Skip Program Navigation
U.S. Department of Education Green Ribbon Schools

Funding Status
   Current Section
 Office of Communications and Outreach Home
State Contacts for ED-Green Ribbon Schools

green-ribbon-schools

Schools and districts apply to state education authorities for a nomination to ED. They cannot apply directly to ED under any circumstances. Please inquire with your state education authority if you are interested in applying. If you do not see your state listed, they have not yet indicated a contact for this award and you can find general contact information by state here. While state participation is voluntary, hearing from interested applicants may help a state education authority determine whether to participate.

Alabama

Mary Dansak
mdansak@alsde.edu
(334) 353-9151

Top

California

Lesley Taylor
(916) 322-0310
greenribbonschools@cde.ca.gov
http://www.cde.ca.gov/ls/fa/sf/greenribbonprog.asp

Top

Colorado

Anna Young
Grants Specialist
(303) 866-6250
young_a@cde.state.co.us
http://www.cde.state.co.us/cdeawards/greenribbonschools

Top

Connecticut

Laurel Kohl
Co-Chair CT Green Ribbon Schools Committee
Laurel.L.Kohl@gmail.com
http://ctgreenschools.org/ctgreenleaf.htm

Top

Delaware

Tonyea Mead
Science Education Associate
(302) 735-4217
tmead@doe.k12.de.us
http://dvgbc.org/greenschools

Top

District of Columbia

Grace Manubay
Environmental Literacy Coordinator
(202) 654-6116
grace.manubay@dc.gov

Top

Florida

Penny Taylor
Director, Office of Healthy Schools
(850) 245-9522
penny.taylor@fldoe.org
http://www.fldoe.org/schools/safe-healthy-schools/healthy-schools/green-schools.stml

Top

Georgia

Keisha N. Ford-Jenrette
Program Manager
(404) 657-2949
kford@gadoe.org
http://www.gadoe.org/External-Affairs-and-Policy/Excellence-Recognition/Pages/National-Green-Ribbon-Award.aspx

Top

Hawaii

Dann S. Carlson
Assistant Superintendent, Office of School Facilities and Support Services
(808) 784-5000
dann.carlson@notes.k12.hi.us

Top

Illinois

Ann Muraro
Community Outreach Principal Consultant
(217) 782-4648
amuraro@isbe.net

Top

Iowa

Thomas Cooley
Chief, Bureau of Finance, Facilities, Operation and Transportation Services
(515)725-1120
tom.cooley@iowa.gov

Top

Kansas

Laura Downey, Executive Director
Kansas Association for Conservation and Environmental Education (KACEE)
(785) 532-3322
ldowney@kacee.org

Top

Kentucky

Wesley Bullock, Administrative Specialist
Kentucky Environmental Education Council
(502) 564-5937
wesley.bullock@ky.gov
https://keec.ky.gov/GreenSchools/Pages/US-Green-Ribbon-Schools.aspx

Top

Louisiana

Brian Gautreau
Green Schools Coordinator
Louisiana Department of Wildlife & Fisheries
(225) 765-2800
bgautreau@wlf.la.gov

Top

Maryland

Donna Balado
Environmental Literacy Specialist
(410) 767-0323
donna.balado@maryland.gov

Top

Massachusetts

Matthew J. Deninger
Director, Resource Allocation Strategy and Planning
(781) 338-3117
mdeninger@doe.mass.edu

Top

Minnesota

John Olson
Science Content Specialist
(651) 582-8673
john.c.olson@state.mn.us
http://education.state.mn.us/MDE/StuSuc/ScholarRecog/index.html

Top

Missouri

John Kitchens
Science Director
(573) 751-4445
John.Kitchens@dese.mo.gov

Top

Montana

Dylan Klapmeier
Director of Communications and Federal Relations
(406) 444-3559
dylan.klapmeier@mt.gov

Top

Nebraska

Sara Cooper
Director, Science Education
(402) 471-4329
Sara.cooper@nebraska.gov

Top

Nevada

Andre E. DeLeon
Education Programs Professional
(775) 687-5934
adeleon@doe.nv.gov

Top

New Hampshire

Marjorie Schoonmaker
(603) 271-3620
marjorie.schoonmaker@doe.nh.gov

Top

New Jersey

Bernie Piaia
Director, Office of School Facilities
(609) 984-5351
bernie.piaia@doe.state.nj.us

Top

New Mexico

Jonathan Chamblin
Director New Mexico
Public School Facilities Authority
(505) 468-0301
jchamblin@nmpsfa.org

Top

New York

Rosanne Groff
Associate Architect
(518) 473-8486
Rosanne.Groff@nysed.gov
http://www.p12.nysed.gov/facplan/GreenRibbonSchools.html

Top

Ohio

Charlotte Jones-Ward
21st Century Education and Service-Learning Consultant
(614) 466-8920
charlotte.jones-ward@education.ohio.gov
http://education.ohio.gov/Topics/School-Improvement/Awards-and-Recognition/Ohio-Green-Ribbon-Schools

Top

Oregon

Michael Lammers
Program Analyst
(503) 572-2474
michael.lammers@state.or.us

Top

Pennsylvania

David A. Bauman
Science Education Advisor
(717) 783-6598
davbauman@pa.gov
http://www.pathwaystogreenschools.org/

Top

Rhode Island

Joseph Paul da Silva
School Construction Coordinator
(401) 222-4294
joseph.dasilva@ride.ri.gov

Top

Virginia

Anne Petersen
Science Specialist
(804) 225-2676
anne.petersen@doe.virginia.gov
http://www.doe.virginia.gov/support/facility_construction/healthy_buildings/green_ribbon/index.shtml

Top

Washington

Rochelle Gandour-Rood
Environmental and Sustainability Education Program Supervisor
(360) 725-4976
Rochelle.gandourrood@k12.wa.us
http://www.k12.wa.us/EducationAwards/GreenRibbon/default.aspx

Top

West Virginia

Robin Sizemore
Science Coordinator
(304) 558-5325
robin.sizemore@k12.wv.us
http://wvde.state.wv.us/sustainable-schools/

Top

Wisconsin

Victoria Rydberg
Environmental Education Consultant
(608) 266-0419
victoria.rydberg@dpi.wi.gov
http://cal.dpi.wi.gov/cal_greenandhealthyschools

Top

Department of Defense Education Activity

Naomi Mayer
Early Childhood Instructional Specialist
Naomi.mayer@hq.dodea.edu
http://www.dodea.edu/Offices/logistics/greenRibbonSchools.cfm

Top

Please note:
ED's award is called "U.S. Department of Education Green Ribbon Schools" and has "District Sustainability Award" and "Postsecondary Sustainability Award" categories. "Green Ribbon Schools" without the "U.S. Department of Education" is not ED's award, but instead is a separate program overseen by another organization.



   
Last Modified: 06/26/2018