Training and Advisory Services Equity Assistance Centers

   Current Section
 Office of Elementary and Secondary Education Home

Britt Jung
U.S. Department of Education, OESE
School Support and Rural Programs
LBJ Building, Rm. 3E203
400 Maryland Ave. S.W.
Washington, DC 20202-6400
Telephone: (202) 205-4513
Fax: (202) 205-5870

Equity Assistance Centers Directors (2011-2016)

The 10 equity assistance centers are funded by the U.S. Department of Education under Title IV of the 1964 Civil Rights Act. They provide assistance in the areas of race, gender, and national origin equity to public school districts to promote equal educational opportunities.

Region I | Region II | Region III | Region IV | Region V |
Region VI Region VII | Region VIII | Region IX | Region X |

Region I

(serves Connecticut, Massachusetts, Maine, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, Vermont)
The Education Alliance
New England Equity Assistance Center at Brown Univeristy (NEEAC)
4 Richmond Square, Suite 400
Providence, RI 02906
Dr. Maria Pacheco, Director
PH: 401-274-8948 or 800-521-9550
F: 401-351-9594


Region II

(serves New Jersey, New York, Puerto Rico, Virgin Islands)
Equity Assistance Center
Touro College, Lander Center for Educational Research
43 W. 23rd Street 8th Floor
New York, New York 10010
Dr. Velma Cobb, Director
PH: 212-463-0400 ext. 5386
F: 212-627-3692


Region III

(serves District of Columbia, Delaware, Maryland, Pennsylvania, Virginia, West Virginia)
Mid-Atlantic Equity Consortium
5272 River Road, Suite 340
Bethesda, MD 20816
Ms. Susan Shaffer, Director
PH: 301-657-7741
F: 301-657-8742


Region IV

(serves Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee)
Southeastern Equity Alliance, Inc.
Southeastern Equity Assistance Center (SEAC)
1401 East Broward Boulevard, Suite 304
Ft. Lauderdale, FL 33301
Mr. Jerry Graniero, Director
PH: 954-765-3553
F: 954-523-3340


Region V

(serves Illinois, Indiana, Michigan, Minnesota, Ohio, Wisconsin)
Great Lakes Equity Center
Indiana University
902 West New York Street
Indianapolis, IN 46202-5167
Dr. Seena M. Skelton
PH: 317-278-6832
F: 317-274-6864


Region VI

(serves Arkansas, Louisiana, New Mexico, Oklahoma, Texas)
South Central Collaborative for Equity
Intercultural Development Research Association (IDRA/SCCE)
5815 Callaghan Road, Suite 101
San Antonio, TX 78228-1102
David Hinojosa, Director
PH: 210-444-1710
F: 210-444-1714


Region VII

(serves Iowa, Kansas, Missouri, Nebraska)
Midwest Equity Assistance Center (MEAC)
Kansas State University
1100 Bluemont Hall, Room 401
Manhattan, KS 66506
Dr. Charles Rankin, Director
PH: 785-532-6408
F: 785-532-5548


Region VIII

(serves Colorado, Montana, North Dakota, South Dakota, Utah, Wyoming)
Metropolitan State University of Denver
P.O. Box 173362, Campus Box 63
Denver, CO 80217-3362
Dr. Jan Perry Evenstad, Director
PH: 303-556-6065
F: 303-556-3912


Region IX

(serves Arizona, California, Nevada)
300 Lakeside Drive, 25th Floor
Oakland, CA 94612-3540
Dr. Rose Owens-West, Director
PH: 510-302-4246
F: 510-302-4242


Region X

(serves Alaska, American Samoa, Federated States of Micronesia (Kosrae, Chuuk, Yap, Pohnpei), Guam, Hawaii, Idaho, Northern Mariana Islands, Oregon, Republic of the Marshall Islands, Republic of Palau, Washington)
Education Northwest
101 S.W. Main Street, Suite 500
Portland, OR 97204
Dr. Yvonne Ryans, Director
PH: 503-275-9481
F: 503-275-0452


Last Modified: 06/30/2016