About ED OFFICES


OESE: Office of Elementary and Secondary Education
Current Section
About Us
Student Achievement and School Accountability Programs

You are here: OESE Home > Programs/Initiatives > SASA

About Our Office
SASA Management Staff
SASA Programs Staff Contacts
State Contacts - governor, chief state school officer, education committee leaders, and more

About Our Office

Student Achievement and School Accountability Program (SASA) Office supports systemic efforts to improve academic achievement in schools that serve low-income communities. This is accomplished primarily through the administration of programs under Title I of the Elementary and Secondary Education Act, providing over $14 billion in FY 2009 to improve teaching and learning in public schools throughout the nation.

The Office promotes accountability for improving student achievement by ensuring that States implement rigorous systems of standards, assessments, and accountability that motivate educators to assume responsibility for getting each and every student to achieve at high levels. As well, the Office builds the fiscal, pedagogical, and technical capacity of States, school districts, and schools to get all students (especially those most in need) to meet their State's high academic standards.

Fiscal capacity is supported through the flow of both formula and discretionary grants to States and school districts. Pedagogical capacity is supported through the promotion of effective research-based instructional approaches. Technical capacity is supported through efforts to help educators make good instructional use of all of the flexibility provided in legislation.

SASA Management Staff

Acting Director Paul (Sandy) Brown

Group 1 - Audit Resolution Team Monitoring and Technical Assistance (Gary Rutkin)

Group 2 - Title III State Consolidated Grants (Supreet Anand)

Group 3 - Policy Coordination (Susan Wilhelm)

Group 5 - Standards and Assessments (Carlos Martinez)

Group 6 - Accountability (Acting, Carlos Martinez)

Acting Deputy Director Susan Wilhelm

The primary responsibility of the Deputy Director of Title I is to assist the Director in carrying out the responsibilities of the Student Achievement and School Accountability Programs (SASA). These responsibilities are carried out through facilitation and coordination of activities that include formulating, developing and implementing office policy, budget, staffing and representing the Director in her absence. Additional responsibilities include the day-today management of the office and as liaison between SASA and other offices.

Management Support Specialist (VACANT)
Responsible for assigning, tracking and quality control for all correspondence.


SASA Programs Staff Contacts
Name
Telephone Number and
E-Mail Address
Position State Assignments
Paul (Sandy) Brown
260-0826
Paul.Brown@ed.gov
Acting Director all for group
Susan Wilhelm
260-0826
Susan.Wilhelm@ed.gov
Acting Deputy Director all for group
Vacant
260-0826
Staff Assistant none
Audit Resolution Team Monitoring and Technical Assistance
Gary Rutkin
260-0991
Gary. Rutkin@ed.gov
(Acting) Group Leader/Monitoring all for group
Mary Moran
260-0940
Mary.Moran@ed.gov
Audit SD
Shevine Holeman
260-0999
Shevine Holeman
Audit GA/OH
Ronald Friend
358-1440
Ronald Friend
Public School Choice/School Improvement CA/OK
Debra Little
260-1629
Debra.Little@ed.gov
Health Issues IA
Danita Woodley
260-8735
Danita.Woodley@ed.gov
School Improvement/Schoolwide LA
Outlying
Territories
John McLaughlin
401-0962
John McLaughlin
Homeless/NorD SC
Kim Hicks
260-0973
Kim.Hicks@ed.gov
Technical Asst Monitoring IL/ME
Tanesha Hembrey
260-1719
Tanesha.Hembrey@ed.gov
Technical Asst Monitoring DC/MD/VA
Gay Ojugbana
260-1461
Gay.Ojugbana@ed.gov
Monitoring RI/WA
Erin Shackel
202-453-6423
Erin.Shackel@ed.gov
Schoolwide/School Reform NM
Title III State Consoildated Grant
Supreet Anand
401-9795
Supreet.Anand@ed.gov
Group Leader all for group
Millicent Bentley-Memon
401-1427
Millicent. Bentley-Memon@ed.gov
Title III AL/CO/FL/IL
ME/MA/NY/RI
VT/WI
Elizabeth Bailey
401-1429
Elizabeth.Bailey@ed.gov
Title II CT/IN/KS/MN
NV/OH/OR/PA
Petraine Johnson
401-1432
Petraine.Johnson@ed.gov
Title III AR/DE/DC/KY
MD/NC/SC/VA
WV
Ruben Vazquez
401-1434
Ruben.Vazquez@ed.gov
Title III MO/MT/NE/NJ
OK/PR/TX/UT
WY
Amy Weinmann
401-1435
Amy.Weinmann@ed.gov
Title III CA/GA/ID/IA
LA/NH/NM
Amy Jenkins
453-6054
Amy.Jenkins@ed.gov
Title III AL
Francisco López
401-1433
Francisco.López@ed.gov
Title III

/
Leticia Braga
202-453-5650
Leticia.Braga@ed.gov
Title III

/
Policy Coordination
Susan Wilhelm
260-0984
Susan.Wilhelm@ed.gov
Group Leader all for group
Paul Brown (Sandy)
260-0976
Paul.Brown@ed.gov
Comparability TN
Todd Stephenson
205-1645
Todd.Stephenson@ed.gov
Maintenance of Effort Requests DE/PA
Victoria Hammer
260-1438
Victoria.Hammer@ed.gov
Flexibility
Nola Cromer
205-4158
Nola Cromer@ed.gov
Technical Asst Monitoring
Services to Private School Children
CO/FL/NJ/TX
Catherine Pugh
260-0943
Catherine.Pugh@ed.gov
Maintenance of Effort Requests
(IT) Web Development
none
Christina Imholt
202-401-3584
Christina.Imholt@ed.gov
Policy
Flexibility
OR
Sharon Hall
260-0998
Sharon.Hall@ed.gov
Assessment of Students
with Disabilities
ID
Emily Mayer
453-6389
Emily.Mayer@ed.gov
Flexibility none
Dave English
260-2201
Dave.English@ed.gov
Flexibility none
Standards and Assessments
Carlos Martinez
260-1440
Carlos.Martinez@ed.gov
Group Leader all for group (BIE)
Sue Rigney
260-0931
Sue.Rigney@ed.gov
Student Assessment
Standards/Assessment
of Students with Disabilities
NC
Grace Ross
260-0967
Grace.Ross@ed.gov
Student Assessment
Standards
AR
Collette Roney
401-5245
Collette.Roneyl@ed.gov
Assessment of English
Language Learners
ND
Spencer Warren
260-0971
Spencer.Warren@ed.gov
Student Assessment
and Standards
MT
Valeria Ford
205-2213
Valeria.Ford@ed.gov
Student Assessment
and Standards
HI
Clayton Hollingshead
260-1539
Clayton.Hollingshead@ed.gov
Student Assessment and Standards CT
Accountability
Carlos Martinez
260-1440
Carlos.Martinez@ed.gov
Acting Group Leader all for group
Vicki Robinson
205-5471
Vicki.Robinson@ed.gov
Accountability UT


 
Print this page Printable view Bookmark  and Share
Last Modified: 09/07/2012