

UNITED STATES DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION

OFFICE OF POSTSECONDARY EDUCATION

2021 Negotiated Rulemaking Affordability and Student Loan Committee US Department of Education October 4, 2021 Revised: December 2021

Federal Negotiator - Jennifer Hong Office of General Counsel (non-voting) - Todd Davis, Soren Lagaard, and Brian Siegel

Facilitators (non-voting)

Kayla Mack, Cynthia Jeffries, Brady Roberts, and Emil Totonchi Federal Mediation and Conciliation Service

Non-Federal Negotiators

Accrediting Agencies

Heather Perfetti, Middle States Commission on Higher Education (primary) Michale S. McComis, Accrediting Commission of Career Schools and Colleges (alternate)

Dependent Students

Dixie Samaniego, California State University (primary) Greg Norwood, Young Invincibles (alternate)

Department of Corrections Representative

Anne L. Precythe, Director of the Missouri Department of Corrections

Federal Family Education Loan Lenders and/or Guaranty Agencies

Jaye O'Connell, Vermont Student Assistance Corporation (primary) Will Shaffner, Higher Education Loan Authority of the State of Missouri (alternate)

Financial Aid Administrators at Postsecondary Institutions

Daniel Barkowitz, Valencia College (primary) Alyssa A. Dobson, Slippery Rock University (alternate)

Four-year Public Institutions

Marjorie Dorime-Williams, University of Missouri (primary) Rachelle Feldman, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill (alternate)

Independent Students

Michaela Martin, University of La Verne (primary) Stanley Andrisse, Howard University (alternate)

Individuals with Disabilities or Groups Representing them

400 MARYLAND AVE., S.W., WASHINGTON, DC 20202 www.ed.gov

Bethany Lilly, The Arc of the United States (primary) John Whitelaw, Community Legal Aid Society (alternate)

U.S. Department of Education Affordability and Student Loans Committee, p. 2

Non-Federal Negotiators (cont.):

Legal Assistance Organizations that Represent Students and/or Borrowers

Persis Yu, National Consumer Law Center (primary) Joshua Rovenger, Legal Aid Society of Cleveland (alternate)

Minority-serving Institutions

Herman J. Felton, Jr., Wiley College (primary) Noelia Gonzalez, California State University (alternate)

Private Nonprofit Institutions

Misty Sabouneh, Southern New Hampshire University (primary) Terrence S. McTier, Jr., Washington University (alternate)

Proprietary Institutions

Jessica Barry, The Modern College of Design in Kettering, Ohio (primary) Carol Colvin, South College (alternate)

State Attorneys General

Joseph Sanders, Illinois Attorney General's Office (primary) Eric Apar, New Jersey Department of Consumer Affairs (alternate)

State Higher Education Executive Officers, State Authorizing Agencies, and/or State Regulators

David Tandberg, State Higher Education Executive Officers Association (primary) Suzanne Martindale, California Department of Financial Protection and Innovation (alternate)

Student Loan Borrowers

Jeri O'Bryan-Losee, United University Professions (primary) Jennifer Cardenas, Young Invincibles (alternate)

Two-year Public Institutions

Robert Ayala, Southwest Texas Junior College (primary) (alternate to be announced)

U.S. Military Service Members, Veterans, or Groups Representing them

Justin Hauschild, Student Veterans of America (primary) Emily DeVito, The Veterans of Foreign Wars of the U. S. (alternate)

Advisors (non-voting)

Economic and/or Higher Education Data

Rajeev Darolia, University of Kentucky

Qualifying Employers on the Topic of Public Service Loan Forgiveness

Heather Jarvis, Fosterus

Prison Education Programs Subcommittee (non-voting)

U. S. Department of Education

Aaron Washington, Office of Postsecondary Education (Subcommittee leader) Ronald Sann, Office of General Counsel

Consumer Advocacy Organizations

Belinda Wheeler, Vera Institute of Justice

Financial Aid Administrators

Kim Cary, Ozarks Technical Community College

Formerly Incarcerated Students

Stanley Andrisse, Howard University College of Medicine

Groups that Represent Incarcerated Students

Terrell Blount, Formerly Incarcerated College Graduates Network

Postsecondary Institutions that are Prison Education Program Providers

Herman J. Felton, Jr., Wiley College

State Correctional Education Directors

Marisa Britton-Bostwick, Montana Correctional Enterprises

State Higher Education Executive Officers

Angie Paccione, Colorado Department of Higher Education

Department of Corrections Representative

Anne L. Precythe, Director of the Missouri Department of Corrections