Skip Office Navigation
OPE: Office of Postsecondary Education
Current Section
Staff Contacts
International and Foreign Language Education Office


The International and Foreign Language Education (IFLE) office comprises two divisions which house Title VI, Title VII, and Fulbright-Hays programs. Each division is led by a Division Director. Please find additional information below.

Front Office

Cheryl Gibbs , IFLE Senior Director
Telephone: (202) 453-5690
E-mail: cheryl.gibbs@ed.gov
Programs: American Overseas Research Centers Foreign Language and Area Studies Fellowships  and National Resource Centers  ( South Asia); and International Research and Studies

Cynthia Fisher, Program Specialist
Telephone: (202) 453-7389
E-mail: cindy.fisher@ed.gov

Sara Starke, Management/Program Analyst
Telephone: (202) 453-7681
E-mail: sara.starke@ed.gov

Michelle Butler, Program Specialist
Telephone: (202) 453-6491
E-mail: michelle.butler@ed.gov

Top

Advanced Training and Research Division (ATRD)

Sarah Beaton, Director
Telephone: (202) 453-7221
E-mail: sarah.beaton@ed.gov

Carolyn Collins, Program Officer
Telephone: (202) 453-7854
E-mail: carolyn.collins@ed.gov
Programs: Foreign Language and Area Studies Fellowships and National Resource Centers  (East Asia, Latin America, Pacific Islands, Southeast Asia); and Language Resource Center

Timothy Duvall, Senior Program Officer
Telephone: (202) 453-7521
E-mail: timothy.duvall@ed.gov
Programs: Centers for International Business EducationForeign Language and Area Studies Fellowships and National Resource Centers ( Middle East, Russia/Eastern Europe)

Charles Bryan Jenkins, Program Officer
Telephone: (202) 453-5994
E-mail: charles.jenkins@ed.gov
Programs: Foreign Language and Area Studies Fellowships and National Resource Centers (Africa, Canada, International, Western Europe)

Mone’t Peterson-Cox, Program Administration Assistant
Telephone: (202) 453-6018
E-mail: monet.peterson-cox@ed.gov

Top

International Studies Division (ISD)

Gary Thomas, Director
Telephone: (202) 453-7199
E-mail: gary.thomas@ed.gov

Pamela Maimer, Senior Program Officer
Telephone: (202) 453-6891
E-mail: pamela.maimer@ed.gov
Programs:  Fulbright-Hays Training Grants - Doctoral Dissertation Research Abroad

Cory Neal, Program Officer
Telephone: (202) 453-6137
E-mail: cory.neal@ed.gov
Programs: Fulbright-Hays Training Grants - Group Projects Abroad

Tanyelle Richardson, Senior Program Officer
Telephone: (202) 453-6391
E-mail: tanyelle.richardson@ed.gov
Programs: Undergraduate International Studies and Foreign Language

Carla White, Program Specialist
Telephone: (202) 453-6304
E-mail: carla.white@ed.gov

Top

IFLE Home | Staff Biographies



   
Last Modified: 07/22/2019