Skip Program Navigation
Grants for the Integration of Schools and Mental Health Systems

Current Section
 Office of Elementary and Secondary Education Home
2007 Grant Awards


This program provides grants to State or local educational agencies or Indian tribes to increase student access to high-quality mental health care by developing innovative approaches that link school systems with the local mental health system. Entities receiving grants under this program will:

  • Enhance, improve, or develop collaborative efforts between school-based service systems and mental health service systems to provide, enhance, or improve prevention, diagnosis, and treatment services to students;
  • Enhance the availability of crisis intervention services;
  • Provide training for school and mental health professionals;
  • Provide consultation to school systems, mental health agencies, and families participating in the program; and
  • Provide linguistically appropriate and culturally competent services.

During the project, grantees will develop a detailed interagency agreement with their partners that will establish, at a minimum, the financial responsibility for services; conditions and terms of responsibility for services, including quality, accountability, and coordination of services; conditions and terms of reimbursement among entities that are parties to the agreement, including dispute resolutions protocols, and policies and procedures to ensure appropriate parental or caregiver consent for any planned services, consistent with State or local laws or requirements. Required project partners include State educational agencies, local educational agencies or Indian tribes, State or local public mental health authorities, and juvenile justice authorities.

FY 2007 New Grant Awards


Oakland Unified School District
Contact: Alaina Cantor
Phone: 510-879-8580


Wheatland School District
Contact: Cory O'Neal
Phone: 530-633-4061




Bridgeport Bridgeport Public Schools
Contact: John Ramos, Sr.
Phone: 203-576-7302
Dover Delaware Department of Education
Contact: Dennis Rozumalski
Phone: 302-739-2767


Tampa Hillsborough County Public Schools
Contact: Lynn Fell
Phone: 813-272-4880


Marietta Marietta City Schools
Contact: Preston Howard
Phone: 770-422-3500


Indianapolis Board of Commissioners
Contact: Donna Walker
Phone: 317-226-4895


Wilbraham Hampden-Wilbraham Regional School District
Contact: Gina Kahn
Phone: 413-596-6045 x297
Hingham South Shore Educational Cooperative
Contact: Deborah Jean Parsons
Phone: 781-749-7518


Lansing Michigan Department of Education
Contact: Kyle Guerrant
Phone: 517-335-0565

New Mexico

Ruidoso Region IX Education Cooperative
Contact: Sandy Gladden
Phone: 505-257-2368



South Carolina

Columbia South Carolina Department of Education
Contact: Michael Paget
Phone: 803-734-1477


Beaver Dam Beaver Dam School District
Contact: Deb Parman
Phone: 920-885-7300
Fond du Lac Fond du Lac School District
Contact: Marian Sheridan
Phone: 920-906-6548
West Allis West Allis-West Milwaukee
Contact: Susan Stuckert
Phone: 414-604-4927

Print this page Printable view Bookmark  and Share
Last Modified: 08/03/2007