Skip Program Navigation
U.S. Department of Education Green Ribbon Schools

Funding Status
   Current Section
 Office of Communications and Outreach Home
State Contacts for ED-Green Ribbon Schools

green-ribbon-schools

Schools and districts apply to state education authorities for a nomination to ED. They cannot apply directly to ED under any circumstances. Please inquire with your state education authority if you are interested in applying. If you do not see your state listed, they have not yet indicated a contact for this award and you can find general contact information by state here. While state participation is voluntary, hearing from interested applicants may help a state education authority determine whether to participate.

Alabama

Amanda Rylant
Alabama Science and Math Teaching Initiative
(334) 590-5095
arylant@alsde.edu
https://www.alsde.edu/greenribbonschools

Top

California

Georgia Garcia
Education Program Consultant
(916) 322-0310
greenribbonschools@cde.ca.gov
http://www.cde.ca.gov/ls/fa/sf/greenribbonprog.asp

Top

Colorado

Patty Gleason
Senior Consultant
(303) 866-6143
gleason_p@cde.state.co.us
http://www.cde.state.co.us/cdeawards/greenribbonschools

Top

Connecticut

Abby Peklo
Co-Chair CT Green Ribbon Schools Committee
(860) 567-0863 x166
peklo@edadvance.org
http://coeea.org/ct-green-leaf-schools/

Top

Delaware

Tonyea Mead
Science Education Associate
(302) 735-4217
tmead@doe.k12.de.us
https://greenbuildingunited.org/initiatives/green-schools

Top

Department of Defense Education Activity

Naomi Mayer
PK-5 Math Instructional Systems Specialist
Naomi.Mayer@DODEA.EDU
http://www.dodea.edu/Offices/logistics/greenRibbonSchools.cfm

Top

District of Columbia

Grace Manubay
Environmental Literacy Coordinator
(202) 654-6116
grace.manubay@dc.gov
https://osse.dc.gov/publication/dc-green-ribbon-school-applications

Top

Florida

Penny Taylor
Director, Office of Healthy Schools
(850) 245-9522
penny.taylor@fldoe.org
http://www.fldoe.org/schools/safe-healthy-schools/healthy-schools/green-schools.stml

Top

Georgia

Keisha N. Ford-Jenrette
Program Manager
(404) 657-2949
kford@gadoe.org
http://www.gadoe.org/External-Affairs-and-Policy/Excellence-Recognition/Pages/National-Green-Ribbon-Award.aspx

Top

Hawaii

Dann S. Carlson
Assistant Superintendent, Office of School Facilities and Support Services
(808) 784-5000
dann.carlson@notes.k12.hi.us

Top

Illinois

Jeff Seiler
jseiler@isbe.net
https://www.isbe.net/Pages/Green-Ribbon.aspx

Top

Indiana

J. Matthew Walsh
Curriculum Specialist
(317) 232-6619
Jwalsh1@doe.in.gov

Top

Iowa

Rob Olsen
Education Program Consultant
(515) 281-4743
rob.olsen@iowa.gov
https://www.educateiowa.gov/pk-12/school-facilities/green-ribbon-schools

Top

Kansas

Laura Downey
Executive Director
Kansas Association for Conservation and Environmental Education
(785) 532-3322
ldowney@kacee.org
http://www.kansasgreenschools.org/kansas-green-ribbon-schools

Top

Kentucky

Wesley Bullock, Administrative Specialist
Kentucky Environmental Education Council
(502) 564-5937
wesley.bullock@ky.gov
https://keec.ky.gov/GreenSchools/Pages/US-Green-Ribbon-Schools.aspx

Top

Louisiana

Brian Gautreau
Green Schools Coordinator
Louisiana Environmental Education Commission
bgautreau@lsu.edu
http://www.wlf.louisiana.gov/green-ribbon-schools

Top

Maine

Shari Templeton
Science & Technology Specialist
(207) 624-6880
shari.templeton@maine.gov

Top

Maryland

Mary Thurlow
Science Coordinator
(410) 767-0329
mary.thurlow@maryland.gov
http://marylandpublicschools.org/programs/Pages/Environmental-Education/mgrs.aspx

Top

Massachusetts

Matthew J. Deninger
Director, Resource Allocation Strategy and Planning
(781) 338-3117
mdeninger@doe.mass.edu

Top

Michigan

Ruth Anne Hodges
Manager, Curriculum and Instruction
(517) 241-2219
hodgesr3@michigan.gov

Top

Minnesota

John Olson
Science Content Specialist
(651) 582-8673
john.c.olson@state.mn.us
https://education.mn.gov/MDE/dse/stds/sci/grn/

Top

Missouri

Lesli Moylan
Executive Director, Missouri Environmental Education Association
(314) 368-0500
moylan@meea.org
http://missourigreenschools.org/grs.html

Top

Montana

Dylan Klapmeier
Director of Communications and Federal Relations
(406) 444-3559
dylan.klapmeier@mt.gov

Top

Nebraska

Sara Cooper
Director, Science Education
(402) 471-4329
Sara.cooper@nebraska.gov
https://www.education.ne.gov/science/edgreen-ribbon-schools/

Top

Nevada

Andre E. DeLeon
Education Programs Professional
(775) 687-5934
adeleon@doe.nv.gov
http://www.doe.nv.gov/Standards_Instructional_Support/Green_Ribbon_Schools/

Top

New Hampshire

Marjorie Schoonmaker
(603) 271-3620
marjorie.schoonmaker@doe.nh.gov

Top

New Jersey

Bernie Piaia
Director, Office of School Facilities
(609) 376-3701
bernie.piaia@doe.nj.gov
https://njaudubon.org/green-ribbon-schools/

Top

New Mexico

Randy Johnson
Closeout, Commissioning and Energy Manager
New Mexico
Public School Facilities Authority
(505) 468-0298
johnson@nmpsfa.org

Top

New York

Sara Madison
Senior Architect
(518) 486-2046
Sara.Madison@nysed.gov
http://www.p12.nysed.gov/facplan/GreenRibbonSchools.html

Top

North Carolina

Jon Long
Consulting Architect
(919) 807-3565
Jon.Long@dpi.nc.gov
https://www.schoolclearinghouse.org/Green%20Ribbon%20Schools/GreenRibbonSchools.htm

Top

Ohio

Charlotte Jones-Ward
21st Century Education and Service-Learning Consultant
(614) 466-8920
charlotte.jones-ward@education.ohio.gov
http://education.ohio.gov/Topics/District-and-School-Continuous-Improvement/Awards-and-Recognition/Ohio-Green-Ribbon-Schools

Top

Oregon

Michael Lammers
Program Analyst
(503) 572-2474
michael.lammers@state.or.us

Top

Pennsylvania

Tamara E. Peffer
Executive Director, Pennsylvania Advisory Council for Environmental Education
(717) 772-0842
TPEFFER@pa.gov
https://www.education.pa.gov/Teachers%20-%20Administrators/GreenSchools/Pages/default.aspx

Top

Rhode Island

Joseph Paul da Silva
School Construction Coordinator
(401) 222-4294
joseph.dasilva@ride.ri.gov
http://ride.ri.gov/FundingFinance/SchoolBuildingAuthority/GreenSchoolhouses.aspx

Top

South Carolina

Sam Christmus
South Carolina Department of Health and Environmental Control
(803) 898-0717
christsw@dhec.sc.gov
https://www.scdhec.gov/environment/k-12-schools-students-teachers/south-carolina-green-ribbon-schools-program

Top

Virginia

Anne Petersen
Science Specialist
(804) 225-2676
anne.petersen@doe.virginia.gov
http://www.doe.virginia.gov/support/facility_construction/healthy_buildings/green_ribbon/index.shtml

Top

Washington

Elizabeth Schmitz
Environmental and Sustainability Education Program Supervisor
(360) 725-4976
elizabeth.schmitz@k12.wa.us
http://www.k12.wa.us/EducationAwards/GreenRibbon/default.aspx

Top

West Virginia

Robin Sizemore
Science Coordinator
(304) 558-5325
robin.sizemore@k12.wv.us
http://wvde.state.wv.us/sustainable-schools/

Top

Wisconsin

Victoria Rydberg
Environmental Education Consultant
(608) 266-0419
victoria.rydberg@dpi.wi.gov
https://dpi.wi.gov/environmental-ed/green-ribbon-schools

Top

Wyoming

Brandon Finney
Planning & Finance Administrator
(307) 777-8671
brandon.finney@wyo.gov

Top

Please note:
ED's award is called "U.S. Department of Education Green Ribbon Schools" and has "District Sustainability Award" and "Postsecondary Sustainability Award" categories. "Green Ribbon Schools" without the "U.S. Department of Education" is not ED's award, but instead is a separate program overseen by another organization.



   
Last Modified: 09/09/2019