Skip Program Navigation
National Blue Ribbon Schools Program

Funding Status
Current Section
 Office of Communications and Outreach Home
2020 National Blue Ribbon Schools
Archived Information

Secretary of Education Betsy DeVos recognized 367 schools as National Blue Ribbon Schools for 2020 based on their overall academic excellence or their progress in closing achievement gaps among student subgroups. These schools demonstrate that all students can achieve to high levels. The Department will formally recognize all 317 public and 50 private schools at a virtual awards ceremony on November 12 and 13, 2020. The 2020 cohort represent public and non-public elementary, middle and high schools, including traditional, charter, magnet schools, parochial and independent schools in 47 States, the District of Columbia and Department of Department of Defense Education Activity schools in Camp Lejeune, North Carolina, Germany and Japan.

The National Blue Ribbon Schools award affirms the hard work of students, educators, families, and communities in creating safe and welcoming schools where students master challenging content. The National Blue Ribbon Schools flag gracing a school's building is a widely recognized symbol of exemplary teaching and learning. National Blue Ribbon Schools are an inspiration and a model for schools still striving for excellence. Now in its 38th year, the National Blue Ribbon Schools Program has bestowed almost 10,000 awards to more than 9,000 schools, with some schools winning multiple awards.

2020 National Blue Ribbon Schools

Previous awards

Last Modified: 09/17/2021