Skip main navigation.
 U.S. Department of Education: Promoting Educational Excellence for all Americans - Link to Home Page

Figure 2: States requiring content-specific bachelor's degrees

states requiring content-specific bachelor's degrees; see below for description

Figure 2: States requiring content-specific bachelor's degrees.

This map indicates which states require a content-specific bachelor's degree for initial certification and if the requirement was in place prior to 2003, added in 2003, or the state has no uniform content degree standard.

Eight states added content degree standards in 2003. These states are Alabama, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Missouri, Nevada, and Tennessee. Fifteen states do not have a uniform requirement for a content-specific bachelor's degree for initial certification. The states with no uniform requirement are Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, the District of Columbia, Guam, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Nebraska, North Carolina, Ohio, Oregon, the Virgin Islands, Washington and Wisconsin. The remaining thirty-one states had content degree standards in place prior to 2003.

This map has the following notes: In 2003, Tennessee added the content bachelor's degree requirement for the out-of-state teacher license. As a result, both Tennessee initial licenses now require the content bachelor's. For purposes of this figure, the term "state" refers to the 50 states, the District of Columbia and U.S. Territories.

The source for the map in Figure 2 is the Title II State Reporting System, 2003.


Return to Chapter 3 of the Secretary's Third Annual Report on Teacher Quality.