Robert C. Byrd Honors Scholarship Program

FAQs
   Current Section
 Office of Postsecondary Education Home
State Education Agency Points of Contact
Archived Information


ALABAMA
Carolyn E. Townsend
State Department of Education
3345 Gordon Person Building
P.O. Box 302101
Montgomery, AL 36130-2101
Telephone: (334) 353-5440
Fax: (334) 353-9204
E-mail: ctownsend@alsde.edu
ALASKA
Margaret H. MacKinnon, Title I/NCLB Administrator
Alaska Department of Education and Early Development
801 West 10th Street, Suite 200
P. O. Box 110500
Juneau, AK 99811-0500
Telephone: (907) 465-2970
Fax: (907) 465-2989
E-mail: margaret.mackinnon@alaska.gov
ARIZONA
Karla Bravo
Robert C. Byrd Honors Scholarship Coordinator
1535 West Jefferson Street, Bin #22
Phoenix, AZ 85007
Telephone: (602) 542-3710
Fax: (602) 364-1532
E-mail: karla.bravo@azed.gov
ARKANSAS
Thomas Coy
Arkansas Department of Education
Four Capitol Mall
Room 107-A
Little Rock, AR 72201
Telephone: (501) 682-4250
Fax: (501) 682-4886
E-mail: thomas.coy @arkansas.gov
AMERICAN SAMOA
Dr. Amy Blizzard, Grants Administrator
American Samoa Department of Education
P.O. Box DOE
Pago Pago, AS 96799
Telephone: (684) 633-5287
E-mail: ablizzard@doe.as
CALIFORNIA
Patrick Foley
California Student Aid Commission
P.O. Box 419026
Rancho Cordova, CA 95741-9026
Telephone: (916) 464-2590
Fax: (916) 516-8004
E-mail: pfoley@csac.gov
COLORADO
Charles E. Dukes
Robert C. Byrd Honors Scholarship Program
Colorado Department of Education
201 East Colfax, Room 400 C
Denver, CO 80203
Telephone: (303) 866-6142
Fax: (303) 866-6647
E-mail: dukes_c@cde.state.co.us
CONNECTICUT
Mark E. French
Associate Director, Student Financial Aid
Connecticut Department of Higher Education
61 Woodland Street
Hartford, CT 06105-2326
Telephone: (860) 947-1856
Fax: (860) 947-1311
E-mail: mfrench@ctdhe.org
DELAWARE
Maureen Laffey
Delaware Higher Education Commission
Carvel State Office Building
820 North French Street
Wilmington, DE 19801
Telephone: (302) 577-5240
Fax: (302) 577-6765
E-mail: mlaffey@doe.k12.de.us
DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA
Cristi Purnell, Management Analyst
Higher Education Financial Services
Office of the State Superintendent of Education
Government of the District of Columbia
810 First Street, N.E., 3rd Floor
Washington, DC 20002
Telephone: (202) 481-3946 (direct)
Telephone: (202) 727-6436 (main)
Cell: (202) 316-0817
E-mail: cristi.purnell@dc.gov
Web site: http://www.osse.dc.gov
FLORIDA
Theresa Antworth, Director, State Programs
Office of Student Financial Assistance
Florida Department of Education
325 West Gaines Street, Suite 1314
Tallahassee, FL 32399-0400
Telephone: (850) 410-5185
Toll Free: 1 - (888) 827-2004
E-mail: theresa.antworth@fldoe.org
FREELY ASSOCIATED STATES
Gwen Okamoto
Pacific Resources for Education and Learning
900 Fort Street
Suite 1300
Honolulu, HI 96813
Telephone: (808) 441-1306
Fax: (808) 441-1385
E-mail: okamotog@prel.org
GEORGIA
Dale Lyles, Director
Governor's Honors Program
Office of School Improvement
Georgia Department of Education
1852 Twin Towers East
205 Jesse Hill Jr. Drive
Atlanta, GA 30334
Telephone: (404) 657-0183
Fax: (678) 605-6886
E-mail: dlyles@doe.k12.ga.us or
ghp@doe.k12.ga.us
HAWAII
Gordon Miyamoto, Education Specialist
Student Support Section
Hawaii State Department of Education
641 18th Avenue, V201
Honolulu, HI 96816
Telephone: (808) 735-6222, ext. 357
Fax: (808) 733-9890
E-mail: gordon_miyamoto/SSS/HIDOE@ notes.k12.hi.us
IDAHO
Dana Kelly
Idaho State Board of Education
P.O. Box 83720
Boise, ID 83720-0037
Telephone: (208) 332-1574
Fax: (208) 334-2632
E-mail: dana.kelly@osbe.idaho.gov
ILLINOIS
Christine Shields
Illinois State Board of Education
1755 Lake Cook Road
Dearfield, IL 60015
Telephone: (847) 948-8500 ext. 2111
(800) 899-4722 ext. 2111
Fax: (847) 831-8549
E-mail: cshields@isac.org
INDIANA
Yvonne Heflin, Program Coordinator
Indiana Government Center South
402 West Washington Street, W462
Indianapolis, IN 46204
Telephone: (317) 232-2355
Fax: (317) 232-3260
E-mail: collegefa@ssaci.in.gov
IOWA
Todd Brown
Iowa State Department of Education
200 10th Street, 4th Floor
Des Moines, IA 50309
Telephone: (515) 725-3450
Fax: (515) 242-3388
E-mail: todd.brown@iowa.gov
KANSAS
Tammy Miller
Kansas State Dept. of Education
120 S.E. Tenth Avenue
Topeka, KS 66612
Telephone: (785) 296-4950
Fax: (785) 296-7933
E-mail: tmiller@ksde.org
KENTUCKY
Danny McGaughey
KHEAA
P.O. Box 798
Frankfort, KY 40602-0798
Telephone: (502) 696-7391
Fax: (502) 696-7373
E-mail: dmcgaughey@kheaa.com
LOUISIANA
Melissa Hollins
Louisiana State Department of Education
P.O. Box 94064
Baton Rouge, LA 70804
Telephone: (225) 342-2098
Fax: (225) 342-3432
E-mail: melissa.hollins@la.gov
MAINE
Claude Roy
Finance Authority of Maine
5 Community Drive, P.O. Box 949
Augusta, ME 04332-0949
Toll Free: (800) 228-3734 ext. 3507
Fax: (207) 623-0095
E-mail: croy@famemaine.com
MASSACHUSETTS
Sally M. Teixeira
Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education
75 Pleasant Street
Malden, MA 02148
Telephone: (781) 338-6304
Fax: (781) 338-3399
E-mail: steixeira@doe.mass.edu
MARYLAND
William Cappe
Maryland State Department of Education
200 West Baltimore Street
Baltimore, MD 21201
Telephone: (410) 767-0480
Fax: (410) 333-2275
E-mail: wcappe@msde.state.md.us
MICHIGAN
Anne Wohlfert
Michigan Department of Treasury
Bureau of Student Financial Services, Office of Scholarships & Grants
Treasury Building, 2nd Floor
430 West Allegan Street
Lansing, MI 48909
Telephone: (517) 373-0458
Fax: (517) 241-5835
E-mail: wohlferta@michigan.gov
MINNESOTA
Sarah K. Smith
Minnesota Department of Education
1500 Highway 36 West
Roseville, Minnesota 55113
Telephone: (651) 582-8629
Fax: (651) 582-8291
E-mail: sarah.k.smith@state.mn.us
MISSISSIPPI
Tony Webster
Mississippi State Department of Education
P.O. Box 771
Jackson, MS 39205
Telephone: (601) 359-4305
Fax: (601) 359-1247
E-mail: twebster@mde.k12.ms.us
MISSOURI
Laura Harrison
State Department of Elementary and Secondary Education
P.O. Box 480
Jefferson City, MO 65102
Telephone: (573) 751-1191 / 1668
Fax: (573) 526-3580
E-mail: laura.harrison@dese.mo.gov
MONTANA
Carol Gneckow
Office of Public Instruction
P.O. Box 202501
Helena, MT 59620-2501
Telephone: (406) 444-2417
Fax: (406) 444-1373
E-mail: cgneckow@mt.gov
NEBRASKA
Mardi North
Nebraska Department of Education
301 Centennial Mall South
P.O. Box 94987
Lincoln, NE 68509-4987
Telephone: (402) 471-3240-3962
Fax: (402) 471-0117-8850
E-mail: mardi.north@nde.ne.gov
NEVADA
Stephanie Swanson
Scholarship Coordinator
Nevada State Department of Education
700 East Fifth Street
Carson City, NV 89701
Telephone: (775) 687-9150
Fax: (775) 687-9250
E-mail: sswanson@doe.nv.gov
NEW HAMPSHIRE
Pat T. Butler
Administrative Assistant
Office of the Commissioner
New Hampshire State Department of Education
101 Pleasant Street
Concord, NH 03301
Telephone: (603) 271-3144
Fax: (603) 271-3830
E-mail: pbutler@ed.state.nh.us
NEW JERSEY
Nancy Besant
Office of Academic Standards
New Jersey Department of Education
P.O. Box 500
Trenton, NJ 08625-0500
Telephone: (609) 943-5203
Fax: (609) 943-5202
E-mail: nancy.besant@doe,state.nj.us
Web Site: www.nj.gov/education/ clear/scholarship/byrd/
NEW MEXICO
Karen Kennedy
Director of Financial Aid
New Mexico Higher Education Department
2048 Galisteo Street
Santa Fe, NM 87505-2100
Telephone: (505) 476-8409
Fax: (505) 476-8454
Toll Free: 1 (800) 279-9777
E-mail: karen.kennedy@state.nm.us
Web Address: hed.state.nm.us
NEW YORK
Lewis Hall
New York State Education Department
89 Washington Avenue
965 Education Building, Addition
Albany, NY 12234
Telephone: (518) 486-1319
Fax: (518) 486-5346
E-mail: lhall@mail.nysed.gov
NORTH CAROLINA
Brandon Patterson, Assistant Director
Educator Recruitment and Development
North Carolina Department of Public Instruction
6330 Mail Service Center
Raleigh, NC 27699-6330
Telephone: (919) 807-3375
E-mail: bpatterson@dpi.state.nc.us
NORTH DAKOTA
Heidi Bergland
North Dakota Department of Public Instruction
600 E. Boulevard Avenue, Department 201
Bismarck, ND 58505
Telephone: (701) 328-2317
Fax: (701) 328-4770
E-mail: hbergland@state.nd.us
OHIO
Mark Lynskey
Ohio State Department of Education
Center for Students, Families and Communities
25 South Front Street, 2nd Floor
Columbus, OH 43215-4183
Telephone: (614) 644-8861
Fax: (614) 995-3357
E-mail: mark.lynskey@ode.
state.oh.us
OKLAHOMA
Ramona Paul
Oklahoma State Department of Education
2500 North Lincoln Boulevard
Oklahoma City, OK 73105
Telephone: (405) 521-4311
Fax: (405) 521-6205
E-mail: ramona_paul@sde.state.ok.us
OREGON
Robbi Perry, Information Specialist
Office of Student Learning and Partnership
Oregon Department of Education
255 Capital Street, N.E.
Salem, OR 97310
Telephone: (503) 947-5782
E-mail: robbi.perry@state.or.us
PENNSYLVANIA
Tina Weaver, Education Administration Associate
Division of Planning
Pennsylvania Department of Education
333 Market Street, 8th Floor
Harrisburg, PA 17126-0333
Telephone: (717) 783-5670
Fax: (717) 783-3946
E-mail: tiweaver@state.pa.us
Web Site: www.education.state.pa.us
RHODE ISLAND
Rick A. Richards
Department of Elementary and Secondary Education
255 Westminister Street
Providence, RI 02903
Telephone: (401) 222-8401
Fax: (401) 222-2734
E-mail: ride0782@ride.ri.net
SOUTH CAROLINA
Wanda A. Davis, Program Coordinator
Robert C. Byrd Scholarship Program
South Carolina Department of Education
1429 Senate Street, Room 1005A
Columbia, SC 29201
Telephone: (803) 734-8485
Fax: (803) 734-0796
E-mail: wdavis@ed.sc.gov
SOUTH DAKOTA
Mark Gageby
Department of Education, Office of Finance and Management
700 Governors Drive
Pierre, SD 57501
Telephone: (605) 773-3727
Fax: (605) 773-6134
E-mail: mark.gageby@state.sd.us
TENNESSEE
Kathy Stripling
Tennessee Student Assistance Corporation
Suite 1510, Parkway Towers
404 James Robertson Parkway
Nashville, TN 37243
Telephone: (615) 741-1346 ext. 155
Fax: (615) 741-6101
E-mail: kathystripling@state.tn.us
TEXAS
Scipio Brown
Texas Education Agency
P.O. Box 12788
Austin, TX 78711
Telephone: (512) 427-6333
(800) 242-3062 ext. 6333
Fax: (512) 427-6420
E-mail: scipio.brown@thecb.
state.tx.us
UTAH
Moya Kessig
Utah State Office of Education
250 East 500 South
P.O. Box 144200
Salt Lake City, UT 84114-4200
Telephone: (801) 538-7742
E-mail: moya.kessig@schools.utah.gov
VERMONT
Dr. Marjorie Lemay
Vermont Student Aid Assistance Corporation
VSAC P.O. Box 2000
Winooski, VT 05404
Telephone: (800) 642-3177
Fax: (802) 828-3140
E-mail: lemay@vsac.org
VIRGINIA
Joseph Wharff
Virginia State Department of Education
101 North 14th Street
P.O. Box 2120
Richmond, VA 23218-2120
Telephone: (804) 786-9377
Fax: (804) 786-5466
E-mail: joseph.wharff@doe.
virginia.gov
WASHINGTON
Tony May
Administrative Assistant III
Title I/Learning Assistance Program, Learn and Serve, Honors Award, and Robert C. Byrd Scholarship
Office of the Superintendent of Public Instruction
Telephone: (360) 725-6231
E-mail: tony.may@k12.wa.us
WEST VIRGINIA
Janet Ruge, Program Coordinator
West Virginia Higher Education Policy Commission
1018 Kanawha Boulevard East
Suite 700
Charleston, WV 25301
Telephone: (304) 558-4618
Fax: (304) 558-4622
E-mail: jruge@hepc.wvnet.edu
WISCONSIN
Beverly Kneiss
State Department of Public Instruction
125 South Webster Street
P.O. Box 7841
Madison, WI 53707
Telephone: (608) 266-3706
Fax: (608) 266-1965
E-mail: beverly.kniess@dpi.state.wi.us
WYOMING
Julie Magee, Program Manager
Robert C. Byrd Scholarship Program
Wyoming Department of Education
2020 Grand Avenue, Suite 500
Laramie, WY 82072
Telephone: (307) 777-8740
E-mail: jmagee@educ.state.wy.us
PUERTO RICO
Elaine Rosario
Puerto Rico Department of Education
P.O. Box 190759, Suite 1106
San Juan, PR 00919-0759
Telephone: (787) 759-2000 ext. 2617 or 2636
Fax: (787) 751-6192
E-mail: rosario_e@de.gobier or ejrosario24@onelinkpr.net
VIRGIN ISLANDS
Keno Smith
Virgin Islands Department of Education
NO. 44-46 Kongens Gade
St. Thomas, VI 00802
Telephone: (340) 774-0100 ext. 8083
Fax: (340) 776-5687
E-mail: ksmith@doe.vi
GUAM
Joseph E. Montague
Guam Department of Education
P.O. Box DE
Hagatna, GU 96932
Telephone: (671) 300-1267
Fax: (671) 477-4587
E-mail: jemontague@gdoe.net
NORTHERN MARIANAS
Tim Thornburgh
Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands State Board of Education
P.O. Box 1370 Ck
Saipan, MP 96950
Telephone: (670) 664-3790
Fax: (670) 664-3797
E-mail: thornburght@pss.cnmi.mp
MARSHALL ISLANDS
Juliet Anitok
Marshall Islands Ministry of Education
P.O. Box 1436
3 Lagoon Road
Majuro, MH 96960
Telephone: (692) 625-3108/5770
Fax: (692) 625-7325
E-mail: misglb@ntamar.net
REPUBLIC OF PALAU
Sinton Soalablai
Palau Ministry of Education
P.O. Box 7080
Koror, Republic of Palau 96940
Telephone: (680) 488-2570
Fax: (680) 488-2830
E-mail: ssoalablai@palaumoe.net
 

Top

State Service Home


 
Print this page Printable view Bookmark  and Share
Last Modified: 04/25/2011