Skip Program Navigation
U.S. Department of Education Green Ribbon Schools

Funding Status
   Current Section
 Office of Communications and Outreach Home
State Contacts for ED-Green Ribbon Schools

green-ribbon-schools

Schools and districts apply to state education authorities for a nomination to ED. They cannot apply directly to ED under any circumstances. Please inquire with your state education authority if you are interested in applying. If you do not see your state listed, they have not yet indicated a contact for this award and you can find general contact information by state here. While state participation is voluntary, hearing from interested applicants may help a state education authority determine whether to participate.

Alabama

Shirley Farrell
Alabama Green Ribbon Committee Co-Chair
(334) 242-8317
sfarrell@alsde.edu
http://alex.state.al.us/showpage.php?lnk=teacherzonedircommentgreenribbon

Top

Alaska

Bjorn Wolter
State Science Specialist
(907) 465-6542
bjorn.wolter@alaska.gov

Top

Arizona

Charles Tack
Deputy Public Information Officer
(602) 364-0764
GRSInbox@azed.gov
http://www.usgbcaz.org/AZ-green-ribbon-schools

Top

Arkansas

Lynn Robertson
vernon.l.robertson@arkansas.gov

Top

California

Lesley Taylor
(916) 322-0310
greenribbonschools@cde.ca.gov
http://www.cde.ca.gov/ls/fa/sf/greenribbonprog.asp

Top

Colorado

Lynn Bamberry
Director, Competitive Grants and Awards
(303) 866-6813
bamberry_l@cde.state.co.us
http://www.cde.state.co.us/cdeawards/greenribbonschools

Top

Connecticut

Jeff Greig
Co-Chair CT Green Ribbon Schools Steering Committee
(860) 713-6854
jeff.greig@ct.gov
http://ctgreenschools.org/ctgreenleaf.htm

Top

Delaware

Tonyea Mead
Science Education Associate
(302) 735-4217
tmead@doe.k12.de.us
http://dvgbc.org/greenschools

Top

District of Columbia

Grace Manubay
Environmental Literacy Coordinator
(202) 654-6116
grace.manubay@dc.gov
http://osse.dc.gov/service/green-ribbon-school-program

Top

Florida

Penny Taylor
Director, Office of Healthy Schools
(850) 245-9522
penny.taylor@fldoe.org
http://www.fldoe.org/schools/safe-healthy-schools/healthy-schools/green-schools.stml

Top

Georgia

Keisha N. Ford-Jenrette
Program Manager
(404) 657-2949
kford@gadoe.org
http://www.gadoe.org/External-Affairs-and-Policy/Excellence-Recognition/Pages/National-Green-Ribbon-Award.aspx

Top

Hawaii

Gilbert Chun
Administrator of Auxiliary Services Branch
gilbert.chun@notes.k12.hi.us

Top

Illinois

Ann Muraro
Community Outreach Principal Consultant
(217) 782-4648
amuraro@isbe.net
http://www.isbe.net/green_ribbon/

Top

Indiana

Jeremy Eltz
Science Specialist
(317) 232-9172
jeltz@doe.in.gov
http://www.doe.in.gov/ccr/green-ribbon-schools

Top

Iowa

Gary Schwartz
Education Program Consultant
(515) 281-4743
Gary.Schwartz@iowa.gov

Top

Kansas

Matt Krehbiel
Science Program Consultant
(785) 296-8108
mkrehbiel@ksde.org
http://www.kansasgreenschools.org/kansas-green-ribbon-schools

Top

Kentucky

Calleen Yett
Administrative Specialist III
(502) 564-4326 ext. 4431
calleen.yett@education.ky.gov
http://education.ky.gov/districts/fac/Pages/Green-Ribbon-Schools-Application-Process.aspx

Top

Louisiana

Shirley Williams
Education Program Consultant
(225) 219-7845
Shirley.Williams@la.gov

Top

Maryland

Gary Hedges
Science Specialist
(410) 767-0323
ghedges@msde.state.md.us
http://www.marylandpublicschools.org/MSDE/programs/environment/grs

Top

Massachusetts

Lauren Greene
Program Coordinator
(781) 338-3107
lgreene@doe.mass.edu
http://www.doe.mass.edu/finance/sbuilding/GreenRibbon/

Top

Michigan

Patty Cantu
Director, Office of Career and Technical Education
(517) 241-2990
CantuP@michigan.gov

Top

Minnesota

John Olson
Science Content Specialist
(651) 582-8673
john.c.olson@state.mn.us
http://education.state.mn.us/MDE/StuSuc/ScholarRecog/index.html

Top

Mississippi

Christine Philley
School Health Administrator
(601) 359-1737
CPhilley@mde.k12.ms.us
Top

Top

Montana

Christina DeWald
Science Content Standards & Instruction Specialist
cdewald@mt.gov
(406) 444-3557

Top

Nebraska

Sara Cooper
Director, Science Education
(402) 471-4329
Sara.cooper@nebraska.gov
http://www.education.ne.gov/science/GreenRibbonSchools/TimelineResources.html

Top

New Hampshire

Marjorie Schoonmaker
(603) 271-3620
marjorie.schoonmaker@doe.nh.gov

Top

New Jersey

Bernie Piaia
Director of the Office of School Facilities
bernie.piaia@doe.state.nj.us
(609) 984-5351
http://www.eirc.org/programs-services/nj-sustainable-schools-consortium/2015-green-ribbon-schools-home/

Top

New Mexico

Bob Gorrell
Director of the New Mexico Public School Facilities Authority
(505) 843-6272
rgorrell@nmpsfa.org

Top

New York

Rosanne Groff
Associate Architect
(518) 473-8486
Rosanne.Groff@nysed.gov
http://www.p12.nysed.gov/facplan/GreenRibbonSchools.html

Top

North Carolina

Ronald L. Collier
School Architect
(919) 807-3562
ronald.collier@dpi.nc.gov

Top

North Dakota

Lucy K. Fredericks
Director of Indian Education
(701) 328-1718
lkfredericks@nd.gov

Top

Ohio

Charlotte Jones-Ward
21st Century Education and Service-Learning Consultant
(614) 466-8920
charlotte.jones-ward@education.ohio.gov
http://education.ohio.gov/Topics/School-Improvement/Awards-and-Recognition/Ohio-Green-Ribbon-Schools

Top

Oregon

Brian Reeder
Assistant Superintendent Analysis and Reporting
(503) 947-5670
brian.reeder@state.or.us
http://www.sustainableschools.org/sustainable-oregon-schools-initiative/oregon-award-program

Top

Pennsylvania

David A. Bauman
Science Education Advisor
(717) 783-6598
davbauman@pa.gov
http://www.pathwaystogreenschools.org/

Top

Rhode Island

Joseph Paul da Silva
School Construction Coordinator
(401) 222-4294
joseph.dasilva@ride.ri.gov
http://www.ride.ri.gov/FundingFinance/SchoolConstructionProgram/SchoolFacilities.aspx#18040-green-ribbon-schools

Top

Utah

Sarah Young
Science Education Specialist
(801) 538-7808
sarah.young@schools.utah.gov

Top

Virginia

Eric Rhoades
Science Specialist
(804) 225-2676
Eric.Rhoades@doe.virginia.gov
http://www.doe.virginia.gov/support/facility_construction/healthy_buildings/green_ribbon/index.shtml

Top

Washington

Sultana Shah
Administrative Assistant
(360) 725-4961
sultana.shah@k12.wa.us
http://www.k12.wa.us/EducationAwards/GreenRibbon/default.aspx

Top

West Virginia

Robin Sizemore
Science Coordinator
(304) 558-5325 ext. 53007P
robin.sizemore@access.k12.wv.us
http://wvde.state.wv.us/sustainable-schools/

Top

Wisconsin

Victoria Rydberg
Environmental Education Consultant
(608) 266-0419
victoria.rydberg@dpi.wi.gov
http://cal.dpi.wi.gov/cal_greenandhealthyschools

Top

Department of the Interior Bureau of Indian Education

Katherine Campbell
Program Specialist
katherine.campbell@bie.edu

Top

Department of Defense Education Activity

Laura E. B. Yates
Program Manager
(571) 372-1343
laura.yates@hq.dodea.edu
http://www.dodea.edu/Offices/logistics/greenRibbonSchools.cfm

Top

Please note:
ED's award is called "U.S. Department of Education Green Ribbon Schools" and has "District Sustainability Award" and "Postsecondary Sustainability Award" categories. "Green Ribbon Schools" without the "U.S. Department of Education" is not ED's award, but instead is a separate program overseen by another organization.



   
Last Modified: 07/02/2015