FR Doc 06-9551
[Federal Register: December 6, 2006 (Volume 71, Number 234)]
[Page 70745]
From the Federal Register Online via GPO Access []

[[Page 70745]]
Download: download files


Safe and Drug-Free Schools and Communities Advisory Committee

AGENCY: Office of Safe And Drug-Free Schools.

ACTION: Notice of open teleconference meeting.


SUMMARY: This notice sets forth the schedule and proposed agenda of an 
upcoming open meeting of The Safe and Drug-Free Schools and Communities 
Advisory Committee. The notice also describes the functions of the 
Committee. Notice of this meeting is required by section 10(a)(2) of 
the Federal Advisory Committee Act and is intended to notify the public 
of their opportunity to attend. This notice is appearing in the Federal 
Register less than 15 days before the meeting due to difficulties in 
scheduling within the Agency.
    Date: Monday, December 18, 2006.
    Time: 2 p.m. EST.
    Address: The Committee will meet by telephone conference call.

FOR FURTHER INFORMATION CONTACT: Catherine Davis, Executive Director, 
The Safe and Drug-Free Schools and Communities Advisory Committee, Room 
1E110B, 400 Maryland Avenue, SW., Washington, DC, telephone: (202) 205-
4169, e-mail:

SUPPLEMENTARY INFORMATION: The Committee was established to provide 
advice to the Secretary on Federal, State and local programs designed 
to create safe and drug-free schools, and on issues related to crisis 
planning. The agenda for the December 18th meeting will include 
discussion to prepare for a January 16-17, 2007 meeting to be conducted 
by the Advisory Committee, including developing an agenda and 
identifying possible participants.
    There will not be an opportunity for public comment during the 
December 18th meeting. However the public may listen to the conference 
call by calling 800-473-8796, Teleconference Chairperson: Deborah 
Price. Individuals who need accommodations for a disability in order to 
listen to the meeting may access a TYY line by calling 800-473-8796, 
Teleconference Chairperson: Deborah Price.
    Request for Written Comments: We invite the public to submit 
written comments relevant to the focus of the Advisory Committee. We 
would like to receive written comments from members of the public no 
later than April 30, 2007.

ADDRESSES: Submit all comments to the Advisory Committee using one of 
the following methods: 1. Internet. We encourage the public to submit 
comments through the Internet to the following address: 
2. Mail. The public may also submit comments via mail to Catherine 
Davis, Office of Safe and Drug Free Schools, U.S. Department of 
Education, 400 Maryland Avenue, SW., Room 1E110B, Washington, DC 20202. 
Due to delays in mail delivery caused by heightened security, please 
allow adequate time for the mail to be received.
    Records are kept of all Committee proceedings and are available for 
public inspection at the staff office for the Committee from the hours 
of 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.

Ray Simon,
Deputy Secretary, U.S. Department of Education.
[FR Doc. 06-9551 Filed 12-5-06; 8:45 am]