OSDFS: Office of Safe and Drug-Free Schools
   Current Section
Federal Assistance to the Mid-West: Information

You are in our thoughts as you face the challenges brought on by severe weather. Below is information we trust you will find useful in the days ahead. We will provide you with updated information as the situation warrants.

As of Thursday, June 26, 2008, counties in eight states -- Iowa , Illinois , Mississippi , Nebraska , Indiana , Wisconsin , Minnesota , and Missouri - have been designated major disaster areas due to severe weather. A list of those designated counties can be found at the following Websites:

To obtain Federal assistance please contact your State Emergency Management office.

In addition, private non-profit organizations affected by the severe storms, tornadoes and flooding can apply directly to the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) for Federal assistance.

To apply by phone call 1-800-621-FEMA (1-800-621-3362). To apply for assistance online and for more information on the process visit: http://www.fema.gov/assistance/index.shtm

Please have the following information available when you call:

**Bank Account Information (if you are eligible for disaster assistance, you may choose to have the assistance check deposited directly into your bank account).

Government disaster assistance covers basic needs only and will not normally compensate you for your entire loss. If you have insurance, the government may help pay for basic needs not covered under your insurance policy. Some disaster aid does not have to be paid back, while other assistance may come in the form of loans. Other information sources of possible interest:

Print this page Printable view Send this page Share this page
Last Modified: 07/01/2008