Ombudsman Directory

Alabama
Calandra Hawkins
Ombudsman
Alabama State Department of Education
Calandra.Hawkins@alsde.edu
334-694-4520

Alaska
Kelsey Smiley-Rivera
Ombudsman
Alaska Department of Education and Early Learning
private.school.ombudsman@alaska.gov
907-465-2800

American Samoa
Corrine Turituri
Ombudsman
American Samoa Department of Education
corrine.turituri@doe.as
684-633-5237

Arizona
Susan Edman
Ombudsman
Arizona Department of Education
Sue.Edman@azed.gov

Nichole Enriquez
Ombudsman
Arizona Department of Education
Nichole.Enriquez@azed.gov

Arkansas
Chelsey Moore
Ombudsman
Arkansas Department of Education
Chelsey.moore@ade.arkansas.gov

California
Sylvia Hanna
Ombudsman
California Department of Education
SHanna@cde.ca.gov
916-319-0948
http://www.cde.ca.gov/sp/sw/t1/ombudsmaneqservices.asp

Colorado
Kathryn Wisner
Ombudsman
Colorado Department of Education
Wisner_K@cde.state.co.us

Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands
Kinai Salas
Ombudsman
Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands, State Department of Education
kinai.salas@gmail.com

Connecticut
Adrian Wood
Ombudsman
Connecticut State Department of Education
adrian.wood@ct.gov
860-713-6795

Delaware
Marc Edery
Ombudsman
Delaware Department of Education
marc.edery@doe.k12.de.us

District of Columbia
Linda Sun
Ombudsman
Office of State Superintendent of Education
Linda.Sun1@dc.gov

Florida
Nicolle Leider
Ombudsman
Florida Department of Education
Nicolle.leider@fldoe.org

Georgia
Carly Ambler
Ombudsman
Georgia Department of Education
cambler@doe.k12.ga.us
404-623-9599

Guam
Stephanie N. Chargualaf
State Program Officer
Guam Department of Education
snchargualaf@gdoe.net
671-300-1261

Hawaii
Jacy Yamamoto
Ombudsman
Hawaii State Department of Education
jacy.yamamoto@k12.hi.us

Idaho
Michelle Clement Taylor
Coordinator- School Choice
Idaho Department of Education
mtaylor@sde.idaho.gov
208-332-6963

Illinois
Denise Blaney
Ombudsman
Illinois State Board of Education
dblaney@isbe.net

Indiana
Lacey Bohlen
Indiana Department of Education
ombudsman@doe.in.gov

Iowa
Steve Crew
ESSA Ombudsman for Equitable Services
Iowa Department of Education
steve.crew@iowa.gov
515-326-1029

Kansas
Tate Toedman
Ombudsmen
Kansas State Department of Education
ttoedman@ksde.org
785-296-6714

Kentucky
David Millanti
Equitable Services Ombudsman
Kentucky Department of Education
kpso@education.ky.gov
502-564-3791

Louisiana
Daphne Flentroy
Ombudsman
Louisiana Department of Education
daphne.flentroy@la.gov

Maine
Shelly Chasse-Johndro
Ombudsman
Maine Department of Education
Shelly.chassejohndro@maine.gov

Maryland
Barbara Scherr
Education Specialist
Maryland Department of Education
barbara.scherr@maryland.gov

Massachusetts
J. Alex Lilley
Ombudsman
Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education
ESEAequitableservices@mass.gov
781-338-3123

Michigan
Fred Williams
Ombudsman
Michigan Department of Education
williamsF3@michigan.gov
517-241-6970

Minnesota
Alicia Waeffler
Ombudsman
Minnesota Department of Education
alicia.waeffler@state.mn.us
651-582-8227

Mississippi
Bryan Lieb
Ombudsman
Mississippi Department of Education
blieb@mdek12.org
601-359-3499

Missouri
Theresa Villmer
Assistant Director of Federal Programs
Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education
theresa.villmer@dese.mo.gov
573-526-4365

Montana
Jack O'Connor
Ombudsman
Montana Office of Public Instruction
Joconnor2@mt.gov

Nebraska
Jim Kent
Ombudsman
Nebraska Department of Education
jim.kent@nebraska.gov

Nevada
Karl Wilson
Ombudsman
Nevada Department of Education
karlwilson@doe.nv.gov
702-668-4311

New Hampshire
Stephen Berwick
Ombudsman
New Hampshire Department of Education
stephen.berwick@doe.nh.gov
603-271-2299

New Jersey
Constance Webster
Ombudsmen
New Jersey Department of Education
constance.webster@doe.state.nj.us

New Mexico
Daniela Romero
Ombudsman
New Mexico Department of Education
daniela.romero@state.nm.us

New York
Christina Coughlin
Ombudsman
New York State Education Department
christina.coughlin@nysed.gov

North Carolina
Talbot Troy
Ombudsman
North Carolina Department of Public Instruction
talbot.troy@dpi.nc.gov
919-807-3792

North Dakota
Stefanie Two Crow
Ombudsman
North Dakota Department of Public Instruction
stwocrow@nd.gov
701-328-2287

Ohio
Chantelle Carter
Ombudsman
Ohio Department of Education
chantelle.carter@education.ohio.gov

Oklahoma
Naomi Ward
Ombudsman
Oklahoma Department of Education
naomi.ward@sde.ok.gov

Oregon
Janette Newton
Ombudsman
Oregon Department of Education
janette.newton@ode.oregon.gov

Pennsylvania
Lynn Calvello
Ombudsman
Pennsylvania Department of Education
lcalvello@pa.gov
717-783-9164

Melanie Salonick
Ombudsman
Pennsylvania Department of Education
msalonick@pa.gov

Puerto Rico
María del Carmen Martínez Alonso
Ombudsman
Puerto Rico Department of Education
Martinez_Ma@de.pr.gov

Rhode Island
Anthony Cottone
Ombudsman
Rhode Island Department of Education
Anthony.cottone@ride.ri.gov
essaombudsman@ride.ri.gov
401-222-8977

South Carolina
Theresa Gregory
Ombudsman
South Carolina Department of Education
tgregory@ed.sc.gov

South Dakota
Yutzil Becker
Ombudsman
South Dakota Department of Education
Yutzil.Becker@state.sd.us
(605) 773–4698

Tennessee
Danny Bounds
Title II and Equitable Services Coordinator
Tennessee Department of Education
Danny.Bounds@tn.gov

Texas
LaNetra Guess
Ombudsman
Texas Education Agency
LaNetra.Guess@tea.texas.gov

Utah
Max Lang
Coordinator of Federal Programs
Utah State Board of Education
Max.Lang@schools.utah.gov
(801) 538-7725

Vermont
Heidi Parker
Ombudsman
Vermont Department of Education
heidi.parker@vermont.gov

Virgin Islands
Kadesha David
Ombudsman
Virgin Island Department of Education
Kadesha.david@vide.vi

Virginia
Randall Johnson
Education Coordinator
Virginia Department of Education
randall.johnson@doe.virginia.gov
804-225-2122

Washington
Julie Chace
Ombudsman
Washington Department of Education
julie.chace@k12.wa.us

Sheila Gerrish
Ombudsman
Washington Department of Education
sheila.gerrish@k12.wa.us

West Virginia
Laura Pauley
Ombudsman
West Virginia Department of Education
lepauley@k12.wv.us
304-558-3199

Wisconsin
Abigail Pavela
Ombudsman
WI Council of Religious & Independent Schools
essaombudsman@dpi.wi.gov

Wyoming
Shannon Cranmore
Ombudsman
Wyoming Department of Education
Shannon.cranmore@wyo.gov

If information on this page needs to be updated please send an email to onpe@ed.gov.



   
Last Modified: 05/20/2022