is in the same geographic area as the complainant.  

In Montana, one expedited hearing was requested in 2009 but was settled at the resolution session. The 
number of Montana due process hearings of either sort is very low. The state has had only two expedited 
hearings in the last 5 years. In fact, there have been no regular due process hearings in the state in the past 
2 fiscal years. There were three in FY 2007, none in 2006, four (including an expedited one) in 2005, and 
three in 2004 (also including one expedited hearing) for a total of 10 hearings in the last 5 years. The state 
attributed this low rate to its early assistance program informal dispute resolution mechanisms. 

Nebraska 

Nebraska does not collect the information regarding expulsions with or without educational services for 
students without disabilities and therefore does not have data for special education students by expulsion 
alone. However, Nebraska requires school districts to contact the department in the case of an expulsion 
to ensure that the regulations for continued service are followed. There were no such contacts made to the 
state for 2007-08. 
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Removals by a hearing officer are regulated under 92 NAC 51-016 and 92 NAC 55-005-007. However 
very few, and in the case of the last several years none, have occurred. The majority of the complaints in 
Nebraska are first recommended to a mediation center—there are several mediation centers in the state 
assigned to various areas of the state. Most complaints are handled and resolved during the mediation 
process. 

Until this school year, Nebraska was not able to distinguish the difference between a special education 
expulsion and a general education expulsion. In Nebraska’s CSPR it is stated that this year, 2008-09, 
Nebraska will be collecting the expulsion data by both general education and the special education 
indicator in its State Longitudinal Data System (SLDS). These data will be available to be reported in the 
November 2009 reports. 

Nevada 

Nevada reported that no students were removed by a hearing officer in school year 2007-08 due to posing 
a threat of injury to themselves or others. Nevada’s procedures for addressing complaints regarding 
disciplinary removals are consistent with Federal law requirements as described in 34 CFR § 
300.532(b)(ii). In 2007-08, there were no requests for due process hearings related to disciplinary 
removals. In 2006-07, there were only two requests for a due process hearing related to disciplinary 
removals, and both of those complaints were resolved through resolution meetings and did not result in 
the student being removed from placement. This pattern is consistent with Nevada's focus on avoiding 
litigation and resolving disputes through alternative means, as is demonstrated in its dispute resolution 
data unrelated to disciplinary removals. 

New Hampshire 

New Hampshire is currently unable to report the number of students expelled in the general education 
population. The state anticipates that it will be able to report these data for school year 2008-09. 

New Jersey 

In reporting incidents of serious bodily injury as part of the state’s electronic violence and vandalism 
reporting system, the NJOSEP requires school districts to check two boxes—one box for 45-day removal 
and a second box for medical treatment. These two boxes together denote that the removal was for serious 
bodily injury.  

With respect to the 2007-08 school year, the NJOSEP received 16 due process complaints related to 
disciplinary procedures. Two complaints were resolved through settlement agreements. One case was 
fully adjudicated, and a change of placement was ordered. There were no cases to report where a student 
was removed for up to 45 days by an administrative law judge because the student was considered a 
danger to self or to others. 

New Mexico 

New Mexico uses the definition for serious bodily injury as provided in 18 U.S. Code § 1365(3)(h) for the 
special education data system and collects information on discipline incidents in the general education 
system under definitions provided under the Safe and Drug Free Schools Act. As such, New Mexico 
considers that serious bodily injury would generally constitute a mutually exclusive category from other 
major injuries requiring medical attention (such as broken bones, stabbing, concussion, etc.). Without 
explicit instruction from OSEP indicating that it is the intention under this data collection to include such 
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injuries in this data category, New Mexico believes that it would be extremely rare to encounter a case 
where serious bodily injury has occurred. 

New Mexico reported that there were no removals by a hearing officer in the 2007-08 school year due to 
the threat of injury to a student or others. This is confirmed by the report in Table 7 indicating that there 
were only two cases where a due process complaint was filed, and neither of these cases resulted in a due 
process hearing. 

Flagged Data 
• Out-of-school suspensions : 10 days or less: down 81.95% from 2,116 in 2006-07 to 382 in 2007-08, 

a difference of -1,734. 
• Out-of-school suspensions: > 10 days: down 82.45% from 245 in 2006-07 to 43 in 2007-08, a 

difference of  
-202. 

• In-school suspensions: 10 days or less: down 92.99% from 1,355 in 2006-07 to 95 in 2007-08, a 
difference of -1,260. 

• In-school suspensions: > 10 days: down 97.03%  from 101 in 2006-07 to 3 in 2007-08, a difference of 
-98. 

• Total disciplinary removals: down 84.12% from 3,834 in 2006-07 to 609 in 2007-08, a difference of -
3,225. 

• Disciplinary removal: 1 days: up from zero in 2006-07 to 38 in 2007-08. 
• Disciplinary removals: 2-10 days: down 87.44% from 3,471 in 2006-07 to 436 in 2007-08, a 

difference of  
-3,035. 

• Disciplinary removals: > 10 days: down 80.44% from 363 in 2006-07 to 71 in 2007-08, a difference 
of -292. 

Explanation 
On July 2, 2008, the state learned that reporting requirements for counting suspensions and expulsions 
were to include only those suspensions and expulsions associated with drug use, serious bodily injury, or 
weapons. For the 2006-07 reporting period, the state reported all suspensions and expulsions, regardless 
of the factors surrounding the suspensions and or expulsions, and consequently, the counts for the above-
flagged categories within the discipline report for 2006-07 were noticeably higher than those reported in 
2007-08. Once aware of the limits in scope for reporting criteria for suspensions and or expulsions, the 
state corrected discipline calculations for the 2007-08 reporting period by including only suspensions and 
or expulsions associated with drug use, serious bodily injury, or weapons. As a result, the count in most 
discipline categories reduced significantly year-to-year from 2006-07 to 2007-08. 

New Mexico’s 2007-08 discipline data show a marked decrease in the number of suspensions. One reason 
for this decrease was that districts had to revise and update Policies and Procedures. The Policies and 
Procedures include a section on discipline and Behavior Intervention Plans (BIPs) that provides clear 
guidelines as to circumstances under which students should be removed from the classroom and 
alternative responses for disciplinary situations. 

New York 

Revised data will be submitted in spring 2009, upon completion of all reasonability checks and 
verification procedures. 
• 113 fewer children unilaterally removed,  
• 72 more removals for drugs , 
• 55 fewer removals for weapons, 
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• 107 fewer removals for body injuries,  
• 43 more children removed by hearing officers.  

New York State’s 2007-08 data will be finalized before July 1, 2009. 

Improvements in discipline procedures for students with disabilities continues to receive attention in 
many school districts. 

New York’s 2007-08 discipline data show a marked decrease in the number of unilateral removals by 
school personnel and specifically the number of children removed for drug offenses or serious bodily 
injury. 

Discipline procedures for students with disabilities continue to receive attention in many New York 
school districts as a result of SPP Indicator 4 and the Safe and Drug Free Schools and Communities Act. 
Based on criteria developed by the Department, school buildings are identified as persistently dangerous 
based on some of the same incidents that result in the unilateral removals of students with disabilities.  

As noted in New York’s special education SPP and APRs, among other initiatives, the following have 
had an effect on the discipline data:  

Revised state regulations to establish standards on behavioral interventions, including standards for 
functional behavioral assessments, behavioral intervention plans, use of time-out rooms, and emergency 
interventions. The state has also issued a guidance document on positive behavioral supports and services. 

Expanded field-based positive behavioral interventions and supports (PBIS) technical assistance resources 
to work with more school districts. 

North Carolina 

The discrepancy in page 8 can be accounted for by adding in the total number of multiracial children 
reported in the state: 5A – 1,958; 5B – 69; 5C – 533; 5D – 156. 

In 2006-07, North Carolina was going through a transition for most LEAs from a local student 
information system to a statewide student information system. The local student information system had 
the ability to interact with North Carolina's exceptional children database; however, the statewide system 
did not immediately have this ability. There has been a statewide effort to utilize a unique ID across all 
systems in all LEAs so that data matching is as clean as possible. In 2006-07, the state believed that the 
data matching between the exceptional children database and the discipline database was not catching all 
of the special education students who had disciplinary action. The state estimated that about 14% of 
students disciplined in North Carolina are special education. The match rate for the 2007-08 discipline 
submission is accurate across the reported categories.  

North Carolina reported that no children were removed by a hearing officer in 2007-08 due to the 
likelihood that the continued placement could result in injury to the child or others. This report 
represented a substantial drop from previous years, and was attributed to the report of prior years having 
been overestimated due to districts and schools mistakenly reporting removals by principals or other 
school officials as removals by a hearing officer. Note that, while North Carolina had no removals by a 
hearing officer to report for 2007-08, there were six due process hearings held in regard to disciplinary 
removals, but none of these cases resulted in the child being removed from placement. 
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North Carolina’s 2007-08 discipline data show a marked increase in the number of suspensions. At the 
end of 2007, North Carolina initiated a project to institute a unique ID that would be common for all of 
the data collection systems. Prior to this, the state and districts were matching across data systems using 
data elements other than ID, which potentially produced a lower match rate for exceptional children 
data. The data quality for 2007-08 increased significantly, which suggests that the user should not make 
direct comparisons between the 2007-08 and 2006-07 data. 

North Dakota 

A zero in the North Dakota data means the state collects that data cell but did not have any to report. A -9 
means the state does not collect that category. 

North Dakota uses the definition for serious bodily injury as provided in 18 U.S. Code § 1365(3)(h) in 
both its special education and general education data systems. As a result, under the Safe and Drug Free 
Schools injury definitions, serious bodily injury would constitute a mutually exclusive category from 
other major injuries requiring medical attention (such as broken bones, stabbing, concussion, etc.). 
Without explicit instruction from OSEP indicating that it is the intention under this data collection to 
include such injuries in this data category, the state believes that it would be extremely rare to encounter a 
case where serious bodily injury has occurred. 

Each of the flagged discipline categories, excluding two, was identified due to declining numbers 
reported. North Dakota is maintaining a statewide positive behavior support initiative to both reduce and 
or more appropriately resolve behavioral occurrences. It is likely that the increases in the two categories 
were due to a reduction in categories typically perceived as more punitive. 

Northern Marianas 

The state collected its data for all of the categories and items of Table 5 and had no students to report 
under each of the categories listed. 

During the report period 2007-08, data collected and reported showed that the state had an increase in out-
of-school suspensions, in-school suspensions, and disciplinary removals. The increases in the above 
categories were due to the following reasons:  Policies and procedures, along with actual practices 
regarding discipline violations, were not implemented consistently at certain schools, or from school to 
school; secondary principals new to their positions in the past 2 years totaled 8 of 20 (1 new 2007-08, and 
7 new the previous year); The Public School System was lacking personnel: behavioral specialist (came 
on board January 2008), legal counsel (came on board September 2008). In reviewing the offense data 
collected, it appears that Betel nut possession/use was a predominate reason for a majority of suspensions, 
yet remains a culturally accepted substance (by parents and students). The school board and principals 
were adamant at not lessening the consequence for Betel nut use, due to fear of uncontrolled usage. 

The state was unable to obtain the data for services provided to children with and without disabilities 
during suspension/expulsion from the Safe and Drug Free Schools Data System. The CNMI Public 
School System maintains these data on the Pacific Education Data Management System. 

Ohio 

Pursuant to EDEN and OSEP guidance, counts of multiracial students were included in those detail 
records that do not mandate a race/ethnicity breakdown and in overall totals. Counts of Ohio children 
with disabilities who were coded as multiracial were omitted from those records for which race/ethnicity 
is required, thus discrepancies between those records and overall totals.  
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Oklahoma 

Oklahoma does not use expulsion for any students. According to Oklahoma School Law, there is no such 
thing as an expulsion. Therefore, no general education or special education students were expelled.  

Based on the previous data manager’s conception that Oklahoma does not use expulsion and further 
clarification provided that, in fact, Oklahoma's suspension for weapons, drug possession, or serious bodily 
injury meets the criteria for expulsion, we do not have a data collection of services that were provided for 
students who were expelled (suspended). The state’s policies and procedures state that students are to 
receive services when out of school for more than 10 days; however, a data collection was not used. The 
state is currently trying to place in its data collection the ability to identify if services were provided for 
each suspension that resulted in more than 10 consecutive days or a collection of more than 10 days that 
was a result of the same type of offense. Concerns received from LEAs are whether they would report 
services offered or services that were actually received by the student. LEAs are concerned that some 
students refuse the services offered, and the LEA would not be given credit for providing the services to 
the student.  

Oregon 

Oregon reported that there were no removals of students with disabilities by a hearing officer due to threat 
of injury for school year 2007-08. Consistent with the data reported in Table 5, Oregon districts tend to 
access the provisions cited in CFR § 300.530(g) by unilaterally placing students in an IAES.  

Districts implement their own policies and procedures associated with removals to an IAES on behalf of 
the district as opposed to requesting a due process hearing seeking removals from Administrative Law 
Judges (hearing officers) as allowed under CFR § 300.532(a).  

Oregon's analogous rules for CFR § 300.530 and CFR § 300.532 are OAR 581-015-2425 and OAR 581-
015-2430 respectively. 

Palau 

Palau reported zero in all categories because no students with disabilities were disciplined. 

Pennsylvania 

The absence of removals by a hearing officer is viewed as a positive outcome attributable to 
Pennsylvania’s expanded continuum of dispute resolution options. 

Rhode Island 

The state reviewed its student-level discipline data and did not have any instance in which the duration of 
an out-of-school suspension for a student with a disability lasted for the remainder of the school year or 
longer. The longest out-of-school suspension instance occurred on October 25 and lasted for 14 days.  

The Rhode Island State Board of Regents is concerned about disciplinary exclusions of students from 
schools. Because the Rhode Island Constitution requires the General Assembly "to promote public 
schools, and to adopt all means by which they may deem necessary and proper to secure to the people the 
advantages and opportunities of education" (Article XIII Constitution of Rhode Island), the state feels that 
Rhode Island students should not be denied these means nor be excluded from the advantages and 
opportunities of public education by arbitrary or unreasonable suspensions. Suspensions of students from 
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school should occur only for serious reasons and never be used indiscriminately as a penalty for trivial 
offenses. 

Rhode Island defines serious bodily injury incidences for students with disabilities based on the definition 
provided in 34 CFR § 300.530. It is not known how districts may be cross-walking between this term and 
comparable injury codes in the Safe and Drug Free Schools database system (major injuries requiring 
medical attention, such as broken bones, stabbing, concussion, etc.). Explicit instruction from OSEP 
indicating that it is the intention under this data collection to include such injuries in this data category 
will be required in order to establish this cross-walk. 

In the category of Removals to an Interim Alternate Setting Based on a Hearing Officer Determination 
Regarding Likely Injury, Rhode Island has a very low frequency. Rhode Island had less than six appeals 
raised during the 2007-08 school year, and of these six, none resulted in a hearing. 

OSEP defines an expulsion as  “An action taken by the local educational agency removing a child from 
his/her regular school for disciplinary purposes for the remainder of the school year or longer accordance 
with local educational agency policy. This includes removals resulting from violations of the Gun Free 
Schools Act that are modified to less than 365 days.” Rhode Island does not  have a definition for 
expulsions, but Rhode Island students could have a long-term suspension. However, Rhode Island did not 
have any suspensions that exceeded 14 days during the 2007-08 school year. Hence, Rhode Island 
reported zeroes in this category for school year 2007-08. 

Rhode Island does not have a specific definition of Major Injuries and Related Injury in the Safe and Drug 
Free Schools Database. Therefore, Rhode Island reported in the category of Unilateral Removals for 
Serious Bodily Injury as all zeroes on this report. In the category of Removals to an Interim Alternate 
Setting Based on a Hearing Officer Determination Regarding Likely Injury, Rhode Island had a very low 
frequency. Rhode Island had less than six appeals raised during the 2007-08 school year, and of these six, 
none resulted in a hearing.  

In reviewing follow-up reports on this submission, it appears that the report of total disciplinary removals 
and cumulative length of removal for school year 2006-07 were underreported. Those data will be revised 
and resubmitted during 2008-09. 

South Dakota 

In South Dakota, LEAs fill out the exact same table as the SEA does. In 2006-07, LEA staff were 
unfamiliar with the new data collection and table especially on in-school suspension and paying attention 
to number of removals versus students. Therefore, there were inconsistencies with data entry. In 2007-08, 
South Dakota began walking districts through the required information for the form. State personnel also 
went through each district's information; if there were inconsistencies, the LEA was contacted.  

South Dakota spends considerable time in early dispute resolution with districts and parents. The 
department works closely with the Parent Training and Information center to make sure that parents 
understand their procedural safeguards and the early dispute resolution options available to them. Below 
is South Dakota’s procedure for expedited due process hearings.  

24:05:26:09.08. Expedited hearing—Procedures. If a hearing is requested under this chapter, the parents 
or the school district involved in the dispute must have an opportunity for an impartial due process 
hearing consistent with the requirements of this article, except as provided in this section. 
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The department shall arrange the expedited due process hearing, which must occur within 20 school days 
of the date of the complaint requesting the hearing is filed. The hearing officer shall make a determination 
within ten school days after the hearing. 

Unless the parents and school district agree in writing to waive the resolution meeting described in this 
section, or agree to use the mediation process described in chapter 24:05:30: 
(1)  A resolution meeting must occur within seven days of receiving notice of the due process complaint; 

and 
(2)  The due process hearing may proceed unless the matter has been resolved to the satisfaction of both 

parties within 15 days of the receipt of the due process complaint. 

The decisions on expedited due process hearings are appealable consistent with chapter 24:05:03. 

Source: 26 SDR 150, effective May 22, 2000; 33 SDR 236, effective July 5, 2007. 

General Authority: SDCL 13-37-1.1. 

Law Implemented: SDCL 13-37-1.1. 

Tennessee 

Based on state law (Tennessee Code Annotated 49-6-3401) and regulations regarding how student 
disciplinary procedures are handled, Tennessee school districts (LEAs) implement a disciplinary hearing 
authority that typically manages any concerns/issues regarding student disciplinary removals. The 
involvement of IEP teams and school district-level disciplinary hearing authority appears to reduce the 
likelihood that a compliant regarding a disciplinary removal rises to the level of requiring an expedited 
due process hearing. 

Texas 

Although Texas received 11 expedited due process hearing complaints related to disciplinary actions, 7 
went to resolution session, 3 went to hearing, and 1 resulted in the change of placement; however, the 
change of placement was not the result of a disciplinary act that caused serious bodily injury. 

Utah 

Regular education students who did or did not receive educational services during expulsion is a data 
point not collected in every LEA. Few responded with these data. 

Vermont 

Data were submitted in pre-suppressed format in accordance with Vermont Department of Education 
policy, and could not be subject to analysis, and therefore were excluded from these tables. Any count < 
11 was suppressed in accordance with Vermont State Board of Education policy and was represented with 
-4. 

Virginia 

All zeros reflect zero counts; the state does collect the data. 

Virginia had no removals for serious bodily injury due to incompatibility between the definition 
established by OSEP for Table 5 and the reporting codes under the Safe and Drug Free Schools data 
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collection. Virginia requires further direction from OSEP if there is expectation that some reporting 
categories under the Safe and Drug Free Schools should be reported as removals for serious bodily 
injury.  As the definitions currently stand, Virginia's data accurately reflect zero removals for serious 
bodily injury. 

Virginia had zero removals by hearing officer despite the fact that there is an established process for 
hearing officer removal of students. There were, in fact, complaints addressed by hearing officers in 
Virginia; however, fewer than five resulted in formal hearings, and none of those resulted in the removal 
of a student. 

Virgin Islands 

The state had zero children to report on the discipline data submission for deaf-blindness, orthopedic 
impairments and autism. 

Washington 

The state carefully reviewed all the data reports and the significant changes noted. All the data were 
verified as being correct. Washington saw a very large overall decrease of removals greater than 10 days 
statewide. The state believed this was due to the work reported in the state's APR under indicator 4A. 

District’s identified through this data collection as having significant discrepancies in their suspensions/ 
expulsion were required to review and revise, as appropriate, policies, procedures, and practices relating 
to the development of IEPs, the use of PBIS, and procedural safeguards to ensure compliance with IDEA.  

Those districts made the following types of changes to their policies, procedures, and practices: 
• Contracted and/or employed behavior intervention specialist,  
• Added and refined practices around PBIS, 
• Corrected data collection procedures, 
• Provided staff development (discipline procedures, procedural safeguards, behavior intervention 

plans, functional behavioral assessments, and manifestation determination procedures, RTI/PBIS), 
• Improved data reporting, analysis, and communication within the district, 
• Held meetings/discussion with staff around supporting appropriate behavior, 
• Improved communication across all district staff regarding behavior, 
• Implemented regular meetings to review/discuss discipline issues, 
• Standardized forms/reporting, 
• Revised forms. 

Additionally, revised statewide improvement activities were implemented (also documented in 
Washington’s APR of FFY 2006, 2007 and 2008), and all school districts participated in some or all of 
the activities, depending on the numbers and type of disciplinary removals they reported. Please refer to 
Washington’s SPP/APRs located at http://www.k12.wa.us/SpecialEd/APR_SPP.aspx for complete 
information on these activities.  

Continued efforts focusing on data analysis and research-based strategies have affected this indicator area. 
Improvement activities have led to significant progress for districts in this indicator. The data from 2006-
07 to 2007-08 in the area of weapons and serious bodily injury decreased quite a bit as did in-school 
suspensions greater than 10 days. There were increases in some other areas, but they were at a smaller 
percentage.  

The state looks forward to seeing what the 2008-09 data look like in these areas to see if this continues.  

http://www.k12.wa.us/SpecialEd/APR_SPP.aspx
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West Virginia 

West Virginia collects the data for deaf-blindness and LEP; both are very low incidence for us. Multiple 
disabilities is not defined as a category in West Virginia, so the state did not have data for that. In past 
years, the information would not load into DANS if the state used -9. State law requires all students to 
receive services, even those without disabilities, so the state reported zero. 

All Flags for Total Disciplinary Removals (5A): In the second year of reporting disciplinary data for 
removals and suspensions less than 10 days, additional edit checks increased the accuracy of reporting. In 
2007-08, the business rules for reporting disciplinary removals were refined to exclude students whose 
removal summed to less than 1 day. This resulted in a reduction in the total number of disciplinary 
removals reported.  

All Flags for Disciplinary Removal – 1 day, In-school suspensions – 10 days or less, and out-of-school 
suspensions 10 days of less: The data were reviewed, and year-to-year differences resulted from fewer 
removals being reported by districts.  

Flags for LEP Students: Data on disciplinary actions for LEP students were collected. The reduction in 
the number of LEP students reported for out-of-school suspensions:  10 days or less, in-school 
suspensions:  10 days or less, and disciplinary removals 2-10 days resulted from fewer removals being 
reported by districts.  

Reduction in Total Disciplinary Removals was attributed to changes in the business rules for compiling 
the data, as described above, as well as fewer removals of LEP students being reported by districts.  

West Virginia collects data regarding removal to IAES by a due process hearing officer. The state has a 
one-level hearing system administered by the Department of Education. West Virginia had no complaints 
related to disciplinary issues completed in 2007-08.  

Wisconsin 

The Wisconsin SEA receives all requests for due process hearings. SEA staff reviews each request to 
determine whether the complaint involves matters requiring an expedited hearing. SEA staff clearly 
identify due process hearing complaints requiring an expedited hearing when forwarding the hearing 
request to the Division of Hearings and Appeals for assignment of a hearing officer to conduct the 
hearing. During the 2007-08 reporting period, the SEA received no due process hearing complaints where 
an LEA, pursuant to 34 CFR § 300.532(a), believed that maintaining the current placement was 
substantially likely to result in injury to the child or others. Consequently, no children were placed by a 
hearing officer in such a placement during that time period. 

Children Subject to Expulsion With and Without Educational Services by Disability Status—Data 
reported were not limited to only those children expelled for the remainder of the school year but instead 
represented all children expelled during the 2007-08 school year regardless of the length of the expulsion. 
Expulsion is defined in state statute as a removal from school grounds for purposes of discipline as 
imposed by the school board for violation of school district rules; threats against school property; or 
conduct which endangers the property, health, or safety of those at school. Expulsion is a formal school 
board action pursuant to WI s. 120.13 (1) and (first-class city school district) WI s. 119.25. 
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Wyoming 

The WDE 636 discipline collection uses the definitions for Major Injuries and Related Injury codes from 
the General Education Safe and Drug Free Schools Data System, and this is not mapping with the serious 
bodily injury data category for the IDEA discipline data collection. It appears that the definitions are not 
compatible at this time due to incomplete information in the data collection instructions. Wyoming is 
currently modifying the data collection instructions to include necessary specificity to capture serious 
bodily injury removals. 

Wyoming is a small state and has very few dispute resolution requests. In the last year, there were only 4 
due process complaints and 11 state complaints filed. None of these requests were discipline related; 
therefore, it is not unreasonable for Wyoming to report zero hearing officer removals. Wyoming does 
have in place a comprehensive dispute resolution policy and process and is prepared to offer parties the 
appropriate services if necessary. 

2007-08 Assessment  

Alabama 

Alabama does not permit students with disabilities to take an assessment below their grade level. 
Similarly, the state does not permit parents to opt their students out of the assessment process. 

Alabama permits exemptions for students with disabilities from participation on statewide assessments 
only in the case of documented absence during the assessment timeframe.     

Alabama does not permit parental exemptions to statewide assessments except in Grade 11 on the 
Alabama High School Graduation Exam (AHSGE). During this reporting year, no exemptions in Grade 
11 were reported. 

Alaska 

Alaska does not permit students with disabilities to take assessments below their grade level. 

First-year LEP students can opt out of both participation and proficiency for reading. Alaska has very few 
of these students and has been reporting them in column 3(B). 

American Samoa 

Because students in American Samoa do not reside within the contiguous United States, the report of 
newly arrived English language learner (ELL) students’ participation in assessments does not apply. 

American Samoa does not report under adequate yearly progress (AYP), and therefore the report of 
students excluded under the 1% cap does not apply. 

American Samoa did not assess 6th graders in reading or math for school year 2006-07. American Samoa 
currently anticipates that these assessments will be ready for implementation for school year 2007-08. 

American Samoa does not allow out-of-level testing.  
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Arkansas 

The enrollment date is different depending on the test taken; however, April 22, 2008, represents the 
majority of students. 

Arkansas has only one alternate assessment, and it is based on Alternate Achievement Standards (AAS). 

Arkansas does not allow out-of-grade level testing or parental exemptions.     

The high school math alternate portfolio is a course-based portfolio and does not meet the qualifications 
of the 1% rule.  

High school math is not grade-level specific, but grade 10 was chosen to represent the collective of 
students grades 7-12 taking the courses. 

In Arkansas, of the LEP students who took the 2007-08 assessment, no special education student was 
identified as having the regular reading/literacy assessment replaced with the English proficiency 
assessment. All students took the regular reading/literacy assessment.  

Arkansas Accountability Workbook 
http://www.arkansased.org/nclb/pdf/accountability_wkbk_021208b.pdf 

Assessment in English Proficiency and/or Reading/Literacy  

LEP students who are in their first year of enrollment in a United States school shall be required to take 
the English proficiency assessment. The local district, after determining English proficiency with this 
assessment and other valid and reliable screening and/or placement instruments, may exercise an option 
that the student not participate in the reading/literacy assessment. Further, if the student takes the 
reading/literacy assessment with accommodations as necessary, the district may decide not to include that 
student’s literacy score(s) for the total group or any subgroup when determining the school and/or district 
AYP performance rating. Any student who takes the English proficiency assessment or the 
reading/literacy assessment may be counted as part of the required 95% assessment participation 
requirement for reading.  

Participation/Performance—Math 
Although Arkansas’ December 1 count for children with disabilities (CWD) ages 6-21 declined, the 
number of CWD in the testing grade levels continued to increase as did the total number of students 
enrolled in public schools.  

The increase in the total count of CWD administered assessments was partly due to the inclusion of 9th-
grade math portfolio students. Each assessment category increased partly due to the state’s focus on using 
co-teaching, which allows more students to remain in core courses taught in general education classrooms 
with or without accommodations.  

The increased in the number of students in math performance was due in part to the continuing use of 
math coaches in the schools. These coaches have developed individualized instruction for students with 
special needs, and this intense instruction is showing in increased assessment scores. The number of 
nonproficient students increased along with the number of proficient students. While the raw numbers 
represent an increase, the rate (73.7%) is lower than that of the previous year (78.6%).  

http://www.arkansased.org/nclb/pdf/accountability_wkbk_021208b.pdf
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The increase in the number of students taking the alternate assessment was attributed to the first-time 
inclusion of the 9th-grade math portfolio students and as a result of more students being identified with a 
significant cognitive dysfunction with individualized education programs (IEPs) that required the use of 
an alternate portfolio for assessment. This was the same reason for the increase in performance count. 
There was a significant increase in the number of students scoring nonproficient on the alternate portfolio. 
While the raw numbers represent an increase, the rate (39.9%) was significantly lower than that of the 
previous year (45.9%).  

Participation/Performance—Reading 
The increase in the number of proficient scores in reading in the regular assessment category was partly 
due to the state’s focus on using co-teaching, which allows more students to remain in core courses taught 
in general education classrooms with or without accommodations. Additionally, the state has focused 
literacy activities that include the Closing Achievement Gap Initiative, Reading First, and   State 
Improvement Grant (SIG) funded by OSEP. Goal 1 of the SIG focuses on literacy and included activities 
such as: an expanded focus on adolescent literacy, partnering with Reading First schools, professional 
development in the Strategic Instruction Model (SIM). 

Arizona 

Arizona’s 2006-07 assessment submission showed a decrease in the number of assessments administered 
with accommodations. In the 2006-07 school year, the number of students reported as taking a regular 
assessment based on grade-level academic achievement standards with accommodations were those who 
tested with nonstandard accommodations. Following the elimination of nonstandard accommodations by 
the state in the 2007-08 school year, the total number of students reported as taking a regular assessment 
based on grade- level academic achievement standards with accommodations were those who tested with 
standard accommodations. This change resulted in much higher numbers reported as taking the test with 
accommodations since students who previously used nonstandard accommodations now used standard 
accommodations.  

These data also showed a decrease in the proportion of students scoring as proficient on the alternate 
assessments based on alternate achievement standards in both reading and math. In the 2006-07 school 
year, teachers evaluated student performance on alternate assessment on alternate achievement standards 
(AA-AAS) (AIMS A-Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards) via selected standard-based rater items, 
standard-based activities, and from parent interviews. The Analytic Score Tool (AST) used for scoring 
this assessment consisted of 11 points. However, in school year 2007-08, the AST was modified to a 6-
point rubric, which reduced the amount of subjectivity in the scoring. This change in the scoring tool is 
the likely reason for the discrepancy in proficiency data between 2006-07 and 2007-08. 

The date of enrollment count for grade 10 is Feb. 27, 2008.  

Although Arizona collects data on recently arrived limited English proficient students (RALEP), Arizona 
does not allow the English language proficiency (ELP) test Arizona English Language Learner 
Assessment (AZELLA) to be substituted for the AIMS reading test.   

Arizona currently has only AIMS and AIMS-A. No out-of-level testing is allowed. 

ELL students take the AIMS or AIMS-A as appropriate. No other test is substituted. However, ELL 
students are identified and form a subgroup in the disaggregation when AYP is calculated.  
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Arizona does not allow ELL students to replace the regular reading assessments with LEP tests. These 
students fully participate in the regular assessment, and their performance is reported under both IDEA 
and AYP  

Bureau of Indian Education 

Students who were listed as exemptions were deemed not able to participate in the assessment process by 
their IEP team or they did not complete any of the assessment given to them. These students were not 
counted in the participation calculations.  

The BIE has had a policy, since the beginning of NCLB, that schools could not use out-of-level 
assessments, even if allowed in the state workbook. BIE allows data entry into this category because 
occasionally a student will be assessed out of level, and BIE wants schools to report this information. For 
2007-08, no out-of-level assessments were reported.        

BIE uses the assessments of Arizona, California, New Mexico, Utah, Kansas, Oklahoma, Mississippi, 
Oregon, Washington, Idaho, Montana, Wyoming, North Dakota, South Dakota, North Carolina, Maine, 
Iowa, Wisconsin, Michigan, Minnesota, Nevada, and two schools in Florida. Each state has a general 
standards-based assessment (SBA) and various alternate assessments. Because BIE uses the assessments 
systems of multiple states, it needs a common way to report. All state proficiency levels are cross-walked 
to the basic, proficient, or advanced levels of achievement for reporting purposes.     

BIE serves only Native Americans, all of whom were born in the United States.     

BIE tests in different grades depending on the state assessments. The grade 10 identification was used 
because the reporting system would not allow BIE to go forward without a single grade.  

California 

California does not collect out-of level assessments.  

As noted in the California Consolidated Application Accountability Workbook, California tests English 
learners during their first year of enrollment in United States schools; however, consistent with the 
flexibility offered by Secretary Paige’s communication of Feb. 19, 2004, California elects to exclude the 
test results of these students from the annual measurable objective (AMO) calculation. 

Colorado 

Colorado’s 2007-08 assessment submission showed a decrease in the proportion of students scoring as 
proficient in reading on the AA-AAS. The state attributed this change to a change in the assessment 
instrument, which renders the results between the 2 years incomparable. The Colorado Student 
Assessment Program Alternate (CSAPA) reading and writing assessments were revised during the 2007-
08 school year in the same way as math and 10th-grade science were revised the previous year. The 
percentages in each CSAPA category for reading, writing, and science for 2008 are not comparable to 
earlier CSAPA tests. Consequently, comparisons for reading, writing, and science with the previous 
CSAPA results would not be appropriate. 

Colorado has AAS. Colorado does not administer alternate assessments based on grade-level academic 
achievement standards nor on modified academic achievement standards. Colorado does not collect data 
on students who took an out-of-level test. Colorado has no off-level testing. 
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Colorado does not collect data on parental exemption since all are students required to participate in 
testing statewide. The state also does not collect data on absent—all students are required to participate in 
testing statewide (5-week testing window available);  Title I reported 134 students during its monitoring 
report. The state does not collect data on exempt for other reasons—all students are required to participate 
in testing statewide. 

The numbers for the 1% cap are for all students, not just the continuously enrolled students for which the 
cap is used for AYP calculations. 

Connecticut 

Connecticut’s 2007-08 assessment data showed a notable increase in the proportion of students scoring as 
proficient on AA-AAS in both reading and math. The state attributed the increase in proficiency rates on 
the alternate assessment to the numerous training opportunities provided for teachers to support 
improvement of student academic achievement and improve their understanding of the state’s alternate 
assessments. During fall of 2007, the Connecticut State Department of Education conducted Connecticut 
Mastery Test (CMT) Connecticut Academic Performance Test (CAPT) Skills Checklist training for all 
teachers who would be assessing students with the Skills Checklist, the AA-AAS assessment. This 
training was provided to more than 600 teachers in the state. Additionally, special education teachers 
trained in 2006-07 were required to participate in Certified Rater Training, an advanced training for the 
Skills Checklist. The goal of both of these trainings was to improve inter-rater reliability, thereby 
affecting the validity and reliability of student scores. 

Connecticut does not offer out-of-level testing, and a child cannot be parentally exempted from 
participation in statewide assessments. 

Connecticut’s procedures are for districts to give the appropriate state assessment to LEP students in 
addition to the ELP test. In order for the student to exit ELL programming/services, he/she must reach 
sufficiency on both assessments. The assessment file also notes that the student is LEP exempt for No 
Child Left Behind (NCLB) analysis/accountability workbook purposes, but the student does have a score 
for the standard assessment in the statewide assessment file. Lacking other guidance, when the state fills 
out Table 6, the column in question asks about students whose ELP test replaces the standard assessment, 
in Connecticut, that answer is zero. the state’s LEP students have both scores, and one does not replace 
the other. Therefore, in both 2006-07 and in 2007-08, Connecticut reported zero students whose ELP test 
replaced the standard assessment. Students who have been in an LEP program less than 12 months can be 
exempted altogether. This indicates that the LEP students are included in the AYP calculation of 
participation but not performance. 

Students take the regular assessment and are included in the participation calculation and reported for 
performance either under the regular assessment performance levels OR as students whose results were 
invalid, if that is the case. 

Increases in the number of students participating in the state alternate assessment system were attributed 
to work by the Bureaus of Special Education and Student Assessment whose professional development 
efforts over the last 2 years centered on the identification of students with disabilities who are appropriate 
for inclusion in the state alternate assessment system. Connecticut is starting to see LEAs include more 
students with disabilities in the alternate assessment system and apply consistent decisionmaking criteria 
to determine student participation in this option. 
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Delaware 

Delaware tests during two different test periods. One began Oct. 12, 2007, the other began March 3, 2008. 

Delaware has a one-time waiver of the assessment tests for anyone who is in the United States less than 1 
year. The state does not require LEP students in the United States for less than 1 year to participate in 
regular assessments. Although data regarding the number of these students exists in the system, the state 
is not able to report these numbers at this time. 

Delaware does not permit out-of-level testing or parental exemptions from testing. 

District of Columbia 

The District of Columbia does not administer alternate assessments based on modified or alternate 
achievement standards or out-of-level tests; the relevant data cells were reported as not applicable. 

No requests for parental or other exemptions were received, and the relevant data cells were reported as 
zero. 

There were no LEP students with IEPs in the United States for less than 1 year months who took an ELP 
test in lieu of the regular reading assessment, and the relevant data cells were reported as zero.  

During the 2007-08 school year, no LEP students were administered an ELP test in lieu of the standard 
District of Columbia Comprehensive Assessment system reading assessment. This category was reported 
as zero. 

The District of Columbia collected data on students who were not assessed because of absence, but did 
not collect data on students not assessed because of parental exemptions or for other reasons. Out-of-level 
assessments are not administered, therefore no data are collected, and this category was reported as not 
applicable. Data are collected for four achievement levels – Below Basic, Basic, Proficient, and 
Advanced.  

Following review, students whose alternate assessment was based on grade-level achievement standards 
is now reported as students whose alternate assessment was based on alternate academic achievement 
standards. Alternate assessments based on modified academic achievement standards and alternate 
assessments based on grade-level academic achievement standards are not administered, therefore no data 
are collected.         

Florida 

Florida does not collect data for AYP whether or not students are in attendance. 

Florida does not currently replace the general state reading assessment with an ELP test. Students take the 
general statewide reading assessment. 

Florida does not permit students to participate in assessments that are below their enrolled grade level. In 
addition, there is no formal process for parents to opt their students out of the assessment participation. 
While Florida collects attendance records, they are not associated with assessment results. 

In May 2009 (http://www.ed.gov/admins/lead/account/letters/acfl6.html), Florida received permission 
from Office of Elementary and Secondary Education to use a new flexibility that will allow the counting 

http://www.ed.gov/admins/lead/account/letters/acfl6.html
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of recently arrived ELL students as participants (if they took ELP or regular reading test) and exclude 
them from the calculation of proficiency. This new flexibility is being applied for the 2008-09 year. In 
prior year, students took both ELP and a regular reading test. Prior to SY 2008-09, the performance scores 
of recently arrived ELL students were included for both IDEA and AYP in the same manner as all other 
students. 

Georgia 

All 26 newly arrived ELL students fully participated in the regular reading assessment. Performance 
scores were reported in AYP.  

Georgia had no students in the United States less than 1 year whose ELP test (Access Test) replaced the 
reading assessment. Of the 26 students with disabilities who were ELL and who were in the United States 
less than 1 year, 13 participated in a regular or alternate assessment The other 13 participated in the 
Access Test and, in the absence of a regular or alternate assessment scores, were reported in Column 5 – 
Students Whose Assessment Results Were Invalid. They were included in the “Did Not Meet” 
Achievement Level in 10A.  

The state attributed the decrease in the count of regular assessments on grade level with standard 
accommodations for mathematics and the decrease in the number of regular assessments scored proficient 
to the decrease in the number of students with IEPs and the continued grade-specific phase in of the more 
rigorous Georgia Performance Standards for mathematics. The reported decrease in performance mirrors 
results reported for all students. 

Guam 

Guam does not permit students with disabilities to participate in assessments below their grade level. 
Similarly, parents are not permitted to opt their students out of the assessment process. Because students 
in Guam do not reside within the contiguous United States, the report of newly arrived ELL students’ 
participation in assessments does not apply. 

Guam does not report under AYP; therefore, the report of students excluded under the 1% cap does not 
apply. 

Guam reports achievement levels for the SAT10 and AA-AAS. There are no other performance levels 
reported. 

Guam reports zero instead of -9 because the Guam ESL Program has this policy in its Procedural 
Handbook. Guam is in the process of reviewing/revising its assessment policy for students with 
disabilities through a General Supervision Enhancement Grant (GSEG). The current assessment 
policy/procedure for students with disabilities does not include guidance on out-of-level testing or 
parental exemptions. Although it is not a written policy, Guam schools make it a practice not to refer first-
year LEP students for special education and/or related services, unless the student has an obvious 
disability (i.e., deaf/blind, etc.). Guam is currently receiving technical assistance from ILLSA, Guam 
Center for Excellence in Developmental Disabilities Education, Research, and Service (CEDDERS), and 
the Western Regional Resource Center (WRRC).   

Guam's ESL Program requires all students to be screened using the Language Assessment Scale (LAS) if 
there is an indication of another language as reported by their parents on the Home Language Survey. The 
LAS is a screening tool and does not take the place of the district-wide assessment (SAT10) used with 
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Guam students. As per our ESL Office, students who have been identified ESL are exempt from the 
SAT10 their first year in school.  

Hawaii 

Hawaii does not permit students with disabilities to take assessments below their grade level. The state 
reports the performance of recently arrived LEP students in the same manner that the performance of all 
students is reported for both AYP and IDEA reporting purposes. These students fully participate in 
regular assessments in accordance with paragraph 36.1 of the Guide to the 2008 Hawaii State Assessment 
and AYP. 

Idaho 

Idaho does not have an alternate assessment based on grade-level or modified academic achievement 
standards. Idaho's alternate assessment is based on extended content standards for about 1% of the 
population. Out-of-level assessments are prohibited in Idaho.  

The number of students in special education in the grades assessed decreased by 445 on the Dec. 1 child 
count. That correlates well to the overall decrease in the number of special education students assessed. 

The decrease in the number of special education students taking the assessment with accommodations 
may have been the result of increased state department of education (SDE) monitoring regarding 
“blanket” accommodations by districts and citing districts when testing accommodations are not closely 
aligned with classroom accommodations. 

While still less than 1% (0.8%) of test participants, the increase in the number of students taking the Idaho 
Alternate Assessment may have been due to ongoing SDE training efforts that are increasing teachers’ 
comfort level with the Idaho alternate assessment so that students are being more appropriately assessed. 

State of Idaho Accountability Workbook. Students who are enrolled in their first 12 months of school in 
the United States may take the English proficiency test in lieu of the reading/language arts Idaho 
Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) but will be required to take the math and science, in grades offered, 
ISAT with accommodations or adaptations as determined by their ELP. These students are included in the 
participation rates but not in the proficiency calculations, or their first administration of the ISAT as 
allowed by federal flexibility.     

Of the students in the United States less than 12 months, only three were students with IEPs; they were 
reported in Section E, Column 3B. As described above, these students were included in the participation 
rates but not in the proficiency calculations.  

Idaho’s 2007-08 assessment data submission show a marked decrease in the number of students receiving 
accommodations on the math and reading assessments. In the 2006-07 school year, Idaho hired a new 
testing vendor, and changes were made to the way data were collected and reported. The following year 
(SY2007-08), Idaho received a much more detailed report regarding accommodations that included types 
of accommodations for each subject area. The accommodation numbers for reading in 2006-07 reflect any 
student who could have had an accommodation on reading or math, but not the actual number of students 
who used one in each subject area. The more granular data collected by the new vendor are more 
accurate. As the state began reporting in Education Data Exchange Network (EDEN) and EDFacts, data 
issues came to light, and necessary changes were made to improve reporting.     
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Illinois 

The regular state assessment is the Illinois Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) for grades 3-8 for reading 
and mathematics. For Grade 11, the regular assessment is the Prairie State Achievement Exam (PSAE). 
These assessments have four performance levels, with the top two counting as proficient. ISAT and PSAE 
have Academic Warning, Below Standards, Meets Standards, and Exceeds Standards for both reading and 
mathematics.  

According to the EDEN file specifications, the numbers on pages 1 & 10 should match the counts 
reported on EDEN File N/X081. Some of the numbers on pages 1 & 10 are higher than the numbers 
submitted via EDEN due to the fact that EDEN does not allow for the inclusion of students who took the 
assessment and received a score but were not identified as full- or partial-academic-year students on 
EDEN File N/X081. 

The enrollment counts pages 1 & 10 report the number of students “who were enrolled in the grade at a 
date as close as possible to the testing date.” In Illinois, grades 3-8 test in March, and grade 11 tests in 
May. Thus, Illinois has provided enrollment counts as close as possible to the testing date for each 
respective grade. For the 2007-08 school year this date was March 14, 2008, for grades 3-8 and May 8, 
2008, for grade 11.  

The following categories are not applicable for the state, as described below:     
• Illinois does not administer an alternate assessment based on grade-level academic achievement 

standards. 
• Illinois does not administer an alternate assessment based on modified academic achievement 

standards. Illinois does not administer an ELP test that replaces the regular reading assessment.  
• Illinois does not permit schools or parents to exempt students from assessment.    

Illinois collects data on the following categories, but does not have any students to report: 
• Students who took an out-of-level test, 
• Exempt for other reasons. 

Illinois does not permit students with disabilities to take an assessment below their grade level. 

All LEP students, including those who have recently arrived, are required to take the ELP assessment. 
Recently arrived students, however, do not take the ELP test as a supplement to the regular reading 
assessment. 

Per Sec. 200.6(b)(4), a state is able to exempt recently arrived LEP students'' from one administration of 
the state's reading/language arts assessment. These students do not have to take the NCLB Title 1 reading 
accountability test in Illinois, and they are not included in AYP. For IDEA reporting purposes, under 
Section E, Column 3B (LEP students in the United States less than 12 months whose ELP test replaced 
regular reading assessment):  Illinois does not collect data for this column and accordingly reported -9. 
U.S. Department of Education (USED) regulations received in September 2006 allow a one-time 
exemption in reading for recently arrived limited English proficiency students in grades 3-8. The ELP 
assessment in Illinois is not administered in place of the regular reading assessment for recently arrived 
LEP students 

The state’s 2007-08 assessment data show an increase in the number of regular assessments administered 
with accommodations in both reading and math. The 2007-08 school year was the first time that LEP 
students took the ISAT or PSAE (with accommodations) instead of the Illinois Measure of Annual 
Growth in English (IMAGE) test. Therefore, any comparisons with prior year’s achievement levels for 
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LEP students should be made with appropriate caution. This change led to an increase in the number of 
students taking a regular assessment based on grade-level academic achievement standards with 
accommodations in mathematics and reading. 

These data also show an increased percentage of students scoring as proficient on the AA-ASS. The 
2007-08 school year was the first year that the AA-AAS standards was a performance-based assessment 
(status model) rather than a portfolio-based assessment (progress across time model). Standard setting 
occurred to establish the appropriate cut scores on this new assessment. This may have contributed to the 
change in the proficiency rate in mathematics from 2006-07 

Indiana 

Indiana does not permit parent exemptions from testing and does not have an alternate assessment based 
on grade-level achievement standards or on modified achievement standards. Indiana does not permit off-
grad- level assessments.  

Indiana reports proficiency on alternate assessments using two proficiency levels. Note that Indiana does 
have three cut scores for the AA-AAS (Basic, Pass, and Pass+), but these scores are not available in this 
aggregation for state reporting. The state anticipates that all three levels of proficiency will be available 
for state reporting for school year 2008-09.  

Indiana is currently unable to distinguish between students who did not participate in assessments due to 
absence versus other reasons. The state data system is currently being refined to make this distinction and 
anticipates that these data will be available for school year 2008-09. 

Iowa 

Alternate assessments based on grade-level academic achievement standards were not used in Iowa for 
FFY 2007 (2007-08). Alternate assessments based on modified academic achievement standards were not 
used in Iowa for FFY2007 (2007-08).   

For FFY 2007 (2007-08), the number of students included within the NCLB 2% cap was not applicable.  

For FFY 2007 (2007-08), Iowa did not have any LEP students in the United States less than 12 months 
whose ELP Test replaced the regular reading assessment. 

In Iowa, out-of-level testing is not permitted for students with disabilities. Decisions to allow other 
students to test below their current grade level are made by local school districts. If this is done, those 
students are excluded from AYP calculations and counted as nonparticipants. 

Iowa allows local school districts to determine whether parents are able to opt their students out of the 
assessment process. If this is permitted, those students are also excluded from AYP calculations and 
counted as nonparticipants. 

Newly arrived ELL students substitute the Iowa English Language Development Assessment (ELDA) for 
reading test participation. They participate fully in the regular (or alternate) math assessments. Iowa did 
not report any newly arrived ELL students with disabilities as having taken the Iowa ELDA test in place 
of the regular reading assessment. Iowa does collect these data, but had none to report last year. 

Regarding the following, Iowa does collect these data but had no cases to report for FFY 2007: 
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• Students whose assessment results were invalid,  
• Students who took an out-of-level test,  
• Parental exemption, 
• Did not take for other reasons. 

Kansas 

Kansas is bound by state regulation on when enrollment counts are taken. Kansas has only one designated 
point in time during the school year when enrollment records are collected from school districts, and 
official enrollment totals are determined. That date is September 20 of each school year. Kansas is 
consistent in reporting the September 20 enrollment totals across all federal reports that require 
enrollment data. In this case, as in prior school years, Kansas has been consistent in reporting the 
September 20 enrollment totals on Table 6. These enrollment totals are from the closest point in time to 
the testing date. 

1. Kansas State Department of Education (KSDE) supports two types of alternate assessments:  the 
Kansas Assessment of Modified Measures (KAMM), which is an alternate assessment based on 
grade-level academic standards, and an AA-ASS. Page 6 and page 15, which include information 
about the alternate assessment based on grade-level achievement standards (our KAMM) does not 
provide a column for the number of students reclassified because of the 2% cap. 

2.  This report has been completed using the Table 6 specifications set forth by OSEP. The specifications 
for the EDEN report may be different, especially as they relate to the reporting of invalid scores. 
Table 6 and the EDEN report may therefore differ as a result of different specifications for the two 
reports.           

3.  Page 11 includes students (one 5th grade, two 6th grade, and one 7th grade) who took an ELP test in 
place of the regular reading assessment. These numbers were tentative.  

4. Consistent with NCLB requirements, Kansas does not permit students with disabilities to take 
assessments below grade level.  

Kentucky 

Kentucky does not permit students with disabilities to participate in assessments below their grade level. 
Similarly, parents are not permitted to opt their students out of the assessment process.  

In Kentucky, LEP students who have been in the United States less than 12 months do not participate in 
the reading assessment. These students do take the ELP assessment. Kentucky is currently unable to 
report the number of students who were exempted from the reading assessment, but expects to be able to 
report these numbers for school year 2008-09 

Kentucky’s 2007-08 assessment data show an increase in the proportion of students scoring as proficient 
on the AA-AAS in both reading and math, as well as the regular assessments based on grad-level 
achievement standards in math. Over the last few years, the Kentucky Department of Education has 
worked with districts and special education cooperatives with self-reporting of district performance, 
including the performance of students on the state’s assessment program as described in Indicator 3 of the 
State Performance Plan (SPP) and Annual Performance Reports (APR). Districts are grouped with 
surrounding districts that comprise their special education cooperative and examine root causes for each 
of the indicators of the APR that are state reported, including Indicator 3 for assessment. Staff from the 
special education cooperatives facilitate each district’s analysis of its own data. This results in each 
district having customized root causes that are used to develop district specific activities to improve 
student performance. Often, staff from the special education cooperatives are involved directly in these 
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activities, providing additional resources at the local level that are customized based on their identified 
concerns. 

Louisiana 

LAA1 Achievement Levels:  WST - Working Toward Standard; MST - Meets Standard; EST - Exceeds 
Standard     

LAA2 is administered to grades 4-high school. Therefore, 3rd grade counts are reported as -9.    

Louisiana invalidates tests for reasons such as plagiarism and erasures. If a test is invalidated, the lowest 
score (zero) is given to these students, which is then aggregated and included for reporting.   

Louisiana does not offer out-of-grade-level assessment or parental exemptions for statewide assessment. 

The following reasons were used to determine the absent count:  long-term illness, short-term illness, 
family member dies, and student is in protective custody. 

Exempt for other reasons includes only students who were not tested and did not receive an accountability 
code. The lowest score (zero) is given for these students, which is then aggregated and included for 
reporting.             

There was one LEP* student in English language arts and mathematics in grade 4 who participated in the 
statewide assessment but did not receive an achievement level. This student participated in the statewide 
assessment, but the test was not scored. In Louisiana, this test is not considered invalid nor is it replaced 
by the ELP test. *Scores shall not be included in Percent Proficient calculations for Limited English 
Proficient students who have not been enrolled in English-speaking school for one full school year 
(Bulletin 111, Louisiana School, District, and State Accountability).   

Louisiana had an increase in the number of students identified to take an alternate assessment. However, 
there was no changed in criteria. It should be noted the LAA1 test did change for the 2007-08 school year.  

In 2006, Louisiana included the following data note:  LAA2 is an alternate assessment scored against 
modified achievement standards, but is reported in Table 6 in the Alternate Assessment on Grade-Level 
Standards section. 

In 2007, the OSEP table was changed to reflect the Modified Academic Standards instead of On-Grade-
Level Standards. 

Maine 

Maine does not perform alternate assessments on grade-level academic standards or on modified 
academic standards. 

All K-12 ELLs in Maine, including recently arrived ELLs, must be assessed for English language 
proficiency by participating in the WIDA ACCESS for ELLs® during the testing window of December 3, 
2007, to February 1, 2008. Those students who arrive after the testing window has closed must be 
assessed with another English language proficiency assessment in order to count as participating in 
reading.  

AYP Implications: Participation in WIDA ACCESS for ELLs® counts as participation in reading. 
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During the first 12 months in a United States’ school, students who have had their English language 
proficiency assessed and have been designated as ELLs, may, but are not required to, participate in the 
writing or reading content area tests.  

AYP Implications: If the Maine Education Assessment reading content area test is taken voluntarily, 
student scores in reading will not count for AYP performance. Only ACCESS for ELLs® participation 
will count for participation in reading for AYP purposes. 

The Maine Assessment Data System tracks first-year LEP participation (and several other categories), but 
none of the students identified in this category were students with disabilities. There were 24 first-year 
LEP students in 2007-08, none in special education. 

Marshall Islands 

The Republic of the Marshall Islands (RMI) as a Freely Associated State (FAS) in Compact with the 
United States is in a very unique situation. 

RMI and its Ministry of Education (MOE) do not receive ESEA Title 1, NCLB, funds. Through the 
provisions of the Compact, it does receive a like amount from that source through a consolidated 
education grant that is not subject to the requirements of NCLB. Consequently, the MOE does not collect 
data, compute, and determine AYP. 

Table 6 reports assessment information related to a grade 8 test that is used primarily for high school 
entrance test purposes. The test and its development have been somewhat confused over the years and 
have evolved through several formats. It is being revised again. Although mandated by RMI statute, the 
MOE is not able to provide universal high school education for the foreseeable future, hence the need for 
a high school entrance test to determine who will be admitted to public high school at grade 9. 

In the current evolutionary state, there are no other systemwide tests. Earlier, grades 3 and 6 achievement 
tests were field-tested as a part of the development process. They have not, however, been used the last 2 
years and will not be administered in the current school year. 

There are no procedures for assessing reading proficiency for newly arrived immigrant students and no 
requirement to conduct such an assessment. Although a “Micronesian” procedure may exist, the RMI 
would not be subject to it unless RMI agrees to the requirement. 

Maryland 

In May 2008, the Maryland State Department of Education (MSDE) implemented modified high school 
assessments for students with disabilities enrolled in high school (Mod-HSAs). The Mod-HSAs are 
alternate assessments based on on-level Core Learning Goals and modified academic achievement 
standards designed for students receiving special education services who meet specific participation 
requirements. These end-of-course assessments in algebra/data analysis, English, biology, and 
government meet the Maryland graduation testing requirements. 

Maryland’s 2007-08 assessment data showed a marked increase in the proportion of students scoring as 
proficient on the alternate assessments based on alternate standards in both reading and math. This 
increase was due to the content guidance documents developed to provide general knowledge in 
the academic areas of mathematics and reading as found in the state curriculum. In addition, the 2007-08 
Alt-MSA handbook provided greater guidance in the process of instruction and assessment. Specific 
guidance in the development of artifacts, using exemplar artifacts and condition code packets, were 
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provided to Alt-MSA facilitators, representing each of the local school systems and nonpublic schools, in 
a trainer-of-trainer format. Frequently asked questions from test examiners across the state were answered 
and posted quarterly to provide additional guidance to all test examiners. 

Maryland does not allow parents to opt out. 

Recently arrived LEP students take the annual ELP assessment in place of the MSA reading test.  

ELP students who have been in United States’ schools for 12 months or less are exempt from the MSA 
reading assessment and are not part of AYP. Although these data do exist in the data system, Maryland 
was unable to report on the number of students that were exempted from participating. 

Massachusetts 

Massachusetts does not permit parents to opt their students out of the assessment process. Similarly, the 
state does not permit students with disabilities to take assessments below their grade level. 

Recently arrived LEP students dents take the ELP test in lieu of the regular reading assessment; therefore, 
their performance levels are not included in the reported performance levels for the regular reading 
assessment. In this DTS, these students were reported on the page 13 tab, under column 9 (did not take for 
other reasons). 

After a careful review of its assessment data, Massachusetts found significant errors on both 2006-07 and 
2007-08 reports. The state attributed these errors to the misinterpretations of EDEN’s N003, N004 and 
N093 file specifications. The state re-evaluated and corrected its assessment data for these 2 years and is 
currently in the process of resubmitting both 2006-07 and 2007-08 data through EDEN. 

Michigan 

Currently Michigan does not have an assessment based on modified academic achievement standards. 
Michigan is in the process of piloting an assessment based on modified academic achievement standards 
and anticipates having this assessment in the future.        

Currently Michigan does not have an assessment based on modified academic achievement standards, 
which would enable Michigan to report the number of students included in the NCLB 2% cap. The state 
anticipates having this assessment in the future.  

Micronesia 

The only alternate assessment that the Federated States of Micronesia (FSM) has developed and has been 
implementing is AA-AAS. To be aligned with the regular assessment, National Standardized Tests for 
Students (NST), this assessment is also administered to grades 6, 8, and 10. The administration of the 
NST to grades 6, 8, and 10 is cited in the FSM National Standardized Test Assembly and Summary 
document.  

At this time, the FSM Department of Education does not have a method for determining ELP. Micronesia 
does not conduct formal language assessments for students. 

Students in the Micronesia enter school speaking a vernacular language from their island. They do not 
speak any English. There are many different vernacular languages spoken in Micronesia. Instruction in 
the vernacular language is practiced for grades 1-3. In the 3rd grade, English is introduced as a second 
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language. As students progress past the 3rd grade, English is used to a greater extent. The FSM 
Department of Education is studying the need and feasibility to develop language assessment instruments 
sensitive to both the languages spoken within Micronesia and English. 

Micronesia does not prevent students from taking assessments below their grade level, but it is an unusual 
occurrence. 

Due to a provision under the Compact Agreement between the United States and Micronesia, Micronesia 
does not report student proficiency under AYP. 

Minnesota 

Minnesota does not permit students with disabilities to take an assessment below or above their grade 
level. 

In Minnesota, LEP students do not take the ELP reading test as a supplement to the regular reading 
assessment. Minnesota does not collect data regarding the number of newly arrived ELL students with 
disabilities who did not take the regular reading assessment or whose scores on the regular reading 
assessment were not reported under AYP. 

Math—Performance 
Performance count of alternate assessment scored against alternate standards (AA-AAS):  Proficient.  

The number of students who took the AA-AAS for mathematics increased overall by 10.92% in 
Minnesota. In FFY 2006, alternate assessments against grade-level achievement standards were 
discontinued. Minnesota has only one alternate assessment, the Minnesota Test of Academic Skills 
(MTAS), which is the AA-AAS for mathematics. When summed, the numbers of students in these two 
areas parallel the decrease in the number of students taking the regular assessment: not proficient. The 
result of continued technical assistance to districts reflecting the changes to the statewide assessment 
system likely explains the increase in students taking the MTAS for mathematics overall and those who 
were proficient. 

Reading—Participation  
Count of regular assessments on grade-level achievement standards with accommodations: The 
percentage of students in this reporting category decreased 30.36%. Since there were significant changes 
made to Minnesota Department of Education’s assessment system and subsequent data collection systems 
over the past 2 years, the 2006-07 and 2007-08 data collections are fundamentally separate baseline data 
collections and not completely comparable. The effects of the changes to the system are likely reflected in 
the data differences. Business rules for assessment data collection regarding students with IEPs are 
currently being revised to account for changes and will be implemented for the next reporting cycle. The 
decrease in the number of students who took the Minnesota Comprehensive Assessments (MCAs) with 
accommodations can be accounted for in the overall decrease in the number of students with IEPs who 
took statewide reading tests and the increase of students taking reading alternate assessments. 

In addition, the General Instructions for 618 Table 6 changed between 2006-07 and 2007-08, and invalid 
scores were identified separately, likely contributing to the drop in numbers. 

Reading—Performance  
Performance count of AA-AAS:  Not proficient: The increase of 11.73% in the number of students who 
scored at the not proficient level on the MTAS, MDE’s AA-AAS, for reading is relatively small (105). It 
is likely a reflection of the overall increase in the number of students taking the AA-AAS for reading, an 
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increase of 9.64%. Students found to be proficient in reading on the MTAS had nearly the same level of 
increase (9.24%). Minnesota is still in the process of reorganizing its statewide assessment system and 
intends to develop Modified Achievement Standards and an accompanying assessment against these 
standards over the next year.  

Mississippi 

The number of proficient students included within the 1% cap is shown as 100%. This is because 
Mississippi uses a statistical apportioning formula that adjusts the proficiency credit value for all 
proficient students based on the degree to which the district exceeded the 1% cap value. If the district did 
not exceed the 1% cap value, the apportioning constant is 1.00 (all students contribute full credit toward 
the AYP proficiency index). 

Missouri 

Missouri does not permit students with disabilities to take an assessment below their grade level. 
Similarly, the state does not permit parents to opt their students out of the assessment process. 

Missouri permits exemptions for students with disabilities from participation on statewide assessments 
only in the case of documented absence during the assessment timeframe. 

Students with disabilities who are ELL and arrived in the United States less than 12 months prior to the 
testing date are required to take Missouri’s statewide assessment (Missouri Assessment Program (MAP)), 
and the guidance to districts is that they also take the ELP test. The MAP proficiency data are reported in 
the achievement level earned on the MAP along with the proficiency data for all other participants.  

Montana 

Montana does not permit students with disabilities to participate in assessments below their grade level.  

Students with disabilities with LEP who arrived in the United States less than 12 months prior to the 
assessment are not required to take the regular or alternate reading assessments. Montana is currently not 
able to track the number of students that are exempted from participation, but there are few students who 
fall in this category. 

Nebraska 

All ELL students are required, under Rev. Stat. 79-760 to participate in the state assessment system. 

Alternate assessments are allowed only for non-English speakers (as determined by a language 
proficiency test). If the alternate assessment is not aligned to the content standards or cannot produce a 
score that is equivalent to the proficiency levels at grade level (out-of-level testing) then the student's 
performance must be included at the lowest (basic) level.  

Students are required to take their regular reading assessment, and the language acquisition assessment 
does not replace the reading test. The only exception to that are the newly arrived no-English-speaking 
immigrants who have a 1 reporting year exemption to reporting of the reading test. 
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Nevada 

All students are required to participate in the state assessment system, regardless of disability, LEP status, 
or time in the country. 

ELP testing is not used as an accommodation to replace participation on the assessments used for 
calculation of AYP, nor are ELP test results included in AYP determinations. 

As indicated in the Procedures for the Nevada Proficiency Examination Program, LEP students who are 
new to the United States and “enrolled in a US school for the first time in the current school year, must 
participate in all state academic content area assessments. Although participation is required, performance 
and participation among this subpopulation are not included when making AYP decisions.” 

Nevada does not provide for parents to exempt their children from participation in statewide assessments 
or administer out-of-grade-level tests as part of the statewide assessment system. 

New Hampshire 

The state does not permit students with disabilities to take assessments below their grade level. Similarly, 
New Hampshire does not permit parents to opt their students out of the assessment process. 

In New Hampshire, LEP students who entered the United States within 12 months of the assessment date 
are not required to participate in the reading assessment. The state does not currently track the number of 
these students who are exempted, but they are believed them to be few. The state expects to be able to 
report these numbers for school year 2008-09. 

New Jersey 

New Jersey does not have a state alternate assessment based on grade-level academic achievement 
standards.  

New Jersey currently does not administer an alternate assessment based on modified academic 
achievement standards.  

New Jersey policy does not allow students to take state assessments on other than their grade level. New 
Jersey also does not allow parent exemption. 

New Mexico 

New Mexico does not collect the participation of students with disabilities whose alternate assessment 
were based on grade level or modified academic achievement standards in math and reading.   

New Mexico collects only four levels on the math and reading assessment (beginning step, nearing 
proficient, proficient, and advanced proficient. 

New Mexico collects only four levels on the alternate assessment (beginning step, nearing proficient, 
proficient, and advanced proficient.     

New Mexico does not currently collect data on the number of LEP students whose English proficiency 
test replaced the regular reading assessment.         



Data Accountability Center (DAC) – Grant Award #H373Y070002 Page 96 

New Mexico does not collect the alternate assessment data based on grad-level academic achievement 
standards or on modified academic achievement standards.  

New Mexico is currently unable to distinguish between students who did not participate in assessments 
due to absence versus other reasons. The state data system is currently being refined to make this 
distinction and anticipates that these data will be available for school year 2010-11. 

New York 

New York’s testing periods for the 2007-08 school year were: grades 3-5 math: March 3, 2008, to March 
14, 2008; grades 6-9 math: March 6, 2008, to March 19, 2008; grades 3-5 reading: January 7, 200, to 
January 18, 2008; grades 6-8 reading: January 14, 2008, to January 25, 2008; New York State Alternate 
Assessment (all grades and subjects): October 1, 2007,  to February 8, 200; high school math and reading: 
NYS uses the concept of student cohort.  

Students are assigned to a cohort based on the year in which they first enter grade 9 or, for some students 
with disabilities who are ungraded, the year in which they become 17 years old. Students may take the 
Regents examination in math or English in January, June, or August in any year after they complete the 
high school subject course requirements. In Table 6, New York reported the students assessment results 
as of June 2008, which is 4 years after they entered the cohort. 

In order to determine which students are included in the participation rate and performance calculations, 
New York reviews students’ enrollment dates between the child count date (first Wednesday in October) 
and the testing time period. The rules for including students in the "calculations for participation and 
performance under NCLB” are explained in the attached excerpt from the 2008-09 SIRS Manual (version 
4.1), found on page 42 and posted at http://www.emsc.nysed.gov/irts/SIRS/home.shtml.  

• NYS does not allow any students to take an out-of-level assessment.  
• NYS does not administer an Alternate Assessment Based on Grade-Level Academic Achievement 

Standards. 
• NYS does not administer an AA-MAAS. 
• NYS reported Students whose Assessment Results Were Invalid on page 4, column 5 for math and on 

page 13, column 5 for reading. 
• NYS does not collect data on Parental Exemptions. These students (if there are any) would be 

reported as "absent." 

New York assigns students to a cohort based on the year in which they first enter 9th grade (or for some 
students with disabilities who are ungraded, based on the year in which they become 17 years old). The 
state evaluates the cohort's performance 4 years after the students enter 9th grade to determine how many 
students have met the math and English graduation requirement. Students take the appropriate Regents 
examination (or alternate assessment) after completing the course requirements (or for the alternate 
assessment upon reaching the appropriate age). Typically, students take the first high school mathematics 
examination in grade 9 and the first English examination in grade 11. There are many students who are 
still enrolled after 4 years of first entering grade 9. These students may still be working toward meeting 
math and English graduation requirements.  

In New York, ELL students who arrived in the United States within 12 months of the assessment window 
take the New York State English as a Second Language Achievement Test (NYSESLAT) to determine 
their level of English proficiency. These students may not use the NYSESLAT to fulfill the participation 
or the performance criteria for making AYP. All students are required to demonstrate their proficiency in 
high school ELA by taking the regular high school assessments. Their scores are reported in Table 6 only 

http://www.emsc.nysed.gov/irts/SIRS/home.shtml
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if they took a regular state assessment. At this time, New York does not track the number of high school 
students who did not take the regular or alternate reading assessments in their first year, as they are still 
provided the opportunity to do so until their senior year. 

New York’s 2007-08 assessment data show an increase in the number of math and reading assessments 
administered with accommodations. When reporting data for the 2006-07 school year, New York was not 
able to report the number of students with disabilities provided testing accommodations, but did so for the 
2007-08 school year. Students with disabilities received testing accommodations in both years as per their 
IEPs.  

These data also show a notable increase in proficiency rates in both reading and math regular assessment- 
based grade-level achievement standards. The state has seen a positive trend in the numbers of students 
with disabilities performing at proficient levels in both language assessments since the 2005-06 school 
year, when the state began testing in grades 3-8 and continued its high school assessments.  

Please see New York’s special education APRs under Indicator 3 (Participation and Performance on State 
Assessments) for a description of state initiatives aimed at improving performance of students with 
disabilities. These reports are posted at http://www.vesid.nysed.gov/specialed/spp/. 

North Carolina 

The types of non-participants we have for NCLB are:        
1. absent,         
2. invalid scores due to non-allowable accommodation  (rarely happens), 
3. invalid scores due to a misadministration and circumstances prevented retesting (rarely happens).  

Students with medical exclusions are neither participants nor nonparticipants for NCLB, and the state 
does not allow parent refusals. 

On page 30 of North Carolina's Accountability workbook, the ELP test score does not replace a score for 
students in United States schools less than 12 months. The ELP score is used (per federal regulations) to 
make the participation determination for AYP. North Carolina does not have ELP data available for the 
2007-08 school year; however, they will be collected and reported on the 2008-09 DTS. 

North Carolina has four achievement levels for all of its assessments. However, the reading result used for 
AYP determination at grade 10 is made up of English I and grade 10 writing. North Carolina's policy on 
proficiency at grade 10 for AYP purposes is that the student must score proficient (Achievement Level III 
or Level IV) on both assessments in order to be considered proficient for AYP. Therefore, the proficiency 
levels in Table 6 for reading reflect the state’s policy by saying Yes or No to whether the student was 
proficient on both the English I and grade 10 writing assessments. The state’s calculation of banked 
scores does not have any bearing on the final outcome of this report other than allowing it to merge scores 
from the two editions of English I to meet the AMO standards and requirements for AYP. The state 
reports only Achievement Level II, for No, or Achievement Level III, for Yes, to the question of whether 
the student was proficient on both assessments. 

North Dakota 

North Dakota does not permit students with disabilities to participate in assessments below their grade 
level. 

http://www.vesid.nysed.gov/specialed/spp/
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Newly arrived ELL students may be exempted from one administration of the state’s reading assessment. 
ELL students who fully participate in the regular reading assessment are scored the same as all other 
students and reported under one subgroup designation and are included in calculations for overall 
performance. 

Northern Marianas (CNMI) 

There are no data for 4th-grade math due to the fact that 4th graders did not take the SAT 10, and in the 
standards-based assessment, they were only tested in reading and science. There are no data for 7th-grade 
reading due to the fact that 7th graders did not take the SAT 1, and in the standards-based assessment, 
they were only tested in writing and math. 

For SY 2008-09, all 4th graders in the CNMI will take a state assessment in math, and all 7th graders in 
the CNMI will take a state assessment in reading. The district created standards-based assessments to 
cover two grade levels, and these assessments will be given. 

Additionally, the district does not permit students, with or without disabilities, to participate in 
assessments below their grade levels. The district does not collect data regarding the number of students 
reported as proficient under the 1% cap. Also, the district does not collect data regarding the number of 
LEP students who did not participate in the assessment process because the district policy states that all 
students are to participate in state assessments. 

Ohio 

Students are counted as enrolled for this report if they were enrolled in any Ohio public education as of 
the week that a state test is administered. Not all districts administer the tests during the same week. The 
date provided was the midpoint of the spring testing window for grades 3 through 8. 

Ohio does not administer modified tests, alternate tests based on grade-level achievement, or out-of-
grade-level tests. 

Oklahoma 

Oklahoma does not have an alternate assessment based on grade-level achievement standards. Oklahoma 
does not allow an out-of-level assessment or parental exemptions. Oklahoma only has four performance 
levels. Oklahoma does not allow an out-of-level assessment.  

The state’s date of enrollment is the first day of the testing window, which was April 10, 2008. LEAs are 
required to complete demographics on each student previously enrolled on the October 1 count. LEAs 
must identify whether the student in still in the district, has moved, dropped out, etc.    

Oregon 

Oregon does not permit students with disabilities to take an assessment below their grade level. 

Oregon’s 2007-08 assessment data submission shows a substantial increase in the number of students 
receiving accommodations for reading and math assessments. In Oregon, all students (with and without 
disabilities) may take mathematics and reading assessments with specific accommodations that do not 
invalidate the test. In 2006-07, Oregon did not record information on these accommodations. Oregon 
began tracking this information for students with disabilities during the 2007-08 testing window. 
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The 2007-08 assessment data also show a notable increase in the proportion of students scoring as 
proficient on the alternate assessments for reading and math. In 2006-07 following a peer review of 
Oregon’s entire assessment system, Oregon responded to federal expectations that prohibited the 
administration of several previously permissible assessment options. Based on this adjustment, students 
were limited to only two assessment options. The immediacy of this change resulted in a lag between 
instructional practice and the content of the statewide assessment and affected both reading and math 
proficiency outcomes. Following this change, and based on proficiency outcomes of the 2006-07 math 
alternate assessments, Oregon cut scores were reviewed and revised prior to the 2007-08 assessment. 

Palau TT 

Palau Ministry of Education only administers assessments in grades 5, 6, 8, and high school. Palau does 
not anticipate assessing any other grade in the near future.  

Palau does not permit students with disabilities to participate in assessments below their grade level. 
Furthermore, Palau does not permit parents to opt their students out of the assessment process.  

Because students in TT do not reside within the contiguous United States, the report of newly arrived 
ELL students’ participation in assessments does not apply. 

TT does not report under AYP, and therefore the report of students excluded under the 1% cap does not 
apply. 

The Palau Ministry of Education Statewide Assessment Test only assesses students in 4th, 6th, 8th, 10th, 
and 12th grades. Therefore the number of students who participated in the recent assessment were not the 
same students who participated in the previous one. The numbers vary depending on the number of 
students in the odd grades who will be participating in the next testing grades. 

Pennsylvania 

Pennsylvania’s 2007-08 assessment submission shows a decrease in the proportion of students scoring 
proficient on AA-AS (or conversely, an increase in those reported as not proficient). The percentage 
change in not proficient on the Pennsylvania Alternate System of Assessment (PASA ) from 2006-07 to 
2007-08 was the result of how the state was requested to report the data in Table 6 for 2007-08. For the 
first time in 2007-08, Table 6 requested PASA or alternate assessment data with the 1% cap applied. As a 
result of application of the cap, students’ scores that exceeded the cap were counted as not proficient; 
therefore, it appears in 2007-08 (when this request was first made) that more students were not proficient 
and that proficiency decreased. 

Pennsylvania does not permit students with disabilities to participate in assessments below their grade 
level. 

The recently arrived LEP students (first year in United States schools) are required to fully participate in 
the regular math assessment but not required to participate in reading assessment. Their scores were not 
included in AYP performance, but their participation counted toward participation rates if they took the 
reading assessment. Information regarding the number of these students whose scores were excluded from 
the AYP reporting are in the data system, but were not available for reporting at this time. 
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Rhode Island 

There are four achievement levels in New England Common Assessments program (NECAP) for reading 
and math. There is no alternate assessment based on grade standards. There is no alternate assessments 
based on modified academic achievements. There are only four levels for alternate academic achievement 
standards. 

Rhode Island does not allow parental exemption. Rhode Island does not allow out-of-level testing.  

South Carolina 

South Carolina experienced delays in the processing of 2007 assessment data due to the determination of 
calculation errors by the company responsible for scoring the student records. The submission of requests 
for exclusions and the appeals process were therefore extended. 

The final appeals have been received and are currently being reviewed by the South Carolina Department 
of Education (SCDE). Upon completion of this review, a determination will be made as to the acceptance 
and categorization of exclusions. The June 18, 2009, revision reflects data based on changes made during 
the appeals process. 

South Carolina does not allow parental exemptions or out-of-grade-level testing.      

South Carolina does not administer an alternate assessment based on grade-level or modified achievement 
standards.   

South Carolina does not have any other levels than those indicated for each assessment.   

Recently arrived LEP students (in the United States less than 12 months) take the ELP test instead of the 
regular state assessment. These numbers are not available at this time. Those students that do participate 
in the regular state assessment were included in Table 6 reporting, but are excluded from AYP. 

South Dakota 

South Dakota does not allow parental exemptions or out-of-level testing. The state has an assessment that 
LEP students who are first year in country can take whose ELP score can count toward reading 
proficiency; however, no students with disabilities met these criteria for 2007-08. 

Tennessee 

Tennessee State Department of Education (TSDE) is in the process of developing an AA-MAAS. The 
Tennessee AA-MAAS will be administered in the 2009-10 school year. Test items for the Tennessee AA-
MAAS are being field tested during the 2008-09 school year.       

Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment program (TCAP) Gateway Reading (English II) and Math 
(Algebra I), Tennessee's statewide high school assessments are not administered at a specified grade 
level. Instead, TCAP Gateway Reading (English II) and Math (Algebra I) are administered as end-of-
course assessments taken after students complete the course or course content for English II and Algebra 
I. The high school grade levels shown in this table represent the grade during which the majority of 
students complete English II and Algebra I and participate in the TCAP Gateway Reading and Math 
assessments.  
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LEP students take the TCAP reading/language arts and math assessment and the ELP test the first 
academic year they are in an American school. Their participation in the TCAP assessments is included in 
the participation rate but not in the AYP determination. The number of students with disabilities that were 
not included in the performance reports for this reason was tracked in Tennessee’s assessment data 
system, but the state was unable to provide the report at this time. These numbers will be available for 
school year 2008-09. 

Texas 

Texas does not administer out-of-level tests for students with disabilities. All statewide assessments are 
aligned to NCLB and IDEA regulations. In Texas, parental exemptions from statewide assessments are 
not permissible. 

Utah 

The number of children with IEPs in the grades assessed is different for math and language arts because 
math is based on grades 3-8 and 10-12, and language arts is based on grades 3-8 and 10.  

Utah bases the number of children with IEPs in grades assessed on the number of children with IEPs 
enrolled in the courses that generate the Criterion-Referenced Tests.      

Despite professional development having been provided, confusion remains about out-of-level 
assessments (i.e., what they are, what is allowed, and what can be done to avoid one.) The state will 
provide clarification of requirements as well as examples to each LEA. 

Mathematics 
All students: Utah’s Special Education Department reports only on students with disabilities. It has no 
information on why the count of all students is down 17.79% from 2006-07 to 2007-08. 

Performance count of regular assessment on grade level: Proficient: Proficiency was determined based 
only on items aligned to the new 2007 math core curriculum for the 2008 assessment, thus the difference. 
This limited the number of items used for proficiency determination. 

Reading 
Students with IEPs: Instructional efforts and RTI are making a positive impact on Utah’s assessment 
scores. 

Total count of children administered assessments: Instructional efforts and RTI are making a positive 
impact on Utah’s assessment scores. 

Count of regular assessments on grade-level achievement standards: Instructional efforts and RTI are 
making a positive impact on Utah’s assessment scores. 

Vermont 

Vermont does not permit students with disabilities to participate in assessments below their grade level. 
Similarly, parents are not permitted to opt their students out of the assessment process.  

In Vermont, all LEP students take the ELP assessment. This assessment does not replace the regular or 
alternate reading assessment. However, districts are not required to include the reading proficiency scores 
of ELP students who have been in the United States for less than 12 months prior to the assessment. 



Data Accountability Center (DAC) – Grant Award #H373Y070002 Page 102 

Enrollment counts are actually for the testing window, which is for 3 weeks starting on October 1. 

Virginia 

Virginia does not test statewide on a particular date. The majority of the data reported were collected 
during the spring 2008 test window. The use of unique student identifiers ensures that students are 
properly accounted for in Virginia's assessment system.  

The Standards of Learning (SOL) assessment program includes end-of-course assessments. These could 
be taken by students in grades ranging from 8 to 12, depending on the course. In Virginia, all end-of-
course assessments are coded as grade 11 for purposes of reporting data for Table 6. High school totals 
are listed as grade 11.            

More information on Virginia's assessment programs can be found at: 
www.doe.virginia.gov/VDOE/Assessment/home.shtml        

For regular reading and math assessments for 3rd-7th grades, Virginia uses four performance levels: 
Fail/Below Basic, Fail/Basic, Pass/Proficient, and Pass/Advanced. Eighth-grade students are assessed 
using these same levels with an additional level of Fail/Does not Meet Standards. High school students 
are assessed using three performance levels: Fail/Does Not Meet Standards, Pass/Proficient, and 
Pass/Advanced. 

For students taking alternate assessments on grade-level achievement standards in 3rd-8th grade, Virginia 
uses four performance levels: Fail/Below Basic, Fail/Basic, Pass/Proficient, and Pass/Advanced. High 
school students do not participate in this assessment type.  

For AA-AAS, students in 3rd grade-high school are assessed using three performance levels: Fail/Does 
Not Meet Standards, Pass/Proficient, and Pass/Advanced.  

The state does not permit students with disabilities to participate in assessments below their grade level.  

Virginia does not collect data for LEP students in the United States less than 12 months whose ELP test 
replaced regular reading assessment and accordingly reported -9. Effective with the 2006-07 school year, 
Virginia ceased administration of the Stanford English Language Proficiency test (SELP) at the specific 
written direction of Raymond Simon, Deputy Secretary of the United States Department of Education. In 
a letter dated Jan. 31, 2007, Mr. Simon outlined options to the administration of the SELP, including 
administration of SOL tests with accommodations and administration of the Virginia Grade Level 
Alternative Assessment (VGLA). In addition, USED regulations received in September 2006 allow a one-
time exemption in reading for recently arrived LEP students in grades 3-8. LEP students in the United 
States less than 12 months are reported in one of the testing options per the above. 

Virginia’s 2007-08 assessment submission shows a decrease in the number of assessments administered 
with accommodations for both reading and math. The state attributes this change to changes in policy 
pertaining to the use of standard and nonstandard accommodations on statewide assessments for students 
with disabilities. These data also show a marked increase in the proportion of students scoring as 
proficient on the regular assessments based on grade-level achievement standards in both reading and 
math. This change is explained by the dramatic decrease in the number of students participating in these 
assessments, while the number scoring as proficient showed a very slight increase. 

www.doe.virginia.gov/VDOE/Assessment/home.shtml
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Virgin Islands 

The Virgin Islands does not permit students with disabilities to participate in assessments below their 
grade level, nor does it permit parents to opt their students out of the assessment process. 

Because students in the Virgin Islands do not reside within the contiguous United States, the report of 
newly arrived ELL students’ participation in assessments does not apply. 

Washington 

Students in Washington who are ELL and arrived in the United States less than 12 months prior to the 
assessment data participate in the regular reading assessment used for AYP and count as exempt for 
reading and writing, unless they meet standard, in which case, their score is counted like their non-LEP 
counterparts. 

West Virginia 

West Virginia does not have an alternate assessment on grade-level academic achievement standards or 
modified academic achievement standards.  

All LEP students, regardless of date of arrival in the United States, are required to participate in the West 
Virginia Education Standards Test (WESTEST), which is the test on grade-level academic achievement 
standards, at the grade level in which they are enrolled. All LEP students are included in assessment 
reports for both NCLB and IDEA, Section 618, on the same basis as all other students. West Virginia 
does not offer the option of substituting the ELP test (WESTELL) for accountability determination under 
NCLB. For a determination of AYP under NCLB, all LEP students who have been in the school (or 
district or state for determinations at those levels) for a full academic year are included in AYP 
calculations, consistent with NCLB law and regulations and West Virginia’s ESEA Consolidated State 
Application Accountability Workbook as approved by the U.S. Department of Education. Additionally, 
for purposes of making AYP determinations, West Virginia counts the scores of former LEP students in 
the LEP subgroup for 2 years after those students are no longer considered to be LEP. 

West Virginia policy and the approved ESEA Consolidated State Plan Application Workbook do not 
provide for out-of-level testing or replacement of the reading assessment with the English proficiency test 
for LEP students; therefore, no data are available to collect or report.       

Wisconsin 

Wisconsin does not permit students with disabilities to participate in assessments below their grade levels. 

Wisconsin does not have a LEP test that is a supplement to or takes the places of the reading assessment. 
LEP students who have been in the United States less  than 12 months are not required to take the reading 
assessment for AYP purposes. If a LEP student who has been in the United States less than 12 months 
does take the reading assessment, the results for these students are included with the results for all other 
students who took the reading assessment. 

Wyoming 

All students, including LEP students, are included in Wyoming’s accountability system for calculating 
AYP. No students are exempted from participating in the statewide assessment system on the basis of 
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LEP status. Similar to the rules for students with disabilities, all LEP students must participate in the 
Proficiency Assessments for Wyoming Students (PAWS) with accommodations as appropriate. 

The majority of LEP students participate in the PAWS with appropriate accommodations. There are no 
alternative-language versions of the PAWS. All LEP students are included in the statewide assessments in 
language arts, mathematics, and science, including those LEP students who have been enrolled in United 
States schools for less than 1 year, and must be assessed with accommodations when appropriate. These 
directions were reiterated to all LEAs through statewide assessment administration workshops prior to the 
state assessment. Per recent USED guidance, “States may, but are not required to, include results [of LEP 
students in their first year in United States schools] from the mathematics and, if given, the 
reading/language arts content assessments in Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP) calculations.” Therefore, 
Wyoming does not include the scores of first-year LEP students. Such LEP students, however, are 
included in participation rate determinations. 

Wyoming uses the definition of LEP contained in NCLB Section 9101 to determine what students are 
included in the LEP subgroup for AYP accountability. Wyoming uses an identification process that 
includes an assessment to determine whether a student falls within that LEP definition. For AYP 
calculations, per recent USED guidance, Wyoming includes in the LEP subgroup the scores of students 
who have attained English proficiency within the last 2 years. English proficiency is determined by 
showing proficiency on the state LEP assessment, the Wyoming English Language Learners Assessment 
(WELLA). Once these students attain proficiency on WELLA, they are exited from the LEP subgroup. 

2007-08 Dispute Resolution  

Arkansas 

Arkansas’ 2007-08 dispute resolution data show a marked decrease in the number of written, signed 
complaints. The state did not attribute this change to any systematic cause, but believed that it was an 
artifact of random fluctuation in the data. 

American Samoa 

The state will address concerns and notes in its APR February 2009. 

Florida 

Florida’s 2007-08 dispute resolution data show a marked increase in the number of written, signed 
complaints that resulted in reports with findings. The state has been encouraging districts and parents to 
use alternative resolution options. This may in part have influenced both the number of complaints 
withdrawn as well as the higher rate of complaint reports with findings. Families and LEAs are resolving 
the smaller issues locally rather than filing a complaint. 

The data also show an increase in the number of expedited due process complaints in 2007-08 as well as 
the number that resulted in resulted in resolution meetings. Florida noted that the increase in expedited 
hearings for which resolution sessions were held and the decrease in fully adjudicated expedited hearings 
were likely due to increased awareness among school districts and parents of the resolution session 
alternative. 
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Georgia 

The number of mediations held related to due process increased as a result of training to LSS and 
advocacy groups. The training focused on the efficiency of resolving special education disputes in a 
course of action that lends itself to collaboration prior to the utilization of a formal due process hearing.  

Due Process Requests 

Year Due Process Requests 

FFY04 110 

FFY05   84 

FFY06 111 

FFY07 139 

A 4-year review of data indicated that the number of requests varied from year to year. The increase in 
requests for FFY 2007 showed no relationship to a specific procedural or substantive issue. Data will be 
monitored for significant changes, but 4-year trend data indicate that the number of requests in the prior 
year does not serve as a predictor for future requests.  

Hawaii 

Written, signed complaints—Reports with findings: Improved data collection procedures and training 
have reduced the number of findings significantly.  

Hearing requests—Due process complaints total:  The schools worked very hard to reduce the number of 
due process hearing requests by using appropriate dispute resolution practices and/or early dispute 
resolution practices. There has been a significant decline since FFY 2004. 

Hearing requests—Resolution sessions:  These data are linked and affected by due process complaints. If 
there are fewer due process hearing requests, there are proportionately fewer resolution sessions. 
Proportionately, the number of resolution sessions conducted was about 95% in both FFY 2006 and FFY 
2007.  

Hearing requests—Written settlement agreements:  These data are linked to due process complaints and 
resolution meetings. When the overall number of due process hearing requests is reduced, so follows the 
number of resolution sessions conducted and subsequent written settlement agreements. Another factor 
that may have raised the number of settlement agreements was the fact that attorney's fees were included 
in the settlement agreements in FFY 2007 where they were not allowed in FFY 2006. 

Hearing requests—Resolved without a hearing:  These data are linked to due process complaints. 
Therefore, if the overall number of due process hearing requests is reduced, then, the overall number of 
cases resolved without a hearing will be reduced. The percentage of cases resolved without a hearing in 
FFY 2006= 39% and FFY 2007=39%. When comparing these percentages, there was no change. 
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Illinois 

Indiana’s 2007-08 dispute resolution data show a marked decrease in the number of due process 
complaints that were resolved without a hearing. In keeping with the IDEA Part B 618 reporting 
instructions for FFY 2007 (July 1, 2007 – June 30, 2008), the number reported was the number of due 
process complaints that were resolved without a hearing as of the end of the reporting period (June 30, 
2008). The state noted however that a significant number of cases were still pending (i.e., not yet closed) 
as of the end of the reporting period (June 30, 2008). As of January 2010, all cases initiated in FFY 2007 
were closed, of which 312 cases were resolved without a hearing.  

Indiana 

Indiana shows a marked decrease in the total number of expedited due process complaints. This may be 
attributed to a natural ebb and flow to complaints, mediations, and due process requests. It is also possible 
that the decrease may be attributed to a general effort on the part of the state and districts to encourage 
parents and schools in working together. Indiana continues to promote parental involvement with the 
districts through various improvement activities. In addition, Indiana has added a Parent Liaison to its 
staff recently to address concerns and questions of parents and family members. These examples may 
provide an explanation to this reduction through changes in practices. 

Kansas 

The total number of due process complaints resulting in a resolution meeting increased in school year 
2007-08. This increase occurred because the percentage of the total number of due process hearings 
requested by parents increased. Resolution sessions are only required when it is the parent who requests 
due process. So, although the total number of due process complaints did not experience significant 
change, the fact that more of the requests for due process came from parents in 2007 than in 2006 (as 
opposed to requests for due process from school districts), resulted in a significant increase in the number 
of resolution meetings. No analysis has been done as to why a greater percentage of the total number of 
due process requests were made by parents rather than school districts in 2007. 

Louisiana 

The number of complaints requested in July 2008, 23, almost doubled from the number requested in June 
2007. Likewise, the number of reports issued in July 2008 was 13, up from 6 in June 2007.  

The state has maintained similar numbers on mediations, 17 in July 2008 and 14 in June 2007. 

The number of due process hearings also almost doubled to 38 in July 2008 from 17 in June 2007; 
although the number of fully adjudicated hearings, 2, in July 2008 remained the same as June 2007. Of 
the 38 requests in July 2008, 34 were resolved without a hearing. 

The state has doubled its efforts, working with PTIs to inform parents of the many dispute resolution 
options offered by the state, and attributed the increase in the numbers of complaints and due process 
hearings to these efforts. With the alternative dispute resolution options available in conjunction with the 
formal processes, parents are willing to formalize their complaints while using alternative dispute 
resolution in connection with those procedures. For August 2009, Louisiana instituted state neutral IEP 
facilitation to provide earlier conflict intervention and is anxious to look at the effects of this procedure. 
The state also adopted, effective October 20, 2008, a district-level early resolution procedure in 
connection with administrative complaints in order to promote durable agreements achieved through 
dispute resolution.  
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Massachusetts 

Due process complaints and expedited due process complaints related to disciplinary decision – 
Resolution meetings: Regarding the year-to-year changes for the data reported for these items, there were 
no changes to how these data were calculated between 2006-07 and 2007-08. Although the information 
the state received reflected an increase in these two items, it should be noted that the state is not yet 
satisfied that its current efforts to obtain these data are fully accurate, and it are continuing to make efforts 
to increase their accuracy. 

Expedited hearing complaints: This can be explained, at least in part, by the fact that the Bureau of 
Special Education Appeals (BSEA) expanded the criteria for allowing expedited status via new hearing 
rules issued in February 2008, midway through the most recent reporting period. 

Regarding the changes seen in the Significant Year to Year Change Report for the 2007-08 dispute 
resolution data, some of the possibilities regarding changes seen in the data are discussed below: 

For SY 2006-07, the state included a sheet of paper with a Notice of Hearing asking the parties to send 
the form back if they resolved the issue in a resolution meeting. The state received very few back.  

In SY 2007-08, support staff called the schools. This was very labor intensive and not as successful as 
was hoped. This resulted in having to leave messages; calls were not returned; and some school staff did 
not readily have the answer, etc. 

Marshall Islands 

RMI did not receive any reports on dispute resolution for SY 2007-08. 

Mississippi 

The number of formal, written, signed complaints decreased as a result of LEAs and parents working 
cooperatively to provide the most appropriate educational placement, in the student's least restrictive 
environment. 

The total number of resolution meetings held in 2007-08 increased as the LEA and parent(s) were made 
aware of the regulations requiring a resolution meeting and as they (LEAs and parents) became 
knowledgeable of the positive outcomes when the resolution meeting is used. 

The number of written settlement agreements increased as a reflection of the utilization of the resolution 
process. 

New Mexico 

Complaints withdrawn or dismissed: 100% increase from 13 in 2006 to 26 in 2007. 

Mediations that resulted in a mediation agreement: 57.89% decrease from 19 in 2006 to 8 in 2007. 

In FFY 2007, the New Mexico Public Education Department’s, Special Education Bureau enhanced its 
dispute resolution process through the creation of the Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR) Coordinator 
Advanced (A) position. The ADR Coordinator (A) facilitates resolutions to communication issues 
between parents and school districts by acting as a neutral agent and suggesting practical alternatives, 
while collaborating with the Dispute Resolution Coordinator (DRC) to further enhance the possibility of 
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resolving disputes prior to them advancing to formalized complaints. In addition, it appears to be due to 
the promotion and marketing of ADR options for parents and school districts. 

New York 

For Sections C and D, this spreadsheet is a snapshot of the data as of June 30, 2008. In the past, data for 
these sections were reported as of September 15 of the following school year, rather than June 30. As 
such, this year's data reflect a change in reporting procedure. 

Section A: Written, Signed Complaints 
• 170 more written signed complaints total, 
• 141 more complaints with reports issued, 
• 50 more reports with findings, 
• 159 more reports within timelines, 
• 31 more complaints withdrawn or dismissed, 
• There was a greater emphasis at the state level on issuing reports within timelines. 

Section C: Hearing Requests 
• 987 fewer resolution meetings, 
• 260 fewer hearings (fully adjudicated), 
• 45 fewer decisions within timeline (including expedited), 
• 155 fewer decisions within extended timeline, 
• The state provided a data note in the comments section of Table 7 to indicate that for Sections C and 

D, the data contained in the worksheet are a snapshot of the data as of June 30, 2008. In the past, data 
for these sections were reported as of September 15 of the following school year. 

New York’s 2007-08 dispute resolution data show that, while there has been a marked increase in the 
number of written, signed complaints overall, there has been a decrease in the number of complaints that 
resulted in a finding. There was also a notable increase in the number of reports issued within timeline. 
The state noted that the 2006 report of total complaints was a significant decrease from the previous 3 
years where the number of complaints was consistently over 300. The 2007 report of total complaints was 
more consistent with the previous trend. The percentage of complaints where noncompliance was found 
has been decreasing in each of the last 3 years from 99% in 2005, to 85% in 2006 and 65% in 2007. The 
2006 percentage of reports issued within timelines was considerably lower than the states previous three 
year average of 95%. The APR for 2006 year identified the issues related to two regional offices where 
staffing and tracking issues contributed to the lack of timeliness. These issues were addressed as the 2007 
figures indicate, and the state returned to a percentage of reports issued within timelines more in line with 
the previous 95% average. 

The 2007 dispute resolution data also show a notable decrease in the proportion of resolution meetings 
held in response to a due process complaint. In New York State, a new resolution session is initiated 
whenever a due process complaint is amended. In 2006, each resolution session was counted; this 
provided an inflated picture of resolution session in relation to due process complaints. In 2007 and 
forward, only one resolution session per due process complaint was counted.  

Finally, there was a dramatic increase in the proportion of resolution meetings held in response to 
expedited due process complaints. There were no resolution sessions recorded for any of the expedited 
cases in 2006. 2006 was the first full year of data collection for resolution session information. Districts 
were still learning what data were needed. The 2007 data more accurately reflect the resolution session 
data. 
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North Dakota  

For the one complaint that received an extension, the parent requested the extension because she wanted 
the complaint investigator to review and consider one more document. The district agreed to the 
extension. An extension of 2 weeks was granted. The complaint report was completed within the 2-week 
extended timeline. 

Ohio 

Ohio’s data show that there was a decreased proportion of complaints with reports issued as well as 
reports issued within timelines (but with extensions) from 2006-07 to 2007-08. This pattern is directly 
linked to the parties attempting to resolve the complaints and or utilizing the Office for Exceptional 
Children’s mediation process prior to the letter of findings being issued. Due to this, the parties have 
either requested an extension of the 60 day timeline or resolved the issues in the complaint prior to the 
letter of findings being issued. 

Oklahoma 

Oklahoma's 2007-08 dispute resolution data show a substantial increase in the number of written, signed 
complaints. The state attributed this increase primarily 30 complaints that were filed by one individual 
against a school district in which he had just left employment.  

The data also show a marked increase in the number of due process complaints that resulted in resolution 
meetings. The state was unable to explain this change and noted that there have been no changes in policy 
that would result in an increase of resolution meetings 

Palau 

Palau did not have any complaints to report for SY 2007-08. 

Pennsylvania 

1.1  Complaints with reports issued—16.18 Decrease: The number of written, signed complaints (total) 
decreased from 2006 to 2007. This decrease contributed to the drop in the number of complaints 
with reports issued. Complaints that were dismissed or withdrawn also contributed to this decrease. 
This is viewed as a positive outcome. 

1.1a  Reports with findings—21.66 Decrease: The number of written, signed complaints (total) decreased 
from 2006 to 2007. This decrease contributed to the drop in the number of reports with findings. 
Complaints that were dismissed or withdrawn also contributed to this decrease. This is viewed as a 
positive outcome. 

1.1b  Reports within timelines—16.67 Decrease: The number of written, signed complaints (total) 
decreased from 2006 to 2007. This decrease contributed to the drop in the number of reports within 
timelines. Complaints that were dismissed or withdrawn also contributed to this decrease. This is 
viewed as a positive outcome. 

2.1  Mediations held—11.39 Increase: The number of mediation requests increased from 2006 to 2007. 
The number of mediations held is affected by this increase and is viewed as a positive outcome. 

2.1i  Mediation agreements—10.48 Increase: The number of mediation requests increased from 2006 to 
2007, contributing to the increase in mediation agreements. This is viewed as a positive outcome. 

3.2a  Decisions within timeline—57.14 Decrease: The number of decisions within timelines decreased 
from 2006 to 2007. FFY 2007 marked the final year of the one-tier system in Pennsylvania. 
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Effective July 1, 2008, Pennsylvania moved to a full-time hearing officer model, rather than the 
contractor/full-time hearing officer model. This slippage in performance resulted from a series of 
unusual events that are not expected to reoccur. 

3.3  Resolved without a hearing—15.63 Increase: The number of cases resolved without a hearing 
increased from 2006 to 2007. This is viewed as a positive outcome attributable in part to 
Pennsylvania's expanded continuum of dispute resolution options. 

Rhode Island 

The state did not keep valid and accurate data regarding resolution sessions for this time period. A system 
is in development and will be used to accurately report these data next year. 

South Dakota 

In South Dakota, the total number of written, signed complaints increased in 2007-08 as compared to 
2006-07. This increase may be attributed to a joint training initiative carried out by the Parent Connection, 
South Dakota Advocacy Services, South Dakota Center for Disabilities and the South Dakota Transition 
Services Liaison Project that published and distributed a book called, What Parents Should Know…About 
Special Education in South Dakota.  This book contains information on the federal IDEA as well as the 
state rules, but it goes beyond by making that information available to parents in an easy to understand 
format. The book is set up the same way throughout: First – what is the federal law, and then what is the 
state rule that goes along with the federal law and finally the question – what does this mean?   

The South Dakota Department of Education, Special Education Programs helped review this book before 
publication and assisted in parent trainings after the book was published. Over 20,000 books have been 
distributed to parents throughout South Dakota. Many school districts give them out to parents who are 
new to special education. The South Dakota Office of Special Education Programs believes that part of 
the rise in complaints was due to the publication of this book and the trainings that took place in 2007 and 
2008. 

Tennessee 

In school year 2007-08, there was a decrease in the number of written, signed complaints that resulted in 
reports issued with findings of noncompliance, as well as a decrease in the number of written, signed 
complaints that were withdrawn or dismissed. These changes were attributable to the enactment of T.C.A. 
49-10-604, effective July 1, 2007. The statute requires the department to conduct a more thorough 
investigation and review than what is required by 34 CFR § 300.151-153. 

Vermont 

Specifically, row 3.3 has been changed from 21 to 18. As of the end of the reporting period on June 30, 
2008, three cases reported in the original submission as resolved without a hearing were still pending. In 
each instance, these complaints were, in fact, resolved without a hearing. However, these resolutions 
occurred after June 30, 2008. 

Washington 

The state verified all data reported as correct. The total numbers of mediations and complaints statewide 
have both decreased as a result of work in the state's APR. Also, Washington made gains in the number of 
resolution meetings, so those increases are viewed as a positive. 
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Wisconsin 

The increase in written complaints was because during the 2007-08 school year, multiple complaints were 
received from one individual specific to one school district in the state, which accounted to some extent 
for the significant increase in the number of complaints received. 
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