About ED OFFICES


OPE: Office of Postsecondary Education
Current Section
Staff Contacts
International and Foreign Language Education Service


The International and Foreign Language Education (IFLE) office comprises two divisions which house several Title VI, Title VII, and Fulbright-Hays programs. Each division is led by a Division Director. Please find additional information below.

Office of the Deputy Assistant Secretary

Mohamed Abdel-Kader, Deputy Assistant Secretary for IFLE
Telephone: (202) 502-7700
E-mail: mohamed.abdel-kader@ed.gov

Lenore Yaffee Garcia, Senior Director
Telephone: (202) 502-7576
E-mail: lenore.garcia@ed.gov

Cindy Fisher, Program Specialist
Telephone: (202) 502-7509
E-mail: cindy.fisher@ed.gov

Sara Starke, Management/Program Analyst
Telephone: (202) 502-7688
E-mail: sara.starke@ed.gov

Michelle Butler, Program Specialist
Telephone: (202) 502-7623
E-mail: michelle.butler@ed.gov

Top

Advanced Training and Research Division (ATRD)

Cheryl Gibbs, Director and Senior Program Officer
Telephone: (202) 502-7634
E-mail: cheryl.gibbs@ed.gov
Programs: American Overseas Research Centers; Foreign Language and Area Studies Fellowships and National Resource Centers (East Asia, Southeast Asia/Pacific Islands)

Dr. Timothy Duvall, Senior Program Officer
Telephone: (202) 502-7622
E-mail: timothy.duvall@ed.gov
Programs: Centers for International Business Education; Foreign Language and Area Studies Fellowships and National Resource Centers (Russia/Eastern Europe); United States-Russia Program: Improving Research and Educational Activities in Higher Education

Kate Maloney, Program Officer
Telephone: (202) 502-7521
E-mail: kate.maloney@ed.gov
Programs: Foreign Language and Area Studies Fellowships; National Resource Centers (Canada, Latin America, and Western Europe); and U.S.-Brazil Higher Education Consortia Program; European Union-United States Atlantis Program; Program for North American Mobility in Higher Education

Dr. Stephanie McKissic, Program Officer
Telephone: (202) 502-7589
E-mail: stephanie.mckissic@ed.gov
Programs: Foreign Language and Area Studies Fellowships and National Resource Centers (Africa, Middle East, and International)

ATRD Support Staff

Mone’t Peterson-Cox, Program Administration Assistant
Telephone: (202) 502-7726
E-mail: monet.peterson-cox@ed.gov

Top

International Studies Division (ISD)

Michelle Guilfoil, Acting Director and Outreach and Public Relations
Telephone: (202) 502-7625
E-mail: michelle.guilfoil@ed.gov

Dr. Pamela Maimer, Senior Program Officer
Telephone: (202) 502-7704
E-mail: pamela.maimer@ed.gov
Programs: International Research and Studies; Fulbright-Hays Training Grants - Doctoral Dissertation Research Abroad; Language Resource Centers

Reha Mallory, Program Officer
Telephone: (202) 502-7605
E-mail: reha.mallory@ed.gov
Programs: Fulbright-Hays Training Grants - Group Projects Abroad

Tanyelle Richardson, Senior Program Officer
Telephone: (202) 502-7626
E-mail: tanyelle.richardson@ed.gov
Programs: Fulbright-Hays Training Grants - Group Projects Abroad; Language Resource Centers; Undergraduate International Studies and Foreign Language

Carla White, Program Officer
Telephone: (202) 502-7631
E-mail: carla.white@ed.gov
Programs: Business and International Education; Technological Innovation and Cooperation for Foreign Information Access; Undergraduate International Studies and Foreign Language Program

ISD Support Staff

Cindy Fisher, Program Specialist
Telephone: (202) 502-7509
E-mail: cindy.fisher@ed.gov

Top

IFLE Home | Staff Biographies


 
Print this page Printable view Bookmark  and Share
Last Modified: 12/18/2014