Skip Program Navigation
U.S. Department of Education Green Ribbon Schools

Funding Status
   Current Section
 Office of Communications and Outreach Home
State Contacts for ED-Green Ribbon Schools

green-ribbon-schools

Schools apply to state departments of education for states' nomination to USED and cannot apply directly to USED for the recognition award. Please inquire with your state authority if you are interested in applying. USED selects from the nominees presented by the following education authorities:

Alabama

Shirley Farrell
Alabama Green Ribbon Committee Co-Chair
(334) 242-8317
sfarrell@alsde.edu




Top

Alaska

Bjorn Wolter, PhD
State Science Specialist
(907) 465-6542
bjorn.wolter@alaska.gov




Top

Arizona

Charles Tack
Electronic Communications Manager
(602) 364-0764
GRSInbox@azed.gov




Top

Arkansas

Lynn Robertson
Arkansas Division of Public Schools
Academic Facilities and Transportation
vernon.l.robertson@arkansas.gov
http://arkansasfacilities.arkansas.gov




Top

California

Lesley Taylor
Facilities Planning Policy and Standards Unit
(916) 322-0310
greenribbonschools@cde.ca.gov
http://www.cde.ca.gov/ls/fa/sf/greenribbonprog.asp




Top

Colorado

Lynn Bamberry
Director, Competitive Grants and Awards
(303) 866-6813
bamberry_l@cde.state.co.us




Top

Connecticut

Jeff Greig
Co-Chair CT Green Ribbon Schools Steering Committee
CT State Department of Education
(860) 713-6854
jeff.greig@ct.gov
www.ctgreenschools.org/ctgreenleaf.htm




Top

Delaware

Tonyea Mead
Science Education Associate
tmead@doe.k12.de.us




Top

District of Columbia

Sam Ullery
School Garden Specialist
(202) 741-6485
sam.ullery@dc.gov




Top

Florida

Penny Taylor, CPP
Director, Office of Healthy Schools
(850) 245-9522
penny.taylor@fldoe.org




Top

Georgia

Keisha N. Ford-Jenrette
Program Manager, Excellence Recognition
(404) 657-2949
kford@gadoe.org




Top

Hawaii

Gilbert Chun
Administrator of Auxiliary Services Branch
gilbert.chun@notes.k12.hi.us
http://www.doe.k12.hi.us/greenribbonschools/index.htm




Top

Illinois

Matt Vanover
Director of Public Information
(217) 782-4648
mvanover@isbe.net
http://www.isbe.net/green_ribbon/




Top

Indiana

Jeremy Eltz
Science Specialist
(317) 232-9172
jeltz@doe.in.gov




Top

Iowa

Gary Schwartz
Education Program Consultant
(515) 281-4743
Gary.Schwartz@iowa.gov




Top

Kansas

Matt Krehbiel
Science Program Consultant
(785) 296-8108
mkrehbiel@ksde.org
http://www.kansasgreenschools.org/kansas-green-ribbon-schools




Top

Kentucky

Paige Patterson-Grant
(502) 564-5279
Paige.Patterson@education.ky.gov
http://www.education.ky.gov/KDE/Administrative+Resources/
Facilities/Kentucky+Green+Ribbon+Schools+Program.htm




Top

Louisiana

Shirley Williams
Education Program Consultant
(225) 219-7845
Shirley.Williams@la.gov




Top

Maryland

Gary Hedges
Science Specialist
(410) 767-0323
ghedges@msde.state.md.us
http://www.marylandpublicschools.org/MSDE/programs/environment/grs




Top

Massachusetts

Lauren Greene
Program Coordinator
Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education
(781) 338-3107
lgreene@doe.mass.edu




Top

Michigan

Patty Cantu
Director, Office of Career and Technical Education
(517) 241-2990
CantuP@michigan.gov




Top

Minnesota

John Olson
Science Content Specialist MN Department of Education
(651) 582-8673
john.c.olson@state.mn.us
http://education.state.mn.us/MDE/StuSuc/ScholarRecog/index.html




Top

Mississippi

Christine Philley
School Health Administrator
(601) 359-1737
CPhilley@mde.k12.ms.us
www.healthyschoolsms.org/




Top

Nebraska

Sara Cooper
Director, Science Education
( 402) 471-4329
Sara.cooper@nebraska.gov




Top

New Hampshire

Marjorie Schoonmaker
marjorie.schoonmaker@doe.nh.gov




Top

New Jersey

Bernie Piaia
Director of the Office of School Facilities
bernie.piaia@doe.state.nj.us
(609) 984-5351
http://www.eirc.org/website/programs-services/nj-sustainable-schools-consortium/
new-jersey-green-ribbon-schools/




Top

New Mexico

Bob Gorrell
Director
New Mexico Public School Facilities Authority
(505) 843-6272
rgorrell@nmpsfa.org




Top

New York

Carl T. Thurnau
Director of Facilities
(518) 474-3906
CTHURNAU@MAIL.NYSED.GOV
http://www.p12.nysed.gov/facplan/GreenRibbonSchools.html




Top

North Carolina

Ronald L. Collier
NC Department of Public Instruction
ronald.collier@dpi.nc.gov




Top

North Dakota

Lucy K. Fredericks
Director of Indian Education
701-328-1718
lkfredericks@nd.gov




Top

Ohio

Charlotte Jones-Ward
21st Century Education and Service-Learning Consultant
614-466-8920
charlotte.jones-ward@education.ohio.gov




Top

Oregon

Brian Reeder
Assistant Superintendent Analysis and Reporting
(503) 947-5670
brian.reeder@state.or.us
http://www.sustainableschools.org/sosi/oregon-award-program




Top

Pennsylvania

David A. Bauman, Ed.D.
Science Education Advisor, Department of Education
(717) 783-6598
davbauman@pa.gov
http://www.education.state.pa.us




Top

Rhode Island

Joseph Paul da Silva
School Construction Coordinator
(401) 222-4294
joseph.dasilva@ride.ri.gov
http://www.ride.ri.gov/Finance/Funding/
construction/schoolconstruction.aspx




Top

Tennessee

Holly Russ
Program Administrator, Energy Efficient Schools Initiative
(615) 532-8273
Holly.Russ@tn.gov




Top

Utah

Sarah Young
Science Education Specialist
(801) 538-7808
sarah.young@schools.utah.gov




Top

Virginia

Barbara Young
Science Specialist
(804) 225-2676
Barbara.young@doe.virginia.gov




Top

Washington

Gilda Wheeler
Program Supervisor, Sustainability and Science
(360) 725-4976
Gilda.Wheeler@k12.wa.us
http://www.k12.wa.us/EducationAwards/GreenRibbon/default.aspx




Top

West Virginia

Robin Sizemore
Science Coordinator
(304) 558-5325 ext. 53007P
robin.sizemore@access.k12.wv.us
http://wvde.state.wv.us/sustainable-schools/




Top

Wisconsin

Victoria Rydberg
Environmental Education Consultant
(608) 266-0419
victoria.rydberg@dpi.wi.gov




Top

Department of the Interior Bureau of Indian Education

Katherine Campbell
Program Specialist
katherine.campbell@bie.edu




Top

Department of Defense Education Activity

David E. Miles
Architect
david.miles@hq.dodea.edu


Please note:
ED's award is called "U.S. Department of Education Green Ribbon Schools" and has "District Sustainability Award" and "Postsecondary Sustainability Award" categories. "Green Ribbon Schools" without the "U.S. Department of Education" is not ED's award, but instead is a separate program overseen by another organization.


 
Print this page Printable view Bookmark  and Share
Last Modified: 11/20/2014