Guidance on Standards, Assessments, and Accountability
Archived Information

EXAMPLE: Assessment of Migratory Students

Many migrant children home-based in Texas do not receive a high school diploma because their mobility at the beginning and end of the school year prevents them from taking and passing the Texas Assessment of Academic Skills (TAAS). (Passing the TAAS test is required for high school graduation in Texas.) Texas has arranged to have the TAAS administered to migratory students in several other States using local school personnel trained by Texas in the administration of the TAAS. Some States currently participating in this arrangement with Texas are Arkansas, Delaware, Illinois, Iowa, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, North Dakota, and Washington.

[Return to Assessments]

Print this page Printable view Send this page Share this page
Last Modified: 10/10/2003