FR Doc 04-6055
[Federal Register: March 18, 2004 (Volume 69, Number 53)]
[Page 12839-12840]
From the Federal Register Online via GPO Access []
Download: PDF Version


National Advisory Committee on Institutional Quality and 
Integrity; Notice of Members

AGENCY: National Advisory Committee on Institutional Quality and 
Integrity, Department of Education.

What Is the Purpose of This Notice?

    The purpose of this notice is to list the members of the National 
Advisory Committee on Institutional Quality and Integrity (National 
Advisory Committee) and to give the public the opportunity to nominate 
candidates for the positions to be vacated by those members whose terms 
will expire on September 30, 2004. This notice is required under 
section 114(c) of the Higher Education Act (HEA), as amended.

What Is the Role of the National Advisory Committee?

    The National Advisory Committee is established under section 114 of 
the HEA, as amended, and is composed of 15 members appointed by the 
Secretary of Education from among individuals who are representatives 
of, or knowledgeable concerning, education and training beyond 
secondary education, including representatives of all sectors and type 
of institutions of higher education.
    The National Advisory Committee meets at least twice a year and 
provides recommendations to the Secretary of Education pertaining to:
     The establishment and enforcement of criteria 
for recognition of accrediting agencies or associations under subpart 2 
of part H of Title IV, HEA.
     The recognition of specific accrediting agencies 
or associations.
     The preparation and publication of the list of 
nationally recognized accrediting agencies and associations.
    As the Committee deems necessary or on request, the Committee also 
advises the Secretary about:
     The eligibility and certification process for 
institutions of higher education under Title IV, HEA.
     The development of standards and criteria for 
specific categories of vocational training institutions and

[[Page 12840]]

institutions of higher education for which there are no recognized 
accrediting agencies, associations, or State agencies in order to 
establish the interim eligibility of those institutions to participate 
in Federally funded programs.
     The relationship between (1) accreditation of 
institutions of higher education and the certification and eligibility 
of such institutions, and (2) State licensing responsibilities with 
respect to such institutions.
     Any other advisory functions relating to 
accreditation and institutional eligibility that the Secretary may 

What Are the Terms of Office for Committee Members?

    The term of office of each member is 3 years, except that any 
member appointed to fill a vacancy occurring prior to the expiration of 
the term for which the member's predecessor was appointed is appointed 
for the remainder of the term. A member may be appointed, at the 
Secretary's discretion, to serve more than one term.

Who Are the Current Members of the Committee?

    The current members of the National Advisory Committee are:

Members With Terms Expiring 9/30/04

     Dr. Robert C. Andringa, President, Council for 
Christian Colleges and Universities, Washington, DC
     Dr. Lawrence W. Burt, Director, Office of 
Student Financial Services, University of Texas at Austin
     Dr. Lawrence J. DeNardis, President, University 
of New Haven, Connecticut
     Mr. Steven W. McCullough, Executive Director, 
Iowa Student Loan Liquidity Corporation
     Dr. Laura Palmer Noone, President, University of 
Phoenix, Arizona

Members With Terms Expiring 9/30/05

     Honorable Randolph A. Beales, Former Attorney 
General of Virginia, and Attorney at Law, Christian & Barton, LLP, 
     Dr. Karen A. Bowyer, President, Dyersburg State 
Community College, Tennessee
     Dr. Gerrit W. Gong, Assistant to the President, 
Brigham Young University, Utah
     Mr. Donald R. McAdams, President, Center for 
Reform of School Systems, Texas
     Dr. George A. Pruitt, President, Thomas A. 
Edison State College, New Jersey

Members with Terms Expiring 9/30/06

     Mr. Ronald S. Blumenthal, Vice President, 
Operations, Kaplan, Inc., New York, and Vice President, Accreditation, 
Kaplan College, Iowa
     Dr. Carol D'Amico, Chancellor, Ivy Tech State 
College, Central Indiana
     Dr. Thomas E. Dillon, President, Thomas Aquinas 
College, California
     Mr. David Johnson, III, Student, Brigham Young 
University and University of Utah
     Dr. Ronald F. Mason, Jr., President, Jackson 
State University, Mississippi

How Do I Nominate an Individual for Appointment as a Committee Member?

    If you would like to nominate an individual for appointment to the 
Committee, send the following information to the Committee's Executive 
     A copy of the nominee's resume; and
     a cover letter that provides your reason(s) for 
nominating the individual and contact information for the nominee 
(name, title, business address, and business phone and fax numbers).
    The information must be sent by June 15, 2004, to the following 
address: Bonnie LeBold, Executive Director, National Advisory Committee 
on Institutional Quality and Integrity, U.S. Department of Education, 
room 7007, MS 7592, 1990 K Street, NW, Washington, DC 20006.

How Can I Get Additional Information?

    If you have any specific questions about the nomination process or 
general questions about the National Advisory Committee, please contact 
Ms. Bonnie LeBold, the Committee's Executive Director, telephone: (202) 
219-7009, fax: (202) 219-7008, e-mail: between 9 
a.m. and 5 p.m., Monday through Friday.

    Authority: 20 U.S.C. 1011c.

    Dated: March 12, 2004.
Sally L. Stroup,
Assistant Secretary for Postsecondary Education.
[FR Doc. 04-6055 Filed 3-17-04; 8:45 am]