PRESS RELEASES
Education Secretary Duncan Announces $11.25 Million to Benefit Working Adults and Displaced Workers Enrolled in Community Colleges
Archived Information


FOR RELEASE:
October 09, 2009
Contact: Jane Glickman or Stephanie Babyak
(202) 401-1576 or

The U.S. Department of Education today announced the award of $11.25 million in grants for 29 projects to benefit working adults and displaced workers pursuing degrees or credentials in community colleges. The grants will focus on preparing adult learners with the marketable skills and knowledge to address employer needs in high-growth occupations.

"The Obama Administration is committed to helping displaced workers and adult learners garner the training and support they need to succeed in the workplace, especially during these trying economic times," Secretary Duncan said. "These grants give community colleges an opportunity to tailor their activities and instruction to meet the unique needs of adult learners, many of whom must retrain to re-enter the 21st century workforce with newly honed skills."

The grants are administered by the Fund for the Improvement of Postsecondary Education (FIPSE), which supports reforms, innovations, and significant improvements of postsecondary education that serve as national models. Under the FIPSE program, the Secretary may make grants for special projects that respond to problems of national significance and need. This year, the Secretary authorized a special focus competition seeking innovative strategies in community colleges for working adults and displaced workers.

Located in 20 states, the 29 grantees include community colleges, sometimes in combination with other institutions of higher education and public and private nonprofit institutions and agencies. Projects encompass a wide-range of activities depending on the needs of the grantee's student population, including academic remediation, tutoring, counseling and a variety of support services. Some projects will use distance learning for outreach to a diverse audience of adult learners.

Funding announced today is for two years of the three-year projects. The third year will be funded in fiscal year 2011.

Following is a list of grantees, by state, city, contact information and grant amounts.

CA -- HAYWARD -- Chabot-Las Positas Community College District - Chabot College, Matthew Kritscher, mkritscher@chabotcollege.edu, $400,000.

CA -- LOS ANGELES -- University of California, Los Angeles, Janet Frank, jcfrank@ucla.edu, $388,318.

CA -- STOCKTON -- San Joaquin Delta College, Matthew Wetstein, mwetstein@deltacollege.edu, $436,723.

CO -- FORT COLLINS -- Colorado State University, Bryan Dik, bryan.dik@colostate.edu, $482,906.

CT -- NEWINGTON -- Connecticut Distance Learning Consortium, Diane Goldsmith, dgoldsmith@ctdlc.org, $375,000.

FL -- JACKSONVILLE -- Florida State College at Jacksonville, Patricia Levine-Brown, plevine@fccj.edu, $476,800.

GA -- WACO -- West Georgia Technical College, Peter Snell, peter.snell@westgatech.edu, $408,808.

IL -- GODFREY -- Lewis and Clark Community College, George Banziger, gbanziger@lc.edu, $294,158.

KY -- MAYSVILLE -- Maysville Community and Technical College, Dana Calland, dana.calland@kctcs.edu, $330,584.

MA -- BOSTON -- Urban College of Boston, Linda Turner, turner@urbancollege.edu, $398,200.

MA -- DANVERS -- North Shore Community College, Susan Anderson, sanderso@northshore.edu, $380,000.

MN -- PINE CITY -- Pine Technical College, John Heckman, heckmanj@pinetech.edu, $200,000.

NC -- DOBSON -- Surry Community College, Candace Holder, holderc@surry.edu, $350,000.

NC -- HAMLET -- Richmond Community College, Carl Howald, carlh@richmondcc.edu, $350,000.

NY -- ALBANY -- Excelsior College, David Seelow, dseelow@excelsior.edu, $381,609.

NY -- BROOKLYN -- Kingsborough Community College, David Gomez, dgomez@kingsborough.edu, $439,517.

OH -- ELYRIA -- Lorain County Community College, James Shanahan, jshanaha@lorainccc.edu, $380,000.

PA -- BETHLEHEM -- Northampton County Area Community College, $402,066.

PA -- PITTSBURGH -- Community College of Allegheny County, Reginald Overton, roverton@ccac.edu, $524,397.

TN -- HARRIMAN -- Roane State Community College, Sarah Thomason, thomasonsk@roanestate.edu, $268,571.

TX -- DALLAS -- Wilkinson Center, Heidi Hodges, heidi_hodges@wilkinsoncenter.org, $358,800.

VA -- CHARLOTTESVILLE -- Piedmont Virginia Community College, Kathleen Hudson, khudson@pvcc.edu, $365,487.

VA -- RICHMOND -- J. Sargeant Reynolds Community College, Genene LeRosen, glerosen@reynolds.edu, $236,049.

WA -- BELLINGHAM -- Bellingham Technical College, Patricia McKeown, pmckeown@btc.ctc.edu, $350,000.

WA -- EVERETT -- Workforce Development Council Snohomish County, Amy Persell, amy.persell@wdcsc.org, $496,696.

WI -- KENOSHA -- Gateway Technical College, Michael O'Donnell, odonnellm@gtc.edu, $497,938.

WI -- MADISON -- Madison Area Technical College, Kathleen Radionoff, kradionoff@matcmadison.edu, $453,509.

WI -- MILWAUKEE -- Milwaukee Area Tech College, Michael Benner, bennerm@matc.edu, $350,001.

WV -- CHARLESTON -- West Virginia Higher Education Policy Council, West Virginia Community and Technical College System, Sidney Valentine, valentine@wvctcs.org, $476,209.

###

Top

Back to October 2009

 
Print this page Printable view Bookmark  and Share
Last Modified: 10/09/2009