[Federal Register: February 14, 2000 (Volume 65, Number 30)]
[Page 7370]
From the Federal Register Online via GPO Access [wais.access.gpo.gov]



National Advisory Committee on Institutional Quality and
Integrity; Notice of Members

AGENCY: National Advisory Committee on Institutional Quality and
Integrity, Department of Education.

What Is the Purpose of This Notice?

    The purpose of this notice is to list the members of the National
Advisory Committee on Institutional Quality and Integrity (National
Advisory Committee) and to give the public the opportunity to nominate
candidates for the positions to be vacated by those members whose terms
will expire on September 30, 2000. This notice is required under
Section 114(c) of the Higher Education Act (HEA), as amended by Public
Law 105-244.

What Is the Role of the National Advisory Committee?

    The National Advisory Committee is established under Section 114 of
the HEA, as amended, and is composed of 15 members appointed by the
Secretary of Education from among individuals who are representatives
of, or knowledgeable concerning, education and training beyond
secondary education, including representatives of all sectors and type
of institutions of higher education.
    The National Advisory Committee meets at least twice a year and
provides recommendations to the Secretary of Education pertaining to:
     The establishment and enforcement of criteria for
recognition of accrediting agencies or associations under subpart 2 of
part H of Title IV, HEA.
     The recognition of specific accrediting agencies or
     The preparation and publication of the list of nationally
recognized accrediting agencies and associations.
    As the Committee deems necessary or on request, the Committee also
advises the Secretary about:
     The eligibility and certification process for institutions
of higher education under Title IV, HEA.
     The development of standards and criteria for specific
categories of vocational training institutions and institutions of
higher education for which there are no recognized accrediting
agencies, associations, or State agencies in order to establish the
interim eligibility of those institutions to participate in Federally
funded programs.
     The relationship between: (1) Accreditation of
institutions of higher education and the certification and eligibility
of such institutions, and (2) State licensing responsibilities with
respect to such institutions.
     Any other advisory functions relating to accreditation and
institutional eligibility that the Secretary may prescribe.

What Are the Terms of Office for Committee Members?

    The term of office of each member is 3 years, except that any
member appointed to fill a vacancy occurring prior to the expiration of
the term for which the member's predecessor was appointed is appointed
for the remainder of the term. A member may be appointed, at the
Secretary's discretion, to serve more than one term.

Who Are the Current Members of the Committee?

    The current members of the National Advisory Committee are:

Members With Terms Expiring 9/30/00

Dr. David W. Adamany, president emeritus and distinguished professor of
law and political science, Wayne State University, Michigan
Mr. Robert L. Hawkins, superintendent, Colorado Mental Health Institute
Dr. Tanya L. Pollard, assistant professor, English Department,
Macalester College, Minnesota
Dr. Eleanor P. Vreeland, chairman, Barland, Inc., New York
Dr. John A. Yena, president, Johnson && Wales University, Rhode Island

Members With Terms Expiring 09/30/01

Mrs. Wilhelmina R. Delco (committee chairperson), retired member of
Texas House of Representatives
Dr. Alfredo G. de los Santos, Jr., Vice Chancellor Emeritus, Maricopa
Community Colleges, Arizona
Dr. Kenneth B. Orr, president emeritus, Presbyterian College, South
Dr. Robert L. Potts, president, University of North Alabama
Dr. Richard F. Rosser, president of the Presidents' Group, Wisconsin

Members With Terms Expiring 9/30/02

Mr. Gordon M. Ambach (committee vice chairperson), executive director,
Council of Chief State School Officers, Washington, DC
Dr. Norman Francis, president, Xavier University of Louisiana
Dr. George A. Pruitt, president, Thomas A. Edison State College, New
Dr. Norma S. Rees, president, California State University, Hayward
Hon. Thomas P. Salmon, chair of the board, Green Mountain Power
Corporation, Vermont

How Do I Nominate an Individual for Appointment as a Committee

    If you would like to nominate an individual for appointment to the
Committee, send the following information to the Committee's Executive
    * a cover letter that provides your reason(s) for nominating
the individual; and
    * contact information for the nominee (name, title, business
address, and business phone and fax numbers) and a copy of the
nominee's resume.
    The information must be sent by March 30, 2000 to the following
address: Bonnie LeBold, Executive Director, National Advisory
Committee, U.S. Department of Education, 7th Floor, Rm. 7107, 1990 K
St., NW, Washington, DC 20006.

How Can I Get Additional Information?

    If you have any specific questions about the nomination process or
general questions about the National Advisory Committee, please contact
Ms. Bonnie LeBold, the Committee's Executive Director, by phone at
(202) 219-7009, by fax at (202) 219-7008, or by e-mail at
Bonnie__LeBold@ed.gov between 9 a.m. and 5 p.m., Monday through Friday.

    Authority: 20 U.S.C. 1011c.

A. Lee Fritschler,
Assistant Secretary for Postsecondary Education.
[FR Doc. 00-3348 Filed 2-11-00; 8:45 am]