Skip Program Navigation
Elementary and Secondary School Counseling Programs

Current Section
FAQs
 Office of Elementary and Secondary Education Home
FY 2006 New Grantees and Program Abstract

Alaska

Q215E060468
$89,556
Petersburg City Schools Project Director: Erica Kludt-Painter
PO Box 289 Email: ekludt@psgsd.k12.us
Petersburg, AK 99833 (907) 772-4786

Arizona

Q215E060340
$373,765
Dysart Unified School District #89 Project Director: Kathleen Honne
15802 N. Parkview Place Email: kathleen.hone@dysart.org
Surprise, AZ 85374 (623) 876-7025

Q215E060471
$399,998
Osborn Elementary School District Project Director: Jean Richards
1226 W Osborne Road EmailJRichards@osbornnet.org
Phoenix, AZ 85013 (602) 707-2013

Q215E060316
$399,279
Amphitheater Unified School District Project Director: Catherine Land
701 West Wetmore Road Email:cland@amphi.com
Tucson, AZ 85705 (520) 696-5427

California

Q215E060457
$270,687
Alhambra Unified School District Project Director: Laurel Bear
15 W. Alhambra Road Email: bear_laurel@alhambra.k12.ca.us
Alhambra, CA 91801 (626) 308-2384

Q215E060443
$399,475
Anaheim City School District Project Director: Phyllis Reed
1001 South East Street Email: preed@acsd.k12.ca.us
Anaheim, CA 92805 (714) 517-7526

Q215E060433
$305,571
Tehama County Department of Education Project Director:
Amy Henderson
Red Bluff, CA 96080 (530) 527-5811

Q215E060424
$400,000
Poway Unified School District Project Director: Elaine Cofrancesco
13626 Twin Peaks Road Email: ecofrancesco@powayusd.com
Poway, CA 92064 (858) 668-4066

Q215E060354
$391,104
Hanford Elementary School District Project Director: Sylvia Robinson
P.O. Box 1067 Email: srobinson@hesd.k12.ca.us
Hanford, CA 93232 (559) 585-3617

Q215E060306
$400,000
San Gabriel Unified School District Project Director: Cathy Olsky
408 Junipero Serra Drive Email: Olsky_C@sgusd.k12.ca.us
San Gabriel, CA 91776 (626) 451-5417

Q215E060347
$292,950
El Dorado County Office of Education Project Director: Cathy Bean
6767 Green Valley Road Email: cbean@edcoe.k12.ca.us
Placerville, CA 95667 (530) 295-2261

Q215E060301
$368,977
San Francisco Unified School District Project Director: Trish Bascom
555 Franklin Street Email: BascomT@sfusd.edu
San Francisco, CA 94102 (415) 241-6121

Q215E060177
$396,153
Stockton Unified School District Project Director: John New
1144 E. Channel Street Email: rdeschenes@stockton.k12.ca.us
Stockton, CA 95205 (209) 933-7130

Q215E060218
$395,810
Moreno Valley Unified School District Project Director: Patty Rucker
25634 Alessandro Blvd. Email: PRucker@mvusd.k12.ca.us
Moreno Valley, CA 92553 (951) 571-7500x17320

Q215E060093
399,970
West Contra Costa Unified School District Project Director: Steve Collins
1108 Bissell Avenue Email: steve.collins@gw.wccusd.k12.ca.us
Richmond, CA 94801 (510) 741-2801

Q215E060225
$396,486
Capistrano Unified School District Project Director: Jeffrey Bristow
32972 Calle Perfecto Email: jbristow@capousd.org
San Juan Capistrano, CA 92672 (949) 489-7072

Q215E060173
$352,501
Lennox School District Project Director: Diana Limon
10319 Firmona Avenue Email: Diana_Limon@lennox.k12.ca.us
Lennox, CA 90304 (310) 330-4950

Q215E060268
$386,348
Los Angeles Unified School District Project Director: Cecilia Ramos
333 South Beaudry Avenue, 18th Floor Email: cecilia.ramos@lausd.net
Los Angeles, CA 90017 (323) 224-3351

Q215E060183
$389,022
San Diego Unified School District Project Director: Earlene Dunbar
4100 Normal Street Email: lori-rayor@lennox.k12.ca.u
San Diego, CA 92103 (858) 627-7447

Q215E060195
$314,999
Lake County Office of Education Project Director: Joyce Elmer
1152 South Main Street Email: jelmer@lake-coe.k12.ca.us
Lakeport, CA 95453 (707) 279-4607

Q215E060286
$371,740
Vista Unified School District Project Director: Gayle Olson
1234 Arcadia Avenue Email: golson@vusd.k12.ca.us
Vista, CA 92084 (760) 434-2423

Q215E060461
$398,407
Ravenswood City School District Project Director: Ruth Woods
2120 Euclid Avenue Email: rwoods@ravenswood.k12.ca.us
East Palo Alto, CA 94303 (650) 329-2800

Connecticut

Q215E060337
$372,324
Bridgeport Public Schools Project Director: Susan G. Smith
45 Lyon Terrace Email: ssmith@bridgeportedu.net
Bridgeport, CT 06604 (203) 332-2729

Florida

Q215E060101
$371,179
School Board of Sarasota County Project Director: Robyn Marinelli
Sarasota, FL 34231 (941) 927-9000

Q215E060092
$346,956
The School Board of Broward County Project Director: Sharon Friedlander
600 Southeast Third Avenue Email: Sharon.Friedlander@browardschools.com
Fort Lauderdale, FL 32201 (754) 321-3585

Q215E060142
$398,759
School Board of Orange County Project Director: Bonnie King
Orange County Public Schools Email: kingb2@ocps.net
445 W. Amelia Street (407) 317-3200 ext 2619
Orlando, FL 32801  

Illinois

Q215E060072
$361,710
CUSD 5 Project Director: Wilber Booker
410 East LeFevre Email: wbooker@sterlingschools.org
Sterling, IL 61081 (815) 626-5050

Q215E060261
$226,035
Meridian Community USD 223 Project Director: Mike Coulahan
207 West Main Street Email: mcoulahan@mail.meridian223.org
Stillman Valley, IL 61084 (815) 393-4424

Indiana

Q215E060400
$388,750
Metropolitan School District of Washington Township Project Director: Stephen Keith
Email: skeith@msdwt.k12.in.us 8550 Woodfield Crossing Blvd.
(317) 845-9400 Indianapolis, IN 46240

Kentucky

Q215E060415
$162,094
Covington Independent Public Schools Project Director: Janice Wilkerson
25 East Seventh Street Email: Janice.Wilkerson@covington.kyschools.us
Covington, KY 41011 (859) 392-3175

Maryland

Q215E060026
$380,575
Anne Arundel County Public Schools Project Director: Gayle Cicero
2644 Riva Road Email: gcicero@aacps.org
Annapolis, MD 01095 (410) 222-5282

Massachusetts

Q215E060112
$372,546
Hampden-Wilbraham Regional District Project Director: Gina Kahn
621 Main Street Email: gkahn@hwrsd.org
Wilbraham, MA 01095 (413) 596-6045

Michigan

Q215E060246
$313,212
Rudyard Area Schools Project Director: Julie Kauppila
11185 W. Second Street Email: kauppila@eup.k12.mi.us
Rudyard, MI 49780 (906) 478-3771

Minnesota

Q215E060012
$389,787
St. Paul Public Schools Project Director: Kevin Hogan
360 Colborne Street Email: Kevin.Hogan@spps.org
St. Paul, MN 55102 (651) 603-4944

Q215E060332
$399,804
Special School District #1 Project Director: Phil Cognetta
Minneapolis Public Schools Email: phil.cognetta@mpls.k12.mn.us
807 NE Broadway (612) 668-0472
Minneapolis, MN 55413  

Nebraska

Q215E060085
$383,359
Grand Island Public Schools Project Director: Debra Harder
123 South Webb Road Email: dharder@gips.org
Grand Island, NE 68802 (308) 385-5900

New Jersey

Q215E060256
$374,051
Clayton Board of Education Project Director: Lisa Powell
300 West Chestnut Street Email: lpowell@clayton.k12.nj.us
Clayton, NJ 08312 (856) 881-8700

New York

Q215E060412
$400,000
District 1 Project Director: Brian Kaplan
333 Seventh Avenue Email: bkaplan@nycboe.net
New York, NY 10001 (917) 339-1714

Q215E060109
$323,226
Schenectady City School District Project Director: Eric Ely
108 Education Drive Email: elye@schenectady.k12.ny.us
Schenectady, NY 12308 (518) 370-8100

Q215E060284
$399,374
Greece Central School District Project Director: Deborah Leh
P.O. Box 300 Email: deb.leh@greece.k12.ny.us
North Greece, NY 14515 (585) 966-2800

Ohio

Q215E060384
$398,000
Lorain City School District Project Director: Elaine Banks
2350 Pole Avenue Email: ebanks@lorainschools.org
Lorain, OH 44052 (440) 233-2274

Oklahoma

Q215E060444
$333,307
Comanche School District Project Director: Ann Ahern
1030 Ash Avenue Email: annahern@comanche.k12.ok.us
Comanche, OK 73529 (580) 439-2953

Q215E060299
$155,754
Cottonwood Public School Project Director: Teri Brecheen
PO Box 347 Email: teribrecheen@cottonwood.k12.ok.us
Coalgate, OK 74538 (580) 927-2937

Q215E060450
$346,159
Elmore City-Pernell Public Schools Project Director: Jim Smith
100 Muse Avenue Email: jsmith@ecphs.k12.ok.us
Elmore City, OK 73433 (580) 788-2566

South Carolina

Q215E060087
$353,571
Lancaster County School District Project Director: Paul McKenzie
300 S. Catawba Email: pmckenzi@lcsd.k12.sc.us
Lancaster, SC 29720 (803) 416-8862

Q215E060222
$396,020
McCormick County School District Project Director: \Betty Jo Hall
821 North Mine Street Email: hallbj@mccormick.k12.sc.us
McCormick, SC 29835 (864) 852-2435 x224

Tennessee

Q215E060447
$141,511
South Carroll County Spec. School District Project Director: Deborah Barger
145 Clarksburg Road Email: bargerd3@k12tn.net
Clarksburg, TN 38324 (731) 986-3165

Q215E060335
$400,000
Clarksville Montgomery Co. School System Project Director: Vicki Wallace
621 Gracey Avenue Email: vicki.wallace@cmcss.net
Clarksville, TN 37040 (931) 920-7838

Texas

Q215E060120
$373,450
Kenedy Independent School District Project Director: Jim Nichols
401 Highway 719 Email: jnichols@kenedy.isd.tenet.edu
Kenedy, TX 78119 (830) 583-4100

Q215E060474
$310,420
Lake Worth ISD Project Director: Susan Casey
6800 Telephone Road Email: scasey@lwisd.org
Lake Worth, TX 76135 (817) 306-4204

Wisconsin

Q215E060036
$378,867
Milwaukee Public Schools Project Director: Caroline Williams
5225 W. Vliet Street Email: williac2@milwaukee.k12.wi.us
Milwaukee, WI 53208 (414) 475-5174

ABSTRACT

Grantees under this competition will use funds to support counseling programs in target elementary schools. Schools will establish or expand counseling programs through hiring qualified school counselors, school social workers, school psychologists, or child or adolescents psychiatrists with a goal of expanding the range, availability, quantity and quality of counseling services available. Counseling services will use a developmental, prevention approach, and will be designed and implemented with the involvement of parents of the participating students.

To address Government Performance and Results Act measures for the program, grantees will use funds to help them close the gap between their student/mental health professional rations and the student/mental health professional ratios recommended by the statute, and reduce the number of disciplinary referrals in schools participating in the program. Grantees have identified other project-specific goals for that include improved student attendance and academic performance, social skills development, parental involvement, counselor and teacher professional development, and collaboration with community-based organizations that provide mental health and other services to students.


 
Print this page Printable view Bookmark  and Share
Last Modified: 11/29/2007