Safe and Drug-Free Schools and Communities Advisory Committee
Archived Information

The Safe and Drug-Free Schools and Communities Advisory Committee, authorized by the No Child Left Behind Act, was appointed by the U.S. Secretary of Education Margaret Spellings. The Committee was established to provide advice to the Secretary on Federal, state, and local programs designated to create safe and drug-free schools, and on issues related to crisis planning. As outlined in section 4124(a), the Committee will consult with, and provide advice to, the Secretary for the programs listed in section 4124(b) that are already carried out by the Office of Safe and Drug-Free Schools.

The Advisory Committee focused on three issues: the Safe and Drug-Free Schools and Communities State Grants Program, the Unsafe School Choice Option, and requirements for data under No Child Left Behind. The Advisory Committee is made up of representatives from Federal Agencies and private citizens who have high levels of expertise and experience in the areas of drug, alcohol and violence prevention; safe schools; mental health research and crisis planning.

Committee Report

Last Modified: 12/23/2015