Skip Program Navigation
Elementary and Secondary School Counseling Programs

Current Section
FAQs
 Office of Elementary and Secondary Education Home
FY 2007 New Grantees and Program Abstract

The Elementary and Secondary School Counseling Program (ESSCP) is authorized under Title V, Part D, Subpart 2 of the Elementary and Secondary Education Act of 1965 (ESEA), as amended by the No Child Left Behind Act of 2001. 

Grantees under this competition will use funds to support counseling programs in target elementary schools.  Schools will establish or expand counseling programs through hiring qualified school counselors, school social workers, school psychologists, or child and adolescent psychiatrists with a goal of expanding the range, availability, quantity and quality of counseling services available.  Counseling services will use a developmental, prevention approach, and will be designed and implemented with the involvement of parents of the participating students.

To address Government Performance and Results Act measures for the program, grantees will use funds to help them close the gap between their student/mental health professional ratios and the student/mental health professional ratios recommended by the statute, and reduce the number of disciplinary referrals in schools participating in the program. Grantees have identified other project-specific goals that include improved student attendance and academic performance, social skills development, parental involvement, counselor and teacher professional development, and collaboration with community-based organizations that provide mental health and other services to students.

2007 NEW GRANTEES (35 AWARDS)

Alaska

Q215E070039 -- $268,559
Valdez City School District
1112 West Klutina, Valdez, AK 99686,
Project Director: Tracy McFarlin-Pressley
Email: tracy_mpressley@valdez.cc
Contact #(907) 835-2244

Arizona

Q215E070016 -- $332,086
Page Unified School District
PO Box 1927
Page, AZ 86040
Project Director: Diane Hansen
Email: dhansen@pageus.k12.az.us
Contact #(928) 608-4116

Q215E070029 -- $399,467
Tucson Unified School District
#1,1010 East 10 th Street
Tucson, AZ 85719
Project Director: Holly Colonna
Email:  holly.colonna@tusdl.org
Contract #(520) 225-6211

California

Q215E070017 -- $398,447 --
Centralia School District
6625 La Palma Avenue
Buena Park, CA  90620
Project Director:  Linda Matlock
Email:  Linda_Matlock@cesd.k12.ca.us
Contact # (714) 228-3141

Q215E070018 -- $271,029
Redding School District
5885 E. Bonnyview Road
Redding, CA  96099
Project Director:  Cindi Kehoe
Email:  ckehoe@rsdnmp.org
Contact # (530) 225-0011

Q215E070023 -- $393,499
El Centro Elementary School District
1256 Broadway
El Centro, CA   92243
Project Director:  Janice Lau
Email:  jlau@ecsd.k12.ca.us
Contact #: (760) 352-5712

Q215E070028 -- $393,622
Westminster School District
14121 Cedarwood Avenue
Westminster, CA  9264
Project Director:  Debra Hill
Email:  dhill@wsd.k12.ca.us
Contact # (714) 894-7311

Q215E070030 -- $230,823
Julian Union School District
1704 Cape Horn Drive
Julian, CA 92036
Project Director: Susi Jones
Email:  julianhs@sdcoe.net
Contact # (760) 765-2228

Q215E070031 -- $397,828
Walnut Valley Unified School District
880 South Lemon Avenue
Walnut, CA  91789
Project Director:  Jose Annicchiarico
Email:  joseannic@walnutvalley.k12.ca.us
Contact # (909) 595-1261

Q215E070037 -- $376,854
New Haven Unified School District
34200 Alvarado Niles Road
Union City, CA  94587
Project Director:  Kathy Moniz
Email:  kathy_moniz@nhusd.k12.ca.us
Contact # (510) 471-1100 x2378

Colorado

Q215E070009 -- $366,689
Boulder Valley District RE-2
6500 Arapahoe Road
Boulder, CO  80303
Project Director:  Sheri Williams
Email:  sheri.williams@bvsd.org
Contact # (303) 447-5048

Connecticut

Q215E070004 -- $370,515
Hartford Public Schools
960 Main Street, 8 th floor
Hartford, CT  06103
Project Director:  Leah Fichtner
Email:  lfichtner@hartfordschools.org
Contact # (860) 695-8638

Q215E070032 -- $372,083
Waterbury School District
236 Grand Street
Waterbury, CT  06702
Project Director:  Anne Marie Cullinan
Email: acullinan@waterbury.k12.ct.us
Contact # (203) 574-8017

Florida

Q215E070011 -- $391,811
School Board of Miami-Dade County
1450 N.E. 2 nd Avenue RM 926
Miami, FL 33132
Project Director: Sylvia Rodriquez-Gody
Email: sgody@dadeschools.net
Contact # (305) 995-1706

Indiana

Q215E070027 -- $398,633
Michigan City Area Schools
408 S. Carroll Avenue
Michigan City, IN 46360
Project Director: Micki Webb
Email:mwebb@mcas.k12.in.us
Contact # (219) 873-2000 x8351

Iowa

Q215E070025 -- $130,570
Grinnell-Newburg Comm. School District
927 4 th Avenue
Grinnell, IA 50112
Project Director: Karen Phillips
Email: kphillips@grinnell.k12.ia.us
Contact # (641) 236-2770

Louisiana

Q215E070013 -- $391,479
Lafayette Parish School System
113 Chaplin Drive
Lafayette, LA  70502
Project Director:  Amy Trahan
Email:  amtrahan@lpssonline.com
Contact # (337) 236-8524

Kentucky

Q215E070034 -- $69,981
Bourbon County Bd. Of Education
343 Lexington Road
Paris, KY  40361
Project Director:  Shella Sams
Email:  shella.sams@bourbon.kyschools.us
Contact # (859) 987-2180

Massachusetts

Q215E070007 -- $378,648
Newton Public Schools
100 Walnut Street
Newton MA  02460
Project Director:  Craig Murphy
Email: craig_murphy@newton.k12.ma.us
Contact # (617) 559-9038

Q215E070012 --$354,686
Worcester Public Schools
20 Irving Street
Worcester, MA  01609
Project Director: Joan Fitton
Email:  fittonj@worc.k12.ma.us
Contact # (508) 799-3110

Q215E070033 -- $335,367
Boston Public Schools
26 Court Street
Boston, MA  02108
Project Director:  William Kelley
Email:  wkelley@boston.k12.ma.us
Contact # (617) 635-8030

Michigan

Q215E070022 -- $144,469
Berkley School District
14450 Manhattan
Oak Park, MI  48227
Project Director:  Ruth Shochacki
Email:  rsochacki@berkley.k12.mi.us
Contact # (248) 837-8326

Q215E070024 -- $400,000
Richfield Public School Academy
3807 North Center Road
Flint, MI  48506
Project Director:  John Jaquith
Email: jjaquith@mosaicaeducation.com
Contact # (269) 598-1183

Minnesota

Q215E070014 -- $367,570
St. Cloud Area School District
628 Roosevelt Road
St. Cloud, MN  56301
Project Director:  Elisabeth Rogers
Email:  elisabeth.rogers@isd742.org
Contact # (320) 202-6800

North Carolina

Q215E070008 -- $375,858
Wake County Public Schools System
3600 Wake Forest Road
Raleigh, NC  27611
Project Director:  Eric Sparks
Email:  esparks@wcpss.net
Contact # (919) 858-1702

New Mexico

Q215E070026 -- $274,844
Jemez Mountain School District
PO Box 230
Gallina, NM  87017
Project Director:  Ernesto Valdez
Email:  evaldez@jmsk12.com
Contact # (505) 638-5491

New York

Q215E070003 -- $400,000
Yonkers Public Schools
One Larkin Center
Yonkers, NY  10701
Project Director:  Fern Eisgrub
Email: feisgrub@yonkerspublicschools.org
Contact # (914) 376-8213

Q215E070035 -- $183,728
Roosevelt Children's Academy
105 Pleasant Avenue
Roosevelt, NY  11575
Project Director:  Roxanne Ashley
Email: roxanneashley@hotmail.com
Contact # (516) 867-6202

Oregon

Q215E070005 -- $399,297
School District No. 1J Multnomah County
PO Box 3107
Portland, OR  97208
Project Director:  Pamela Wilson
Email:  pwilson@pps.k12.or.us
Contact # (503) 916-5460

Oklahoma

Q215E070036 -- $395,450
Guthrie Public Schools
802 E. Vilas Avenue
Guthrie, OK  73044
Project Director:  Vickie Williams
Email:  vwilliams@guthrie.k12.ok.us
Contact # (405) 282-8900

Texas

Q215E070002 -- $305,145
Ganado Independent School District
211 S. 6 th Street
Ganado, TX  77962
Project Director:  Virgil Knowlton
Email:  vknowlton@ganadoisd.org
Contact # (361) 771-3482

Q215E070006 -- $314,743
San Antonio ISD
141 Lavaca Street
San Antonio, TX  78210
Project Director:  Sylvia Rendon
Email: SRENDON@SAISD.NET
Contact # (210) 299-5771

Washington

Q215E070015 -- $359,361
Educational Service District 105
33 South Second Avenue
Yakima, WA  98902
Project Director:  Ann Allen
Email:  anna@esd105.wednet.edu
Contact # (509) 575-2885  

Q215E070021 -- $393,872
Educational Service District 112
2500 NE 65 th Avenue
Vancouver, WA  98661
Project Director:  Sandy Mathewson
Email:  sandy.mathewson@esd112.org
Contact # (360) 750-7500

Wisconsin

Q215E070038 -- $115,430
School District of Bayfield
300 N. Fourth Street
Bayfield, WI  53208
Project Director:  Donald Anderson
Email: skelly@bayfield.k12.wi.us
Contact # (715) 779-3201


 
Print this page Printable view Bookmark  and Share
Last Modified: 04/26/2007