Skip Program Navigation
Elementary and Secondary School Counseling Programs

Current Section
FAQs
 Office of Elementary and Secondary Education Home
2008 Awards

Elementary and Secondary School Counseling Program
Fiscal Year 2008 Awardees

84.215E

Grantees under this competition will use funds to support counseling programs in target elementary and secondary schools. Schools will establish or expand counseling programs through hiring qualified school counselors, school social workers, school psychologists, or child and adolescent psychiatrists with a goal of expanding the range, availability, quantity and quality of counseling services available. Counseling services will use a developmental, prevention approach, and will be designed and implemented with the involvement of parents of the participating students.

To address Government Performance and Results Act measures for the program, grantees will use funds to help them close the gap between their student/mental health professional ratios and the student/mental health professional ratios recommended by the statute, and reduce the number of disciplinary referrals in schools participating in the program. Grantees have identified other project-specific goals that include improved student attendance and academic performance, social skills development, parental involvement, counselor and teacher professional development, and collaboration with community-based organizations that provide mental health and other services to students.

Elementary and Secondary School Counseling Program
2008 Grantees

Alaska

Virginia Degnan
Bering Strait School District
P. O. Box 225
Unalakleet , AK 99684
(907) 624-4233
Email: vdegnan@bssd.org
Award: $384,284

Jennifer McCarthy
Ketchikan Gateway Borough School District
333 Schoenbar Road
Ketchikan , AK 99901
(907) 247-2128
Email: mccarthyj@kgbsd.org
Award: $262,703

Michelle Woods
Northwest Arctic Borough School District
744 Third Street
Kotzebue , AK 99752
(907) 442-3472, ext. 214
Email: miwoods@nwarctic.org
Award: $221,178

John Bania
Tanana School District
P. O. Box 89
Tanana , AK 99777
(907) 366-7201
Email: tanana_school@yahoo.com
Award: $170,328

Arizona

Sylvia Cohen
Scottsdale Unified School District
3811 North 44th Street
Phoenix , AZ 85018
(480) 484-5080
Email: scohen@susd.org
Award: $203,761

California

Esperanza Zendejas
Alisal Union School District
1205 East Market Street
Salinas , CA 93905
(831) 753-5700, ext. 2014
Email: esperanza.zendejas@alisal.org
Award: $400,000

Debra Herr
Black Oak Mine Unified School District
6540 Wentworth Springs Road
P. O. Box 4510
Georgetown , CA 95634
(530) 333-8300
Email: dherr@bomusd.org
Award: $399,981

Chien Wu-Fernandez
Hayward Unified School District
24411 Amador Street
Hayward , CA 94540
(510) 784-2624
Email: cfernandez@husd.k12.ca.us
Award: $383,620

Lynn Bogart
Huntington Beach City School District
20451 Craimer Lane
Huntington Beach , CA 92646-5464
(714) 964-8888, ext. 2030
Email: lynn.bogart@hbcsd.k12.ca.us
Award: $396,296

Suzzane Terrill
Lindsay Unified School District
371 East Hermosa
Lindsay , CA 93247
(559) 562-5145
Email: sterrill@lindsay.k12.ca.us
Award: $400,000

Patricia James
Lynwood Unified School District
11321 Bullis Road
Lynwood , CA 90262
(310) 886-1645
Email: pjames@lynwood.k12.ca.us
Award: $399,612

Dean Lesicko
Murrieta Valley Unified School District
41870 McAlby Court
Murrieta , CA 92562
(951) 696-1600, ext. 1164
Email: dlesicko@murrieta.k12.ca.us
Award: $390,023

Laura Ryan
Napa Valley Unified School District
2425 Jefferson Street
Napa , CA 94558
(707) 253-3500
Email: lryan@nvusd.k12.ca.us
Award: $400,000

Tammy Cotter
Petaluma City School District
200 Douglas Street
Petaluma , CA 94952
(707) 778-4800
Email: tcotter@pet.k12.ca.us
Award: $400,000

Lynn Garrett
Placentia-Yorba Linda Unified School District
1301 Orangethorpe Avenue
Placentia , CA 92870
(714) 985-8672
Email: lgarrett@pylusd.org
Award: $399,138

Cindy Toews
Sanger Unified School District
1905 Seventh Street
Sanger , CA 93657
(559) 875-6521
Email: cindy_toews@sanger.k12.ca.us
Award: $378,600

Frida Goldstein-Friend
Santa Paula Elementary School District
201 South Steckel Drive
Santa Paula , CA 93060
(805) 933-8836
Email: ffriend@spesd.org
Award: $398,566

Colorado

Cori Canty
School District 1, City and County of Denver
900 Grant Street
Denver, CO 80203-2907
(720) 423-6808
Email: Cori_Canty@dpsk12.org
Award: $338,200

Connecticut

Carolyn McNally
Area Cooperative Educational Services
350 State Street
North Haven , CT 06473
(203) 498-6842
Email: cmcnally@aces.k12.ct.us
Award: $249,133

Florida

Gloria Spivey
Columbia County School District
372 West Duval Street
Lake City , FL 32055
(386) 755-8184
Email: spivey_g@firn.edu
Award: $400,000

Daryla Bungo
The School Board of Osceola County , Florida
801 Bill Beck Boulevard
Osceola , FL 34744
(407) 870-4897
Email: bungod@osceola.k12.fl.us
Award: $397,571

Illinois

Linda Henry-McCarty
Chicago Public Schools , District #299
125 South Clark Street , 8 th Floor
Chicago , IL 60603
(773) 553-1828
Email: lhenry@cps.k12.il.us
Award: $399,471

Iowa

Tina Jensen
Des Moines Independent Community School District
901 Walnut Street
Des Moines , IA 50309-3506
(515) 242-7565 or 7871
Email: tina.jensen@dmps.k12.ia.us
Award: $366,728

Kansas

Kim Hefley
Unified School District 353
221 South Washington
Wellington , KS 67152
(620) 326-4370
Email: khefley@usd353.com
Award: $242,321

Kentucky

Betty Hyden
Monticello Board of Education
132 College Street
Monticello , KY 42633
(606) 348-5312
Email: BETTY.HYDEN@MONTICELLO.KYSCHOOLS.US
Award: $331,630

Maine

Megan Walsh
Sanford Maine School Department
917 Main Street
Sanford , ME 04074
(207) 324-2810
Email: mwalsh@sanford.org
Award: $358,676

Cyndie Dorman
Maine School Administrative District #14
31A Houlton Road
Danforth , ME 04424
(207) 448-2882
Email: cdorman@eastgrandschool.org
Award: $346,624

Minnesota

Jean Menard
Independent School District 197
West St. Paul / Mendota Heights Eagan
1897 Delaware Avenue
Mendota Heights , MN 55118
(651) 403-7003
Email: menardj@isd197.org
Award: $400,000

Paul Sterlacci
Intermediate District 287
1820 Xenium Lane North
Plymouth , MN 55441-3708
(763) 504-8427
Email: Psterlacci@District287.org
Award: $292,009

Montana

Heather Murphree
Ronan School District 30
421 Andrew NW
Ronan , MT 59864
(406) 676-3390, ext. 3206
Email: heather.murphree@ronank12.edu
Award: $270,500

Nebraska

Connie Larsen
Kearney Public Schools
324 West 24 th Street
Kearney , NE 68845
(308) 698-8019
Email: conine.larsen@kearneypublic.org
Award: $388,066

New Jersey

Michael Kuchar
Bergenfield Public School District
100 South Prospect Avenue
Bergenfield , NJ 07621
(201) 385-8202
Email: mkuchar@bergenfield.org
Award: $289,605

New Mexico

Winnie Marion
Mescalero Apache School
249 White Mountain Drive
P.O. Box 230
Mescalero, NM 88340
(575) 464-4431
Email: wmarion@mescaleroas.org
Award: $325,031

New York

Amanda Vail
Niagara Falls City School District
607 Walnut Avenue
Niagara Falls , NY 14301
(716) 278-5869
Email: abach@nfschools.net
Award: $400,000

Debra Fuchs-Nadeau
Sullivan County Board of Cooperative
Education Services (BOCES)
6 Wierk Avenue
Liberty , NY 12758
(845) 292-0082
Email: dfuchs@scboces.org
Award: $399,882

Ohio

John Jaquith
Columbus Arts and Technology Academy
2255 Kimberly Parkway East
Columbus , OH 43232
(269) 598-1183
Email: jjaquith@Mosaicaeducation.com
Award: $400,000

Donna McCance
Lancaster City School District
345 Mulberry Street
Lancaster , OH 43130
(740) 687-7305
Email: m_mccance@lancaster.k12.oh.us
Award: $344,100

Jeff Daubenmire
Logan Hocking School District
121 S. Spring Street
Logan , OH 43138
(740) 385-8517 x29
Email: jdaubenmire@loganhocking.k12.oh.us
Award: $342,376

Mark Miller
Superintendent
Buckeye Local School District
6899 State Highway 150
Dillonvale , OH 43917
(740) 769-7395
Email: Mark.Miller@omeresa.net
Award: $342,376

Pennsylvania

Amy Maisterra
School District of Philadelphia
440 North Broad Street
Philadelphia , PA 19130
(215) 400-6089
Email: amaisterra@phila.k12.pa.us
Award: $396,925

South Carolina

Carolyn Williams
Marlboro County School District
122 Broad Street
Bennettsville , SC 29512
(813) 479-1546
Email: cwilliams@marlboro.k12.sc.us
Award: $376,532

Tennessee

Katherine Adams
Cheatham County School District
102 Elizabeth Street
Ashland City , TN 37015
(615) 792-2551
Email: adamsk@cheatham.k12.tn.us
Award: $263,456

Texas

Tracy Marshall
Fort Worth Independent School District
100 North University Drive
Fort Worth , TX 76107
(817) 871-2452
Email: tracy.marshall@fwisd.org
Award: $321,566

Robert Otsuji
Mission Consolidated Independent School District
1201 Bryce Drive
Mission , TX 78572
(956) 323-5675
Email: raots25@mcisd.org
Award: $399,194

Utah

Kathleen Bideaux
Ogden City Schools
1950 Monroe Boulevard
Ogden , UT 84401
(801) 737-7300
Email: bideauxk@ogdensd.org
Award: $392,630

Dennis Crane
San Juan School District
200 North Main Street
Blanding , UT 84511
(435) 678-1212
Email: dcrane@sanjuanschools.org
Award: $322,660

Washington

Debby Gaffney
North Thurston Public Schools
305 College Street NE
Thurston , WA 98516-5390
(360) 412-4466
Email: dgaffney@nthurston.k12.wa.us
Award: $396,938

West Virginia

David Roberts (2 grant awards)
Lincoln County Board of Education
10 Marland Avenue
Hamlin , WV 25523
(304) 824-3033 ext 248
Email: david.roberts@access.k12.wv.us
Award: $399,254
Award: $193,897

Wisconsin

Mary Zimmerman
Ellsworth Community School District
300 Hillcrest Street
Ellsworth , WI 54011
(715) 273-3911
Email: zimmermanm@ellsworth.k12.wi.us
Award: $284,934

Tammy Modic
School District of Rhinelander
665 Coolidge Avenue , Suite B
Rhinelander, WI 54501
(715) 365-9700
Email: modictam@rhinelander.k12.wi.us
Award: $394,747

Susan Stuckert
School District of West Allis-West Milwaukee
9333 W. Lincoln Avenue
West Allis , WI 53227
(414) 604-4927
Email: stuckets@wawm.k12.wi.us
Award: $396,991


 
Print this page Printable view Bookmark  and Share
Last Modified: 09/25/2008