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Scenario 7: A male student slipped a date rape drug into a female student’s drink at a 
noncampus fraternity house. Before he could lure the victim away from her friends, 
however, someone noticed what he had done and summoned the police. A police officer 
found the drug and identified the suspect. He determined that the suspect had administered 
the date rape drug with the intent to incapacitate the woman and commit a sexual assault. 
Classify this as one noncampus Forcible Sex Offense. 

Scenario 8: A male student slipped a date rape drug into a female student’s drink at a 
noncampus fraternity house. Before he could lure the victim away from her friends, 
however, someone noticed what he had done and summoned the police. A police officer 
ascertained that a student had slipped a date rape drug into another student’s drink, but the 
officer was unable to determine the perpetrator’s intent. Because the investigating officer 
was unable to determine intent, the incident cannot be counted as a Forcible Sex Offense. 
The UCR program considers a date rape drug a poison; therefore, classify this as one 
noncampus Aggravated Assault (defined in criminal offense no. 4 later in this chapter.) 

Scenario 9: A woman is walking on a public sidewalk in front of your campus and a male 
pinches her buttocks as he runs by her. Classify the incident as one Public Property 
Forcible Sex Offense if it’s determined that the man’s intent was sexual gratification.  

b) Sex Offenses—Non-forcible is defined as unlawful, 
non-forcible sexual intercourse.  

There are two types of Non-forcible Sex Offenses: 

• Incest is non-forcible sexual intercourse between 
persons who are related to each other within the 
degrees wherein marriage is prohibited by law. 
Count one offense per victim. 

• Statutory Rape is non-forcible sexual intercourse 
with a person who is under the statutory age of 
consent. Count one offense per victim. 

The statutory age of consent differs by state. For 
example, in Maryland, the statutory age of consent is 
14 years of age (which means the victim must be 
under 14), and the offender must be at least four 
years older than the victim. In Nevada, a victim is 
someone under age 16, and an offender is someone 
18 or older. We recommend that you consult your 
state’s statutes to determine the statutory age of 
consent. Remember, if force was used or 
threatened, or the victim was incapable of giving 
consent because of his/her youth or temporary or 
permanent mental impairment, classify the 
offense as forcible rape, not statutory rape. The 
ability of the victim to give consent must be a 
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professional determination by a law enforcement 
agency. 

Remember, do not classify as Non-forcible Sex Offenses: 

• Date or acquaintance rape. (These are Forcible Sex 
Offenses.) 

• Any offense other than incest or statutory rape. 

Examples of Non-forcible Sex Offenses 

Scenario 1: A 21-year-old student has sex with a 15-year-old juvenile in the student’s on-
campus apartment. There is no use of force or threat of force (the statutory age of consent 
is 16). Classify this as one Non-forcible Sex Offense in the on-campus category and one 
Non-forcible Sex Offense in the on-campus student housing facility category.  

Scenario 2: Campus police respond to a call from the dean reporting that an unknown man 
exposed himself to a group of female students on campus. Do not include a statistic for this 
incident in your disclosures as it is not a Clery Non-forcible Sex Offense. 

We recommend that you double-check all reports of non-
forcible sex offenses to confirm that they fit the UCR NIBRS 
definition. This does not mean that the offense must be 
investigated by law enforcement before the statistic is 
disclosed. Just confirm that the description of the offense in the 
report fits the definition of either incest or statutory rape. 

3. Robbery. Robbery is the taking or attempting to take 
anything of value from the care, custody, or control of a person 
or persons by force or threat of force or violence and/or by 
putting the victim in fear. In any instance of Robbery, count 
one offense for each distinct operation (i.e., incident), 
including attempts. Do not count the number of victims 
robbed, those present at the robbery or the number of 
offenders. 

Essential Elements of a Robbery: 

• Committed in the presence of a victim (usually the 
owner or person having custody of the property). 

• Victim is directly confronted by the perpetrator. 

• Victim is threatened with force or put in fear that 
force will be used. 

• Involves a theft or larceny. 




