Skip Program Navigation
Safe Schools-Healthy Students Initiative

Current Section
 Office of Elementary and Secondary Education Home
Fiscal Year 2006 Grant Awards

Since 1999, the U.S. Departments of Education, Health and Human Services, and Justice have collaborated on the Safe Schools/Healthy Students (SS/HS) Initiative. The SS/HS Initiative is a discretionary grant program that provides students, schools, and communities with federal funding to implement an enhanced, coordinated, comprehensive plan of activities, programs, and services that focus on promoting healthy childhood development and preventing violence and alcohol and other drug abuse. Eligible local educational agencies (LEAs) or a consortium of LEAs, in partnership with their community’s local public mental health authority, local law enforcement agency, and local juvenile justice entity, are able to submit a single application for federal funds to support a variety of activities, curriculums, programs, and services.

The SS/HS Initiative draws on the best practices of education, justice, social services, and mental health systems to provide integrated and comprehensive resources for prevention programs and prosocial services for youth. Applicants for awards under the program and their partners proposed an integrated, comprehensive, communitywide, and community-specific plan to address the problems of school violence and alcohol and other drug abuse. This plan focused on six elements:

Element 1: Safe school environment.
Element 2: Alcohol and other drugs and violence prevention and early intervention programs.
Element 3: School and community mental health preventive and treatment intervention services.
Element 4: Early childhood psychosocial and emotional development programs.
Element 5: Supporting and connecting schools and communities.
Element 6: Safe school policies.

SS/HS grantee’s comprehensive plans are designed to provide students, schools, and families with a network of effective services, supports, and activities that help students develop the skills and emotional resilience necessary to promote positive mental health, engage in prosocial behavior, and prevent violent behavior and drug use; create schools and communities that are a safe, disciplined, and drug-free environment; and engage parents, community organizations, and social services agencies to help develop an infrastructure that will institutionalize and sustain successful grant components after federal funding has ended.

SS/HS grant applicants are eligible for 3 consecutive years of funding. Continuation funding is subject to the availability of federal funds and progress achieved by the grantee. The maximum yearly award for SS/HS grants is $1 million for rural school districts and Bureau of Indian Affairs (BIA) schools, $2 million for suburban school districts, and $3 million for urban districts.

In making awards under this grant program, the federal SS/HS partners may (1) take into consideration the geographic distribution and diversity of activities addressed by the projects, in addition to the rank order of the applicant’s scores, and (2) in accordance with Section 75.217 (d) of the Education Department General Administrative Regulations, ensure equitable distribution of grants under this initiative among urban, suburban, rural, and BIA LEAs.

The federal SS/HS partners are making (FY) 2006 from the rank-ordered list of scores of unfunded applicants from the (FY) 2005 competition.


Anaheim City School District
Contact: Sandra Barry, Superintendent
Telephone: 714-517-7500

San Juan Capistrano
Capistrano Unified School District
Contact: Kristen Nelson, Director
Telephone: 949-489-7257

Soledad Unified School District
Contact: Jorge Guzman, Superintendent
Telephone: 831-678-3987

Woodland Joint Unified School District
Contact: Jacki Cottingim, Superintendent
Telephone: 530-662-0201

Lamont School District
Contact: James R. Bates, Superintendent
Telephone: 661-845-0751


Lafayette School District
Contact: Frederic W. Ward, Superintendent
Telephone: 386-294-4107


Dooly County Board of Education
Contact: Dr. John Bembry, Superintendent
Telephone: 229-268-4761


Pittsfield Public Schools
Contact: Dr. Katherine Darlington, Superintendent
Telephone: 413-499-9512


Delta-Schoolcraft Independent School District
Contact: Michael Koster, Superintendent
Telephone: 906-786-9300, ext. 102


Independent School District #709
Contact: Dr. Keith Dixon, Superintendent
Telephone: 218-336-8752


South Sioux City
South Sioux City Community Schools Contact: Steven K. Rector, Superintendent
Telephone: 402-494-2425


St. Lawrence-Lewis BOCES
Contact: Dr. Linda R. Gush, Superintendent
Telephone: 315-386-4504

Enlarged City School District of Middletown
Contact: Kenneth W. Eastwood, Ed.D., Superintendent
Telephone: 845-341-5205


Cherokee County Schools
Contact: Dr. Jeanette Hedrick, Superintendent
Telephone: 828-837-2722


El Reno
El Reno Public Schools
Contact: Jeff Mills, Superintendent
Telephone: 405-262-1703


William Penn School District
Contact: Mr. Dana T. Bedden, Superintendent
Telephone: 610-284-8005


Horry County School District
Contact: Gerrita Postlewait, Superintendent
Telephone: 843-488-6700


San Benito
San Benito Consolidated ISD
Contact: Antonio Limon, Superintendent
Telephone: 956-361-6110


Fremont County School District #38
Contact: Martha Paxton, Acting Superintendent
Telephone: 307-856-9333

Total FY 2006 New Safe Schools/Healthy Students Initiative Grants: $30,913,344

Print this page Printable view Bookmark  and Share
Last Modified: 11/04/2011