OFFICES


OESE: Office of Elementary and Secondary Education
Current Section
Even Start State Coordinators and Federal Administration Contacts
Academic Improvement and Teacher Quality Programs

You are here: OESE Home > Programs/Initiatives > AITQ

General Contact Information

To obtain contact information for Even Start programs within your State, please select the appropriate State from the alphabetical listing. To update Even Start Family Literacy Programs contact information on this listing, please e-mail Deborah.Spitz@ed.gov.

Office of Academic Improvement and Teacher Quality
Office of Elementary and Secondary Education
U.S. Department of Education
400 Maryland Avenue, SW
(Room 3E230-FOB-6)
Washington, D.C. 20202-6132
(202) 260-3793

The Council of Chief State School Officers maintains a link to every State Department of Education's website.

Even Start State Coordinators & Websites


A L A B A M A

Sallye R. Longshore
Federal Programs Administrator
AL Department of Education
P.O. Box 302101
Gordon Persons Building, Room 5348
50 North Ripley Street
Montgomery, Alabama 36130-2101
(334) 242-8199
(334) 242-0496 fax
slongshore@alsde.edu

A L A S K A

Sheila Box
Even Start Coordinator
AK Department of Education and Early Development
801 West 10th Street, Suite 200
Juneau, Alaska 99801-1878
(907) 465-8743
(907) 465-2989 fax
Sheila.Box@alaska.gov

A R I Z O N A
Terry Doolan
Arizona Department of Education
Early Childhood Education
Head Start State Collaboration Office
School Effectiveness Division
1535 W. Jefferson Street, Bin #15
Phoenix, Arizona 85007
Telephone: (602) 542-1137
FAX (602) 258-2730
Terry.Doolan@azed.gov

A R K A N S A S

Cindy Hogue, Coordinator
Homeless and Even Start Family Literacy Programs
Arkansas Department of Education
#4 Capitol Mall, Room 110-B
Little Rock, Arkansas 72201
(501) 682-5615
(501) 683-5391 fax
Cindy.Hogue@arkansas.gov

C A L I F O R N I A
Greg Hudson, Administrator
Even Start Office Child Development Division
CA Department of Education
1430 N Street, Suite 3410
Sacramento, California 95814-5901
(916) 323-1300
(916) 319-0135 fax
ghudson@cde.ca.gov

California's family literacy webpage

C O L O R A D O
Kathryn Smukler
Department of Education
1560 Broadway, Suite 1450
Denver, Colorado 80203
(303) 866-6842
Smukler_K@cde.state.co.us

The following documents are available from Colorado's family literacy website:

C O N N E C T I C U T
Judy Carson
Connecticut Department of Education
Divison of Family and Student Support Programs
Bureau of Health.Nutrition, Family Services and Adult Education
25 Industrial Park Road
Middletown, Connecticut 06457
(860) 807-2122
(860) 807-2127 fax
Judy Carson@ct.gov

The following documents are available from Connecticut's family literacy website:

D E L A W A R E
Malorie Drake Derby
DE Department of Public Instruction
35 Commerce Way, Suite #2
Dover, Delaware 19904
(302) 857-3344
(302) 739-1770fax
mderby@doe.k12.de.us

D I S T R I C T   O F   C O L U M B I A

J. Michelle Johnson, OSSE Adult and Family Education
State Director/Even Start State Coordinator
51 N. Street, NE
7th Floor
Washington, DC 20002
(202) 741-5535
(202) 741-0229 (fax)
jmichelle.johnson@dc.gov

The following documents are available from DC's family literacy website:

F L O R I D A

Toshiba Griffin
Agency for Workforce Innocation
Even Start/Head Start State Collobration Office
Caldwell Building, MSC #140
107 E. Madison Street
Tallahassee, Florida 32399-4143
(850) 921-3481
(850) 488-7099fax
Toshiba.Griffin@flaawi.com

Michelle Sizemore
Educational Policy Consultant
Office of Early Learning
Florida Department of Education
325 West Gaines Street, Suite 1524
Tallahassee, Florida 32399-0400
(850) 245-1505 (office and fax)
Michelle.Sizemore@fldoe.org

G E O R G I A
Georgia Thomas
Even Start Coordinator
Bright for the Start: Georgia Department of Early Care and Learning
10 Park Place South, Suite 200
Atlanta, Georgia 30303
(404) 657-5729
(404) 657-7184 fax
Georgia.Thomas@decal.ga.gov
Barbara Lunsford
Associate Superintendent, Education Support
Georgia Department of Education
1858 Twin Towers East
205 Jesse Hill Jr. Drive, SE
Atlanta, Georgia 30334
(404) 463-4156
blunsford@doe.k12.ga.us

H A W A I I
Solomon Kaulukukui
Sharon Nakagawa
HI Department of Education
Special Programs Management Section 475 22nd Ave., Rm 126
Honolulu, Hawaii 96816
(808) 733-9150 (Office)
(808) 228-0237
(808) 735-8375 (fax)
Solomon_Jr._Kaulukukui@notes.k12.hi.us

The following documents are available from Hawaii's family literacy website:

I D A H O
Mary Kaufman
Even Start Evaluation/Coordinator Idaho State Department of Education
650 West State Street
P.O. Box 83720
Boise, Idaho 83720-0027
(208) 521-9417
(208) 334-2228 fax
kaufman.mary001@gmail.com

Idaho's family literacy website

I L L I N O I S
Cindy Zumwalt
Even Start Coordinator
Illinois State Board of Education
100 North First Street, E-225
Springfield, Illinois 62777-0001
(217) 524-4835
(217) 785-7849 fax
czumwalt@isbe.net

Illinois Even Start webpage

I N D I A N A
Dana Jones
Early Childhood Specialist
IN Department of Education
Room 229, State House
Indianapolis, Indiana 46204
(317) 232-6523
(317) 233-9293 (fax)
djones@doe.in.gov

Indiana education webpage

I O W A
Tom Rendon
Iowa Department of Education
Bureau of Children, Family and Community Services
Grimes State Office Building
400 East 14th Street
Des Moines, Iowa 50310
(515) 326-5389
(515) 242-6019 fax
Tom.Rendon@iowa.gov

K A N S A S
Does Not Have An Even Start Program

K E N T U C K Y
Annie Rooney French
Even Start State Coordinator
Division of Early Childhood Development
Kentucky Department of Education
500 Mero Street, Capital Plaza Tower
17th Floor,
Frankfort, Kentucky 40601
(502) 564-7056
(502) 564-1984 fax
Annie.French@education.ky.gov

Kentucky's State Department of Education. Enter Even Start in the Search box for related documents.

L O U I S I A N A

Anita Ashford, Even Start Coordinator
LA Department of Education
P.O. Box 94064
Baton Rouge, Louisiana 70804-9064
(225) 342-0223
(225) 219-4439 fax
Anita.Ashford@la.gov

M A I N E
Robert "Bob" McIntire
Department of Education
23 State House Station
Augusta, Maine 04333
(207) 624-6778
bob.mcintire@maine.gov

The following documents are available from Maine's family literacy website:

M A R Y L A N D
Valerie A. Ashton, Coordinator
Even Start Family Literacy
MD Department of Education
200 West Baltimore Street, 4th floor
Baltimore, Maryland 21201
(410) 767-0314
(410) 333-8110 fax
Vashton@msde.state.md.us

The following documents are available from Maryland's family literacy website:

M A S S A C H U S E T T S
Arlene Dale, State Coordinator
Even Start
MA Department of Education
350 Main Street
Malden, Massachusetts 02148
(781) 338-3878
(781) 338-3394 fax
adale@doe.mass.edu

Massachusetts' family literacy webpage

M I C H I G A N
Renee DeMars-Johnson, Coordinator
Office of Early Childhood Education and Family Services
MI Department of Education
P.O. Box 30008
Lansing, Michigan 48909
or 608 West Allegan Street
Hannah Building, 4th floor
Lansing, Michigan 48933
(517) 373-8483 or 241-0162
(517) 335-0592 fax
DeMars-JohnsonR@michigan.gov

The following documents are available from Michigan's family literacy website:

M I N N E S O T A
Wayne Kuklinski
Early Learning Services
MN Department of Education
1500 Highway 36 West
Roseville, Minnesota 55113
(651) 582-8385
(651) 582-8494 fax
wayne.kuklinski@state.mn.us

M I S S I S S I P P I
Lakechia Grant
Accouonting Specialist Senior
Mississippi Department of Education
The Office of Reading/Early Childhood and
Language Arts
239 North Lamar St.
Robert E. Lee Building, Ste. 404
Jackson, MS 39201
(601) 359-2328
(601) 359-1818 fax
lgrant@mde.k12.ms.us
Tammie Shaifer
359 North West St.
Jackson, MS 39201
(601) 359-3778 Phone
(601) 359-1836 Direct (601) 359-1818 fax
tshaifer@mde.k12.ms.us

M I S S O U R I
Kathy Parris
Supervisor & Coordinator of Missouri Even Start Office of Quality Schools, MO Dept. of Elementary and Secondary Education
P.O. Box 480, 205 Jefferson Street
Jefferson City, Missouri 65102-0480
(573) 751-5386
(573) 526-6698
Kathy.Parris@dese.mo.gov

Missouri's family literacy webpage

M O N T A N A
Joan Morris, Specialist
ESEA, Title I/Even Start
Office of Public Instruction
State Capitol
P.O. Box 202501
Helena, Montana 59620-2501
(406) 444-5660
(406) 444-3924 fax
jmorris@mt.us

The following documents are available from Montana's family literacy website:

N E B R A S K A
Eleanor Kirkland, State Coordinator
NE Department of Education
301 Centennial Mall South
Box 94987
Lincoln, Nebraska 68509-4987
(402) 471-3501
(402) 471-0117 fax
eleanor.kirkland@nebraska.gov

Nebraska's family literacy webpage

N E V A D A
Fawn Lewis
Title I / Even Start
NV Department of Education
700 East 5th Street, #113
Carson City, Nevada 89701-5096
(775) 687-9214
(775) 687-9120 fax
flewis@doe.nv.gov

N E W   H A M P S H I R E
Barbara Patch
NH Department of Education
101 Pleasant Street
Concord, New Hampshire 03301
(603) 271-2273
(603) 271-2760 fax
BPatch@ed.state.nh.us

N E W   J E R S E Y
Crystal Siniari
Literacy Specialist
Office of Language Arts Literacy Education
New Jersey Department of Education
P.O. Box 500
100 River View Plaza
Trenton, New Jersey 08625-0500
(609) 984-6163 office
(609) 633-1726 main
(609) 943-4752 fax
crystal.siniari@doe.state.nj.us

N E W   M E X I C O
Vonell Huitt, Even Start Coordinator
State of New Mexico
Public Education Department
5600 Eagle Rock Ave., NE
Albuquerque, NM 87113
(505) 222-4768
(505) 827-7611 fax
Vonell.Huitt@state.nm.us

N E W   Y O R K
DeSylvia W. Dwyer
NY State Education Department
Early Education and Reading Initiative
89 Washington Avenue, Room 381EBA
Albany, New York 12234
(518) 474-5807
(518) 474-7290 fax
ddwyer@mail.nysed.gov

The following documents are available from New York's family literacy webpage:

N O R T H   C A R O L I N A
Don Carter, Even Start Coordinator
2075 Mail Service Center
Raleigh, North Carolina 27699-2075
(919) 981-5300
(919) 616-5595 cell
(919) 858-6940 fax
don.carter@ncmail.net

N O R T H   D A K O T A
Dale Patrick, Program Administrator
Educational Support & Community Learning
ND Department of Public Instruction
600 East Boulevard Avenue, Dept. 201
Bismarck, North Dakota 58505-0440
(701) 328-1644
(701) 328-4770 fax
dpatrick@state.nd.us

North Dakota's family literacy webpage

O H I O
Helen O'Leary
Office of Early Childhood Education and School Readiness
OH Department of Education
25 S. Front Street, Mail Stop 305
Columbus, Ohio 43215-4183
(614) 752-5807
(614) 728-2338 fax
helen.oleary@ode.state.oh.us

O K L A H O M A
Corina Ene,
Program Specialist for Titles I, II, VI
Oklahoma Dept. of Education
2500 North Lincoln Boulevard
Oklahoma City, OK 73105
(405) 522-1929
(405) 521- 2998 fax
Corina_Ene@sde.state.ok.us
Andrea Wheeler, M.Ed
Executive Director, Titles I, IIA, VI and X
Team Leader, Reading First >br /> Oklahoma State Department of Education
2500 North Lincoln Boulevard
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma 73105-4599
(405) 522-5310
(405) 521- 2998 fax
Andrea_Wheeler@sde.state.ok.us
Kristi Kretchmar, M.Ed
Program Specialist
Reading First, Titles IA, IIA, VI, Even Start
Oklahoma State Department of Education
2500 North Lincoln Boulevard, Suite 316
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma 73105-4599
(405) 522-6249
(405) 522- 5779 Kristi_Kretchmar@sde.state.ok.us
http://sde.state.ok us

O R E G O N
Nancy Johnson-Dorn
Director of Early Childhood Unit
Early Childhood Education -
255 Capitol Street, NE
Salem, Oregon 97310
(503) 947-5703
(503) 378-5156 fax
nancy.johnson-dorn@state.or.us

The following information is available from Oregon's family literacy webpage

P E N N S Y L V A N I A
Susan Mansuetti
Family Literacy Advisor
Bureau of Adult Basic and Literacy Education PA Department of Education
333 Market Street, 12th Floor
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania 17126-0333
(717) 214-4388
(717) 783-0583 fax
smansuetti@state.pa.us

The following information is available from Pennsylvania's family literacy webpage

P U E R T O   R I C O
Maria del Carmen Martinez Alonso
Puerto Rico Even Start Program
Puerto Rico Department of Education
P.O. Box 190759
San Juan, Puerto Rico 00919-0759
(787) 773-2043
(787) 764-7108 or 751-7469 fax
Martinez_Ma@DE.GOBIERNO.pr

R H O D E   I S L A N D
Kim Chouinard
Rhode Island Department of Education
Adult Literacy
Room 600, Shepard Building
255 Westminster Street
Providence, Rhode Island 02903
(401) 222-8477
(401) 222-4256 fax
Kim.Chouinard@ride.ri.net

S O U T H   C A R O L I N A
Ruth Nodine, Even Start State Coordinator
SC Department of Education
Office of Community and Parent Services
Landmark II, Suite 101
3700 Forest Drive
Columbia, South Carolina 29204-4010
(803) 734-3540
(803) 734-8343 fax
rnodine@ed.sc.gov

South Carolina's family literacy webpage

S O U T H   D A K O T A
Kari Senger or Jill Cotton
Even Start Coordinator
South Dakota Department of Education
800 Governor's Drive
Pierre, SD 57501
Kari's Phone: (605) 773-4257
Jill's Phone: (605) 773-4693
(605) 773-3782 fax

South Dakota's family literacy webpage

T E N N E S S E E
Tabatha Siddiqi
Even Start Statewide Coordinator
Tennessee Department of Education
Office of Early Learning
710 James Robertson Parkway
Andrew Johnson Tower, 9th Floor
Nashville, Tennessee 37243
(615) 532-6310
(615) 532-4989 fax
Tabatha.Siddiqi@state.tn.us

T E X A S
Joanie Rethlake
Director of Adult Ed. & Family Literacy
6311 Irvington Blvd.
Houston,Texas 77055
(713) 696-0700
(713) 696-0703 (direct line)
(713) 696-0797 fax
jrethlake@hcde-texas.org

Beth Thompson, CFLE
State Even Start & Family Literacy Coordinator
Texas LEARNS
6311 Irvington Blvd.
Houston,Texas 77055
(713) 696-0765
ethompson@hcde-texas.org

Texas' family literacy webpage

U T A H
Lucy Minahan
Even Start Administrator
P.O. Box 144200
250 East 500 South
Salt Lake City, Utah 84114-4200
(435) 640-9266
(801) 538-7769 fax
Lucy.Minahan@schools.utah.gov
Nancy Livingston
P.O. Box 144200
250 East 500 South
Salt Lake City, Utah 84114-4200
(801) 538-7586
V E R M O N T
Deborah Quackenbush
VT Department of Education
120 State Street
Montpelier, Vermont 05620
(802) 828-5877
(802) 828-0573 fax
deb.quackenbush@state.vt.us

Vermont's education webpage

V I R G I N I A
Cheryl P. Strobel
Early Childhood Specialist
Virginia Department of Education
101 North 14th Street
Richmond, Virginia 23219
(804) 371-7578
(804) 786-1703 fax
Cheryl.Strobel@doe.virginia.gov

W A S H I N G T O N
Debra Williams-Appleton
Program Supervisor, Early Childhood Education and Even Start Program
Office of the Superintendent of Public Instruction
Post Office Box 47200
Olympia, Washington 98504-7200
(360) 725-6049
(360) 664-3575 fax
debra.appleton@k12.wa.us

W E S T   V I R G I N I A
W. Clayton Burch (Clayton)
Coordinator - Early Childhood
Office of Special Programs, Extended and Early Learning
West Virginia Department of Education
1900 Kanawha Blvd, Building 6
Charleston, West Virginia 25305
(304) 558-2696
(304) 558-6268 fax
wburch@access.k12.wv.us

The following information is available from West Virginia's family literacy webpage

W I S C O N S I N
Jennifer Waldner
Education Consultant
Title 1 and School Support Team
WI Department of Public Instruction
P.O. Box 7841
Madison, Wisconsin 53707-7841
(608) 266-5184
(608) 267-9142 fax
Jennifer.Waldner@dpi.wi.us
Sara Halberg
Assistant Director
Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction
P.O. Box 7841
Madison, Wisconsin 53707-7841
(608) 267-9141
(608) 267-9142 fax
Sara.Halberg@dpi.wi.us

The following information is available from Wisconsin's family literacy webpage

W Y O M I N G
David Holbrook
Wyoming Department of Education
Hathaway Building, 2nd Floor
2300 Capital Avenue
Cheyenne, Wyoming 82002
(307) 777-6260
(307) 777-7633 fax
dholbr@educ.state.wy.us
Gail Anderson
Wyoming Community College Commission
2020 Carey Ave, 8th Floor
Cheyenne, Wyoming 82002
(307) 777-7175
(307) 777-6567 fax
ganderson@commission.wcc.edu

A M E R I C A N   S A M O A

Laloulu Tagoilelagi
Federal Grants Coordinator
Department of Education
Pago Pago, American Samoa 96799
9-011-684-633-5237

G U A M (GU)

Georgia Taton, Administrator Federal Programs
Department of Education
P.O. Box DE
Agana, Guam 96910
9-011+671+Overseas Operator 472-8901

N O R T H E R N   M A R I A N A   I S L A N D S


William Matson
Federal Programs Coordinator
Department of Education
Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands
P.O. Box 1370
Saipan, MP 96950
(607) 322-6405 or 322-6402
(607) 322-4056 fax

V I R G I N   I S L A N D S

Hugh Smith, Jr.
Director, Federal Programs
Department of Education
44-46 Kongens Gade
Charlotte Amalie
St. Thomas, Virgin Islands 00802
8 (809) 774-8315 ext. 279

Federal Administration Contacts

Deborah Spitz
Early Childhood Reading Group
Academic Improvement and Teacher Quality Programs (AITQ)
US Department of Education
400 Maryland Avenue, SW
Washington, DC 20202-6200
(202) 260-3793
(202) 260-8969 fax
deborah.spitz@ed.gov

Melvin Graham
(202) 260-8268
(202) 260-8969 fax
Melvin.Graham@ed.gov

Even Start Tribes and Tribal Organizations

Amber Sheker
(202) 205-0653
(202) 260-8969fax
amber.sheker@ed.gov

Even Start and Expanding the reach Initiative

Tammi Fergusson
(202) 453-7508
(202) 260-8969 fax
Tammi.Fergusson@ed.gov

Migrant Education Even Start Program

DonnaMarie Fekete
Office of Migrant Education
(202) 260-2815
(202) 205-0774 fax
DonnaMarie.Fekete@ed.gov

National Even Start Evaluation

Tracy Rimdzius
Institure of Education Sciences
(202) 260-7154
Tracy.Rimdzius@ed.gov

National Even Start Evaluation

Tracy Rimdzius
Institute of Education Sciences
(202) 208-7154
Tracy.Rimdzius@ed.gov


 
Print this page Printable view Bookmark  and Share
Last Modified: 07/14/2011