Summits of the Americas
International Affairs Office

Home | About IAO | Programs | Resources | Activities & Events
International Visitors | Partners | USNEI

The Summits of the Americas are meetings of the heads of state of the 34 nations of the Western Hemisphere. The purpose of the Summits is to seek solutions to challenges shared by all of the countries in the Americas in many areas, including education.

To date, four Summits have been held: 1994/Miami; 1998/Santiago, Chile; 2001/Quebec, Canada; and 2004/Monterrey, Mexico. The next Summit will be held November 4-5, 2005 in Mar del Plata, Argentina. Each of the Summits has generated education-related mandates from the Hemisphere's leaders. The U.S. Department of Education works closely with the U.S. Department of State, the U.S. Agency for International Development, and other government agencies to ensure appropriate follow-up to all education-related Summit commitments.

The Secretariat of the Organization of American States (OAS) serves as the institutional memory and support organization for the Summits of the Americas.

Other organizations involved in the education-related initiatives of the Summit include, among others, the Inter-American Development Bank, the World Bank, the UN Economic Commission for Latin America and the Caribbean, Convenio Andrés Bello, and UNESCO.

ED Contact:     Rafael Nevarez


Print this page Printable view Bookmark  and Share
Last Modified: 07/13/2009