Appalachian Regional Commission Program

Current Section
Applicant Info
 Office of Vocational and Adult Education Home

CFDA Number: 84.923
Program Type: Discretionary/Competitive Grants
Also Known As: ARC


The program provides assistance in order to enable the people, states, and local communities of the Appalachian region, including local development districts, to take maximum advantage of federal grant-in-aid programs for which they are eligible but for which, because of their economic situation, they cannot supply the required matching share, or for which there are insufficient funds available under the federal grant-in-aid act authorizing such programs to meet pressing needs of the region.


Workforce training programs and career or technical education programs are supported.

Additional Information

The Appalachian Regional Commission (ARC) was established by Congress in 1965 to support economic and social development in the Appalachian Region. The Office of Vocational and Adult Education distributes federal funds that are transferred from the ARC to local communities.

ARC supports several hundred projects throughout the 13 Appalachian states. These efforts strive to expand and improve ARC's highway development program and bring more of Appalachia's people into America's economic mainstream. The projects directly address ARC's five goal areas: education and workforce training, physical infrastructure, civic capacity and leadership, business development, and health care.

View the Appalachian Regional Commission's website for information about ARC programs and initiatives, news and events, and specifics about the Appalachian region.

The Appalachian Region includes counties in the following states: Alabama, Georgia, Kentucky, Maryland, Mississippi, New York, North Carolina, Ohio, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, Tennessee, Virginia, West Virginia. View a list of the counties in these states.


Print this page Printable view Bookmark  and Share
Last Modified: 04/01/2014