Skip Program Navigation
U.S. Department of Education Green Ribbon Schools

Funding Status
FAQs
   Current Section
 Office of Communications and Outreach Home
State Contacts for ED-Green Ribbon Schools

green-ribbon-schools

 

Schools and districts apply to state education authorities for a nomination to ED. They cannot apply directly to ED under any circumstances. Please inquire with your state education authority if you are interested in applying. If you do not see your state listed, they have not yet indicated a contact for this award and you can find general contact information by state here. While state participation is voluntary, hearing from interested applicants may help a state education authority determine whether to participate.

Alabama

Michal Robinson
(334) 694-4776
mrobinson@alsde.edu

Top

Arizona

Jimmy Arwood
Constituent Services Manager
(602) 542-4254
Jimmy.Arwood@azed.gov

Top

California

George Garcia
Education Program Consultant
(916) 322-0310
greenribbonschools@cde.ca.gov
http://www.cde.ca.gov/ls/fa/sf/greenribbonprog.asp

Top

Colorado

Patty Gleason
Senior Consultant
(303) 866-6143
gleason_p@cde.state.co.us
http://www.cde.state.co.us/cdeawards/greenribbonschools

Top

Connecticut

Jessica LaPolt
CT Green Ribbon Schools Committee
j.lapolt@yahoo.com
http://coeea.org/ct-green-leaf-schools/

Top

Delaware

Tonyea Mead
Science Education Associate
(302) 735-4217
tmead@doe.k12.de.us
https://greenbuildingunited.org/initiatives/green-schools

Top

Department of Defense Education Activity

Naomi Mayer
PK-5 Math Instructional Systems Specialist
Naomi.Mayer@DODEA.EDU
http://www.dodea.edu/Offices/logistics/greenRibbonSchools.cfm

Top

District of Columbia

Grace Manubay
Environmental Literacy Coordinator
(202) 654-6116
grace.manubay@dc.gov
https://osse.dc.gov/publication/dc-green-ribbon-school-applications

Top

Florida

PJ Duncan
Director, Office of STEAM
(850) 245-0808
Patricia.Duncan@fldoe.org

Top

Hawaii

Jeremy Koki
Auxiliary Services Specialist II
Office of Facilities and Operations
(808) 586-3452
jeremy.koki@k12.hi.us

Top

Illinois

Ann Kapustiak
AKAPUSTI@isbe.net
https://www.isbe.net/Pages/Green-Ribbon.aspx

Top

Indiana

Courtney Schaafsma
Director of School Efficiency
(317) 234-7101
cschaafsma1@doe.in.gov

Top

Kansas

Laura Downey
Executive Director
Kansas Association for Conservation and Environmental Education
(785) 532-3322
ldowney@kacee.org
http://www.kansasgreenschools.org/kansas-green-ribbon-schools

Top

Kentucky

Wesley Bullock, Administrative Specialist
Kentucky Environmental Education Council
(502) 564-5937
wesley.bullock@ky.gov
https://keec.ky.gov/GreenSchools/Pages/US-Green-Ribbon-Schools.aspx

Top

Louisiana

Environmentaleducation@la.gov

Top

Maine

Shari Templeton
Science & Technology Specialist
(207) 624-6880
shari.templeton@maine.gov

Top

Maryland

Mary Weller
Science Coordinator
(410) 767-0329
mary.weller@maryland.gov

Top

Massachusetts

Matthew J. Deninger
Director, Resource Allocation Strategy and Planning
(781) 338-3117
mdeninger@doe.mass.edu

Top

Michigan

Ruth Anne Hodges
Manager, Curriculum and Instruction
(517) 241-2219
hodgesr3@michigan.gov

Top

Minnesota

Angela Kolonich, Ph.D.
Science Content Specialist
(651) 582-850
angela.kolonich@state.mn.us

Top

Mississippi

Dale Dieckman
Physical Education Coordinator
((601) 359-3873
jdieckman@mdek12.org

Top

Missouri

Lesli Moylan
Executive Director, Missouri Environmental Education Association
(314) 368-0500
moylan@meea.org
https://meea.org/missouri-green-schools/honorees/

Top

Nebraska

Audrey Webb
Science Education Specialist
(402) 471-4329
audrey.webb@nebraska.gov

Top

Nevada

Andre E. DeLeon
Education Programs Professional
(775) 687-5934
adeleon@doe.nv.gov
http://www.doe.nv.gov/Standards_Instructional_Support/Green_Ribbon_Schools/

Top

New Hampshire

Amy C. Clark
(603) 271-2037
amy.c.clark@doe.nh.gov

Top

New Jersey

Bernie Piaia
Director, Office of School Facilities
(609) 376-3701
bernie.piaia@doe.nj.gov
https://njaudubon.org/green-ribbon-schools/

Top

New York

Sara Madison
Senior Architect
(518) 486-2046
Sara.Madison@nysed.gov
http://www.p12.nysed.gov/facplan/GreenRibbonSchools.html

Top

North Carolina

Jon Long
Consulting Architect
(984) 236-2923
Jon.Long@dpi.nc.gov
https://www.schoolclearinghouse.org/Green%20Ribbon%20Schools/GreenRibbonSchools.htm

Top

Ohio

Charlotte Jones-Ward
21st Century Education and Service-Learning Consultant
(614) 466-8920
charlotte.jones-ward@education.ohio.gov
http://education.ohio.gov/Topics/District-and-School-Continuous-Improvement/Awards-and-Recognition/Ohio-Green-Ribbon-Schools

Top

Oklahoma

Heather Johnston
Director of Science and Engineering Education
Heather.Johnston@sde.ok.gov

Top

Oregon

Michael Lammers
School Facilities Database Administrator
(503) 572-4745
michael.lammers@ode.oregon.gov

Top

Pennsylvania

Tamara E. Peffer
Executive Director, Pennsylvania Advisory Council for Environmental Education
(717) 772-0842
TPEFFER@pa.gov
https://www.education.pa.gov/Teachers%20-%20Administrators/GreenSchools/Pages/default.aspx

Top

Rhode Island

Joseph Paul da Silva
School Construction Coordinator
(401) 222-4294
joseph.dasilva@ride.ri.gov
http://ride.ri.gov/FundingFinance/SchoolBuildingAuthority/GreenSchoolhouses.aspx

Top

South Carolina

Amy Curran
South Carolina Department of Health and Environmental Control
curranaa@dhec.sc.gov
https://www.scdhec.gov/environment/k-12-schools-students-teachers/south-carolina-green-ribbon-schools-program

Top

Utah

Carmen Bachofen
Utah Society for Environmental Education
programs@usee.org

Top

Virginia

Gregory MacDougal
Science Specialist
gregory.macdougall@doe.virginia.gov

Top

Washington

Elizabeth Schmitz
Environmental and Sustainability Education Program Supervisor
(360) 725-4976
elizabeth.schmitz@k12.wa.us
http://www.k12.wa.us/EducationAwards/GreenRibbon/default.aspx

Top

West Virginia

Erika Klose
Science Coordinator
304.558.8098 ext. 53213
eklose@k12.wv.us

Top

Wisconsin

Victoria Rydberg
Environmental Education Consultant
(608) 266-0419
victoria.rydberg@dpi.wi.gov
https://dpi.wi.gov/environmental-ed/green-ribbon-schools

Top

Please note:
ED's award is called "U.S. Department of Education Green Ribbon Schools" and has "District Sustainability Award" and "Postsecondary Sustainability Award" categories. "Green Ribbon Schools" without the "U.S. Department of Education" is not ED's award, but instead is a separate program overseen by another organization.



   
Last Modified: 09/02/2022