Skip Office Navigation
OCR: Office for Civil Rights!
   Current Section
Sex Discrimination

image title: Answers to common questions + our FOIA reading room Overview
Title IX of the Education Amendments of 1972 (Title IX) prohibits discrimination on the basis of sex in all education programs and activities operated by recipients of federal funds, including colleges, universities, and public school districts. Unless they are specifically exempt, Title IX applies to all institutions that receive federal financial assistance from the Department of Education, including state and local educational agencies. Recipients subject to Title IX include approximately 16,500 local school districts, 7,000 postsecondary institutions, as well as charter schools, for-profit schools, libraries, and museums. Also included are vocational rehabilitation agencies and education agencies of 50 states, the District of Columbia, and territories and possessions of the United States. OCR enforces Title IX to ensure that students have equal access to educational opportunity and can go to school without fear of sex discrimination.


Last Modified: 01/12/2022