Skip Program Navigation
National Blue Ribbon Schools Program

Funding Status
Current Section
 Office of Communications and Outreach Home
2018 National Blue Ribbon Schools
Archived Information

Secretary of Education Betsy DeVos recognized 349 schools as National Blue Ribbon Schools for 2018 based on their overall academic excellence or their progress in closing achievement gaps among student subgroups. These schools demonstrate that all students can achieve to high levels. The Department will formally recognize the 300 public and 49 private schools at an awards ceremony at the Omni Shoreham in Washington DC on November 7 and 8, 2018. The 2018 cohort represent public and non-public elementary, middle and high schools, including traditional, charter, magnet schools, parochial and independent schools in 47 States, the District of Colombia and Department of Defense Education Activity schools in Fort Benning, Georgia, Germany and the United Kingdom.

The National Blue Ribbon Schools award affirms the hard work of students, educators, families, and communities in creating safe and welcoming schools where students master challenging content. The National Blue Ribbon Schools flag gracing a school's building is a widely recognized symbol of exemplary teaching and learning. National Blue Ribbon Schools are an inspiration and a model for schools still striving for excellence. Now in its 36th year, the U. S. Department of Education has bestowed this coveted award on more than 8,800 schools.

2018 National Blue Ribbon Schools

Last Modified: 09/25/2019